Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Superbowl Revealed more than football...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭suppafly

Originally posted by NeVeR
    i didnt see the show..
    but i did see the little clip posted here.

and it looks staded.. He reaches over and takes a full grip on here top and pulls it off.. and the part he pulls off is very neatly ripped,, (set up to come off easy if you ask me )

everybody knows it was staged but he wasn't ment to pull off the whole thing. He was just supposed to pull of the bustier and leave the red bra.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 4,569 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ivan

Originally posted by SheroN
    I thought justin Timberlake was supposed to be some kind of super hunk?...he looks like a scruffy bum in that picture for **** sake!

I would havae said a heroin addict or something, but yeah, I can see the resemblance to a "scruffy bum".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

Originally posted by BlitzKrieg
    I dont feel offended by the whole (its a tit!!!) outrage. I just feel that MTV has now become a semi porn channel.

MTV's Making The Video: Christina - Dirrty and Britney - Toxic
    to be fscking honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

Originally posted by suppafly
    everybody knows it was staged but he wasn't ment to pull off the whole thing. He was just supposed to pull of the bustier and leave the red bra.

So he actually managed to skillfully rip a bra that neatly in half?? Seriously? She just happened to be wearing that star thing on her nipple on the night?? It was a fúcking setup. Jesus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭fester

When i first heard about this, i thought they were talking about britney. Now i've found out that its Janet. God, what a disapointement. :dunno: :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭fester

Some american says:
    I also heard that the FCC Chairman is pushing for a fast and thorough investigation and may seek to fine each station that broadcast the show. I hope so. CBS was in this as much as MTV.

For god sakes it was only a tit, and half covered by a cocktail umbrella at that. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

Eminem song has a qoute about the discovery channel, guess this kinds uproar is what he was talking about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭Exit

I believe CBS got fined $15,000 for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭Skud

"It's unlikely that MTV will produce another Super Bowl halftime."

waaaaayyyyyyyyyy too far. This from a nation that after 12o'clock a lot of their channels show porn movies (usually softcore) and house christina aguilera, "that jennifer lopez dress" and god knows what else. The list is endless...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 458 ✭✭ll=llannah

the game was excellent - even if its huge men ramming into one another repeatedly. you just have to turn off the stupid halftime. its always stupid. and mtv-like. and hideous. so you shield your vision in order to not go horribly blind because of stupid half-times, come back to the game after you stuff yourself with more junk food and voila. superbowl as it should be. :D
    it's fun if you tune out for most of it and watch the last quarter when things get vicious and interesting. and i'm not one for sports, usually, either, (unless dance counts.)

Originally posted by twix_girl
    unless dance counts

no it doesn't. Could be a thread in itself actually, what "sports" aren't?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭Ryaner

That could be a bit cruel, what sports arent. But go post quickly and let the fun begin :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭hedgetrimmer

Originally posted by Exit
    I believe CBS got fined $15,000 for it.

That's an expensive tit! Sure, you can get much cheaper down on Baggot Street Bridge of a Sunday evening :)

Talk about a storm in a C- cup:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

see the way htey claimed it was an accident when they heard all the controversy over it the day after and now they admitted it was staged and totally mtv's fault.

personally i feel sorry for CBS who were not told that was part of the half-time show before it took place.

ah well i guess some poor country is gonna get attacked now in retaliation of this disgrace to the american people and its national game

good game of football though :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

never has the acronym FFS been more appropriate!

it's a tit! my god. :rolleyes:

i can just see all those people queuing up for nipplectomies so that people never have to see them again.

jesus america, get over yourselves. you have to worry about people who are quite happy to let their kids watch live coverage of people getting shot to pieces and blown up in the last gulf conflict, but don't want them to see something that every other person on the planet has got. it's possibly the stupidest most hypocrytical thing they've done since.....actually, it's not been that long since the last thing, so it's just stupid and hypocrytical.

i'm constantly forced to wonder how a country so full of eejits could ever end up so powerful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

Originally posted by Faust
    Isn't that called racism?
    That is all.
    American isn't a race, it's a state of mind, also referred to as 'stupid'

Originally posted by vibe666
    never has the acronym FFS been more appropriate!

omg where did u get this? Look at this LOl or should i say "ROFLASTC" or mayb "ROTFLBTCASTCIIHO"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭tba

Originally posted by Caliden
    omg where did u get this? Look at this LOl or should i say "ROFLASTC" or mayb "ROTFLBTCASTCIIHO"

YYY

• Closed Accounts Posts: 665 ✭✭✭skittishkitten

The uproar is because it happened WITHOUT warning, not to mention it's also against FCC regulations . If people wish to let their children watch nudity on TV that is their choice , but not all parents care to have their children see it. Nudity, violence , language, ect are warned of before a show is aired , giving the parent the right to edit their childrens veiwing choices. What they did and how they did it was uncalled for. If the FCC was to let them get by with this as it was "just a tit" what would they ( pop/tv stars ) try next ? It is unfortunate though that CBS got caught in their little stunt. However it's better to stop it now before it gets out of hand than to try to stop a full blown shockfest to outdo each other. It was a publicity stunt , it was in poor taste. This is pretty much a slap on the wrist and a public scolding , it could have been alot worse.

Yes, but whether it happened without warning or not, it's still just a breast. And a split second flash of one at that.

Jesus, if you go to the BBC website you'll find a picture of said breast without any fuss. The United States of America is quite possibly the most (hypocritically) conservative country in the world.

Originally posted by skittishkitten
    The uproar is because it happened WITHOUT warning, not to mention it's also against FCC regulations . If people wish to let their children watch nudity on TV that is their choice , but not all parents care to have their children see it. Nudity, violence , language, ect are warned of before a show is aired , giving the parent the right to edit their childrens veiwing choices. What they did and how they did it was uncalled for. If the FCC was to let them get by with this as it was "just a tit" what would they ( pop/tv stars ) try next ? It is unfortunate though that CBS got caught in their little stunt. However it's better to stop it now before it gets out of hand than to try to stop a full blown shockfest to outdo each other. It was a publicity stunt , it was in poor taste. This is pretty much a slap on the wrist and a public scolding , it could have been alot worse.

Are you American? I've a feeling you are. If so, then the above post while stupid is okay.

If you're not then cop on. It was just a ****ing breast. Most shampoo adverts are worse than that.

i cant believe janet jackson is taking full blame for it though.
    were u watching the news last night where she admitted she changed the dance routine on her own after the last rehersal without consulting anybody and then it showed justin timberframe talking about how unexpected it was and how shocked he was that it happened

Originally posted by Dr. Loon
    Are you American? I've a feeling you are. If so, then the above post while stupid is okay.

If you're not then cop on. It was just a ****ing breast. Most shampoo adverts are worse than that.

Yes I am an American. Our shampoo ads do not show frontal veiws of the breast, however they are allowed side veiws. Granted it's a bit stupid to say it's OK to show the side and not the front but it is the regulation. My point is , if they let it go it will just continue to get worse. If they let Janet and Justin get by without some sort of reprimand on this , even if it's just a minor wrist slap, then who knows what the next star will "accidentally" do on live TV. Soon we won't even be allowed to have "live" TV as the broadcast stations will be protecting themselves against what some nut case star is likely to pull next . Everything will be broadcast on delay to allow for editing or aired after the event. And for sporting event .....what fun is that !?

It's bad enough that the news media continues to show it over and over (although blurring out the offending tit ). They wanted publicity and they got it. I do admire the fact that Janet has stepped forward and apologized for the event and does seem actually contrite over the whole situation. Justin on the other hand , I never liked him much and his actions following this just lower my opinion of him even more. Personally I thought the whole half time show sucked beyond belief. I'd of preferred to watch reruns of the past SuperBowl commercials!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,003 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Yes I am an American. Our shampoo ads do not show frontal veiws of the breast, however they are allowed side veiws. Granted it's a bit stupid to say it's OK to show the side and not the front but it is the regulation.
    But that's not the point either. You're hardly ever allowed show a frontal breast on US network TV. You're never allowed use strong language. Yet you are allowed show people being tortured, maimed, bloodied, slaughtered, cut up, etc. This is even if warnings are included. So despite a 10pm watershed, you could never say "f*ck" (I appreciate the irony of this) on US TV. You couldn't show full nudity. What's wrong with that system of values that equates violence acceptable whereas the human body is not? That's why we're shaking our heads in disbelief. This is just one more example of their insane conservatism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

I think Xena Warrior princess was at some big amercian sporting event once and she was singing something (mabe the antom) and at the end she put her fist in the air to do her warrior princess weird scream thing but anyway ye one of her boobs pops out of her breast plate. quite funny and im pretty sure it was an accident because there was nothing covering her nipple as i can recall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

Christ, what's all the bloody hooplah about. It's a boob. We've all seen them before and half us have them.

Apparantly both the Oscars and the Grammys might be shown with a 5second delay because of this, so they can censor out all the bad words and partial nudity. This also means some "controversial" speeches like Michael Moore's last year might be cut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

america.

the home of free speech and freedom of expression.

only without the freedom to let people see it if it might offend anyone.

another case in point is mel gibson's new jesus movie.

apparently the jewish community is trying to have it banned bacause it contains anti-semetic scenes. specifically that it would mention that the jews were responsible for the death of christ.

hang on a minute, didn't they already admit to that? :rolleyes:

and this is before anyone has even seen it. apart from the pope, who apparently thought it was very accurate in its protrayal of JC according to some random website i was reading.

Yes I am an American. etc...etc...etc...

It's just a part of the human body for **** sake!!! What about all the sexual gyrations of the starts, clothed or not I find it more obscene than a bit of nudity. It's the human body.... get over it. Shock value! It's entertainment. I was entertained.

Plus it was covered, therefore it's about as bad as watching a belly dancer. Seriously cop on to yourself. You are what's wrong with the world... nudity = bad.

What's that american idiots name?.... Tom Green? Some of the shít he does is sick in comparison to Janet Jacksons squashed tit floppin out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭vorbis

some of ye are definetly viewing this out of context. Imagine the same thing happening during a half time show during an All Ireland Final (if only :D ). People would be well annoyed simply because its completely crass. Its nothing to do with freedom of expression just that nudity (bar a random streaker) doesn't belong at a sporting event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

Seriously cop on to yourself. You are what's wrong with the world... nudity = bad.

Attack the post not the poster Loon. And would you like to quote me where skittishkitten said "nudity = bad"??

If I recall,
    posted by skittishkitten
    Our shampoo ads do not show frontal veiws of the breast, however they are allowed side veiws. Granted it's a bit stupid to say it's OK to show the side and not the front but it is the regulation.

I don't see "nudity = bad" anywhere in there. I do however see a comment on the current FCC laws being "stupid" to allow one and not the other.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,003 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Originally posted by vorbis
    some of ye are definetly viewing this out of context. Imagine the same thing happening during a half time show during an All Ireland Final (if only :D ). People would be well annoyed simply because its completely crass. Its nothing to do with freedom of expression just that nudity (bar a random streaker) doesn't belong at a sporting event.
    Well I'm expanding the argument. You never see nudity on US TV programs. You can't even swear, no matter what time a movie is on at. Yet you can leave in copious amounts of brutal violence. What's with a system that decries the natural body and acts between two people yet lauds viciousness and evilness?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Agatha Christie's tales of grisly multiple homicide were the bedtime read of choice of many an elderly great-aunt at a time when women still wore bathing suits that covered their ankles. It's not a uniquely American or modern paradox.

It's just a part of the human body for **** sake!!! What about all the sexual gyrations of the starts, clothed or not I find it more obscene than a bit of nudity. It's the human body.... get over it. Shock value! It's entertainment. I was entertained.

Plus it was covered, therefore it's about as bad as watching a belly dancer. Seriously cop on to yourself. You are what's wrong with the world... nudity = bad.

What's that american idiots name?.... Tom Green? Some of the shít he does is sick in comparison to Janet Jacksons squashed tit floppin out.

Well I'm assuming your NOT a child and male, so of course it will be entertaining for you. Did you have children that watched ..... did you also find it amusing that they saw ? Although I was at first surprised I also thought it was amusing , but that doesnt change the fact that there were CHILDREN in alot of homes watching also. I'm merely offering reasons why Americans and the FCC acted as they did. Believe it or not some people actually try to be responsible about what their children watch, not everyone is into murder and mayhem and sex.

As for ...... " You are what's wrong with the world... nudity = bad. " , You should really bother to know more about a person before you make accusations. I think you will find I don't think nudity =bad ...... actually I'd probably end up shocking you :p

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Children schmildren, prudes always use them to put their own ideas forward. It still doesn't make sense as an argument.

I think you will find I don't think nudity =bad ...... actually I'd probably end up shocking you :p

go on... ;)

re: attack the post not the poster.

It's the posters attitude I'm attacking. Not the post!!

What's wrong exactly with a child seeing nudity? A breast in fact. Which a young child will usually see quite often? I digress however, in that the context is a bit wrong for a child to witness.

Still though, I considered the show entertainment. It amused me in its stupidity.

Believe me, as a male, I didn't find it attractive. I was repulsed by it. Her breast had a sinister look about it.

re: attack the post not the poster.

It's the posters attitude I'm attacking. Not the post!!

recall:
    Posted by Dr.Loon
    Seriously cop on to yourself. You are what's wrong with the world...

That seems like an attack on the poster, not the attitude Dr.Loon

What's wrong exactly with a child seeing nudity? A breast in fact.

/overly dramatic
    Well why don't we roll out the porn videos to the schools then? :rolleyes:
    /end drama

Which a young child will usually see quite often?

Do you actually ever remember being breast-fed? No?

Seriously cop on to yourself. You are what's wrong with the world...

:D Forgot about that one. A little bit of Bill Hicks there. Sorry about that Skittishkitten.

No I don't remember being breast fed. Which leads me to the question, when should a child be taught to be comfortable with the human body and nudity?!?

Anyway, Lemming, you should obey your own sig :)

My title (under my nick) unfortunately precludes any ability to follow my sig today :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 289 ✭✭Fudger

PR stunt, i hear her new album is out next month or sometime soon. handy to be in the press leading up to an album launch.

at least it brought a bit of life into an otherwise boring sport!

when i heard a tit was out at the half time show of the superbowl I just presumed they where talking about Justin couldn't understand all the excitment.....

And the censorship begins to spread...

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/entertainment/3461031.stm

Maybe thats just a step too far...but then did you really wanna see old people like that? I think not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,423 ✭✭✭tinkerbell

teehee, ah that was such a funny incident :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

From That Link
    US network NBC has dropped a scene showing the breast of an elderly woman from the next episode of its hit medical drama ER.

ER is one of America's biggest shows
    NBC said although the scene was "appropriate and in context" it could not ignore the "atmosphere" created by Jackson's stunt on Sunday.

FFS, this has been blown out of all proportion :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Oh, for god's sake!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭suppafly

serious injury?? wtf!! How could u seriously injure yurself ffs like.

lol.
    €10 she will win the case. any takers??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭gerire

Im surprised it took shoppers a week to come up with some images but heres one

Thats classic, just classic