Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Western Rail Corridor

• Registered Users Posts: 3,025 ✭✭✭Ham'nd'egger

I meant how much are they channeling from the public coffers into the WDC to fund this bizarre get together? Even with that I would imagine that most of the 100 euro payments will be delgates from the CoCo's and so on who will be attending at taxpayers expense.

Maybe Railusers Ireland should throw a hooley like that if having a party's the issue:P

No offence but if they want to have a PR leaflet drop/day out of the office on a bank holiday weekend then it's the attendees call to waste/spend ticket money as they wish. Lord knows, if they didn't go, they'd miss being talked about :)

IMO, it's quite a smart money spinner for WOT while keeping their PR trumpet playing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

But Ennis is closer to Limerick than Galway?

yes but you could go to Dublin without changing direction via Athenry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 621 ✭✭✭Nostradamus

Hamndegger wrote: »
    Maybe Railusers Ireland should throw a hooley like that if having a party's the issue:P

No offence but if they want to have a PR leaflet drop/day out of the office on a bank holiday weekend then it's the attendees call to waste/spend ticket money as they wish. Lord knows, if they didn't go, they'd miss being talked about :)

IMO, it's quite a smart money spinner for WOT while keeping their PR trumpet playing.

The thing is that although I agree with most of what you are saying, the fact remains that this upcoming WoT/WDC circus is just proof that regardless of this massive economic depression Ireland is currently experiencing, it is business as usual for public servants. They can get paid to go talk utter rubbish about nothing menaingful, and then charge the tax payers on top of that to fund even more magical thinking.

It's only private sector workers who are left to suffer in the real world. While they are struggleing to keep a roof over their heads during these times the only issue these civil servants care about is their rail line.

The country is in bits and these civil servants are being funded by the taxpayers to live in a fantasy world when they should be at their desks that day doing real work. That includes Dempsey and O'Cuiv btw.

Maybe it is just as well as otherwise they might be chaining themselves to the crossing gates at Woodlawn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭IIMII

As the OP said, it's just a fund raiser with a spin-off of publicity. You get 100 people at €100 a pop, you have €10,000 in your war chest. If half those that come are from the Public Sector, even better - it's akin to a state grant and you have their undivided attention. Just picked those figures out of the air, but you get the gist

Plus if you get the venue for free or it's paid by the WDC, even better

• Registered Users Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

As Nostradumus once said....these people are sociopaths.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,032 ✭✭✭DWCommuter

The time has come again to remind people just what we're talking about.

This is the line near Charlestown, the proposed interchange for Knockopolis Airport.

wrc rollercoaster.jpg

This is the line in Charlestown. You'll have to look closely at the top of the picture to actually see the track. The car dealership is so supportive of the WRC and WOT campaign that they have laid a lawn over the track to protect it from heathen D4 types.

wrc buried.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 5,328 ✭✭✭dowlingm

I think it might be appropriate for constituents in the area who are sceptical of both the WRC and the impact of cutbacks to inform their local newspapers of this conference and whether it is an appropriate use of time and money to swan off to a Claremorris hotel at Eur100 (plus expenses don't forget - some of these junketeers could be coming from Kerry or Donegal, sure isn't it all Weshtern)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

Too Late :(

Udarás na Gaeltachta is sending 4 delemegates (there are no railways in the gaeltacht ) while O Cuivs department is sending at least 6 delemegates and not all are travelling from the Knock office and of course they are not travelling together to save on the mileage expenses .

The civil service trough is still feeding the piggies :(

• Registered Users Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

Sponge Bob wrote: »
    Too Late :(

Udarás na Gaeltachta is sending 4 delemegates (there are no railways in the gaeltacht ) while O Cuivs department is sending at least 6 delemegates and not all are travelling from the Knock office and of course they are not travelling together to save on the mileage expenses .

The civil service trough is still feeding the piggies :(
    Exactly what these bloodsuckers are-pigs. Draining precious resources. The political system in Ireland means we will never have the balls to tell the regions that this or that project is away with the fairies.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,405 ✭✭✭✭road_high

DWCommuter wrote: »
    The car dealership is so supportive of the WRC and WOT campaign that they have laid a lawn over the track to protect it from heathen D4 types.

wrc buried.jpg

Ha ha, brilliant :D

IIMII wrote: »
    That's not true:

http://www.udaras.ie/index.php/1552

Maybe they have this in mind, and reopening the station there too

Im sure he meant the gealtacht in the west. As for meath.......don't get me started.;)

I won't. That's why I snipped it. Couldn't really be bothered with the whole thing. There's only one upside to a recession like this - fewer feck ups are made as there are fewer resources to make them with. It was Gibbstown I was referring to, just for the record

• Registered Users Posts: 68,639 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Im sure he meant the gealtacht in the west. As for meath.......don't get me started.;)

Here, I fully expect the Letterkenny & Burtonport Extension Railway to be the next on the list to be reopened... some of the platforms are still standing and all! That serves lots of gaeltachts... ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,693 ✭✭✭serfboard

Had the local Fianna Fail councillor round to the house the other day on a (very) early canvass. In trying to deflect my rant about FF he tried to start talking about local issues and he told me how supportive he was of the WRC. When I told him I thought it was a waste of money he looked at me like I had ten heads!

Obviously not a reaction he was expecting ;)

serfboard wrote: »
    Had the local Fianna Fail councillor round to the house the other day on a (very) early canvass. In trying to deflect my rant about FF he tried to start talking about local issues and he told me how supportive he was of the WRC. When I told him I thought it was a waste of money he looked at me like I had ten heads!

Obviously not a reaction he was expecting ;)

I saw a sign once in London once which read "POLITICS IS PIG****".

QED

The 5th anniversary of Platform 11's rejection of the WRC has just passed. It was indeed April 04 when the unthinkable happened and a rail lobby actually dismissed a rail project. War broke out among trainspotters, activists, enthusiasts, politicians, internet warriors, the pope and even *Jesus Christ himself was heard comment in the *kingdom of heaven. (*all other religions insert appropriately. Non-believers of religion, organised or not, just bypass said comment.)

The much derided founders of that bastion of fear, P11, have moved aside and took their place alongside the ordinary internet moaners. Once again mere mortals with about as much influence as a cup of tea at an alcoholics beer festival. P11 has now become RUI and sits lonely amid the myriad of cyberspace honcho's, state plants and mudane issues. We have gone from an unprecedented boom to a recession that is, in an Irish perspective, uncharted waters. Throughout all this the WRC has remained steadfast. Its supporters committed (they should be anyway :D) its detractors blue in the face stating the obvious. But we must admit, P11 brought life to this topic. It provided the first alternative view in the media. It provoked a huge debate between all sorts of factions. From IRN, WOT to the average Joe hangin around the net. The unrelenting bish, bash, boff of opinion was entertaining at the very least.

So lets celebrate some special moments, when I and Thomas Sheridan as the driving force behind a shoestring organisation, took on the might of the west of Ireland.

The Wikipedia entry on the WRC still refers to the P11 "assault".

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Western_Railway_Corridor

An article in the Castlebar News
    [FONT=arial, helvetica, sans-serif]Rail pressure[/FONT]
    THE national rail transport pressure group, Platform II, has been accused of ‘a terrible act of sabotage’ following its stated opposition to the re-opening of the Western Rail Corridor, linking Sligo with Galway and Limerick. Fr. Micheál McGréil, who has campaigned for the re-opening of the Sligo-Limerick line for almost twenty years, said he was saddened and disappointed by the opposition of Platform II to the project. ‘I understand the group is made up of about five people and their stance is divisive and narrow-minded. It feeds into the centralist mind set which queries everything that is planned for outside Dublin’ he said. Platform II maintains that the estimated 300 million euro it would cost to reopen and upgrade the link along a mostly disused line could be better spent on other rail projects, such as the Cork-Midleton, Dublin-Navan and Athlone-Mullingar lines. The group’s spokesman, Mr. Derek Wheeler, said 300 million euro would go a long way towards securing the future of existing regional rail routes such as the Limerick-Waterford line. Mr. Wheeler said that Dublin remained the only capital city in the EU still without a rail link of any kind to its airport.

A response to the same article from a commentator.
    It’s disturbing when two lobby groups both interested in trains being to steam off in opposite directions. For sure this dispute will damage the case for the western rail corridor. From the Dublin commuters’ point of view the western rail corridor is irrelevant – sure it doesn’t even go to Dublin! But if resources are limited and the argument is a narrow economic one, then the Dublin-centric argument will hold sway. With the current government’s approach to economics, I think the Western Rail Corridor group may as well just pack up and go home - snowballs and hell come to mind regardless of all the upbeat coverage with Seamus Brennan last week. Remember folks there is an election in the offing so tune up those BS detectors whenever a politician grabs a mic.

It seems that P11 upset many more than the brave westeners. Who knew that they had northern connections!
    Madam, - Derek Wheeler, a spokesman for Platform II, is quoted (April 6th) as offering as a reason for opposing the reopening of the Western Rail Corridor (WRC) linking Sligo with Galway that "there was no major population centre north of Tuam which was not currently served by rail."
    This is startling stuff. (Letterkenny?) It also suggests a remarkable lack of vision on the part of someone apparently speaking for a "national rail transport group." The Into The West rail lobby, formed in Derry earlier this year to campaign for the retention and upgrading of the Derry-Ballymena stretch of the line to Belfast, envisages an extension westwards and southwards from Derry to link up with the WRC at Sligo. The Northern rail operator, Translink, this week begins to take delivery of 23 new Spanish-manufactured trains at a cost of £80 million. These are designed to run on continuously welded track at speeds of 90 m.p.h. The upgrading of the Derry-Ballymena line, currently a badly maintained jointed track, would give a Derry-Belfast travel time of just over an hour, and would attract huge numbers away from the roads, to the considerable benefit of the environment and of travel safety. It will require a determined battle against the pro-road privatisers at Translink and the Northern Ireland Office to make this a reality. Into The West, however, has brought together rail workers, the wider trade union movement, tourism interests, environmentalists, rail enthusiasts and representatives of a number of political parties, including the Socialist Environmental Alliance, and the necessary battle is now under way. The all-Ireland dimension of this effort is vital. Upgrading Derry-Ballymena would offer a Derry-Dublin journey via Belfast of a little over three hours. This would be regarded by most travellers, as by those who care for the environment and about the death toll on the roads, as a better option than bus (four hours and 25 minutes) or plane - too expensive for use other than in emergencies, and travel time dependent on Dublin traffic. Instead of undermining the efforts of groups such as West on Track, Platform II should be co-ordinating its campaigning with those who are striving not only for the reopening and upgrading of the WRC but its extension through Bundoran and Letterkenny to Derry. Mr Wheeler says that the €300 million this initiative would require would be better spent on projects elsewhere. This proposition can be sustained only on the basis of the sort of short-sighted, weary, state profit-and-loss calculation which has blighted beauty everywhere we look and made so much of travel uncongenial. We in the north west are strengthening our links with fellow campaigners in the South. The Derry-Ballymena and Sligo-Galway rail links are essential elements of the modern people-friendly and environment-friendly transport infrastucture which the island needs and deserves. - Yours,

Of course those who were around at the time, will remember much more. Its been a funny 5 years and this galactic thread records most of the opinion. Ive re-read it all and its a very enlightening trip seen as though the arse has fallen out of the economy. I suggest people read it again. If there is one thread on Boards that has lasted through the great, good, not so good and really ****e times, its this one.

Has anything changed? Well I'll let people make up their own minds.;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

Don't worry mate , the IMF will be along within the next year to kybosh the lot :(

• Registered Users Posts: 13,873 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Who are Platform II? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Milesoneill

I've opened a Facebook Group for the WRC.
    http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=61614819170&ref=ts
    Feel free to join and add to the group.

Conor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,549 ✭✭✭✭Judgement Day

Conor.

Sad, very sad could you not take up butterfly collecting instead? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Milesoneill

Nah, ...too busy pressing flowers!! LOL :p

Are you likely to use it much yourself?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭D'Peoples Voice

An article in the Castlebar News
    Mr. Wheeler said that Dublin remained the only capital city in the EU still without a rail link of any kind to its airport.
    I thought that this statement has been found to be incorrect years ago - its a myth.

For example, check out the rail links to the Airport in Portugal capital, Lisbon
    http://www.golisbon.com/transport/airport.html
    or the capital city of Czech Republic, Prague
    http://www.pragueairport.co.uk/public-transport.htm
    or the capital city of the Russian federation, Moscow has a metro if you get a connecting bus ( I was there:))
    http://www.domodedovo.ru/en/main/getting/1/
    or the capital city of Finland, Helsinki
    http://www.helsinki-vantaa.fi/home
    or the capital city of Bulgaria, Sofia
    http://www.sofia-airport.bg/pages/content.aspx?lm01=51&lm02=59
    or the capital city of Estonia, Tallinn
    http://www.tallinn-airport.ee/eng/transport/publictransport
    or the capital city of Latvia, Riga
    http://www.riga-airport.com/?id=292
    thats all I can think of for the minute!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,779 ✭✭✭Carawaystick

Luxembourg doesn't have a rail link either.
    Nor Valletta,
    Nor Larnaca,

But more in keeping with this thread, Co. Galway has no rail link to it's 5 commercial airports.
    Neither has Clare, Mayo,Sligo or Donegal.
    Kerry has a closeby station.

• Registered Users Posts: 78,369 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Were more than two of these in the EU at the time? Russia still isn't.
    I thought that this statement has been found to be incorrect years ago - its a myth.

For example, check out the rail links to the Airport in Portugal capital, Lisbon
    http://www.golisbon.com/transport/airport.html
    or the capital city of Czech Republic, Prague
    http://www.pragueairport.co.uk/public-transport.htm
    or the capital city of the Russian federation, Moscow has a metro if you get a connecting bus ( I was there:))
    http://www.domodedovo.ru/en/main/getting/1/
    or the capital city of Finland, Helsinki
    http://www.helsinki-vantaa.fi/home
    or the capital city of Bulgaria, Sofia
    http://www.sofia-airport.bg/pages/content.aspx?lm01=51&lm02=59
    or the capital city of Estonia, Tallinn
    http://www.tallinn-airport.ee/eng/transport/publictransport
    or the capital city of Latvia, Riga
    http://www.riga-airport.com/?id=292
    thats all I can think of for the minute!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

IIMII wrote: »
    Are you likely to use it much yourself?

thats a good question...is there ANYONE on here likely to use the WRC? and if there is, are you likely to use it more than ,say, twice a year?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭Chris_533976

If they had a Galway - Cork service, I'd use it for sure.

BUT

They'll probably do Galway - Limerick, Limerick - Limerick Junction, Limerick Junction to Cork and thats just useless.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭D.L.R.

If they had a Galway - Cork service, I'd use it for sure.

BUT

They'll probably do Galway - Limerick, Limerick - Limerick Junction, Limerick Junction to Cork and thats just useless.

crap alignment in so many ways...

Conor.

I was looking at your facebook page. No offense but haven't even got the slightest notion of how the thing operates and you seem to have this idea that express trains will be zipping up and down the west coast packed with commuters.

Please take time to study the issue and realise that this is not what you are getting at all, what is planned and not even technically possible due to the track layout, poor engineering and so on.

You have bought hook line and sinker in the myth of this railway line and not the reality of it. You really should get up to speed on this project beyond the hype before making a facebook page extrolling the virtures of it. The West of Ireland and especially Galway city is being sold a piece of junk infrastructure.

As yourself some questions. Is the Limerick to Waterford rail line packed with commuters? Does it carry huge volumes of freight. Are trains filled with tourists, students, or large groups of any demographic of Irish society? Is there even a service on Sundays? Whom does that line benefit in real terms; commuters or trainspotters?

Once you have done your homework on the Lim-Waterford line this then apply that scenario to an almost identical line running along the West Coast.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭Schuhart

You have bought hook line and sinker in the myth of this railway line and not the reality of it.
    But hasn't this been the problem right from the start. People spend thirty seconds thinking "West" "Rail", how brilliant! Then they just nail their colours to the mast, and devote the rest of their lives to spouting painful rhetoric in support of the project, rather than just admit their initial knee-jerk reaction was wrong.

In fairness to the P11 folk who were active at that time, am I right that ye actually did have to courage to change from an initially supportive position to calling the WRC as it was once the plain facts of the matter were clear.

The country would be a happier place if more people were willing to respond to evidence, and not have this adolescent reluctance to correct mistakes. I mean, the country spent god knows how much storing evoting machines that we were never going to use rather than simply admit it was going nowhere.

We'll see the same here. Its doesn't matter how few people use the WRC. They'll just spin it as a success by counting the passenger numbers over a long enough period to make them look impressive "at current rates of growth, its estimated that one million people while have used the service by 2060, confounding the critics".

What do you think are the chances of the next statement on that facebook site being "I spent a while reading this thread on boards.ie that's been running since about 2004 where the WRC has been scrutinised over 1800 posts. It actually turns out that the whole thing is a bit of a dog."