Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New YOrk

• 16-02-2004 5:12pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12

im going to new york next weekend...have never been wondering if anybody has any tips on things to do and see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭Dr. Loon

Do the Circle Line cruise, the full Island cruise is best. You'll take everything in. There's almost no point in going to the statue of liberty... you'll be queuing for feckin hours. You get good views of her from the Circle Line cruise though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

would agree with Dr. Loon about the big 'statu' I went up but it did take a while, not hours but a while. It was worth it for the view outta her head though.

Empire State - well, you have to really.

Shopping - Century 21 Cortlandt St. Macy's around Chelsea

The Guggenheim - Upper East side. Fantastic building.

Washington Square Park - just for eating a 'dog and loafing about.

The MoMa

Rockefeller Centre.

Intrepid Sea-Air-Space Museum - they have a aircraft carrier and the 1st submarine to carry cruise missiles, a Blackbird.

Really depends what you're into but the best way to see NY is walk, walk and walk some more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,290 ✭✭✭gonker

i am going in two weeks.... I cant wait...anymore pointers any good places to eat.....drink...?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 Delusional

Where are you staying? Are you staying in Manhattan? How long for, just the weekend? Don't jump from uptown to downtown seeing things. Obvious i know.

Empire State Building. Make sure to do the Skyride there! Stroll up Fifth Avenue, past the New York Public Library. Walk east on 42nd Street to Grand Central Station. Move on to the Chrysler Building, and continue east to the United Nations. back west to Rockefeller Center, maybe ice skate?, then across Fifth Avenue to St. Patrick's Cathedral. Maybe then spend some time in Times Square.

Central Park. Can't possibly see it all. (forget the zoo, not worth it) - Grand Army Plaza - Think FAO Schwartz is closed for renovations until the middle of the year. Walk Museum Mile and maybe pop into one that appeals to you.

Ellis Island & Statue of Liberty. Bear in mind that the statue is no longer open to the public in as much as you cannot go up it anymore. If you do take the Circle Line make sure to stand at a railing if it's busy. Nothing worse than people standing on the seats for a better view and all you seeing is the back of their heads! (Personally don't like the Circle Line, there's another one that does a two hours ride but no stops!) While there have a look at the Garden of Hope, Battery Park Wall Street. Head northwest to Chinatown (be careful, people running everywhere with bin liners and nearly knocking you over) and Soho. Maybe Bleaker St for some shopping. Visit Ground Zero maybe? Pop into Century 21 while there to see if you can find any bargains.

If it's nice weather, consider walking the Brooklyn Bridge (toward Manhatten, of course). There is a subway stop right on the Brooklyn side.

Walking can get tiring and you WILL walk miles. Depending on how long you will be in NY i would suggest and unlimited metrocard. Least when you get tired you can get on the subway. You MUST go on the subway for the experience if nothing else ;-) $2 per ride if you decide to pay per ride.

Socialising? I say grab the subway out to Queens and meet loads of nice Irish :) Grab the 7 train (local OR express) at
    - Times Square (42nd and 7th ave. on the west side) and Grand Central (42nd and Lexington on the east side) and go to 61st Woodside! When you come down from the elevated train you will see the Subway Foodstore. Cross over the street from there and you will be surrounded by some of the best Irish pubs and people imaginable. They are up for great craic! Here in a matter of steps you have Toucan Tommys, The Cuckoos Next, Saints and Sinners, Sean Og's, Starting Gate. Go to them all ;-) And then when you are full on booze pop into Rainbow for some nice food.

enjoy your trip, you will have a ball whatever you do and whatever you see

i am staying 1 block from times square....beside broadway i think... the hotel i was supposed to be staying in is being knocked down next week....i feel really jinxed...we were in dubai last year and the hotel we stayed in is being knocked down in april...a pattern? thanks for the info....alll other info gratefully accepted

Well you'll be in the centre of it all so. Times Square is great! I love it. Some places the prices for food is crazy. Toast for $7. Madame Tussauds is smack bang in Times Square, think its about $25 to enter. Oh and an Internet Cafe next door so you can pop on to say hi ;-)

What are you into? How long will you be there? etc Etc.

Oh and if you can go to the statue and the empire state during the week!

Weekends are crazy and you will be lining up for ages.

i want to see i dont know the things u see on television...that sounds sad but u know what i mean things u see on tele make it real.... empire state building ground zero....will and grace....friends...no...joke just have television on in the background will only be there 3 nights..... arrive early first day not leaving till evening last night...so a good length of time i think... think will be meeting up with other halfs colleagues.... over there police force for one day anyway so should be fun... last time my other half was over there ended up in a police raid with guns and stuff....real starsky and hutch stuff...ok showing my age there.. would like to see ellis island grand central station....just got the rough guide so maybe study that see what they say...thanks again for the info.
    gonk

Seen as you are going for such a short space of time you couldn't possibly see everything (if you were there for a year you probably wouldn't get to see everything either though). Maybe it might be worth your while to take the Grayline all loops tour. Its $49 (not there $71 version) for 2 full days, hop on hop off narrated tour.
    The Gray Line "All Loops" tour includes a downtown loop, uptown and a nighttime tour (not hop-on-hop-off) So you can spend two days touring around the highlights of the city. Since the bus route time is actually just 2 or 3 hours per loop. you're really spending most of your time on the ground, experiencing NYC firsthand

Someone suggested The MoMa. Be aware that you will now have to go to Queens for that as it is temporarly housed there.

Do you like Italian? Theres a place called Pietrasantra , its about 3 blocks from Timess Square. Inexpensive and nice food.

Avoid the long lines at the Empire State Building by either going after 9PM or buying your ticket online and printing it out beforehand.

Take the Staten Island Ferry (free) at night for priceless views of the Statue of Liberty

Anyway enough, hopefully you will get some more suggestions :)

Oh and make sure to have Pizza,...........mmmmmmmmmm *belly rumbles* enjoy! :)

Do you like Italian? Theres a place called Pietrasantra , its about 3 blocks from Timess Square. Inexpensive and nice food
    Oh and make sure to have Pizza,...........mmmmmmmmmm *belly rumbles

do i what???? i love foooooodddd;)

gonk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,445 ✭✭✭bovril

I was there before christmas, I did the circle line tour and it was brilliant. Well worth your while. Great views of the whole of manhattan. It goes right past the statue of liberty too. I never made it out to the statue of liberty island because you can't go up the statue since september 11th.

The highlight of my trip was going to see the lion king show on broadway. Try get tickets with as much as I hate to say it www.ticketmaster.com, failing getting tickets to that or getting tickets on line try going to the TKTS stand at broadway (http://www.tdf.org/programs/tkts/), you may be lucky to get discount tickets to a show that day but you might have to queue early.

Times square is cool, empire state building is good too, really enjoyed that... go early or late to avoid really long queues..

Central park is another must, you could easily spend days there...

Grand central station is definately worth a look.

My best buy for the 4 days was a $21 week subway/buss pass. Never bothered with taxis and got trains and buses everywhere. Saved a packet and got everywhere I wanted quickly.

I want to go back now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭Tommy Vercetti

It's been a couple of years since I was last there, but I would recommend taking one of the helicopter rides around the city. You can book one in your hotel. I can't remember the name of the company I went with (I think it may have been Liberty Helicopters), but they had two different rides, one was 15 min, the other 30. Book the 15 minute one (around $50) and there is a good chance they will put you on the 30 minute one (about $90) to fill the chopper :D Several people told me that and it worked for me! Also go to the Empire State Building before 10am if you want to avoid the queues. Also try to visit it at night, the nighttime skyline is amazing. There are literally millions of things to do and see there, make the most of it and have a great time!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 421 ✭✭drrnwbb

there is a cable car that runs from upper east side to roosevelt island. cost about 1,50$ when i was last there (just over 2years ago). then just get the subway back to manhattan. well worth it. it gives a great view down the eastside of manhattan.

the cable car station can be hard to get to, its somewhere around east 60th street. i'll try to get the proper address after work.

dw

The price of Liberty Helicopters is a lot more expensive now. I never took it but was in living in New York for a while and i kept getting leaflets shoved in my hands in Times Square. The helicopter ride was $97 per person for 10 minutes. You have to book reservations two days in advance also. The website is www.libertyhelicopters.com.

Another website is http://www.nywaterway.com/ . But as i said i personally don't like the Circle Line so the above link is the crowd that do the 2 hr cruise. When you get to South Street Seaport you will see booths that have all the different offers anyway and can discover which appeals to you personally.

well tikkoie, did you have a good time in new york? any more tips im heading off on friday.
    gonk