Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Spirit

• 12-01-2004 1:32pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 13

Scott from Spirit here....

If anyone has any queries about our venue please dont hesitate to contact me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭empirix

Yeah- any chance of a few concessions to check it out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 Spirit

Yes.

There is a limited guest list avaulable anynight exept Saturday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,335 ✭✭✭Cake Fiend

Any chance of getting some decent DJs in, getting rid of the bacardi breezer posers and getting the place full of real clubbers?

Not any time soon, eh?

We have great DJ's, no Bacardi Breezer banners.

.... and I dont know what your definition of a "real" clubber is, but our clientele certainly are the epitomy of the ethos behind "clubbing" whicj is to enjoy one's self as much as possible.

So, wrong on all three there....

Next?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

Spirit is a faceless club full of superficial posers and slappers.
    The 'big name' DJ's they have in are DJ's who were big in the 90's and have now sold out. The price they were charging in on new years eve to see a bunch of Dublin residents was absolutely sickening.

If you want a real club, go next door to Traffic on a Friday night to Model one, best club in Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭empirix

well can you get me some then for a friday night..thanx

You refer to our clientele as posers and slappers...

An extremely naive, one dimensional and childish comment.

We are very proud of the service we provide for our customers and the customers themselves.

I agree Spirit is not for everybody, but that is the beauty of living in a city, you have the option to go where you like.

It never ceases to amaze me how people can let themselves get worked up over thier allegiances in terms electronic music, and how they think that reflects back on them.

This is the entertainment industry, if you dont want to go to "Disney On Ice" you dont have to, but personally I woulnt see the need to make personal and insulting comments about anyone that does.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭chernobyl

I have been in spirit a couple of times and found it alright. The dj's upstairs are usually not the best and they have the same show on always. €20 in on Saturday is steep and i will only pay that for the RedBox when Clarke is there.

Spirit aint great but its not a dive either.

Definitely wanna go to traffic though as i heard they are great for techno on Saturday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 rooty

No harm to you mate but that place is a sorry excuse for a club. Heres an idea for you, get the dancers out and all the rest of the brigade and spend the money on gettin in a sound system and even a few djs. Cos all it is at the moment is a glorified pub as far as i can see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,001 ✭✭✭KilOit

got refused last time i was there :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

I've never been in myself, and I probably won't go in the near future. The place seems to have an image/reputation problem.
    All I hear about it is that
    1) Full of posers
    2) Far far too expensive compared to the fun you can have in other clubs/late pubs around the place, e.g. Ri-Ra, I've never had a bad night in there, and it doesn't cost the earth to get in.

convince me otherwise and I may give it a go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 344 ✭✭BeatFreak

Heh @ the spirit bashing, no offence intended but this is a forum where most of us (not all) atleast claim to have decent taste in music and as a result would never consider going into a "club" like Spirit. Head down to Eden quay to the Metropolitan on a thursday night for some quality electro at Electricity, thats a well put together night without the dancers or the posers (well mostly...) just good music.
    Spirit strikes me as a meat market, I doubt you will find many people of are actually there for the music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭Ste-

Ok I've never been to spirit, have heard stories of the type of people that frequent the place.

But there was no need to shoot the guy down in flames for trying to be friendly and pimp his club a little.
    He even offer "There is a limited guest list avaulable anynight exept Saturday".

Wouldn't it be a better place if more clubs started reading the boards ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭Typedef

I'm so sorry, but any 'club' that has women dancing around polls is just cool.

I like Spirit for this reason.

You can sue me at the usual outlets, my barristers make no discrimination on this front.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

My problems with spirit:

1) went there for harry choo choo romero a while back, and at the door the bouncer looks and me and me mate and says "in yis go lads, but dont wear runners again in future. its not the kind of club you come to to dance all night"

2) your pr girl "spirit babe", who i probably couldve done for lible on several occasions because of her messages on other forums. one occasion was where she told me that myself and my friend "take the biscuits and go over the top", insinuating that i am a drug user. this coupled with her ignorant, superior and downright snobby attitude when i (and many others on lots of different message boards) have tried to give constructive critisism on the club (which she asked for) have hardly done your club any good.

3) most of the spirit patrons are there to be seen there, and there is certainly a bit of a

"oh look at me in cool, i go to spirit"

vibe about a fair amount of your clientele which i think proves to be derogatory with regard to the overall public opinion of your venue.

4) Any time ive been there, a sickening about of people in attendance really dont have a clue about the music when you try to talk to them about it, they have no idea who is playing, what tracks are on, or even what style of music is on. Again this is another reason why people who are into dance music really cant stand the place as it currently is

5) there is absolutely no atmosphere in the place at all, even though the top floor is prone to silly overcrowding for the big nights (ie roger sanchez a while back, where it took a good 10 minutes to get from the door in, to the bar which is all of about 10 yards). when you have that many people in a room, and theres no atmosphere, there is something badly wrong (see points 1, 3 and 4 above for my suggestions as to why this may be)

spirit is a good venue, with big potential, but it will never be accepted by true dance music lovers because of the above points. the crowd dont have a clue so people really dont like going there

if you dont care that youre not getting the dance heads in then fair enough, work away the way you are currently going. but i honestly dont think theres anything that can be done to salvage spirits bad reputation among true clubbers

thats my honest view on the place, which you asked for. reply to my points or take them on board if you wish, i know i speak for an awful lot of people

Hi again,

Just a few things...

I am the only person authorised to speak for this venue.

I will and have taken everyones mails on board.

If anybody wishes to mail me privately for lists (thursday, Friday, sunday) my email is Scott@spiritdublin.com

.. by the way

isnt this fun?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,580 ✭✭✭uberwolf

fupping hell, some abuse. Whilst I have heard most of the above complaints levelled at spirit from time to time, I've heard them aimed at most clubs.

Instead of thanking the man for his interest (and offer) you all seem to want to abuse the club. I'm sure constructive criticism is probably welcome, as some have done, but it seems to me that the more refined/specialised people music taste becomes the more at liberty they feel to bash those venues which have a wider or more general appeal.

Well, the man was looking for queries, I asked a query...

OK, I hold my hands up, it was a dig - but I find it mildly offensive that a representative of Spirit would post on a 'Dance/Electronic' music board seeing as the club clearly has more interest in squeezing as much money out of the poor sheep that wander in rather than spreading the joy of dance/electronic music. I don't necessarily mind him trying to boost his club's popularity, but this is not the right board on wich to do it.
    We have great DJ's, no Bacardi Breezer banners.

.... and I dont know what your definition of a "real" clubber is, but our clientele certainly are the epitomy of the ethos behind "clubbing" whicj is to enjoy one's self as much as possible.

So, wrong on all three there....

Next?

The likes of Noel Phelan and Hugh Scully send me to sleep. I'm not even sure why you bother getting in well-known guest DJs - the clientele are not there for the music, as well you know.

By 'bacardi breezer posers' I mean the shirt-and-shoes brigade who stand around on the dancefloor taking up room, mildly swaying in an attempt at dancing, holding their bacardi breezers or smirnoff ices. Real clubbers? ROFL. These people are interested in nothing more than boozing and trying to score.

The worst thing about the 'club' is that it had so much potential. It has a good layout, it's got a decent publicity team and it has the ability to get big-name artists involved. But it wastes all this - that's my problem with Spirit. That and the fact that patrons are expected to be grateful for the ridiculous ideas such as the mini-cinema, the 'holistic centre', the trapezeists etc. Take a look at the rhetoric on the website to see how far up themselves the Spirit crew are (a reflection on their clientele IMO).

I'll stick to Traffic, Bodkins and Metropolitan thanks (with the occasional visit to the Red Box - another sell-out club). I'd reccommend anyone interested in music rather than image to do the same.

Originally posted by Spirit

I am the only person authorised to speak for this venue.

well then you should have a few words with lisa (spirit babe) who is under the illusion she is pr for you

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

HEy Scott, welcome to the forum.

I actualy don't mind you posting here whats so ever, I think its good that a representive of the club is actualy posting and replying to peoples queries!
    Unlike some places I know that just post up PR stuff, again and again, and again and ignore peoples questions :)

Thanks very much for offering the people here guestlist passes, very kind of you :cool:

I've tried to enter spirit a few times, gotten refused every time. so I have kinda just given up, on trying to go in.
    But must pay a visit sometime to see how it is on the inside

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,778 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

Personally I really like Spirit. I go about once a month and almost always have a good night. I don't agree with the posers comment, actually I think its kinda rough sometimes. I'm not sure what the door policy is but I've talked to some serious scumbags in there, only due to the fact that they are usually f**ked, and quite amusing....

The women are pretty good for dublin standards, and any man that doesn't like the dancers in Bikini's is probably gay... Spirit is definitely not for everyone, but with 3 floors it has more variety than most clubs. I really enyoy the music upstairs, but thats exactly the kind of music I'm into. If you don't like it, don't go! I'm not into techno at all, but the ground floor in Traffic on Friday/Saturday is excellent, its my favorite bar in town, I usually go there before Spirit.

I was also there for Roger Sanchez, and yes it was rediculously packed. It took about 40 minutes to get in, and I was on the guest list. No club is nice when its over full thats why I usually go on Fridays. Then again a half empty club is worse...

I'm sure there are better nights for a particular style etc, but I always think of it as a pretty safe bet for a good night out...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

jesus its not as if most of the people on this site are old enough to go anywhere but the next frankie kennedy gig anyway... chin up mr spirit, never been along but might do at some stage soon enough... your choice of acts doesnt really float my boat but they ARE always of a consistently high quality within their own genre...

Thanks you all for the intelligent comments on this board

Posiitve or negative

You know who y'all are

Scott

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 Michael Masterson

Love the venue ...set up is excellent sound system is good and lighting is fair to good .... would love some more visuals or Lasers effects its a nice club ...
    Door staff very polite and well organised never much trouble (Nice enviroment)
    One or two problems I go there at least once a week probly twice (near pay day)
    A lot of the time I can tell which track is coming up next ..I.E (same music )
    Although I understand with proformances you need to have music tightly playlisted..
    Its just I feel spirit is too tightly playlisted now and there is very little change
    in music policy as well ..More varity would be nice ..
    Also music Genre it has a house music policy Would love to see some trance music
    thrown in now and again ..
    Although credit where its due,love the new DJ Paul Taylor very talented Dj
    He has great mixing ability ..and gets a good set going ..
    Also as said above Sat can be a little bit packed feels very restricted ..
    Also the drink prices seem to have hiked 6.50 E at the start of the night is a bit pricy as well as paying 20 E door cover charge on a Sat ..( and I like beer so it hurts the pocket if you know what I mean )
    Also Thursday student night ( Get rid of them or even let other working Pll in )
    Just very annoying looking for a good spot with the student night on Thursday
    making spirit a no go ....
    Hope I didn't sound to negative wouldn't go there so often if i didn't like it , But
    a club can never be perfect , theres always room for improvement ..

P.S I'll have a pass or two if you are offering friday would be nice :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,601 ✭✭✭Kali

Originally posted by Michael Masterson

Also the drink prices seem to have hiked 6.50 E at the start of the night is a bit pricy as well as paying 20 E door cover charge on a Sat ..( and I like beer so it hurts the pocket if you know what I mean )

"bit pricey"? thats a bloody ridiculous price, but thanks for mentioning it... you've just turned even more people off the club :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 798 ✭✭✭bobbyjoe

Love Spirit had a great time every time I've been there.

But why was it 20 in when it was open till 5 and still 20 now when its open till 3?

Also getting your jacket at the end of the night is a serious pain, spent 30 mins waiting last time.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,778 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

Drink prices are rediculous but they have to make the money somehow, as I'm sure the overheads for such an elaborate club are probably double or triple what any other club would have. I have also found the bouncers excellent - the people they give hassle to usually deserve it, but even then they are not dickheads about it... I love the visuals, the more the merrier, but they seem to have been using the same ones for as long as I can remember...

Actually Scott can you enlighten us on the Music Policy? As I have already said I love the music there so whoever 'playlists' it as very similar tastes to myself, and I wouldn't want it to change one bit, but it would be nice to know exactly what the guidelines are. Also Scott, you should put sone sort of "DJ Chart" on the website. Every time I go there I hear great tunes but it drives me nuts when I don't know the name and may never hear the song again. (If you can name a few off the top of your head I'd appreciate it...) The music in the bar on the ground floor has a nice variation, old skool, funky house and bits of R&B... They used to play soft chill out music downstairs, and once a guy was playing a chelo which was cool, but that seems to be gone now... pitty...

i know a girl who had her nose broken by a fella on the dancefloor of spirit, was swinging for someone else and hit her square in the nose, busting it open and breaking it

the bouncers didnt kick the fella who hit her out

they didnt call an ambulance

they didnt aid her in any way other than ushering her out the door

great doormen them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,601 ✭✭✭Kali

see Helix shes hardly going to be spending anymore of her money in there so theres no point in being nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭StickyMcGinty

i've no problem with the venue itself, such as the layout and the like, but i have a gripe with the lack of big name Dj's in the last year!!

i was there for jon creamer last year, aswell as fergie (best night eva!) but while the RedBox has Deep Dish, John Digweed and Carl Cox in the next month, spirit has nothing lined up at all!!

the website could do with a revamp scott, its layout is too complicated and its never up to date!! have a look at pod.ie

big name djs my willy

support your bleedin own

half them are better than any past it imports clubs over here get

€20 in, €6.50 a pint? to listen to a CD? that's extracting the urine.

*if he can tell what song is coming on next he may as well be listening to a CD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭StickyMcGinty

Originally posted by Helix
    big name djs my willy

support your bleedin own

half them are better than any past it imports clubs over here get

Digweed v Robbie Butler??

robbie is good, but digweed is a nice luxery to go to on a friday night. i get to see irish dj's everywhere also, but spirit could pull in the big names if it wanted too.

support your own!! i do every chance i get!!

but its nice to see a big name every once in a while!!

butler is ****

dave morrisey wont be far behind digweed if he gets a break somewhere along the line

as good as mixer, if not better, and plays top tunes

butler is ****ing dirt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 Chuckythetree

Originally posted by bobbyjoe
    Love Spirit had a great time every time I've been there.

But why was it 20 in when it was open till 5 and still 20 now when its open till 3?

Also getting your jacket at the end of the night is a serious pain, spent 30 mins waiting last time.

cos they know the retards that go their will still pay the 20euro.

fingers crossed the club will implode on itself while everyone is still in their.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 398 ✭✭pyramid man

well i have to admit that this forum caught my eye. Scott has a point about the whole entertainment industry thing. my opinion is as follows.

IF YOU DONT LIKE THE CLUB THEN YOU DONT GO BACK. DONT BE WHINING AND MOANING ABOUT A PLACE THAT YOU NEVER GO INTO IN THE FIRST PLACE. WHATS THE POINT IN MOANING WHEN THEY SEEM TO HAVE ALOT OF CLIENTELLE AT THE MOMENT AND AT THE END OF THE DAY THIS INDUSTRY IS ABOUT MAKING MONEY. SO THEREFORE IF THE CLUB IS MAKING MONEY THEN THEY DONT REALLY CARE ABOUT ANYTHING THAT THE FORMER PATRONS OF THE CLUB SAY. IF YOU WERE IN THE BUSINESS WOULD YOU LISTEN TO SOMEONE WHO USED TO GO INTO THE CLUB GO ON ABOUT WHAT THE CLUB SHOULD BE. THE ONLY PEOPLE THAT REALLY MATTER ARE THE REGULARS. THESE ARE THE PEOPLE COMING IN WEEK AFTER WEEK SPENDING THEIR MONEY.

Thats what i think of it anyway,

Diarmuid.

yes its about making money, but Scott has come here to canvass opinions, and he is getting some honest ones. He wants to find out what people think before its too late to reverse any trend that may be occuring. Folowing your logic he would only ask the people in there. Which would tell him nothing. Would a politician at election time only canvass his guaranteed votes? He wouldn't win. Spirit as with every other major venue should be trying to encourage more people in their doors broadening their appeal and trying to find out what it is about the place that people do and don't like. Clearly they can't please everyone, but if they can work within their door, music policy and broaden the appeal then that is good business sense. Equally people are entitled to air their opinions as long as they remain relevant to Spirit.

Originally posted by pyramid man
    IF YOU DONT LIKE THE CLUB THEN YOU DONT GO BACK. DONT BE WHINING AND MOANING ABOUT A PLACE THAT YOU NEVER GO INTO IN THE FIRST PLACE.
    Exactly. I don't mind people criticising a club if it is 'not as good as it used to be' or if there is somehwere newer and better, but just cause you don't like the place doesn't mean you can **** all over it...
    WHATS THE POINT IN MOANING WHEN THEY SEEM TO HAVE ALOT OF CLIENTELLE AT THE MOMENT AND AT THE END OF THE DAY THIS INDUSTRY IS ABOUT MAKING MONEY. SO THEREFORE IF THE CLUB IS MAKING MONEY THEN THEY DONT REALLY CARE ABOUT ANYTHING THAT THE FORMER PATRONS OF THE CLUB SAY. IF YOU WERE IN THE BUSINESS WOULD YOU LISTEN TO SOMEONE WHO USED TO GO INTO THE CLUB GO ON ABOUT WHAT THE CLUB SHOULD BE. THE ONLY PEOPLE THAT REALLY MATTER ARE THE REGULARS. THESE ARE THE PEOPLE COMING IN WEEK AFTER WEEK SPENDING THEIR MONEY.
    I would agree to a certain extent, but if a club changes/treied somehting new, you've got to listen to the 'sceptics' or the people who used to like it. You;ve got to look after your customers as they are your business. If you find that the 'old reliable' regulars are not coming any more its a sign of somerhting going seriously wrong (or somehwere better has opened up). An example would be the RedBox. A few years ago there would be queue's all the way back to the Odeon, and not just on big name nights, Now you can stroll up any night of the week and 1am and walk in.

Scott is obviously clued in and wants to get some ideas about real people's opinions so he can use this to improve the service and get better 'customer satisfaction'. But you can't please everyone...
    cos they know the retards that go their will still pay the 20euro.

Obviously many people think it is still 'worth it' and at the end of the day that it what matters. I tis expensive but you get a lot for your money. (If you want to get ripped off go to Club92 and pay €15 in for nothing more than a room with music that serves alcohol...) I don't choose a club by how late it opens. People that do should just say at home and drink themselves into a coma because if thats all their intersted in they shouldn't be in a club like Spirit in the first place... Late opening is a nice luxury, but lets not forget, this is Ireland...

well thank you. at least someone else can see sense.

Website has been updated

The complicated nateure of its navigation is how Robbbie wants it

Originally posted by pyramid man
    IF YOU DONT LIKE THE CLUB THEN YOU DONT GO BACK. DONT BE WHINING AND MOANING ABOUT A PLACE THAT YOU NEVER GO INTO IN THE FIRST PLACE.

This is a discussion forum. Hence the discussion. Scott came here and offered to answer queries. He got some. He also responded to some of the criticism in a fairly aggressive manner, baiting people on even more.

The other people 'whining and moaning' on this thread probably have the same reasons as I do - first of all, to give feedback/criticism to a representative of the club. Second, to ward like-minded people away from somewhere they probably won't enjoy.

Originally posted by Sico
    He also responded to some of the criticism in a fairly aggressive manner

something which can be said of anyone involved with spirit who i have ever given my opinion of the venue to

Truthfully, anybody can say what they like about the venue.

I take all criticism of management or booking decisions, but when somebody (previously in this thread) slags off our customers I will be nasty.

Anybody who wants to mail me privately please do.....

but your clientele IS the problem most people have with spirit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 Michael Masterson

Spirit man 3 times a week ..setting new clubbing records ..

Originally posted by Sico
    This is a discussion forum. Hence the discussion. Scott came here and offered to answer queries. He got some. He also responded to some of the criticism in a fairly aggressive manner, baiting people on even more.

The other people 'whining and moaning' on this thread probably have the same reasons as I do - first of all, to give feedback/criticism to a representative of the club. Second, to ward like-minded people away from somewhere they probably won't enjoy.

that may be true but you are missing the point partially. When you give active feedback to a representative you dont tell him that his club is for people who are posers ect.... active feedback is all about the finding the source of a problem if one exists and to find out how to rectify it. Myself not even being from Dublin and never heard of spirit came on and responded about the treatment of the rep. when i did that he was getting alot of comments about the type of people that were coming into the club and that it is not a real clubbers club ect.... but at the end of the day a club is not there to accomidate the needs of a minority of people but to make the current clientell happy on a majority. there are always other clubs so if you do not like one you try another and keep doing that until you find a club that you are happy. It is impossible for a club to cater for everybodies individual needs. and what it comes down to is to try to make the customers happy as possible on a majority. Thats all i will say on this matter for now.

Diarmuid,