Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Man u vs Man City (contains scores)

• 14-02-2004 2:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,064 ✭✭✭

Well has been an ejoyable enough first half. Man u being fairly dominant and scored on about 30mins thansk to scholes.

Afterwards there has been controversy. Gary Neville dives in the box and the man city players werent too happy. Neville then head butts Mcmanaman and gets sent off. Man City came into the game more then but Man utd scored again through Ronaldo but was disallowed as he was about a mile and a half offside.

No doubt a nerve wrecking 2nd half to come for man u fans. Defend was looking solid tho thats down more to city imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Originally posted by bazH
    Neville Oscar : http://homepages.nildram.co.uk/~noikz/utd_city/neville_off.AVI
    rofl at that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,003 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

United 4 city 2 final score. 10 man united with a good win in the end. Ronaldo was class in attack and good to see Keano putting in a vintage performance. Howard proving today what a good signing he was with his man of the match performance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,064 ✭✭✭BKtje

What i ponder is the quick free kick thingy. Poor howard had to scamper accross his goal line :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,312 ✭✭✭mr_angry

United were dreadful. City were worse. It should have been about 9-6 to City (which was reflected by the Attempts on Goal), but some of the worst finishing I've ever seen contributed to City losing.

If I was a United fan, I think I'd take more worries from that game than glory. If United were to play that way against anyone from Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool, Newcastle, or ever Charlton... they would have been hammered.

till we were down to 10men man city didnt have a sniff. I think it went ok tho the defending wasa little dodgy with 10men ;)

Originally posted by mr_angry
    United were dreadful. City were worse. It should have been about 9-6 to City (which was reflected by the Attempts on Goal), but some of the worst finishing I've ever seen contributed to City losing.

If I was a United fan, I think I'd take more worries from that game than glory. If United were to play that way against anyone from Arsenal, Chelsea, Liverpool, Newcastle, or ever Charlton... they would have been hammered.

Did you see the Match?

United scored 3 goals when down to 10 men ,Until neville got sent off they were well on top and the defence was solid. Overalll a Good performance IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,319 ✭✭✭sci0x

Great score!
    Finally Ronaldo scores and VanNistolry gets two.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 252 ✭✭elbow316

rofl @ Neville :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

Originally posted by B-K-DzR
    Neville then head butts Mcmanaman and gets sent off.
    and they wonder why the England international team under-achieves.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

Originally posted by bazH
    Neville Oscar : http://homepages.nildram.co.uk/~noikz/utd_city/neville_off.AVI

LMAO :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 256 ✭✭patto_chan

Rumour has it that it was the first time Gary Neville ever got 2 cards on a Vallentine's Day.

;->

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭smemon

Originally posted by mr_angry

scoring 3 goals with 10 men and conceding a very dodgy free kick, WHICH THE REF NEVER BLEW THE WHISTLE TO INDICATE IT WAS BEING TAKEN is hardly a dreadful perormance from man u.

i bet had that free kick been saved or gone wide, the ref would have pulled it back. neville deserved to go, nice to see him getting stuck in and showing some passion. had he not 'over-dived' away from the challenge i think he would have got a penalty. ah well, 4-2 and on we go towards the final.

now to dethrown arsenal - the ultimate challenge.

Originally posted by smemon
    WHICH THE REF NEVER BLEW THE WHISTLE TO INDICATE IT WAS BEING TAKEN
    He doesn't have to.

Originally posted by eirebhoy
    He doesn't have to.

Are you sure he doesn't have to blow his whistle to restart the game?

scoring 3 goals with 10 men and conceding a very dodgy free kick, WHICH THE REF NEVER BLEW THE WHISTLE TO INDICATE IT WAS BEING TAKEN is hardly a dreadful perormance from man u.

No, but spending 80% of the second half in their own half, and giving up chance after chance after chance - that makes it a dreadful performance. By their own high standards, of course.

but thats typical of utd, they create dozens of chances only hit the target with half of them.

arsenal do the exact same, they waste chance after chance, even more so than manu. but they still score loads just on the law of averages.

as for the ref thing, it was very unfair imo to not blow the whistle or else do it really shortly and quietly. i wouldnt be complaining if he had done.

now to dethrown arsenal - the ultimate challenge.

Agreed looks like we actaully want to win it this year for a change. I hope we draw the Gunners in the next round.

Originally posted by The Muppet
    Agreed looks like we actaully want to win it this year for a change. I hope we draw the Gunners in the next round.

i second that, it would be less painful to go out now than in the final. also if we won, we'd have the hard job over.

if utd get arsenal in the cup it would be THE biggest game of the season for both sides. id put this one higher up than any champs league game. their both about even at the minute and a match like that would comfirm who's ahead. it would also spur the losers on to get revenge in winning the league. (provided a dodgy ref doesnt interfere).

Are you sure he doesn't have to blow his whistle to restart the game?
    I'm nearly sure he doesn't. Think of a free kick in the teams own half or the middle of the pitch, he can take is as quick as he likes and most of the time he doesn't have to wait for a whistle (I said most of the time because sometimes the ref may tell the player to wait). Why should it be any different when the free kick is closer to the opposition's goal?

TBh i,m not sure myself but I thought in the rules of the game if the ref stops the game he has to restart it by blowing the whistle, Im sure someone will give the exact position.

Why should it be any different when the free kick is closer to the opposition's goal?

why aren't 90% of freekicks outside the box not given inside the box?? the answer is the same to your question, it's closer to the goal, therefore a bigger threat. he's supposed to march out the 10yards (which he didnt do against city either) and blow the whistle to indicate the free can be taken.

so he breached not 1, but 2 rules. also a bit of decency and cop on should come in to play too.

I'm not sure if the whistle was blown for Henry's quick free kick against Villa, was it? All the pundits, papers, refs, etc. said the only thing the ref done wrong for that goal was stand in front of the ball. Ian Harte's goal against Arsenal was OK too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,172 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

I heard the two Sky lads saying that the ref only has to move away from the ball real quickly which he did

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Good performance from United on Saturday, especially when going down to ten men. Ronaldo played well, Howard played well but I think the player who stood out the most was Roy Keane. He was everywhere. Making tackles all over the pitch. It was one of the best performances I've seen from him in a while.

As for Neville's sending off, I think was Fergie said in the interview after the match was spot on. If the ref had blown the whistle and booked Neville for the dive at the time of the incident, none of that would have happened and he wouldn't have been sent off. Still doesn't justify his actions. McManaman was asking for it though. :D

and giving up chance after chance after chance
    but thats typical of utd, they create dozens of chances only hit the target with half of them.

I didn't mean that. I meant that they gave City chance after chance at the Utd end. City had 4 shots saved at point blank range, and Sibierski had 2 headers that he really should have done a lot better with. If (and I know thats only an 'if') they had taken those chances, it could have been 8-4 to City!

I think that a top-quality Premiership team who have won more than once in 16 games would have put several of those chances away, and frankly, you are kidding yourself if you think that was a good performance defensively from Utd.

As I said, it is only compared to their own very high standards, but on Saturday, I think Utd got away with it. Which is all that matters really...

United had ten men for alot of the match mr angry. Of course City would have their fair share of chances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

TBh i,m not sure myself but I thought in the rules of the game if the ref stops the game he has to restart it by blowing the whistle, Im sure someone will give the exact position.

Nope, the ref does not have to blow the whistle to restart a game after a stoppage.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

City had the perfect chance to topple their local rivals but they are so poor at the moment and have no confidence what so ever
    a good bet to be next season leeds i think

funniest moment of the season so far
    g neville banging his fist on the ground after the ref waves off his claim for a peno, then procceds to headbutt mcmanaman
    think he is going to miss the arsenal game too, which is a bonus :)

nice dive too:D

Nearly as good as Pires'.

Originally posted by PORNAPSTER
    Nearly as good as Pires'.

maybe he was taking lessons but keno must have helped in the headbutting department and he is definatly watching too much eastenders cause his ranting and over the top theatrics after his dive was the funniest thing i have seen in a long time

on a serious note i say kick utd out of the league :rolleyes:

Originally posted by jank
    over the top theatrics after his dive was the funniest thing i have seen in a long time
    Almost as funny as Arsenal celebrating a nil all draw at OT like they had won the league.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Naturally if United came away with a point from Highbury after having a man sent off and conceding a penalty in injury time they wouldn't be in any way pleased.. :rolleyes:

Almost as funny as Arsenal celebrating a nil all draw at OT like they had won the league.

well when u consider they were down to ten men and ruud hit the crossbar from a peno in the last 60 seconds of the game you can to see why they were celebrating!

oh and their still unbeaten are they not! :)

Originally posted by TwoShedsJackson
    Naturally if United came away with a point from Highbury after having a man sent off and conceding a penalty in injury time they wouldn't be in any way pleased.. :rolleyes:
    We wouldn't be celebrating though. Not in September. :rolleyes: United would see it as two points lost. Maybe you see it differently being a Liverpool supporter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Hobart

And so the flaming begins once more. when is it ever going to stop??? Really FFS. This is so so childish. When are we going to get a proper post-mortem on a game without this ****e?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭AthAnRi

Back on topic. as usual the sunshine utd fans and the sunshine arsenal fans have dragged a decent thread into muck.

I didn't see the game live but seen the highlights on BBC. was well impressed by Van the Man, Keane, Howard and Ronaldo. Apart from that UTD are falling apart at the seems. Hopefully they will get their act together at the back otherwise it will be a silverware free season.

I was glad to see Ronaldo taking the simple option a little bit more. In the last few games he seems to be concentrating on an early ball as apposed to his trcks which is good to see that he is keen to learn. If he keeps it up then he will make the right wing position his own.

Originally posted by AthAnRi
    Apart from that UTD are falling apart at the seems.

utd have won 12 of their last 15 games and drawn 1.

total scored: 35
    conceded: 17

doesnt indicate to me their falling apart. because they concede goals of late they've all of a sudden lost it? good sides win games even when their on poor form. i think thats reflected in utd's position in the league - 2nd! 5points of the top. all season they've been accused of underperforming yet their still up there hacking away at top spot.

take liverpool for example, they've underperformed and are 4th, more notably 23 points of the top. if utd were falling apart they'd be in liverpool's position.

Originally posted by AthAnRi
    Back on topic. as usual the sunshine utd fans and the sunshine arsenal fans have dragged a decent thread into muck.

I didn't see the game live but seen the highlights on BBC. was well impressed by Van the Man, Keane, Howard and Ronaldo. Apart from that UTD are falling apart at the seems.

Yeah Utd are really failing apart at the seems after a few poor results. Its no wonder our fans get accused of being of the glory hunting fair weathered variety when they make comments like that. OK results have not been what we would like lately but we have lost one half of the best defences in the premiership and a player coming back from serious injury trying to fill the place. The coaching staff will shore up the defence and the player know they can not afford another loss and we know what happen last year when they were in that position and it was a month earlier than now. The club also have to contend with shareholders disrupting the running of the club and that is bound to affect things as well..

OK united has its problems so now is the time for the fans to get behind the team and support them instead of going way over the top with rubbish about the Team falling apart.

Originally posted by Hobart
    And so the flaming begins once more. when is it ever going to stop??? Really FFS. This is so so childish. When are we going to get a proper post-mortem on a game without this ****e?
    Whenever Arsenal, Liverpool and other fans (who have nothing to do with Man Utd or Man City) stop coming in bitching about United or City players.

WHy is it Porn that you feel that fans of other teams cannot pass fair comment on what has been a couple of bad weeks for united. If you want to chat with only united fans then start a private forum somewhere and only allow Man U fans, that way at least you will have everybody sharing the same rose tinted view of the club.

They are not performing well, there defence is very leaky at the moment, they have lost points where they shouldn't have and the manager is way out of his depth in a row over something that is jeopardising his job at the club. They will now lose another defender for a couple of weeks following that red card incident.

Would I be right in assuming that you will no longer be postin on any threads that have no thing to do with Man Utd., ya know set a good example and all that ?

Yes you are right, you never see me posting in Arsenal v. Chelsea threads unless I have something useful to say.

I have no problems with fair comments as you put it. However I do get annoyed when people who support other clubs and are not involved with Manchester United or the team they are playing start taking the piss out of United players (I always have). You don't see me going into Arsenal threads going "Vieira is a thug", "Keown face looks funny", "Pires is a cheating bastard" etc. Posts like that are pointless and are only posted to stir things up. I would say it however if United were involved in the arguement.

If I did go into any thread not involving United, I would have something useful to say. Rather than smart arse comments, just to start an arguement.

If you say so

I certainly would not count is as "something useful to say".

And laughing means anything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭AthAnRi

Posted by the Muppet

Its no wonder our fans get accused of being of the glory hunting fair weathered variety when they make comments like that.

No the only reason utd fans get accused of being 'of the glory hunting fair weathered variety' is probably because it's true. I'm a Man Utd fan and there is a lot of idiots who support them. You can spot them a mile off.

I remember watching man u back in the day when they were crap, I'll never forget the slagging I got from my mates at school when we lost the league to leeds. And then all of a sudden 2-3 years later the same people who were slagging me were supporting Man U.

Another thing just because I construtively criticise my team does not mean that i won't support them. god damn it man have you ever heard the phrase 'you've got to be cruel to be kind'. I will admit my comment may have been a bit strong but UTD are defenatly not as good defensivly as they were with Rio. If everyone pretended they were then we may as well hand the title over to Arsenal now cause it's not true.

If utd play the same way against Arsenal, Chelsea or Liverpool, the way they did against, Middlesborough, Southampton, Wolves, Everton then they will be in trouble and no matter how much you love them then you cannot deny it.
    utd have won 12 of their last 15 games and drawn 1.
    total scored: 35
    conceded: 17

Here we go, more statistics. I agree, Utd were flying it before Xmas and before Rio was suspended. Since rio has been suspended they have only kept 1 clean sheet, and that was against a third division side.

Here are some statistics. Since Rios suspension

Utd have played 4 league games, Won 2 and lost 2.

Goals scored: 9
    Goals Conceded: 9
    5points of the top. all season they've been accused of underperforming yet their still up there hacking away at top spot.

I certainly have never accused utd of underperforming this season until now. Howver utd were 4 points clear at Xmas and now they are 5 points behind. That means they have managed to loose 9 points to Aresnal. Hardly league winning form

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭LizardKing

P0rnapster you were not trying to rise anyone with this gem either ???

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?s=&threadid=72453

Those cups that Liverpool stole out of the café don't count. Win yourself a real treble, eg. Champions League, Premier League and FA Cup.

http://newsvote.bbc.co.uk/media/images/38535000/jpg/_38535997_forlan300.jpg

Diego woooooaaahhh
    Diego wooooaaaahh
    He comes from Uraguay
    He made the scousers cry!

Bo Selectah :{

Jesus yeah, that was a while ago.

If I did go into any thread not involving United, I would have something useful to say. Rather than smart arse comments, just to start an arguement.

So we will all just agree that you are as much of a stirrer as the people you are complaining about then.

Fair play to you Ath an ri, good to see a fan not afraid to say what he thinks no matter what other muppets may say.

That was fecking ages ago. I'm a changed man. :D