Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tax back on pensions

Options
  • 26-01-2004 7:19pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭

Can anyone tell me how much tax rebate I am due back on my pension contributions and how I go about claiming it.

I've been paying into a private pension for 9 years now and only claimed on the first two/three years when filing my taxes as a self-employed person (wise accountant). But since I've been a PAYE worker for more or less the last 7 years its been one of those things I kept neglecting to get round to. However, with bills mounting up and the urgent need to boost my savings I think its high time to get it in order.

Any suggestions or know where I can get info on this?

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Reyman

If you're PAYE and have an associated pension scheme, I'm pretty sure you can't get any tax relief on your private pension contributions.

If you have no PAYE pension you have to get a cert for each of the years' contributions from the pension company. You just send this with a covering letter to the Revenue Commissioners (and wait about 6 months for a refund)

By the way those pension schemes are a dreadful rip off - if you check you'll find you're paying a huge whack of your contributions to the company (the exact amount is very hard to find out). This is to pay for the senior executives' Company Mercs and Holiday Apartments down in the Agarve.

Freeze it - stop paying, and get a PRSA - much better deal. The pension companies hate them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

Originally posted by Reyman