Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Info about getting started

• 06-02-2004 4:49pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭

Lads,
    Hows it going.
    I always enjoy a good game of poker and i would be very interested in going along to the Fitzwilliam one night and hopefully from then on being a regular there.

I am however looking for a few tips off you as to where to read up on the style of play, they play there. I would be more familiar with 5 card stud.

Do they play the same type of poker as was on "late night poker".

Any information appreciated, as I would like to put up a fairly respectible performance on my first session there(just to settle in).

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,664 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hyzepher

First of all - welcome.

The poker they play in Fitz is Texas Hold'em - exactly what they play ao the TV etc - so if you have seen those shows you will know the format.

If you are interested come down on a Thursday at 9pm - most of us are there each week. It is a free entry tournament where the prizes are free entry into the €250 tournament at the end of the month. You can rebuy for €10 but you do not have to - rebuys = buy more chips when you have none left.

The atmosphere is great with lots of jokes/banter at the tables. The style of play is VERY loose while the rebuys are available and a bit tighter later on. The average player is very average so you wont feel a complete noob when you go along. After a few weeks you will be a regular.

Dive in and have some fun!

Hyzepher

• Registered Users Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

Check out musicians links at the top of the forum, there's info on everything from the basic rules and strategy to stats on what your chances of winning with certain cards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭empirix

Cheers lads, hope to see ye soon!

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

The atmosphere is great with lots of jokes/banter at the tables.

Yeah, unless some foul hag of an aul bat decides you looked at her chips funny ;)

Welcome to Boards btw, we usually go for a beer beforehand so that any newcomers can locate friendlies before braving the casino!
    Its not dead serious and the Thursday nights are full of players who are very new to the game.

DeV.

Originally posted by DeVore
    Yeah, unless some foul hag of an aul bat decides you looked at her chips funny ;)
    DeV.
    Her names Chris afaik, I'll try to get her number for you next time :)

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

mmmmmmmmmmm sexeh!!!

DeV

Cheers again lads, I've bought "Hold em poker" by Mr.Sklansky, on Saturday, so i expect it to arrive this week. I have never played hold em before on a more "serious" level, so i won't be participating until a month or so, wanna do a bit of research so i don't embarass myself too much.
    I would definitely be up for a few beers before the games.
    Will keep in touch through the board.

Originally posted by empirix
    Cheers again lads, I've bought "Hold em poker" by Mr.Sklansky, on Saturday, so i expect it to arrive this week. I have never played hold em before on a more "serious" level, so i won't be participating until a month or so, wanna do a bit of research so i don't embarass myself too much.
    I would definitely be up for a few beers before the games.
    Will keep in touch through the board.
    Best way to improve is to play, come along to thursdays in the fitzwilliam, free entry.
    If you know the basics about blinds, and how the game is played on a general level then you'll be grand. If you've played against mates then you'll be on the same level as alot of the players there, thats how most of us started.

Edit: we should be getting finders fees for the amount of boards people going to the fitz :p

Originally posted by empirix
    I have never played hold em before on a more "serious" level, so i won't be participating until a month or so, wanna do a bit of research so i don't embarass myself too much.

Believe me that best thing you can do is go down to the Fitzwilliam on a Thursday ay 9pm and play in the free tournie - better ecperience than any book will give you. Anyway I doubt the tactics outlined in any book will prepare you for the betting frenzy witnessed each Thursday at the Fitz :)

Hyzepher

see, it must be true if you get two replies the same - at the same time - lol

Hyzepher

I agree with the two replies too, dont be too worried about making a fool out of yourself the first time, cos you wont and if you did, well everyone is very friendly and will forgive you (except the aforementioned bitch! lol).

As for the Fitz, yeah they should give us some sort of at least recognition of how many people we are directing there... :)

DeV.

As for the Fitz, yeah they should give us some sort of at least recognition of how many people we are directing there... :)

Maybe they'll take out an ad - I'll have a chat with someone on Thursday if you like. The Boards.ie name got some recognition at the business league - I could quote some figues to them if we worked out how many go?

Hyzepher

(except the aforementioned bitch! lol).
    DeV.
    Do not deny your love Dev, if it is meant to be it will happen...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭casper-

Welcome to Boards btw, we usually go for a beer beforehand so that any newcomers can locate friendlies before braving the casino!
    Its not dead serious and the Thursday nights are full of players who are very new to the game.

DeV.

I think i might give it a shot on Thursday :) I've only played texas hold'em on the computer, hopefully that's enough that I don't look like a complete fool. Where do you meet at beforehand? Is there any chance to practice a few hands before the tournament starts? It would be nice to get some practice playing with real people heh :)

If you are around tonight there is a game in my place (see the thread "GF gone to france, need some action"). You are welcome to join us.

DeV.

Sorry Dev.....only got to view the post now.....the leadership are watching everyones internet usage..so i have to stay off it for a while......maybe next time

cheers