Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Keane's at it again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,147 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Wont this issue ever bloody die! 1000 years from now people will still be at each others necks over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Originally posted by Ronan|Raven
    Wont this issue ever bloody die! 1000 years from now people will still be at each others necks over it.

Which is why I can't understand why Keane is bringing it up again. If he wanted to go back, he would have done so before now, so why not just say 'no thanks, I'm retired.'?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭GuanYin

Originally posted by PORNAPSTER
    Jesus, they should rename you psykechic. :rolleyes:

.....because....... I can read peoples minds and I get premonitions......???!?!?! :confused:

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Originally posted by syke
    .....because....... I can read peoples minds and I get premonitions......???!?!?! :confused:
    Because you said "It's not going to happen". Almost as if you know it isn't going to happen.

Anything is possible.

Well pornapster, you're in the minority if you think it will, even The Muppet doesn't think its gonna happen..... you lads aren't gonna disagree now are ye ;)
    Originally posted by The Muppet
    Dustas I was of the same opinion as youself and am surprised at this story, I can never see him play again for Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,003 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Well pornapster, you're in the minority if you think it will, even The Muppet doesn't think its gonna happen..... you lads aren't gonna disagree now are ye ;)

I dont think he will ever play for Ireland again for a number of reasons but I may be wrong.

Theres a first time for everything;)

There is a huge difference between someone thinking its not going to happen, and someone saying "It is not going to happen".

It would be different if you said "I would doubt that it will happen".

Originally posted by The Muppet
    I dont think he will ever play for Ireland again for a number of reasons but I may be wrong.

Theres a first time for everything;)

There's the solidarity brother!!!!!! ;)

There is a huge difference between someone thinking its not going to happen, and someone saying "It is not going to happen".

It would be different if you said "I would doubt that it will happen".

*gasp* Pornapster has been taken over by a terrible monster..... I name it "Pedantor"!!!!!!

oh yeah, and its never gonna happen!

There's the solidarity brother!!!!!! ;)

Us Mancs have to stick together.

TBF thats what I have said all along but I would be less sure tonight than I would have been last month TBH.

Hilarious syke, hilarious... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,147 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

"Pedantor"

We could have had some godzilla style music to the intro theme of it and everything. Think of the tshirt royalties! royalties I tell you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

Well obviously McCarthy is a muppet and Roy is a scholar, and a poet and a gentleman. Anything Roy says is going to be more accurate than McCarthy so if Roy says he left his national team mates on the eve of the world cup, then obviously he's right and he did walk out on his country.
    :confused: I said that Keane lied and McCarthy didn't, how did you come up with that post?:D
    Originally posted by irish1
    I seen it but Keane gave a good indept interview on the Dunphy Show and as he said he could have went back but decided not to.

I know it's hard to accept eirebhoy but thats what he said
    Keane probably could have went back if he apoligised but he didn't want to apoligise for something he believed he was right. I think it is you that is finding it hard to accept that Keane was sent home.

Both sets of fans (Anti or pro keane) are as stubborn as each other and no matter what we say we are going to stick to what we believe so these debated will not go far. In saying that, I will still be involved.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,529 ✭✭✭irishgeo

I'd would welcome him back with open arms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

I love Keane, I think hes the best player to ever come out of Ireland or to play in a Man Utd. shirt, but I wish he'd just do one thing or the other.

If he doesn't want to play, so be it, if he does, ****ing fantastic espically with the way the midfield is, but until something happens, people shold just ignore his comments :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Johnny_the_fox

if any one has seen him play for Man Utd recently, you would see that the man isn’t even a shadow of his former self... his hip has gone and he cant run..

The real reason that he wants to play for Ireland again.. is simply - Ferguson isn’t playing him as much and he wants to play more... so he wants to play for Ireland. :rolleyes:

we might as well get Paul McGrath back ... :rolleyes:

Originally posted by Johnny_the_fox
    if any one has seen him play for Man Utd recently, you would see that the man isn’t even a shadow of his former self... his hip has gone and he cant run..
    It was only a few months ago that there was a thread on this forum about how well Keane is playing and is in with a chance of player of the year. He can't run? Man Utd -v- Arsenal, Charity shield, he beat Viera in pace and put in a superb tackle. I can still picture that tackle. Also, did you see United-v-City on Saturday?

You may not like Keane but you are being foolish saying stuff like "he can't run", etc.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,951 ✭✭✭✭Villain

Originally posted by eirebhoy

Keane probably could have went back if he apoligised but he didn't want to apoligise for something he believed he was right. I think it is you that is finding it hard to accept that Keane was sent home.

I'm fnding it hard to believe that Roy Keane would come on Irish television and tell the Irish people lies!

You might worship keane, but you have to look at what he said, he said he left and choose not to come back, he spoke about he and his family having to deal with that.

This is not an opinion these are the facts as presented by Roy Keane himslef, even he accepts he left and wasn't kicked out, but some reason you and some others can't. I reall don't understand that!

I am sure 99% believe that Roy Keane was sent home. Could you please provide a link to the quote "I wasn't sent home I left"? I have googled it and it returned nothing. As I said, he was probably misquoted.

Mick McCarthy wasn't misquoted as I and many others saw him in the press conference. Why would Keane say "he was right to send me home" and then say "I wasn't sent home"?

I am sure 99% believe that Roy Keane was sent home. Could you please provide a link to the quote "I wasn't sent home I left"? I have googled it and it returned nothing. As I said, he was probably misquoted.

Mick McCarthy wasn't misquoted as I and many others saw him in the press conference. Why would Keane say "he was right to send me home" and then say "I wasn't sent home"?

Listen I have said it many times he said it on the Dunphy show, I don't have transcipts, but if you phone TV3 they may provide you with a copy.

I know what he said, I saw the interview. Instead of accepting it now your tryinhg to say he didn't say it, which is it is he a lier or am I:confused:

Roy Keane has accepted that he left Republic of Ireland manager Mick McCarthy with no option but to send him home from the World Cup.

Keane insists he has no regrets in speaking up over what he saw as poor preparations for Ireland's campaign in the Far East.

And he is adamant that he will not apologise over his foul-mouthed attack on McCarthy after being accused of "being disloyal to my country and being a liar".

However, Keane told the Daily Mail: "I don't regret what I said, but at the same time I agree that Mick had to send me home.

"A player cannot speak to a manager like that and continue to work under him. Of that charge, I am guilty.

"I have never called Sir Alex Ferguson anything of the kind. We have had our arguments, of course, but I would not be a Manchester United player today if I had ever spoken to him like that."

Keane is aware that there was a campaign to see him reinstated to the Irish squad, but claims he feels more let down by some of his team-mates than McCarthy.

"I'm aware that there were a lot of important people who wanted me to turn around and rejoin the Irish squad," said Keane.

"I knew the Prime Minister, Bertie Ahern, was involved. Michael Kennedy, my lawyer, was waiting for me at the airport when I landed back in London and he told me there were people in high places trying to resolve the situation.

"People from Bertie's office had told Michael they wanted me to go back.

"But I told Michael there and then that there was no way I was going back, not after what Mick had said and what the senior players had done to me.

"I actually feel more betrayed by them than I do by Mick - in particular Quinn, Staunton and Alan Kelly.

He was first sent home... then recalled ... then he left...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

piss off keane

He was first sent home... then recalled ... then he left...
    Here this is ridiculous. When was he recalled? He said Bertie Ahern wanted to resolve the issue, he wasn't recalled. He said he would never go back but this was before his interview on RTE so he must have changed his mind.
    I know what he said, I saw the interview. Instead of accepting it now your tryinhg to say he didn't say it, which is it is he a lier or am I
    irish1 - If Keane did leave Saipan, my views on this matter would change completely. From all the evidence of what happened I am backing up Keane, I am no Man U supporter and the only reason I am backing him up is because I believe he was right. If I knew he walked away in Saipan, I probably wouldn't back him up but what I know he was sent home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Tellox

In Niall Quinn's autobio, he said that Keane left.. and that during the news conferance, when mick said he sent keane home, Niall thought to himself; "hang on now, thats not true, Roy left..."

When was he recalled?

Do you not remember Colin Healy was about to go on a plane to join the Irish Team????? Keane said he was going to play...... then He *changed his mind*.. it was to late for Colin to join the team...

<edit>
    McCarthy immediately called Healy and asked him to get on the next plane to Saipan. Yesterday morning, as you might guess, Keane recanted and decided to stay after all.

McCarthy then had the unhappy obligation to call Healy with a "never mind" message. To soften the blow, he asked him to come join the team anyway.

"(Keane) surprised me when he told me he was quitting," McCarthy said, "but I'm glad that he is now staying. He had a change of heart and I'm delighted. He should be playing in the World Cup because he's one of the best players in the world."
    </edit - people like quotes>

irish1 - If Keane did leave Saipan, my views on this matter would change completely. From all the evidence of what happened I am backing up Keane, I am no Man U supporter and the only reason I am backing him up is because I believe he was right. If I knew he walked away in Saipan, I probably wouldn't back him up but what I know he was sent home.

He did walk away by his own admission, I loved watching Roy Keane play in a green Jersey and I firmly believe if he hadn't left we would have being in the world cup semi finals.

But the fact of the matter is eirebhoy, he said he left, now he gave his reasons granted, but he did choose to leave and he also choose not to return.

In my book he walked out on his country when they needed him the most, and for that I will never forgive.

I would love you to see a copy of that interview, because he quitely clearly states to Dunphy that he wasn't sent home, he left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

My understanding on Saipan is that Keane walked out on Ireland.

Also Keane would be a liability to Ireland at this stage and he knows it. If he did give a damn about the Irish football team he would state unreservately at these press conferences that he will never play for Ireland again and end all this bull. He is using this "will he or won't he" publicity to keep his name in the media.

Gandalf.

Do you not remember Colin Healy was about to go on a plane to join the Irish Team????? Keane said he was going to play...... then He *changed his mind*.. it was to late for Colin to join the team...
    You said He was first sent home... then recalled ... then he left... but thats not the case. He said he was going to leave and then changed his mind, then after his argument a few days later he was sent home/left.

I don't know what to believe now. Why does every article about Roy returning say he was sent home and why did he say Mick was right to send him home?

BTW - If your manager accused you of faking injury and you had the temperment of Roy you wouldn't know what you would do and if he did leave he regretted it as soon as he got home. I haven't got much of a temper but I would probably be fuming if a manager accused me of faking injury and no players backed me up.

You said He was first sent home... then recalled ... then he left... but thats not the case. He said he was going to leave and then changed his mind, then after his argument a few days later he was sent home/left.

No Eirebhoy he left, please please just believe it, I can't hack you insisting he was sent home

you know what i meant ... god forgive me for not putting it in the queens english and proper order...

No Eirebhoy he left, please please just believe it, I can't hack you insisting he was sent home
    In that post I did not insist he was sent home and I haven't done so since but if he did leave read my previous post.
    BTW - If your manager accused you of faking injury and you had the temperment of Roy you wouldn't know what you would do and if he did leave he regretted it as soon as he got home. I haven't got much of a temper but I would probably be fuming if a manager accused me of faking injury and no players backed me up.

Most of us wouldn't have half the temper that Keane does so god knows what he does be feeling. How many times has he changed his mind now after a long think?
    you know what i meant ... god forgive me for not putting it in the queens english and proper order...
    Originally I actually didn't know what you meant, I thought you meant he was recalled after he was "sent home".

In that post I did not insist he was sent home and I haven't done so since but if he did leave read my previous post.

Ok I can handle you give reason why he LEFT, as long as you accept that he did.

Goodnight:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭smemon

imagine a full strength irish team with keane in it (and duff) against brazil. we could have got that historic victory.

anyway.... keane says its up to kerr and really it is, kerr has the final say. keane has more than once said he wouldn't rule out a return so i think he definately misses the international scene.

probably, well surely, the brazil game would have had keane itching to get out there. midfield at present isnt weak imo, however who'd be stupid enough to leave out keane if he was available. one massive positive would be the experience he'd give miller and reid, the young players just coming through.

landsdowne would be divided though, you'd have the abu's booing every touch. im on for negative atmosphere but not against your own players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭Dr Bolouswki

I just read keanes book

He quit after the shenanigans and disorganisation at the start in saipan - then he had a change of heart and decided to stay, this after colin healy had been called - then a couple of days later an article appeared in the irish times where keane explained why he had been pissed off and specifically critiscised there being no keepers availalbe to them when they were practising 5 a side (an incident some journalists had witnessed where keane had a row with I think maurice setters and pakie bonnner) anyway, McCarthy called a meeting and sort of trapped keane in a bull**** argument that keane had actually tried to broach with mccarthy previously - Kenae freaked out at mccarthy, walked out of the room and mccarthy called a press conference and with the support of senior players said Roy was gone...

I think this illustrates that he was in fact, sent home (according to himself anyway)

I'm a Man City supporter so I'm not blindly supporting Keane, I admire keanes professionalism and dedication and ALWAYS thought McCarthy was a joke...

I think the rest of the Irish team would be better off exhibiting some of Keanes self belief and desire to win - I'd like to see him back...

I don't think its impossible, but I think the press reports are probably over exaggerated...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,981 ✭✭✭Big Ears

just 2 points to make . (1) saipan was used to get used to the climate of japan and wasnt meant for much traing to be done (the reason a lot of the gear for training wasnt in saipan was becasue it was sent to their proper training camps in chiba and then izuamo.

(2) ROY KEANE WILL NEVER PLAY FOR IRELAND AGAIN !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭AmenToThat

Personally in a bizarre way I think M&M may have something to do with this "change of heart"
    Up until now his life has revolved around the all powerful Man U but the treatment of his beloved manager of late may have led him to take a look at exactly what Man U and indeed Ireland means to him and so he be considering a return to the Irish set up!
    Maybe.............

The problem is that yet again there will be a load of media speculation and you can bet your life that comming up to the next friendly the build up will be disrupted by this lark.
    He should have said he either had no intentions of ever playing for Ireland again when asked today or said hed love to if matters could be resolved but the way he answered seems to be just Keane stirring it again to me which is the last thing the Irish football team needs right now!
    :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

Originally posted by Killah_B
    I just read keanes book

He quit after the shenanigans and disorganisation at the start in saipan - then he had a change of heart and decided to stay, this after colin healy had been called - then a couple of days later an article appeared in the irish times where keane explained why he had been pissed off and specifically critiscised there being no keepers availalbe to them when they were practising 5 a side (an incident some journalists had witnessed where keane had a row with I think maurice setters and pakie bonnner) anyway, McCarthy called a meeting and sort of trapped keane in a bull**** argument that keane had actually tried to broach with mccarthy previously - Kenae freaked out at mccarthy, walked out of the room and mccarthy called a press conference and with the support of senior players said Roy was gone...

I think this illustrates that he was in fact, sent home (according to himself anyway)

I'm a Man City supporter so I'm not blindly supporting Keane, I admire keanes professionalism and dedication and ALWAYS thought McCarthy was a joke...

I think the rest of the Irish team would be better off exhibiting some of Keanes self belief and desire to win - I'd like to see him back...

I don't think its impossible, but I think the press reports are probably over exaggerated...

You put alot of stock in what Dunphy said on Keane's behalf. I read his book too and he came across as a moany child in it. The most important thing you have got to learn about any argument is that there is three siddes to it, theirs, yours and the truth.

I would not like to see Keane play for Ireland again, no matter how good he is, or is professed to be, anyway by the time that WC06 comes around he will be past it.

The real reason that he wants to play for Ireland again.. is simply - Ferguson isn’t playing him as much and he wants to play more... so he wants to play for Ireland. :rolleyes:

we might as well get Paul McGrath back ... :rolleyes:
    Were you watching the Manchester City game?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

BTW - With Keane in the side we have a team capable of winning the world up as was proved in Korea.

Get a grip will you?? Some people are as bad at the English at hyping up what their team is capable of.

We drew with Cameroon, a game we should have won, got a fortunate draw with Germany, and then beat the worst side in the tournament (by a long way). We then failed to beat Spain despite them having ten men for almost the entirety of extra time, and produced some of the worst penalty taking in history to exit the tournament.

I was delighted Ireland got to the World Cup, and I don't doubt we would have done better if Roy Keane had stayed and played, but you're talking out of your arse saying we could have won it.

Back on topic, if Keane came back it would probably cause some friction in the squad, however a lot of the guys in question have also retired. I do wish there would be a final pronouncement on the whole thing, he's not doing himself of Ireland any favours dragging this bull**** out.

Originally posted by Killah_B

Ok so you think he was, he himslef says he WASN'T SENT home, whom should I believe:confused: :rolleyes:

Originally posted by Thanx 4 The Fish
    I would not like to see Keane play for Ireland again, no matter how good he is, or is professed to be, anyway by the time that WC06 comes around he will be past it.
    Another psychic in the room... :rolleyes:

How do you KNOW all of this?! He is the best we have yet you are willing to turn your back on his possible return because of a stupid grudge. Do you not want to see Ireland being successful?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

I don't think there's anything new in any of this. I think the media should cop on and stop asking him this same question everytime he talks to them. They're the ones that are continually dragging this up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Another psychic in the room... :rolleyes:

How do you KNOW all of this?! He is the best we have yet you are willing to turn your back on his possible return because of a stupid grudge. Do you not want to see Ireland being successful?!

Firstly he turned his back on Ireland.

Secondally I would much prefer to have someone who would play the games than a primadonna who walks off after a sissy fit.

Thirdly he is past it. After that hip operation he is not the same player.

Basically he should turn around and just be a man and say he will not play for Ireland again and stop all this nonsense.

Gandalf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,064 ✭✭✭Genghis

There is a lot of talk about putting an end to this.

I personally think the best way to do that is for Roy Keane to come back and lead us to the next world cup, then retire in some sense of glory. That way he has a chance of winning back the support of the Irish public, and we have a better chance of qualifying - seems to me to be win-win all round. The team has changed substantially since Saipan; many players retired, new manager, new players coming through, we now have a better set-up, new Chief Executive of FAI, etc. I also think he is an important link between success in the past and success in the future - his influence and experience is something that needs to be handed down to the next generation of players; all the other influential senior players have retired - Staunton, Quinn, Irwin, etc.

Now might be the right time (and indeed the last time) for him to come back.

Firstly gandalf... how has he turned his back on Ireland?

Secondly... what has that got to do with his performance in an Ireland jersey? Thats right you'd rather have someone like Holland who doesn't say anything and goes missing for half of the game.

Thirdly... He is not past it, he showed that against Manchester City on Saturday and also against your beloved Arsenal, where he was up against Vieira. People said that he was past it then, and he showed that he was ten times the player Vieira is. He may be losing it in some areas of his play, but he is gaining in others. I wouldn't leave him out of United's line up if someone held a gun to my head.

He is better than anyone Ireland have in midfield. And that will continue for quite some time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭xlex

I seen it but Keane gave a good indept interview on the Dunphy Show and as he said he could have went back but decided not to.

that interview was a small oral version of the book.... pure arse licking and RK was embarrassed by it... easy to see.

Firstly gandalf... how has he turned his back on Ireland?

Sorry to butt in but PORNAPSTER, he left the world cup by his own admission therefore he walked out on his country, pretty straight forward in my book.

Ok so you think he was, he himslef says he WASN'T SENT home, whom should I believe:confused: :rolleyes:

Whats with the one man crusade to change history. Everyone knows that Mc Carthy sent him home . Will ya change the record . What happened to "this is the last time i am going to say this" quote from you on page 2.
    McCarthy was quoted as saying that clear-the-air talks with Keane had turned into a slanging match. "I cannot and will not tolerate that level of abuse being thrown at me, so I sent him home,"

Everyone at this stage must be aware of the story as reported at the time IE Mc Carthy sent him home beacuse of teh bust up in the infamous meeting, Keano went back to his room and was surprised that Mc Carthy held a press conference half an hour later saying he had Sent Kean Home. Keane said in his RTE inteview that hMc Carthy had no option but to send him home after the row.

Originally posted by xlex
    that interview was a small oral version of the book.... pure arse licking and RK was embarrassed by it... easy to see.

The majority of it was arse licking but at least there were his words, not his words as written by Eammon Dunphy like in his book, and he quite clearly corrected Dunphy and said he wasn't sent home.