Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Should Scholes Be Punished?

• 12-02-2004 2:23pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭

It seems trolly, but I'm asking a serious question.

I'm a strong believer in video evidence and believed that the Arsenal players deserved what they got in the "handbags" incident earlier this season.

I'm also a strong believer that Gerrard is almost blessed that video evidence hasn't hung him for some of his tackles over the past couple of seasons.

Last night Scholes raised his fist to another players face, it was a pretty blatent altercation and deserved a straight red. The commentators seemed to indicate that Durkin saw it but chose to ignore the incident. As Kevin Phillips wryly pointed out "Referees can make mistakes and it's just a co-incidence that many of those mistakes are at Old Trafford and go in favour of Manchester United."

Now, depending on whether or not its in the Ref report, the FA may take some action, but the real question is: In light of recent cries of persecution by Arsenal, do the FA need to appear consistant in video reviews, and thus should Scholes be punished?

Please, lets not let this degenerate in to an Arse-Utd slagging match, I'm more interested in precidents being set on the FA's use of video evidence and punishments associated with it (do we need a video referee).

Should Scholes be Punished for Violent Conduct? 30 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    100% 30 votes

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

The failure of Anelka's recent appeal is a pretty good example to compare it with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43 Scammo

I didnt see the incident but if it is what every1 makes it out to be then Scholes deserves to be punished

Im a Man U fan but i hate when i see clubs/players punished for incidents and then bigger clubs can sometimes "get away" with it, the FA need to sort this out and have 1 rule for every1.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,115 ✭✭✭Pacifico

yeah twas pritty similar

The FA are still waiting on the refs report

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Hobart

It was a blatant attack by Scholes. Yes he should be banned on the basis of video evidence. I cannot see how Durkin could reference this in his report and did not send him off for it. I also could not agree more with what Phillips said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

I saw the incident but I didn't see much more than a push or two. Scholes raised his arm but I didn't see him do anything serious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭StickyMcGinty

Originally posted by eirebhoy
    I saw the incident but I didn't see much more than a push or two. Scholes raised his arm but I didn't see him do anything serious.

are you blind?

he punched him, and then he went after him for some more. what a player, but he should be punished for this!!

and durkin didn't see it at all, sure he gave out to Doriva afterwards!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,064 ✭✭✭BKtje

if he made contact definite ban if not then im not sure. Aint seen the incident yet.

vinnl as i said i havent seen it but if he actually punched him i dont think we'd be having this discussion.

he pushed him away with a flailing arm in the face, completely on purpose. it was a definate red, so it should be a ban.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Originally posted by VinnyL
    are you blind?

he punched him, and then he went after him for some more. what a player, but he should be punished for this!!

and durkin didn't see it at all, sure he gave out to Doriva afterwards!!!

Saw the incident and tis as Vinny said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,030 ✭✭✭smiaras

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

Time for some cold hard truths here folks.

This incident is just another of the type that happens ALL THE TIME . The only reason there has not been uproar is that it wasnt live on sky.

You will notice the absense of phrases like "disgraceful show" and "never in all my years etc etc" from certain posters on this board. This is for 2 reasons.

1. those posters are pretty partisan but more importantly,

2. Those posters are not being told what to think by the media machine that sky can be.

In the grand scheme of things, this is no better or worse than most of the kerfuffle at Old Trafford or Anelkas incedent the other day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

he kicked him twice and punched him, he should be done for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

saw it on the news this morning

ban him

Originally posted by VinnyL
    are you blind?
    I saw it on UTV last night and the camera was very far away so I couldn't see much. I know there was pushes but people make a big deal when someone gets pushed in the face rather than the chest because it looks a lot worse. And no I am not blind.

Someone said on this thread or another one that the FA only punish the smaller clubs and let the bigger clubs away with much more, do you actually think this thread would exist if it was Wolves -v- Leicester? Also, whatever happened to the players involved in the Blackburn -v- Soton punchup? I think and Andy Cole was involved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭GuanYin

Originally posted by eirebhoy
    Someone said on this thread or another one that the FA only punish the smaller clubs and let the bigger clubs away with much more, do you actually think this thread would exist if it was Wolves -v- Leicester? Also, whatever happened to the players involved in the Blackburn -v- Soton punchup? I think and Andy Cole was involved.

Well I'd follow 1st Div football more and on other soccer boards, yes I'd post threads similar to this when altercations occur. I didn't hear much on the other one, I remember it happening and I remember it was pretty much ignored by some media sections. I think it is wrong.

I think alot of times smaller clubs do get away with stuff, Le Saux is a player that is often disgracefully blatent about misconduct and gets away with it.
    Gerrard gets sent off maybe half as much as he should and some of his two footed challenges look quite purposeful.

Then you get "bad boy" players like Anelka, Viera, Savage, Keown, Keane & Batty, how quick they are to be sent off if they step out of line.

Scholes is an England Golden Boy at the moment, he was playing for Utd at Old Trafford and did something twice as bad as Anelka (good call on the comparison kaids) and as bad as Ashley Coles behaviour in the same incident. Why didn't he walk?

Does anyone know a link to this incident?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

Saw it on UTV last night. It wasn't until the replay at the end of the show that I realised just how much effort Scholes put into it...three goes at Doriva and that fat little prat Durkin still saw nothing. He should get a ban for it, no question. And Durkin should spend a while in the Nationwide.

On another note, Fulham's American right-back (can't remember his name) should be put on the first available flight home after his horrendous tackle on Villa's Mark Delaney. I though O'Leary was gonna deck him after it, t'was a truly awful tackle.

Also nice to see that idiot Lucas Neill has learnt nothing regarding his tackling, I presume Souness is mighty proud of the boy. He'll end someone's career soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭StickyMcGinty

Originally posted by therecklessone

Also nice to see that idiot Lucas Neill has learnt nothing regarding his tackling, I presume Souness is mighty proud of the boy. He'll end someone's career soon.

therecklessone, did you get your nick from lucas neil?

that neil lad is scum, a complete headbanger alltogether, and souness is breeding dirty player like neil warnock.

even though i hate bellamy (mainly for his badge pointing in the wolves v newcastle game last season) for numerous reasons, you have to feel sorry for the lad when the challenge was obviously revenge over somthin. neil shouted somthing to bellamy on the ground after aswell. i hate to see that kind of 1950's tackling.

and on yer man, the american for fulham. even though it was a bad tackle i honestly believe he was just over eager, and a 3 match ban is enough. he rang delaney to apologise after, more than neil did for carragher, or babbel did for baros!

i think there should be more seve bans for two footed over the ball tackles though in some cases.

and if the ref includes the scholes incident in his report, then its case closed, its only if he didnt see it can it then be reffered to the F.A.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭James Hunt

A rule for one should be the rule for all, be it Paul Scholes, Anelka, Keane or Gerrard or whoever. Reading these posts though, you'd swear Scholes attacked the guy out of the blue. Reality check: it was a fight between two players, they were both punching and pushing after an incident. Doesn't excuse it, but this thread was just two one sided. Doriva should get the same punishment as Scholes, if he gets any.
    Shows a bit of the bias in here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭LoneGunM@n

I didn't see the incident, but if Scholes did lash out then he deserved a red & ban!!

But I've heard that it was a confrontation between the 2 players, so until I see it I can't make a decision!!

Article from Sky Sports

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,294 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

Pretty Simple. Ban him. That type of stuiff needs to be stamped out and its true that man u get away with alot more than other teams simply because they are man u. There is one rule for ALL teams and therefore scholes should be banned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭kida

There is one rule for ALL teams and therefore scholes should be banned

If its the same rule for all teams why was nothing done about B'burn - Soton

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

If they ban Scholes, they should ban Edu for pushing (yes pushing) Anelka in the face.

Originally posted by PORNAPSTER
    If they ban Scholes, they should ban Edu for pushing (yes pushing) Anelka in the face.
    First of all, they can't because Edu was booked and no further action can be taken. The Scholes incident wasn't mentioned in the ref's report so the FA can take further action there.

Secondly, if you think the two incidents are equally similar then you really need to lose the rose tinted specs.

Originally posted by Kingp35
    That type of stuiff needs to be stamped out and its true that man u get away with alot more than other teams simply because they are man u.
    Don't be so stupid. United get get treated the same if not more severe than other clubs. Tell me a few times United got away with stuff "because they are man u".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Hmmm froms eeing the incident on de Telly I thought he was lucky to stay on the pitch. How Durkin missed the last push/punch I don't know he seemed to be facing it.

I think nothing more was made of it as well because Doriva didn't hit the ground like a sack of potatoes (the South American Footballers Guild will be after him over that!!).

But whatever happens to Scholes that American defender of Blackburns should be severely punished, how he didn't break Delaneys leg I will never know. And Souness said afterwards it was a mistimed tackle what complete and utter crap !!

Gandalf.

I don't think the American fella meant it, it was a very bad tackle but i do think he was just way to eager to try and get the ball... at least he apologised, i don't think Lucas Neill did after his very aggressive tackle on Bellamy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

that American defender of Blackburns should be severely punished, how he didn't break Delaneys leg I will never know. And Souness said afterwards it was a mistimed tackle what complete and utter crap !!

I don't know if I'm on a different wavelength here, but was it not Bocanegra of Fulham who tackled Delaney?

Maybe you're getting it confused with the Lucas Neill incident against Bellamy?

Or maybe I'm crazy.
    Doriva should get the same punishment as Scholes, if he gets any

Sorry, dont agree with you there mate. It did seem as if Doriva was after Scholes after the incident just a few seconds earlier, but Doriva did very little wrong. Scholes did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,951 ✭✭✭✭Villain

Originally posted by MrJoeSoap
    I don't know if I'm on a different wavelength here, but was it not Bocanegra of Fulham who tackled Delaney?

Maybe you're getting it confused with the Lucas Neill incident against Bellamy?

Or maybe I'm crazy.

It was Bocanegra of Fulham who tackled Delaney

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

Originally posted by MrJoeSoap

Or maybe I'm crazy.

No, its me :p

For some reason, I associated that tackle with a Graham Souness type player. I wonder why???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Originally posted by therecklessone
    No, its me :p

For some reason, I associated that tackle with a Graham Souness type player. I wonder why???

Yeah, i wonder! lol!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Yep got mixed up alright :p

Gandalf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 shels

i think that he should get banned. even if you raise your hands its still a sending off offense. the problem is the fa not been consistant. they will ban someone for doing the same thing but then someone like scholes will get away with it. i think that they should have a video ref at the matches or even 4 linesman, that way your covering all the sides of both halfs. that way u hva e just about every type of angle covered for when something does happen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭AthAnRi

its true that man u get away with alot more than other teams simply because they are man u.

Bull****. This is a media fabricated truth. As usual people or so easily manipulated by the media its untrue. It always seems that Man U get away with incidents more than other teams simply because they are on television more than other teams. If you watch any match there is always one or two incidents where the referee got it wrong.

Lets take the Man Utd V Newcastle game for example. Alan Shearer should definately had a penalty and quiet rightly the panelists at half were saying that it was a clear cut penalty. The replayed it about 10 times even though it was obvious that from the game it was a penalty. However, in the second half Silvestre scored a goal and was disallowed for no apparent reason. At the end of the game Sky mentioned this incident for about a minut and then went back to the penalty incident. So anyone who was watching the match felt newcastle were robbed because of a home town decision.

Now I'm not saying that it's a propaganda mascarade or anything, it just seems to me, and maybe I'm biased, that whenever Utd or Arsenal get away with a decision it is amplified by the Media and by ABU, ABA supporters.

Back to the subject. I didn't see the incident but if he struck the other player then he should have been sent off. Since Gandalf said he should have seen red then thats enough for me as he is one of the few people in this place that is able to detach himself from his club and look at an incident objectively. Even if he is a Arsenal fan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

I havn't seen the incident but if he raised his arms did much more than push the other player away lightly then he probably deserves a ban.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭GuanYin

Well with the FA charge its looking more likely he will get a ban.

Could coincide with the Neville ban