Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

XP Activation Prob

• 19-02-2004 4:11pm
    Registered Users Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭

A friend of mine stupidley installed a copy of Windows XP and now he can't access his PC as it has not been activated, anybody got any ideas for a solution or is he going to have it formatted?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭Emboss

shot in the total dark

ACTIVATE IT?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

He can access his PC but just not through WindowsXP.

Ok, why didnt he activate it? XP gives you that nice little warning every 5minutes to activate it when you havent done so. Check the windows-help.net site and others [all you need to do is Google] and you should find answers.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭dubmick

He didn't activated because the xp cd was a copy and he thought it was cracked. Stupid alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭theciscokid

ring m$ number that appears when the activation notice appears when u turn on pc..

it should have a popup after the 30 days have expired to activate now

its not looking good, even if you had a valid product key, you might have to go back to the reseller etc..

• Registered Users Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

get a proper cracked one and do a repair install

Originally posted by dubmick
    He didn't activated because the xp cd was a copy and he thought it was cracked. Stupid alright.

the use of ilegal software ??

• Registered Users Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭bizmark

Originally posted by Emboss

Ah come on like half of boards users dont have at least 1 cracked copy of windows

• Registered Users Posts: 9,508 ✭✭✭irishgeo

Originally posted by bizmark
    Ah come on like half of boards users dont have at least 1 cracked copy of windows

:ninja:

Ah come on sure half the country breaks the law on a daily basis

lets not have laws sure...

• Registered Users Posts: 15,946 ✭✭✭✭Villain

Originally posted by Emboss

as the song go's :

"Get the Guards" ;)

In fairness Emboss I'd say a lot of us here have some software that we didn't pay for.

• Registered Users Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

anyone who pays 4 software is a wally, ye hear, a wally !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,008 ✭✭✭Tivoli

listen guys like buffy says in cruel intentions

"everyone does it,just no one talks about it"

i know she was talking about roiding, but its the same idea

so shhhuuusssshhhhh lads

ps i am not downloading windows FD while i type this ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Mountjoy Mugger

No, all mine are legit. Why, do you?

And with all due respect, I'm fucking amazed that a Mod is giving the distinct impression of condoning its use.

Originally posted by Mountjoy Mugger

And with all due respect, I'm fucking amazed that a Mod is giving the distinct impression of condoning its use.

My Main pc does have a copy of xp home i payed for at great over inflated price

And i know sure....im a mod i havent joined the police force .... :rolleyes:

And i never said go out and use cracked copys of Windows your the one putting words in my mouth i was only makeing a statement which is more than likely very true

• Registered Users Posts: 3,146 ✭✭✭oneweb

go out and use cracked copys of Windows
    You did now :p

It is what it's.

Fecker and your selective quoting :dunno: :p

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 91,807 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

RANT
    If M$ hadn't made it so easy to copy in the past, and people hadn't copied it - there would now have been real competition in the OS market and real prices. Back in the days of the original PC DOS was about 3% of the price.
    /RANT

• Registered Users Posts: 6,560 ✭✭✭Woden

on the subject of o/s' microsoft where previewing windows longhorn in ucd today, think you had to register to attend but would have liked to drop over and see it running, i probably could have blagged it but forgot about it after lunch

• Registered Users Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Originally posted by Capt'n Midnight
    Back in the days of the original PC DOS was about 3% of the price.
    It's not entirely irrelevant to mention that PCs were rather more expensive then

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 91,807 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Overall spending on PC's and SW is up a tad since then.

The first windows 95 CD cost €300,000,000.00 to make.
    The second one cost 30c

Excluding specialist apps, we are replacing fully licences PC's and Servers. New (because we can't upgrade) Microsoft licenses (MOLP C - we aren't paying retail prices) will cost more than the hardware. The hardware will be fixed on site if there is a problem during the next three years. We get the microsoft serial no's emailed.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,508 ✭✭✭irishgeo

Microsoft in my mind made it as simple as possible in the ealry days for you to copy thier software so that they could control the market. I mean all you needed was a code and the CD a 3 months old baby could do that now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,264 ✭✭✭RicardoSmith

Originally posted by dubmick
    A friend of mine stupidley installed a copy of Windows XP and now he can't access his PC as it has not been activated, anybody got any ideas for a solution or is he going to have it formatted?

Boot it up on another OS and remove the XP manually. Though I doubt he'd be able to do this if he didn't realise XP would lock up his PC. Get the original OS CD and do a reinstall.

Originally posted by irishgeo
    Microsoft in my mind made it as simple as possible in the ealry days for you to copy thier software so that they could control the market. I mean all you needed was a code and the CD a 3 months old baby could do that now.
    In fairness while DOS / Windows 3.1 didn't care what you put in the box - with the non-OEM versions of Office 95,97/Win95/NT4 etc. etc. you only had a one in seven chance of guessing the serial number. With 98 and later you needed a 25 character alphanumeric - in order to promote this new anti piracy method Microsoft's in an add in one of Italy's leading national magazines (complete with valid serial number.)

• Registered Users Posts: 443 ✭✭bricks

Then at least you can access your files.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

Originally posted by Capt'n Midnight
    in order to promote this new anti piracy method Microsoft's in an add in one of Italy's leading national magazines (complete with valid serial number.)
    roffle:D
    that seriously happened???

• Registered Users Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

Originally posted by Mountjoy Mugger

My copy of windows is legit as well but you can only install the software and register it so many times before it wont allow you to register it anymore. Totaly sucks and microsoft need to cop on to the woeful online reg bull****.

I don't really get all this activation stuff. Is that only retail copies? My Latop has XP Pro (came with it) and that doesn't need activiation. At work the versions that come with all machines don't need activiation either. I think we also have a corporated version (select maybe?) and that doesn't require activiation either. On all those machines windows updates and reinstalls work fine. So is this activiation malarky only exist in the retail version?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

I think it's a case that if the OS is pre-installed...it's already activated.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

My copy is an OEM as well. Still was only able to install it 4 times untill the web reg told me to take a hike :(

Originally posted by Kaimera
    I think it's a case that if the OS is pre-installed...it's already activated.

Maybe. The select/corporate edition copy never seems to need activating.