Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Recommend A Good Band For me!

• 20-01-2004 2:18pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭

Hey!

I'm on the trail of some new music to listen to.
    I haven't heard a new/out a while decent band in ages.

Last band albums I have been listening to are from:
    (hed) pe
    Disturbed
    AudioSlave

Any suggestions form anyone of something new or something good that I should listen to!

I prefer to hear new bands - but even if they are old I may not yet have heard of em!

TA!
    Tom

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,848 ✭✭✭✭Doctor J

BLACK SABBATH

The first 8 albums:

Black Sabbath
    Paranoid
    Master Of Reality
    Vol. 4
    Sabbath Bloody Sabbath
    Sabotage
    Technical Ecstacy
    Never Say Die

When you've got them move on to Zep. All the bands you like are just ripping off Sabbath and Zeppelin so just cut out the middleman. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭tomED

Hahaha

cheers man - i have a spectrum 48k too, but I prefer to move with the times and use a pc now ;)

Ah no seriuosyl - thanks but yeah have listened to all them - yes the stuff i listen to is a rip-off but its new (in a way) lol

Tom

Pesky kids!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭bombidol

Hatebreed - get the songs "Another day another vendetta"
    Sick Of It all -get the songs "District" + "Potential for a fall"+ "Scratch the Surface"

• Registered Users Posts: 3,312 ✭✭✭mr_angry

Poor DocJ! Is there nothing sacred these days anymore, like respect for your elder's musical taste? Tsk Tsk. Pretty soon they'll be shouting "Contemporise man!!!" at us in the street... for shame!.

Try this:
    HIM - Love Metal

It's better than the crap I expected.

Yes, part of me wants to guide the young 'un towards Poison - look What The Cat Dragged In

but I won't.

Nevermore - Dead Heart In A Dead World
    Opeth - Blackwater Park

I'll shuffle off back to my home now :p

• Registered Users Posts: 8,146 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Blind Guardian - Nightfall In Middle Earth
    Edguy: Burning down the opera live

• Registered Users Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

Opeth
    Dimmu Borgir
    At The Gates
    Emperor
    Meshuggah

All fantastically amazingly brilliantly super! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭Ph3n0m

A few I would recommend are

Suicidal Tendencies
    Anthrax
    Infectious Grooves
    Anathema
    Opeth
    Death
    Obituary
    Pestilence

......there are loads more

• Registered Users Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭Antisocialiser

There ever has been one band and thats rage against the machine so just go out an buy an album and ull be hooked - start with ratm self entitled and work your way up chronologically :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Pesky kids indeed! :D

Well, is you want to 'Contemporise' then by all means do!
    Just have a look to those golden oldies once in a while.

I see you like the Nu Metal side of things, so if you've not heard of them, try listening to Earthtone9, and maybe Withering Surface.

But all that was suggested already is grand.

Except for what Doctor J said!
    He's like, really, really old!
    Go back to the 60's, John Travolta!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 767 ✭✭✭nesthead

ye feckin kids and their nu-metal, lose that hed(pe) stuff pronto

if your partial to a bit of Iron Maiden, (Edward the Great,Best of The Beast, Rock In Rio and Live after Death should provide you with all the classics) power metal might sit well with you.

check out Iced Earth and Blind Guardian for starters, adn then maybe Hammerfall or Man'o'War if you like the really cheesy side.

depends what type of metal you are into really, you could like dimmu Borgir of Cradle Of Filth, or Cannibal Corpse or Slayer and Deicide, or In Flames, Scentenced and Children of Bodom or Opeth or Morbid Angel or Pig Destroyer or whatever!! there are so many great bands from so many genres of metal to choose from! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 519 ✭✭✭ThenComesDudley

Winnabego deal - plata o plomo

really good new band, albums only 17 minutes long but is really good,

or...

Fireball Ministry.

or

Helmet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭angelofdeath

Originally posted by Doctor J
    BLACK SABBATH

The first 8 albums:

Black Sabbath
    Paranoid
    Master Of Reality
    Vol. 4
    Sabbath Bloody Sabbath
    Sabotage
    Technical Ecstacy
    Never Say Die

i second;)

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Now for some REAL bands... :D

In Flames
    Sentenced
    The Haunted
    Kyuss
    Down
    Superjoint Ritual

• Registered Users Posts: 8,070 ✭✭✭Placebo

the new 36 crazyfists song is giving me goosebumps !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭loismustdie

tool
    a perfect circle

• Registered Users Posts: 7,136 ✭✭✭Pugsley

No one has mentioned Dark Tranquility, or Sinergy, or nightwish. Tsk tsk folks, shame, shame :)

Also try: Elvenking
    Sonata Arctica

For power metal, or if you want something slightly faster Cant go wrong with CHildren of Bodom.

Originally posted by AngelWhore
    Except for what Doctor J said!
    He's like, really, really old!
    Go back to the 60's, John Travolta!!!

Man, I thought you were into Opeth, but you just lied to us all along ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 196 ✭✭colincarnate

you've got; Saxon, Sabbath, Led Zepplin, Saxon... Saxon, SAXON!
    ah mullet man...

my list:
    Megadeth(still coming out with albums)
    Gn'R(will never release that album)
    Iron Maiden(Pure Evil!)
    Scorpions

basically all mainstream bands, because they're not boring like so many metal bands...

Megadeth are mainstream? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 196 ✭✭colincarnate

well maybe not anymore, but second only to the black album with countdown back in the day, won a grammy with Angry Again i think, go figure... :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭Ph3n0m

Originally posted by colincarnate
    well maybe not anymore, but second only to the black album with countdown back in the day, won a grammy with Angry Again i think, go figure... :)

tis a pity then that Angry Again was never on Countdown to Extinction then ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭Baggio

Well..it has to be RUSH, RUSH AND MORE RUSHHHH....now don't anyone say I'm just a one tracked Rush Freak!!!....Baggio....

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Originally posted by Ph3n0m
    tis a pity then that Angry Again was never on Countdown to Extinction then ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

get "Timeless" by Goldie...

should be called 'Dated' ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 407 ✭✭niallith

chevelle
    megadeth
    testament
    tool

• Closed Accounts Posts: 975 ✭✭✭j0e9o

nin