Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

...What are we going to do with this board!? - A Rant.

• 25-01-2004 10:36am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭

At this current time on boards, the rock/metal board is easily one of the most popular. Now that's no bad thing, it's a great thing! But it also brings problems to the fold...

I'm addressing all the advocates of the rock/metal board here.

Recently, despite the fact that there's an Upcoming Gigs thread, a rule in the Charter that tells you to use appropriate forums for topics, and a sticky thread I had to make because people simply weren't listening telling you NOT to post about gigs here. Dont bother looking for it, I deleted it. You'll figure out why soon... You'll also figure out why I didn't bother moving the threads about gigs to the gigs board.

Notice the subject: what are WE going to do with this board?

As I see it, I dont think it's simply an issue with people being ignorant of the rules, and just not paying attention. I see it that people simply want to bunch together and have all their topics under the one heading.

I've had to constantly move threads to their proper boards, like gigs/events and bands/musicians, and it's getting a little tedious at this stage.

The reason those boards were made in the first place is to accomodate the vast amount of threads that have flooded these boards, such like people looking for band members, or people posting about gigs.

In most of the other boards here, people have copped on to what each individual board is for, and its pretty much common knowledge that you don't post about films in after hours, or you don't post about Games in the Admin board, but there's a lot of people who've not grasped this concept when it comes to the music section of boards.

I'm not trying to flame anyone, this is just what happens here.
    Quite a lot of people just dont bother posting to appropriate boards.

What I've been trying to do is push out some of the intrest to the other boards, so that the Rock/Metal board doesn't become its own little island seperate of the boards.ie community. That, and keep the spammers at bay. Lets face it, there's always going to be people who regester their account for the sole reason of pimping their band/gigs on as many boards as possible, and they really add nothing to the community of boards.

So, I'm asking you lot, the REGULARS of the rock/metal board: What do you want to do with this board?
    Where do you want to see this board going?

Do you want all the threads about gigs kept to the gigs board?
    Do you want all the threads looking for band members kept to the bands/musicians board?
    Or do you want this board as it's own seperate free-for-all?

Keeping in mind, that this board has suffered in the past from GREAT amounts of spam.

What do you, the rock/metal regulars, want to do with this board?
    I'm going to discount the opinions of non-regulars now, I dont want to hear from the people who like to spam about their band's next gig on about 20 different boards, you lot are only looking out for your own intrests.

Please discuss it in depth, as this is your board, you lot have made it, and I want you lot to tell me what I should do with your board. Wiegh out the pros and cons before deciding anything. This board is in your hands, and lets hope it comes out for the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,216 ✭✭✭phreak

personally i'd prefer everything rock / metal related to be kept here rather than being split off to the gigs / events and bands / musicians forums. people with a specific music taste read/post here and anything to do with the music is of interest to them.

my 2 cents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,136 ✭✭✭Pugsley

Mayeb have sort of sub sections to this forum, like Films done with Film Reviews (ie: have the other forum at the top of the thread list). Of course considering some people on this forum, you would probably need large red flashing arrows, do it all in bold, underline it, do it italics, and make them press a pop up box acknowledging that they seen it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭nosmo

I'd like to keep the new gigs in the gigs thread, really. As for musicians, I'm in two minds.. I really wouldn't want the posts clogging up the board, but then again, lots of people who read this board mightn't read musicians board and would so miss their chance to be in Ireland's first Cryptopsy cover band, or something monumental like that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭Civilian_Target

Yeah, same here. The gig's thread is good because they're all in one place, and they're in something close to chronological order, which a gigs board wouldn't be. And I have no objection to bands trying to recruit here, personally.

TBH, I don't really see the need to change things. But I'm not the admin binning those threads in the first place, so I'm not sure I know the same rock/metal board an admin does.

I'm happy as things are, and I'll more than likely still be happy if they change a bit. Thats my opinion anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭nesthead

Id like to hear of gigs by established bands (the recent news of Testament and Deicide playing for example, not local bands) plus the DISCUSSION (not advertisment) of any gigs, past or upcoming.

Do you want all the threads looking for band members kept to the bands/musicians board?

Yes definatley. if people are looking for musicians who want to play rock/metal, they can just say so in thread title on the bands/musicians page. its so easy.

Perhaps it would best to split this forum up into three, "Alternative/Indie", "Metal" and "Punk".

As you said this is a very popular board as the title "Rock/Metal" is so broad there is a lot of lots of different types of music bundled under one heading like any HMV or Virgin Records.

btw im sure there are plenty of people who would be willing to help you mod such a busy board (id put myself forward but i dont have the time at the moment, stupid LC)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,985 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

What I do is, if someone posts an unreleated thread, is first, search the username, and see if they have spammed it around. If they have, I delete the thread. If they haven't, I just move it.

It's not exactly 100% clear to anyone, especially noobs, what other forums there are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,848 ✭✭✭✭Doctor J

I'd certainly like to be kept informed of gigs here, maybe not local acts but when established Metal bands play here, I think it is the sort of thing that generates a discussion in its own right (eg - Iron Maiden, Metallica recently ) that would overwhelm a single 'gigs' sticky. The likes of Testament, Deicide and Nuclear Assault playing here is big news to me and I'm interested in other peoples views on them. If people think this is out of order then I apologise for putting up the post, I hadn't paid too much attention to the stickys and, if it only goes in the sticky then so be it. If it's my band and we're just trying to drum up a crowd then, definitely, it goes in the gigs forum. However, I think the other members here would be interested in hearing of local bands and offer feedback on bands putting links to mp3's etc. We want to hear about Metal bands in this country too. As for musicians, keep it to the musicians posts, same with instruments, regardless of genre.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Yes, I think the gigs board is there for a reason, people should use it.

Again, yes, that is what the bands/musicians board is for...

No, I think there should be another moderator though. Not getting at you or anything Ken, you're doing a superb job but the fact is that you cannot be here all of the time. This board is usually going from 9 in the morning until 11 at night most nights and you cannot be expected to be here for all of that time. It would be mad.

There are alot of different people who use this and there are alot of newcomers that come in from time to time that are unaware of the rules. Which is the main problem IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,312 ✭✭✭mr_angry

If it ain't broke, don't fix it. I'm sorry if newbie spammers are causing you to have to move threads all the time, but such is the life of a moderator, I guess!

I personally don't think there's enough demand for separate Indie / Rock / Metal forums, especially considering how some bands blur the lines between these, and everyone has a different opinion on what "Rock" is.

I dunno. Get a co-mod or something!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭angelofdeath

i think its ok as it is, ive been guilty of posting bout gigs here, but copped on after reading the charter, so if people were to read the charter before posting as they should do, we'd all be happy, eh, the idea of subsections like in the film board i think is the best suggestion so far

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,592 ✭✭✭Ancient1

I dont think there's a need for a change. To a certain extent, this board is self-policing. There are many regulars here who admonish/correct/advise be it newbies or established posters when they're either out of line or whatever. As far as i know there hasnt been major sh1t happening that would warrant a major change.

I'd like to see the gigs posted in the gigs section because it provides a useful and chronological overview. If there is something to be discussed (see Doc J's threads) - then good! The metal forum needs to get a bit more "organic" than just "what song are you listening to right now".
    Obviously not every gig should be posted in here, but if it warrants discussion then so be it, ie a band that hasnt played here in a decade, or legends, or whatever other reason there is. In short - if it's rock/metal it should be here.

Keep instruments etc in the instruments section (no point discussing the virtues of a B.C. Rich in this forum) and ditto for band-members.

At the end of the day, Angelwhore, we're all here to help out and vice versa.

And finally, let the metal flow, dammit!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭Ameirgin

I agree that announcements of gigs should be kept to the gigs forum, however I agree with Doctor J that discussion of the band as a result of the gig should be here.

As for people looking for band members, well....that what that particular forum is for. So that's where they should be IMO.

I do agree with the suggestion that maybe you need to take on an assistant mod AngelWhore - you are but one man, and as you said yourself - this is a damn busy and damn popular forum. There are smaller forums on boards that have more than one mod. That's not to say that you aren't doing a great job - you are. It's just that the job is growing fast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭bombidol

This thread is off topic for a Rock/Metal forum and should be deleted :p;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,216 ✭✭✭phreak

I think there should be another moderator though.

i concur.

PORNAPSTER would be the best co-mod imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Originally posted by mr_angry
    I dunno. Get a co-mod or something!

I think a few people misunterstand the point of this thread is completely!

It's not that I'm having a hard time modding the board!
    Far from it...

It's the fact that recently there's been threads about gigs, and such like the Testemant/Deicide (That were posted by a 'regular' of the board) that perhaps brings into question some of the rules. Seeing as certainly people, including regular members of the board, aren't really bothered about sticking to the rules.

Get my meaning here?

It's not a case of me having too much to do on this board, it's a case that I dont want to flog the populace with the moderating stick when there are other options open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,312 ✭✭✭mr_angry

[Complete ignorance]

I say FLOG THE B*STARDS!!!

[/Complete ignorance]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,985 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

Look Angelwhore, people will never follow the rules, even if they will benefit them.

You're best off just moderating as usual.

Don't leave this board in the shambles the For Sale board has become, if anything, you should be more relaxed.

Well we cant really discuss concerts in the gigs thread - and wheres a better place than here? If it warrants discussion it should be ok (but please ban all metallica discussions:D )

Originally posted by AngelWhore
    It's the fact that recently there's been threads about gigs, and such like the Testemant/Deicide (That were posted by a 'regular' of the board) that perhaps brings into question some of the rules. Seeing as certainly people, including regular members of the board, aren't really bothered about sticking to the rules.

Get my meaning here?

Yep, that was me, you can say my name, and I apologised for it. When I joined boards I read your charter ->

"NO ADVERTISING.
    Advertising, or pimping for anything is completely out of the question.

NO ILLEGAL WAREZ/MP3S.
    Any discussion on the illegal download of copyrighted material is out of the question also. Any links to illegal mp3s, or the suggestion of P2P file sharing programs will be deleted, and the user possibly banned.

NO RASCISM.
    As it says.

NO SPAMMING/MULTIPLE THREADS.
    Spam will be recycled.

NO FLAMING.
    Within reason... But people giving all out verbal attacks will be slapped.

NO OFF-TOPIC.
    If there's a board there for your topic, put it there. Offending threads shall be moved.

A few of the above = BAN!

Got it? "

Among the first threads I saw when i joined Boards were threads about Metallica gigs, Iron Maiden gigs, etc which you also participated in so I didn't think it was taboo to discuss major Metal bands touring here on the Metal board. As I said, the likes of Testament or Deicide playing here is big news to me and wanted to discuss it with others (and, judging by the responses here other 'regulars' seem to share my view) - discuss the band and their music, not just advertise a gig. I was trying to share information with others who may not have been aware of it. Now I have been made aware I shouldn't have. I don't have a problem with that. Sorry. It won't happen again.

So we can discuss all aspects of Rock, Punk and Metal except live Rock, Punk and Metal here? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 138 ✭✭Ameirgin

I gotta gree with Doctor J - I read that rule as advertising, not disussing the event after it has happened? And IMO that's probably the most sensible way of modding the threads - remove adverts and leave discussions.

As for the band members thing, that has a specific forum, and should be dealt with there - no exceptions.

Is Bloodstock not a gig?

what is the point in discussing major ROCK/METAL gigs in a forum where a lot of people dont care about metal? how about discussing them in a place where the MAJORITY of people want to talk about them?

I for one dont want to trawl through a load of crap to discuss the upcoming Emerald Promotions gigs or maybe.... emmm...... BLOODSTOCK, which AW made a sticky. (not tryin to subvert your authority here m8 but please be consistent.) a co-mod would probably be quite healthy too;)

Originally posted by Doctor J
    Among the first threads I saw when i joined Boards were threads about Metallica gigs, Iron Maiden gigs, etc which you also participated in so I didn't think it was taboo to discuss major Metal bands touring here on the Metal board. As I said, the likes of Testament or Deicide playing here is big news to me and wanted to discuss it with others (and, judging by the responses here other 'regulars' seem to share my view) - discuss the band and their music, not just advertise a gig. I was trying to share information with others who may not have been aware of it. Now I have been made aware I shouldn't have. I don't have a problem with that. Sorry. It won't happen again.

So we can discuss all aspects of Rock, Punk and Metal except live Rock, Punk and Metal here? :confused:

You dont have to apologise for anything.

I've never had any policy against the discussion of the gig itself, hence the 'Aftermath' threads are always gonna be around.
    I think failure to be more specific on my part caused a lot of confusion.

But it's a bit of a delicate subject, as I'm sure you can see the hipocrisy in saying that we're allowed threads about major metal bands, but you local bands can **** off because you're not worth it!? It just wouldn't be cricket, tbh.

So this is a reason this thread is here, so we can all discuss and decide on some more fitting rules and regulations.

we're allowed threads about major metal bands, but you local bands can **** off because you're not worth it!?

to put it bluntly, yes.

I'd love to fully plug my band here, cause i know loads of people like 'Maiden, but i dont do it because for the majority of people its a non-event. there are big enough Irish bands like Abaddon Incarnate or Waylander who have established themselves enough to merit a notice of an upcoming gig and the probable discussion of the band and gig.

the difference between local and established bands when putting up a notice of a gig is that its very unlikely that a member of a big band would post on a small Irish metal forum about there upcoming gig. Like imagine Mikael Akerfeldt or Anders Frinden or feckin Steve Harris personnally posting on our forum to promote their gig...

(maybe the guys from Emerald or Toxic would try to exploit this but keen moderatership would keep that crap out)

if we cant agree, I say put it to a vote. should we allow:

1.All upcoming gigs permitted to be mentioned?
    2."Established" bands gigs mentioned? (I do not use that term loosely)
    3.No Gig notices at all?

just an idea:confused:;)

That's a little inconsiderate and hipocritical, dont you think?
    Perhaps quite shallow aswell.

Local bands generally, and genuinely NEED support far more than already established bands.
    I just dont think that's a fair solution at ALL.

That's what i've been saying - if it warrants a discussion - good ! and if it aint broke dont fix it. :)

It's a delicate one alright.

For me, I think anything which can/will generate a discussion in it's own right should be allowed. So for me, the likes of Maiden, Metallica, Bloodstock and, yes, even Deicide and Testament have a right to be discussed here. OK, they're gigs, but they're Metal gigs, so should they be alongside posts of Bic Runga playing in Whelans or The Sawdoctors in Vicar St? They are 'established' bands, they will generate some new discussion (who else is growing weary of 'What song are you listening to' and 'The song game'? ad nauseum) which at the end of the day shows that a board is only as strong as the posts it contains. I don't think we could justify opening a Metal Gigs forum. On the other hand, one of the things I love about Rock and Metal is going to see a band play. I want to talk about good bands with other people who like the music. I think you can't really talk about Metal without touching on the live side of it. Gigs are a large part of the music.

A plug for a local gig is a plug, an advertisement which is how I interpreted the charter. The likes of Eyesclosed have generated a bit of discussion recently on the strength of their support slot with Machine Head, which is fine by me too. Good luck to them. A gig with machine Head is a big thing. A gig in Slattery's on a Monday isn't. Septic Sack from Finglas playing their local school hall doesn't warrant inclusion. It's tough and a little bit shallow but I play in a band too, that's just the way it is, I accept it. Perhaps a sticky for local gigs?

Edit ---> Testament has been cancelled :(

Testament has been cancelled :(

!

Bollocks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,146 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Edit ---> Testament has been cancelled :(

! To Graspop! !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

Lads... do you think you might be taking this just a little bit too seriously!?!?!

Can a local rock/metal band not post to the rock/metal forum advertising their gig!? It's idiotic not to let them. I mean why not!!? Are you really that strict?

Ye should all take a step back and have a think about what you're talking about. Get real here. The board is fine. People aren't jumping in with threads on Westlife or fúckin Mickey Harte. Angelwhore.... if you have to move the occasional thread who gives a fúck? You've already said you don't have a problem moderating.

As someone has already mentioned.... "If it ain't broke, don't fix it!".

I think this thread is rediculous. About as rediculous as the abortion thread currently going.... but I'm not goin near that one. Too many idiots on it.