Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Buyandsell.net: a free prison?

• 15-03-2000 12:03am
    Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Me and chiefie had a quick scan over this "free ISP". Interestingly they dont allow, IRC, Quake packets or indeed much else through their firewall meaning you can only WWW atm.

Curious as Shinji was saying something about them for games I decided to take a look...

Here's me and Chiefies investigations...

[22:58] <DeVore> chiefie baby
    [22:58] <|Chief|> this be the STRANGEST net connect ever..
    [22:58] <|Chief|> wont visual route..
    [22:58] <|Chief|> or tracert
    [22:58] <DeVore> !
    [22:58] <|Chief|> !
    [22:58] <DeVore> um weirdness
    [22:58] <|Chief|> the only thing itll do is www!
    [22:58] <|Chief|> i even tried tracerting on :80
    [22:58] <|Chief|> and **** all happens
    [22:58] <|Chief|> wont let ya IRC
    [22:58] <|Chief|> wont let ya play quake
    [22:58] <|Chief|> weird as ****

DeV.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

I hear all their equipment is based in the UK too... if they would allow anything apart from WWW it could be good for playing on UK servers :/

- Munch
    - Visit The Fortress

• Registered Users Posts: 450 ✭✭Chief

Now that was the case for me 'n' Def 'n' Dev.. but weird things seem to be afoot..how many of you lot have actually tried it and gotten it to work? anybody? some of ye.. some say it works.. oo-er.. and it doesnt work a tap fer me.. well cept for the lockdown on EVERYTHING but WW.ing..
    what BE the STORY?!? biggrin.gif

|Chiefy|...

[This message has been edited by Chief (edited 14-03-2000).]

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

conflicting reports coming in, trying to establish truth. Stand by....

DeV.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Dev,

I'm using buyandsell for UT games in the UK and it is fine. Just do not use any of their software. Set the dialup yourself and all seems to be fine. If this changes I'll let you know. It seems to work with ISDN as well, I should be able to check this soon (depending on eircum).

Gandalf.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

ping swings aboud, could be serverside but I dunno.

reports indicate ISDN support tho thats unconfirmed.

pings of 55 to 123 as a spectator on elvis with QW using ISDN.

DeV.

• Registered Users Posts: 649 ✭✭✭Spoonman

Lads how do you get by all that setup crap, I can connect on modem (outside 01 area option) but not on isdn. Plus the only thing that works is port 80 for WWW. Someone post details here about their settings to connect with isdn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,275 ✭✭✭Shinji

OK, here's what I did:

Registered with them on their website. Did NOT get any CD or install any software.

At the end of the reg process it gave me a Dublin phone number.

I created a new dial up networking entry with this phone number. All other settings the same (I later enabled software compression when I heard they support STAC, which is a super system that shaves loads off pings).

Double clicked, entered my username and password... Connected... Verifying Username and Password... Bingo.

All ports unblocked. IRC tells me I'm at something.pol.co.uk - the same upstream provider FreeServe uses. My pings to Wireplay and Barrysworld are about 70-90 with little or no spiking and no packetloss.

I have used the service for almost 12 hours now - was dissed twice, but I suspect a TA settings problem. It also seems to support dual-channel ISDN from what I can tell, although I amn't entirely sure (not completely used to this TA, it seems to have a mind of its own over 128k connects).

(BTW, pings from BnS.Net to IGN servers aren't very impressive at all, since you're effectively on a UK dialup coming back across the Irish Sea to EircomNet!)

Ja,
    Rob

--
    [EED]Shinji -=*=- shinji@electricdeath.com
    Site Editor, http://www.utsystem.co.uk

[This message has been edited by Shinji (edited 15-03-2000).]

• Registered Users Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭Dr_Teeth

Works fine for me too, pings are about 20ms lower to barrysworld/demon/wireplay from what I can see (dos ping gets me about 36ms to the barrysworld q3 league servers!) but as shin said, pings to IGN are higher as you're going back across the channel.

Anyway, it works, nothing spectacular, but it's a nice backup for when Eircom.net is engaged. I've played UT, CS and used IRC/Web/Mail so far on it. Dunno about Quake packets.

Teeth.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭Chaos

By free u mean its just a free isp not 0800? smile.gif

www.gibworld.com/chaos
    Ps 0wns U

• Registered Users Posts: 450 ✭✭Chief

Following on from the above posts.. i retried setting it all up.. with no use of the software at all (i didnt use it first time either) and tried using both numbers.. dublin and outside.. still denada.. only port 80 www'ing allowed.. nothing else.. no tracerts, irc, quaking.. nothing.. i wonder could it be a prob with win2k? perhaps..
    but still no luck..

DENIED..

|Chiefy|.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,488 ✭✭✭SantaHoe

Yeah no luck for me either, I made a new connect with the username/pswd and the 01 access number, just left the rest, and still no UT, no tracert, no halflife, no IRC.
    What a load of sh1te.
    If someone has it working, can you plz post all the settings?

That isp sucks ass.
    No games?! what's the ****ing point??

And don't even think about posting to the boards on it!
    I was logged on when I posted those other messages and I couldn't even see them, no matter how many times I refreshed.
    I'm on eircom now tho tongue.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭Canaboid

As a matter of interest who is using they're proxy and who isn't ?
    Proxy is www-cache.buyandsell.net:8080
    Unlikely to be the prob. but ya never know.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭Chaos

k how in gods name are u getting quake to work smile.gif
    Whats this proxy about?

www.gibworld.com/chaos
    Ps 0wns U

• Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭m1ke

I got multilink working with it too, although the top speed I hit was only 13k/sec.

• Registered Users Posts: 649 ✭✭✭Spoonman

How do you check to see if your using the proxy, where do you disable it, whats going on smile.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 852 ✭✭✭m1ke

urm, that ISP is deadly to the Uk. Better then eircom to quake.ie actually.
    I installed it from the website, enabled STAC compression and pinged from 39-60 on Barrysworld, um sweet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 bleh

Interestingly its not a bad connect to uk servers - but does anyone know what the deal is with the free shares ? WHat is it all about huh ?

Ok well I've tried it with and without the proxy, and no luck.

For those of you who were curious...
    The proxy settings are reached by going into:
    "Internet Settings" (found in control panel), then into the "connections" tab, then click on the connection you want to check from the list, then click "settings" and you'll see the proxy options there.

Again, who ever has it working, can you plz post some settings here?!

Uuum, what would happen if I were to use someone elses proxy? make any diff at all?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭amp

Not bad at all. vg connection to barrysworld.
    Just registered, got the user name and pw and created a dialup connection with those details.

Avoided their automagic setup thing though.

Lunacy Abounds! Play GLminesweeper!

OK all I did was set up after registering was set up a new dialup connection myself in windows. I did not d/l any of there automatic configuration stuff etc.

Thats all I did. I am not using the proxy either btw. I have full access to the net, irc & games etc. It is as simple as that, maybe you downloaded some software or something from them.

Tis a weird one.

Gandalf.

Well just give 'uz your settings!!!

Question 1: What phone number.
    Question 2: Are you using "Default gateway on remote server"
    Question 3: Using a proxy?, if so what one.
    Question 4: What protocols are enabled?
    Question 5: What server type? (assuming PPP)
    Question 6: Is "Automaticly detect Settings" checked or unchecked?
    Question 7: Using any dial-up scripts?
    Question 8: What are your TCP/IP settings?

Can't think of anything else that might affect it, but plz help the unfortunates who can't play games with it.

The easy thing to do would be to drag a copy of the connection from "Dialup Networking" to your desktop, and open it in notepad, that should have MOST of the important settings.

Here's mine and it's not working... can someone post a working one???
    [Entry]
    Entry_Name=buyandsell network for asss
    Import_Name=buyandsell network for asss
    Multilink=no

[Phone]
    Dial_As_Is=no
    Phone_Number=2580200
    Area_Code=01
    Country_Code=353
    Country_ID=353

[Device]
    Type=modem
    Name=Zoom 56K PCI Faxmodem
    Settings_Size=108
    Settings=6C000000030001000000080060000000010000001C00000000C201001520000000000A000A0008000011130000000000060000003000000030000000300000003000000000000000000000003C00000000000000000 0000001000000D301000000000000000000000000000004

[Server]
    Type=PPP
    SW_Compress=no
    PW_Encrypt=no
    Network_Logon=no
    SW_Encrypt=no
    Negotiate_NetBEUI=no
    Negotiate_IPX/SPX=no
    Negotiate_TCP/IP=yes

[TCP/IP]
    Specify_IP_Address=no
    Specify_Server_Address=no
    IP_Header_Compress=no
    Gateway_On_Remote=yes

[This message has been edited by Dead{o}Santa (edited 17-03-2000).]

• Registered Users Posts: 381 ✭✭juNkie

Works grand for me.

As Requested heres a copy of my dialup networking smile.gif There are a few differences in them. Hopefully they're whats different. GL

Gandalf.

[Entry]
    Entry_Name=Buy & Sell .Net
    Import_Name=Buy & Sell .Net
    Multilink=no

[Phone]
    Dial_As_Is=no
    Phone_Number=2580200
    Area_Code=01
    Country_Code=353
    Country_ID=353

[Device]
    Type=modem
    Name=Pace 56 Voice Modem #2
    Settings_Size=108
    Settings=6C000000030001000000080060000000010000001C00000000E100001520000000000A000A00080000111300007E0000060000003000000030000000300000003000000000000000000000003A00000000000000000 0000001000000D301000003000000E0AB0000000000002C

[Server]
    Type=PPP
    SW_Compress=yes
    PW_Encrypt=no
    Network_Logon=yes
    SW_Encrypt=no
    Negotiate_NetBEUI=yes
    Negotiate_IPX/SPX=yes
    Negotiate_TCP/IP=yes

[TCP/IP]
    Specify_IP_Address=no
    IP_Header_Compress=yes
    Gateway_On_Remote=yes

I got on ok but the much fabled "better pings to the UK" didnt materialise.
    Yes, at rest it was 10-20 better but it was spikey as bedamned and pl was pretty severe.

I found that the steadier Indigo ping, whilest higher, was easier to play with then a ping which bounced from 60-200. (60-120 was pretty common frown.gif 200 was the upper bound.)

DeV.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭amp

[Entry]
    Entry_Name=Buy and sell
    Import_Name=Buy and sell 2
    Multilink=no

[Phone]
    Dial_As_Is=no
    Phone_Number=258 0200
    Area_Code=01
    Country_Code=353
    Country_ID=353

[Device]
    Type=modem
    Name=Motorola VoiceSURFR 56K External PnP
    Settings_Size=108
    Settings=6C000000030001000800080060000000010000001C00000000C201001520000000000A000A0008000011130000000000060000003000000030000000300000003000000000000000000000003C00000000000000000 0000001000000530100000000000000000000000000008C

[Server]
    Type=PPP
    SW_Compress=yes
    PW_Encrypt=no
    Network_Logon=no
    SW_Encrypt=no
    Negotiate_NetBEUI=no
    Negotiate_IPX/SPX=no
    Negotiate_TCP/IP=yes

[TCP/IP]
    Specify_IP_Address=no
    IP_Header_Compress=yes
    Gateway_On_Remote=yes

And in other ISP news has any noticed a speed increase with Esat SNL? I have and it's da bomb.

Word to yer ma,
    amp

Lunacy Abounds! Play GLminesweeper!

[This message has been edited by amp (edited 18-03-2000).]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 359 ✭✭m1RV

I have too, and so did Sam, but it seemed short lived, it came, for a weekend, a few weeks ago, and then facked off :P

<< Arf Arf >>

I tried the settings posted above (ta lads) but none of them worked for me, so I dunno!!

Would using a UK proxy lower your ping to uk servers at all?

• Registered Users Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

i only connect at 33,800 with buyandsell, same as indigo and therefore usless.
    mind you, eircom is becoming increasingly more difficult to connect to these days frown.gif