Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

PCworld Samsung 120gb hdd

• 09-02-2004 10:16am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,563 ✭✭✭

Samsung 120gb ultra quiet ide hdd (OEM) for €99 at pc world.

I was surprised anyway as they were selling 40gb boxed ones for €80, and one helpful guy even told me to try Komplett when i was asking him a question about motherboards, even told me about the current specials. cheers to him

They are also doing compaq 17" monitors for €99 and no name 15" for €79

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,135 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

*picks himself off floor* Was it damaged / returned?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 529 ✭✭✭Ebonyks

That is a jaw dropper!!! :eek:

While on topic Komplett special this week Western Digital Caviar 160GB IDE 7200RPM for 105 :). They seem to be doing a HD special every week.....which is nice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,115 ✭✭✭Pacifico

I got a 160gb version of the samsung drive in question. Excellent drive bought it in PC world aswell for 140 not bad either

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 Forme

thats wired for them to do deals like that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭gobby

will have to keep an eye out in there from now on...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 738 ✭✭✭gaui3d0pnbz86o

tis not weird, they have been doing those drives- samsung 7200rpm low noise- for some time, 80gb €65, 120 €99, and 160 €140, also phillips 52x cdrw(oem) drive €35

also forgot to add 256mb 400mhz ddr ram for €29.99

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭whosurpaddy

Originally posted by flameboy
    tis not weird, they have been doing those drives- samsung 7200rpm low noise- for some time, 80gb €65, 120 €99, and 160 €140, also phillips 52x cdrw(oem) drive €35

did i read that right? an 80gb samsung drive is €65? damn thats cheap

This be nerdy of me but when calculated out price per gig, it works out at 81c for 120G and 83c for 80. But when with the 120G formatted to FAt32 (whatever), with the space you lose after i suppose the 80G wins out. Just a little pointless insight....i'm pretty damn bored.

i'll go now :ninja:

just rem every Mb counts....kinda like sperm tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭Dingatron

Anyone know if they've many of the compaq 17" monitors for €99 left in Blanch? I want to get a few but won't be down there till tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,560 ✭✭✭Woden

is that ram anywhere near half decent?

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,135 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

I was in pcworld in limerick on sunday and didn't see this. Gotta open my eyes i suppose, because those are some crazy prices!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,427 ✭✭✭ando

is that samsung 80gig HD 8MB or 2 MB cache ????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 738 ✭✭✭gaui3d0pnbz86o

is that samsung 80gig HD 8MB or 2 MB cache ????

me checks boxes-i bought all three drives- they all 2mb
    is that ram anywhere near half decent?

im not having any trouble with it at all- in fact i have two in my machine, was cheaper then a stick of 512, i think the chips themsleves are made by imation, or inifition, something like that, and packaged by pny
    did i read that right? an 80gb samsung drive is €65

that what my reciept says

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,182 ✭✭✭ondafly

just back from Blanch PCworld - no sign of the drives. Guess they are sold out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,723 ✭✭✭kmb

Here lads,They are available here.....
    SP0401N 40GB / 7200rpm / UATA 133 / 2mb cache / 3yr warranty € 43.00
    SP1203N 120GB / 7200rpm / UATA 133 / 2mb cache / 3yr warranty € 71.00
    +vat @21%
    Lite-On 4 in 1 Combi 4 in 1 Combi 48x24x48x16 - ATAPI Retail € 41.50
    +vat @21%
    Kevin Sweeney on +353 (0) 94 96 40505 or by e:mail - kevin@stornet.ie

I buy from this crowd so if you want to contact kevin and he will sort you out...hope this helps!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,570 ✭✭✭Slutmonkey57b

If it's the 2meg version you're not getting a bargain there - not when you can get a better performing 8meg from komplett at a similar price. Still, for PC World, a huge bargain I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,264 ✭✭✭RicardoSmith

Originally posted by Slutmonkey57b
    If it's the 2meg version you're not getting a bargain there - not when you can get a better performing 8meg from komplett at a similar price. Still, for PC World, a huge bargain I suppose.

Assuming they manage to find it in stock and actually send it to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭ronano

Originally posted by Ebonyks
    This be nerdy of me but when calculated out price per gig, it works out at 81c for 120G and 83c for 80. But when with the 120G formatted to FAt32 (whatever), with the space you lose after i suppose the 80G wins out. Just a little pointless insight....i'm pretty damn bored.

i'll go now :ninja:

just rem every Mb counts....kinda like sperm tbh

Marry me?

Well stornet also do :
    MX6Y120P0 120GB / 7200rpm / UATA 133 / 8mb cache / 1yr warranty € 75.00

+vat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,886 ✭✭✭cgarvey

Jeez, kmb, ease up there on the oul pimpin' !!

.cg

I know,i know,i just hate people paying over the odds for componments when they dont have to as i did it long enough until i got into 4 trade companies and got proper prices which for a system builder can make the difference between a marginal profit and a nice profit.Everyone is complaining about komplett and compustore so why not just say goodbye to them as i am sure there are a lot of other trade companies that i dont know about but would gladly give my business to if i got better prices.If per chance you do know why not share it with others?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,146 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

I know stornet very well *looks out his window* but they are a trade only company people. So for average joe smo it wouldnt be to easy for them to buy off them.

Hi Ronan|Raven,I deal with kevin up there and he has said it would be okay for anyone to deal with them so i see no harm in letting people know this service is available if they want to use it,that is all.As you probaly know they are very good on pricing though their range is limited and i use other companies for software etc.That is why i have been quoting kevins name as i contact name.If you know any other good contacts maybe you might advise us?
    A bit of competition may force komplett to pull their socks up!!!!After all its the consumer who benefits with competition.Also delivery is next day which is nice when your underpressure as we all get sometimes with people waiting for repairs etc.
    regards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,146 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Originally posted by kmb
    Hi Ronan|Raven,I deal with kevin up there and he has said it would be okay for anyone to deal with them so i see no harm in letting people

Thats grand didnt know he said that. Carry on!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,264 ✭✭✭RicardoSmith

Who/what are stornet?

YES! ronano i will

:ninja:

where are stornet based? Any contact info? Sounds like their similar to Iqon

Hi ando,I Never heard of Iqon where are they based?Are they any good?Would be interested in contact details etc.Always on lookout for cheaper componments.
    Anyway this is the contact info for stornet :
    Kevin Sweeney on +353 (0) 94 96 40505 or by e:mail - kevin@stornet.ie
    They are based in ballinlough co.roscommon and i just order by credit card up to 3.30pm i think it is and box lands nextday which is very handy.
    I also deal with a company in dublin osmosis which is trade only as far as i know but stornet offer better prices on harddrives,ram etc but osmosis is best for software and do lots of isdn and wireless and specialise gear with standard componments too.

Hope above helps....Anyone got other contacts?

Iqon are based in Dundalk but its not that far away now that the new motorway is up and running. 45mins aprox from dublin. http://www.iqon.ie/
    My company buys stuff off them, usually full PC systems

Thanks from that info on stornet, I'm looking for a new HD 7200rpm 8mb cache :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Matt Simis

I was in PC World blanch yesterday and didnt see any such offers (HDD or memory)...

Matt