Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Darkness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭Jip

Am I the only one who think that they are severely overrated, cliched and simply no good ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

No.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭KlodaX

thats what is good about them ... they are a cliche of rock that hasn't been seen in a while ... people have been avoiding the glam of rock for so long that musicians now just look like everyone else ... its getting boring ... I see your point .. I have been trying to avoid them cause they rock in too obvious of a way .... but having heard and seen the video for their latest single 'love is only a feeling' ... they truely are musically talented ... and interesting to look at which is always a bonus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Oeneus

I personnally think they're brilliant. But I won't turn this into an opinions thread. Yeah nice thong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭UnrealQueen

They are dead kool:cool: . I'm in love with yer man's voice.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭Dathai

I thought they were going to be big at the start but now its just gotten overrated and sold out.Like you have to realise that it has turned into pop when they released dont let the bells end.I will admit they do have talent and it could be brought into the metal world but the marketing guys have sunk their teeth into them and it dosent look like they are going to let go.Its a shame the guys could do alot better than what they have released.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭Ryaner

Nice panties.
    I agree that darkness have sold out a bit. The xmas thing was a bloody joke and I'm kinda glad they didnt get number one in some respects cause of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭lodgepole

Originally posted by Dathai
    I thought they were going to be big at the start but now its just gotten overrated and sold out.Like you have to realise that it has turned into pop when they released dont let the bells end.I will admit they do have talent and it could be brought into the metal world but the marketing guys have sunk their teeth into them and it dosent look like they are going to let go.Its a shame the guys could do alot better than what they have released.

At the same time, they are laughing themselves all the way to the bank... They're a good bit of craic though, as their gig last year demonstrated.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 23,361 Mod ✭✭✭✭feylya

Justin is a legend tbh. Met him quickly at the Metallica gig last year. Have a picture of him around here somewhere....

Like you have to realise that it has turned into pop when they released dont let the bells end.I will admit they do have talent and it could be brought into the metal world

metal? ... where are you getting metal from??? they are more like Thin Lizzy and Queen than any metal band I know....

They are bringing Rock out of the shadows and into centre stage ... where it belongs in flam buoyant sparkly spandex! Happy Rock ... not deep and depressing as the 'Grunge' age left it ....

Originally posted by KlodaX
    metal? ... where are you getting metal from???

Go into any HMV Metal section and you will find the darkness right there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,985 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

Originally posted by Dathai
    Go into any HMV Metal section and you will find the darkness right there.

That doesn't prove much other than the fact that HMV are idiots. They have GNR over there too.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,570 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

The Darkness: This joke is no longer funny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,312 ✭✭✭mr_angry

3 good songs. Thats all. Just 3. That does not make a 'great' band by any stretch of the imagination. Comedy is all very well, but it really wears thin after about 4 or 5 times listening to it.

Are you lot that incredibly grim.

Of course Don't Let The Bell's End was a frickin' joke. That was the whole point.

And it's the best Christmas song I've ever heard anyway, with the exception of Nightwish's Walking In The Air, but that's never eally been regarded by anyone but me as a christmas song.

But if you don't like it, go listen to Cliff Richards Christmas joy if your still not sick of it after 20 million years.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

lol, are those..erm.."lips" added on?!

Hahahaha!

Unfortunately it's probably just a crease in the material.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭red_ice

Originally posted by Jip
    Am I the only one who think that they are severely overrated, cliched and simply no good ?

possibly because a rock group has borken through the metaphoracle barrier that is pop music and hiphop to become a group with respectable music?

The singer has an amazing voice and is an amazing guitarist, no matter what anyone says, the darkness have raw tallent, unlike most shite these days. Try listening to the lyrics and see how clever they are and then you will laugh your ass off.

SKAG! (find the song that goes on about skag, thats clever)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,154 ✭✭✭Oriel

Originally posted by Oeneus
    Hahahaha!

Unfortunately it's probably just a crease in the material.

Naw, sure look closely - you can clearly see the main "garnment" ending. The...ahem..."rest" has been added on afterwards.

<sarcasm> Now *that's* ROCK!!! </sarcasm>

Skag. I think 'Givin' Up' is the one your looking for. F**king brilliant.

"All I want is brown,
    And I'm going into town
    Shooting up as soon as I'm back
    My friends have got some good sh*t
    All I want is some of it
    Gimme Gimme Gimme that smack."

Classic stuff

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Ich mag sie nicht an allen. :)

Originally posted by PORNAPSTER
    Ich mag sie nicht an allen. :)

Thats your loss ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

Bitch, bitch, moan.

"Oh, bands these days are crap, they don't know anything about rock'n'roll. The old bands are good, if only someone played music like that these days..."

Followed swiftly by:

"Oh, The Darkness aren't any good, they're so clichéd... "

Make up your damn minds. Do you want people putting effort into the rock/metal they play, or are you happy with Limp Bizkit beating Behind Blue Eyes to death with a big stick?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭loismustdie

the darkness along with david bowie are supposed to be headlining oxygen, the festival formerly known as witnness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,618 ✭✭✭Civilian_Target

We have been made aware of this by several other posts. And on the subject of the Darkness, I thought they ere excellent last August/September, but after repeated listening they lose their appeal very quickly. I've heard "I Believe..." at least 150 times now and it just makes me want to top myself...

Every band has an exposure limit, and I've been over it 2 or 3 times with the Darkness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭isthisit

when 'growin on me' came out i thought it was good but after i heard the rest of 'permission to land' i was left unimpressed. they are a joke band, and a bad one in my opinion. we need more real bands like oasis and the strokes.

isthisit.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Originally posted by Sarky
    Make up your damn minds. Do you want people putting effort into the rock/metal they play, or are you happy with Limp Bizkit beating Behind Blue Eyes to death with a big stick?
    I don't like them because its simply not my style of music. Plus, their image really bugs me.

Alot of people say they only listen to them because of the comedy aspect.But what about Tenacious D?They are funny and they are a good band/duo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

Tch, Tenacious D are sooo two years ago...

Yeah even though they're still better than the darkness