Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

can they remain undefeated

• 10-02-2004 11:05am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 17

Just want to know what people think about this question. I am an arsenal supporter and i was wondering who out there thinks arsenal can go the whole season unbeaten. I would like to hear from non arsenal fans on this matter. Any spurs fans can get lost as they dont matter as they have a **** team.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

I think they'll be beaten by Man Utd and Chelsea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

I certainly think they can do it.. There first 11 is vastly superior than United's or Chelsea's so its not as if it wouldnt be deserved.. Great team!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,003 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

If they do they will really have earned their runner up medals.;)

Seriously I expect Chelsea to end their winning run as Arsenal have not been playing at their best of late and are just edging matches against lesser opposition. Chelsea should be reallly up for that match as they need to win to really bring them back into contention. The run is impressive but has to come to an end sometime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,188 ✭✭✭growler

like most teams they will be susceptible to injuries, if VaVa Henry , Pires or Viera get a knock or suspensions etc. then ye are vulnerable as outside of those three Arsenal are a good but not an unbeatable team ( as much as I hate to say it) , as the season drags on i think ye'll drop a few points. I hope Chelsea manage to beat ye at least once this month but I won't be wagering huge amounts of cash on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭Nike_Dude

Not sure if they can go undefeated, there are too many banana skins out there like Bolton, not sure if United or Chelsea will end there run though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,312 ✭✭✭mr_angry

Originally posted by The Muppet
    Seriously I expect Chelsea to end their winning run as Arsenal have not been playing at their best of late and are just edging matches against lesser opposition.

Well, the exact same thing could be said about Chelsea! And Utd! Lo and behold, we're all in the same boat. I don't think Arsenal will remain unbeaten, simply because sooner or later we'll have an off-day. The chances of having an off-day against Utd or Chelsea are lessened by the fact that they're big games, and everybody will be up for them. I think its more likely to be someone like Southampton! (Although I sincerely hope not!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭kida

Don't think they will but the funniest thing would be remain unbeaten and not win the league. That is very possible as United are not drawing matches at all.

Have a feeling the team that might do it is Liverpool, that would hurt the Liverpool fans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,115 ✭✭✭Pacifico

Originally posted by mr_angry
    Well, the exact same thing could be said about Chelsea! And Utd! Lo and behold, we're all in the same boat. I don't think Arsenal will remain unbeaten, simply because sooner or later we'll have an off-day. The chances of having an off-day against Utd or Chelsea are lessened by the fact that they're big games, and everybody will be up for them. I think its more likely to be someone like Southampton! (Although I sincerely hope not!)

True. Tis' a big match today. Reyes with his first league start hmmm dont know about that

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,664 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hyzepher

Originally posted by Henry_14
    True. Tis' a big match today. Reyes with his first league start hmmm dont know about that

I dunno - he looked sharp against Wolves when he came on - I think a full game or at least 60 mins against Southamton will give us a good idea about him. The Wolves match also showed some glances of how himself and TH14 will get on together. He looks like he has all the pieces - now it's just a case of putting them together. For me if he comes good before the end of the season then it will be a bonus - next year he should find his feet.

Hyzepher

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

I heard that Jeff Stelling saying at the weekend that Arsenal have scored in 97 of their last 101 games. I may have heard it wrond but if it is true that is some achievement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 811 ✭✭✭Ronaldo7

Arsenal are going to lose 3 matches before the season is out. Not a hope in hell they will go undefeated.

Originally posted by Ronaldo7
    Arsenal are going to lose 3 matches before the season is out. Not a hope in hell they will go undefeated.

If thats the case then using the same deductive reasoning as you Man Utd will probably lose another 6 - after all they have lost 4 more than Arsenal already!

Hyzepher

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭alfie

I cant see them going unbeaten really especially with liverpool travelling to highbury, although their defence was a shambles against bolton they proved they can certainly sustain pressure and hit teams on the break (i'm mainly referring to the chelsea game were liverpool won and defended superbly) having said all that i still think arsenal will win the premiership as united's defence is in dire need of improvement!

Originally posted by Hyzepher
    If thats the case then using the same deductive reasoning as you Man Utd will probably lose another 6 - after all they have lost 4 more than Arsenal already!

Hyzepher
    How many league games did United lose between this time last year until the end of the season?

Originally posted by PORNAPSTER
    How many league games did United lose between this time last year until the end of the season?

ehh - well maybe we shouldn't have any games at all but simply give each team the points they got from last year - after all they are nearly guarenteed to play/win/score the same - aren't they??

Hyzepher - with tongue in cheek and a very serious bout of sarcasm!!

Originally posted by Hyzepher
    I dunno - he looked sharp against Wolves when he came on - I think a full game or at least 60 mins against Southamton will give us a good idea about him. The Wolves match also showed some glances of how himself and TH14 will get on together. He looks like he has all the pieces - now it's just a case of putting them together. For me if he comes good before the end of the season then it will be a bonus - next year he should find his feet.

Hyzepher

Yeah he looked good against wolves. but the boro match wasnt great. But still its an awful ammount of pressure on him. Wenger is only starting him cos he has to. He doesnt want to

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

lol you have just jinxed the team now man!

arsenal can go unbeaten in the league but it is unlikely however if they do then they will win the league imo.

they can afford 1 or two defeats but they cannot come against utd that is the game that will have a big barring on the league.
    remember utd are away so there is every reason that arsenal will beat them
    chelsea will be abig match too though arsenal have a good record against them of late id prefer a defeat to come against newcastle (away) or even pool(home) but then again they are ****! :)

utd's defence is way too dodgey and they have too many average palyers in their squad alla forlan, bellion etc etc

chelsea have to play utd too and the pool so there are some tough games ahead for both!

Originally posted by Ronaldo7

In fairness Ronaldo, Arsenal have played every team in the Premiership already, and nobody has beaten them. Therefore, you have to acknowledge the possibility that it could happen. Even though it wont.

Whats so tricky about beating liverpool at home? Didnt arsenal beat them at anfield allready?

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

It's not impossible, but pretty unlikely. They've done incredibly well to set a new Arsenal record with 24 games undefeated, particularily considering how things were looking at the start of the season.

Where defeat(s) may come from i'm not sure. United & Chelsea are the obvious likely ones - but United look vulnerable at the moment and Chelsea aren't the finished article, if Arsenal perform they should beat both of them... it just depends on how badly they want it. Looking at the fixture list, it's hard to see where they could lose... Blackburn away or Charlton home maybe, based on current form they look unlikely to cause an upset but form can change. Newcastle away is another tricky one.

//edit or maybe Southampton too :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭bucks73

Not a hope in hell of remaining unbeaten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

Highly unlikely, but not impossible.

I'd like to see it simply to see Wenger vindicated for his comments last year :)

As has been said, they have already gone through the first half of the programme without defeat which is pretty impressive in itself and if they keep playing well, its an outside chance.

Still, arsenal have been here before in 91. Hope its not chelsea that do it again. We finished that season with only one defeat afair but with a shedload of draws....familiar?:)

Has any team gone through a postwar league programme unbeaten?

Out of curiosity, why do they not have 'a hope in hell of remaining unbeaten'?

They've gone almost two thirds of the season unbeaten as it is, i'm sure if there was a thread on them doing that earlier this season people would be saying the same thing. It is unlikely, but is it so inconceivable that they MIGHT just avoid defeat against Utd & Chelsea like they've already done this already this season, and then avoid slip-ups against smaller teams?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,064 ✭✭✭BKtje

well they did loose a couple in the C League didnt they? but i guess we are talking about the Premiership :)

I'd actually be quite happy to see Arsenal to go all year without a defeat in the Premiership (shock i know!) but i dont think they'll do it. Will be interesting who does beat em tho :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 811 ✭✭✭Ronaldo7

Lads, its just not going to happen. They will lose matches this half. What are the odds of Arsenal going unbeaten?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭bucks73

Originally posted by kaids
    Out of curiosity, why do they not have 'a hope in hell of remaining unbeaten'?

They've gone almost two thirds of the season unbeaten as it is, i'm sure if there was a thread on them doing that earlier this season people would be saying the same thing. It is unlikely, but is it so inconceivable that they MIGHT just avoid defeat against Utd & Chelsea like they've already done this already this season, and then avoid slip-ups against smaller teams?

They might avoid defeat against United or Chelsea but when the CL starts back up they are going to find it tough. Chances are the defeat(s) will come away from home to a team fighting for survival or european place. They might get caught putting too much emphasise on getting through the CL rounds that they might slip up at home. After all they are not used to being in Europe at this stage of the season too often.

Also they still have not had a sticky patch. Every team every season challenging for the title has a 3 or 4 game run where they dont play well and arsenal are due theirs. They left it until the run in last season so they might do the same again this season.

Originally posted by Henry_14
    Whats so tricky about beating liverpool at home? Didnt arsenal beat them at anfield allready?
    I'm sure Chelsea were saying the same thing when they came to Stamford Bridge.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

Also they still have not had a sticky patch. Every team every season challenging for the title has a 3 or 4 game run where they dont play well and arsenal are due theirs. They left it until the run in last season so they might do the same again this season.

they had theirs already didnt play well for 2 games but still got draws :)

and its not true that everyteam has a bad patch, there are exceptions you know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

It would be an absolutely unbelievable achievement but I don't think its possible that any team in the premiership can go the rest of the season without losing at least one match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭ErinGoBrath

I think Arsenal have the potential to go unbeaten till the end of the season however if we do get beaten I don't think it will be by Man U or Chelsea

• Closed Accounts Posts: 811 ✭✭✭donhughberto

Well done arse****s lol, in fairness they deserve to go unbeaten i find it hard to see them been beaten even by my beloved Utd.

They deserve all the glory they get because they are a very good side, i would think a key man out for a while might change things!

Interesting to go unbeaten and loss prem, wouldn't that be weird but could happen with all the draws they have!

Originally posted by donhughberto

Interesting to go unbeaten and loss prem, wouldn't that be weird but could happen with all the draws they have!

Yeah happens way to much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

They will be beaten. It's just a fact of life. When, where and by whom who knows!! Although if the their unbeaten run came to an end tonight it would be well worth having a little punt on Southampton for the win. 11-1 for them to win in a 2 horse race. Seems worth a risk!!

B.

jesus, theyre great odds.

id stick a tenner on the saints except i learned the hard way a long time ago not to bet on any arsenal match

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭kida

PPs odds are 11-1 for a Soton win and also 11-1 for Soton to win 1-0.

Who in their right minds would bet on the 1-0?

I'm sure people said the same thing about AC Milan during their 48-match unbeaten run. However, I think what is more important at this stage of the season is winning streaks. If I remember correctly, Utd. hold the record with 13 wins in a row? Or did Arsenal beat it, except that it was over 2 seasons? Anyway, getting a run of victories going is vital at this stage of the season.

I see Boro are also 11-1 to beat ManU - now thats a better bet

Hyzepher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭smemon

they could go unbeaten if they dont get more injuries, suspensions and kill teams off when their a goal ahead.

everyone says its a remarkable (and it is) achievement to go 24 games unbeaten. but just look how close Utd are away from them 2 points!! even chelsea for that matter, 6 points.

normally if you go 24 games unbeaten you'd expect to have the league wrapped up by now more or less eg- 10/12 points away from the nearest challengers. credit must go to utd and chelsea for not getting pushed back. if arsenal remain unbeaten there's no doubt they deserve the league however the chances of that happening are very slim.

no team in the league is good enough at the moment to go 38 games without losing. it takes a legendary side to do that with terrific team spirit and luck. arsenal are a class side but no way are they unbeatable over 38 games.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 811 ✭✭✭donhughberto

11-1 sounds good if you like losing money! It happens every now and again and you will lose alot of money backing teams to beat them all season. My brother had a tenner on wolves to beat Utd 1-0. it does happen but getting on the right night is the problem, i would bet away from home against top seven side or Bolton lol, still get 5-1 or there about

Noone seems to know, which is a first so ill ask again:

Has any team ever gone through a postwar top division season unbeaten?

• Registered Users Posts: 257 ✭✭ether

For any of those who remember the last time Arsenal went unbeaten this far,

or nearly this far in the 1991 season,

Chelsea beat them at the Bridge.

That championship winning year Arsenal were drawing a lot of games too,

so my prediction is one away defeat,

maybe two.

Back then they were more defence orientated also.

Originally posted by Dustaz
    Noone seems to know, which is a first so ill ask again:

Has any team ever gone through a postwar top division season unbeaten?
    Nope, Leeds and Liverpool hold the record at 29 games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,172 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

I my opinion I dont think they'll do it,they'll fall at the last hurdle

Originally posted by ether
    For any of those who remember the last time Arsenal went unbeaten this far,

or nearly this far in the 1991 season,
    Originally posted by dustaz
    Still, arsenal have been here before in 91. Hope its not chelsea that do it again. We finished that season with only one defeat afair but with a shedload of draws....familiar?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 815 ✭✭✭Bannor

Originally posted by Dustaz
    Highly unlikely, but not impossible.

I'd like to see it simply to see Wenger vindicated for his comments last year :)

As has been said, they have already gone through the first half of the programme without defeat which is pretty impressive in itself and if they keep playing well, its an outside chance.

Still, arsenal have been here before in 91. Hope its not chelsea that do it again. We finished that season with only one defeat afair but with a shedload of draws....familiar?:)

Has any team gone through a postwar league programme unbeaten?

Liverpool have the record for an undefeated start to a season: 29 games undefeated.
    Leeds also had a 29 game undefeated run but I don't think it was from the start of the season.

Looking at the fixtures list I think that Arsenal at least equal the record if not set a new one.

25 : Tue Feb 10 2004
    Arsenal v Southampton 19:45

26 : Sat Feb 21 2004
    Chelsea v Arsenal 15:00

27 : Sat Feb 28 2004
    Arsenal v Charlton 15:00

28 : Sat Mar 13 2004
    Blackburn v Arsenal 15:00

29 : Sat Mar 20 2004
    Arsenal v Bolton 15:00

30 : Sun Mar 28 2004
    Arsenal v Man Utd 16:05

Of those fixtures 26 and 27 are the tough ones. Chelsea will be well fired up for the game and if Charlton hadn't sold Scott Parker to Chelsea I would have put money on them to break the run.