Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

figs keep you regular

• 09-03-2004 12:03am
    Registered Users Posts: 604 ✭✭✭

Mumblin Deaf Ro
    &
    Mike Stevens
    (from Settler and Get a Room)
    &
    Cameron Boardman

Friday 19 March 2004
    Price €8
    Doors 8.30

(Complimentary wine at interval)

Venue:
    New Theatre
    43 East Essex St
    Temple Bar
    Dublin 2.
    (Located to the rear of Connolly Books, a couple of doors down from the Project Theatre)

About the New Theatre:

The New Theatre is an intimate 70-seat theatre located to the rear of Connolly Books at Essex Street run by Ronan Wilmot (the star of the Michael Owen Lucozade ads). For one night only this gem of a venue features a performance by three of Dublin's finest painter-decorators.

About Mumblin' Deaf Ro:

Ro released his debut album 'Senor, My Friend...' on fledgling Dublin independent label Villain Records (www.villainrecords.com) in February 2003. Press comments below:

'an idiosyncratic gem. Cherish it. ****' The Irish Times

'it abounds with so much wit, invention and humility that it is one of the most likeable Irish releases in recent years.' The Slate

About Mike Stevens:

Michael Stevens is the guitarist, singer, and co-songwriter in alt pop band Settler and, latterly, Get A Room. Settler has released an EP and two albums in the last three years.

'acoustic alt-pop...bristling with attitude and razor-sharp lyrics,
    fusing melancholia with dark gallows humour and pithy one liners'
    Eamonn Sweeney, Hot Press

'... heart-lifting folk pop.... the most enjoyable album of the year so
    far'
    Anna Carey, the Sunday Tribune 5/5 (review of Life Upstream)

'one of the best Irish albums of the year.
    Ed Murphy, Dublin Event Guide (review of Life Upstream - Album of the
    issue)

Cameron Boardman

A new songer singwriter with soft woody tones and oakey flavours. He floats like a butterbean and sings like a bee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 702 ✭✭✭roxy

Originally posted by mumblin deaf ro
    (Complimentary wine at interval)

Ha ye will in yer fanny give them free wine, Hession!
    Originally posted by mumblin deaf ro 'an idiosyncratic gem. Cherish it. ****' The Irish Times

The 4 astrerisks do not represent stars, they represent an expletive used by the Times to really show what they think of the CD. It is indeed regrettable that MDR would drag the Times to such depths...

Ah no fair play to ya ye big gimpo. I wanna hear those new songs roight? I guess I could go to the gig and hear them...:rolleyes:

F;)

Ah I ****ed up that quoting didn't I....dammit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 389 ✭✭Morello

Hey what's this Mumblin' thing??? I really wanted to know how to keep regular.......

Nice 1 Ro, I'll try and make it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 71 ✭✭snakybus

here's a flyer

getupthereyehlanger

bump

• Closed Accounts Posts: 389 ✭✭Morello

Hey Ro,

You're in the Ticket's listings and they refer to you as a "Cult"

Well done :)

• Registered Users Posts: 604 ✭✭✭mumblin deaf ro

I think the 'L' in 'cult' is a typo.

Perhaps, or perhaps when they said "Cult singer" they were mixing you up with this "Cult singer"

19990809-cult.jpg

I mean if you squint a little, the resemblence is definitely there....:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 604 ✭✭✭mumblin deaf ro

No way! I mean, look at his hands: they're huge.