Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Surround sound receiver/amp question

Options
  • 16-01-2004 2:15pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭

Ok I'm new to this home theatre/surround sound stuff and need a little guidance. I'm an looking at buying a 5.1 amp and speakers for my existing DVD (optical out). My question is are 5.1 amps capable of switching the video as well as the audio source? In other words DVD, Video and STB into the amp and one connection out to the TV and use the amp as a switcher?

Does this only apply to high end systems or is this feature available in any lower end models at well.

thanks

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 3,341 ✭✭✭Fallschirmjager

eldermon,

yes you can but as always it depends on the amp. if you look at the back you might see things like s-video ports or a thing called monitor out. you will have to read your manual i am afraid.

i run my tv thro my amp to my projector and the playstation. it just re routes the signal for video.

you will also see the colour coding for the cables. to be honest i can never remember which colour is which. red white yellow but follow your manual and it will be a cinch once you get over the fear of playing with it. i think it might be yellow. it is always the same for every thing...your cd will have 2 plugs , your dvd has 3 (the third is video).

the good news is that it can cut down on the cost and volume of cables. i have 2 going onto my projector but have 3 things working

the cable box for tv, the playstation for games on one cable (i.e. projecotor to amp and amp to devices) and a seperate cables for the dvd.