Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Celtic vs Barcelona (may contain scores)

• 10-03-2004 12:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭

Wont be long now..
    celticfc
    Chris Sutton will be given until the last possible moment to prove his fitness ahead of Thursday's UEFA Cup tie against Barcelona. The striker missed the Old Firm win because of a bruised nerve between his ankle and knee that he collected in Teplice, and it's a case of waiting to see where the Englishman is over the next few days.

hopefully Chris will make it...

ps. I think TG4 will be showing it ...

any thoughts on how we will do?

• Registered Users Posts: 488 ✭✭lad12

Yis will win the first leg at home 2 1

but over there they will show there class and come out on top by wining 4 1

They are the inform team in la liga(The best league rite now in europe) and have won most of there matchs since the turn of the year(Even beating depor away 3 2)...

Ronnie against balde...like there is only going to be one winner...and lets jus say he wont be in a green and white striped shirt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭bucks73

I fancy Celtic to win at home but it will be very hard over there. Celtic will have a huge advantage on set pieces as the Barca team arent that big apart from Puyol. They will however miss Sutton if he doesnt make it for tomorrow night.

The one thing Celtic do have in their favour is that Davids is cup tied. Its no coincidence that their excellent run in La Liga started when he arrived during the transfer window.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

Davids, van Bronkhorst, Luis Enrique and Kluivert are all unavailable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Is Paddy K injured or somethin, suspended maybe?

My head says that Celtic don't stand a chance, but they seem pretty formidable at Parkhead at the moment ( no stats for this, I dont support Celtic ).

When they travel to the Camp Nou, I think Barca will be too strong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭markomac316

I think Celtic can do it. They are on fine form and without Davids, van Bronkhorst, Luis Enrique and Kluivert they have a huge chance. It all depends on how the first leg goes, but if Celtic win they will go through.

Neil Lennon is the key for Celtic in Europe.

Barcelona's former Rangers midfielder Giovanni van Bronckhorst will miss both legs of the Uefa Cup tie against Celtic, the Catalan club has confirmed.
    The Dutchman, who is used as a left-back by manager Frank Rijkaard, strained knee ligaments in the win over Real Mallorca at the weekend.

The injury will keep him out of action for up to four weeks.

The good news for Barcelona is that Rafael Marquez is fit to return to the team for the trip to Glasgow.

Gerard also returns after injury, while Javier Saviola is back in the squad after missing the Mallorca game through suspension. Sutton return on for Celtic

As well as Van Bronckhorst, Edgar Davids misses out as he is cup-tied and Luis Enrique is banned.

Patrick Kluivert is still out injured.

Barcelona are due to arrive in Scotland on Wednesday for their last-16 meeting with Celtic.

They defeated Mallorca 3-2 on Saturday and have moved to within a point of third-placed Deportivo La Coruna with seven consecutive wins.

However, after a dreadful start to the season, they are still 11 points adrift of leaders Real Madrid.

and the celtic squad

Celtic squad: Douglas, Kennedy, Balde, Varga, Valgaeren, McNamara, Agathe, Lennon, Petrov, Pearson, Thompson, Larsson, Beattie, Sylla, Marshall, Lambert, Wallace, Smith, Wallace.

NO SUTTON...his attacking side of his game WONT BE MISSED but maybe his defensive side will be

• Registered Users Posts: 598 ✭✭✭[DF]Lenny

No doubt O'Neill will have done his homework on Barca.I can see Celtic causing a big upset in this one ..their away form in Europe has been poor the last couple of years though. 2-2 Celtic through on away goals:-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,754 ✭✭✭Big Chief

Originally posted by [DF]Lenny
    their away form in Europe has been poor the last couple of years though

eh?!?

it was there away form in last seasons uefa cup that got them to the final...

they performed better away in last seasons uefa cup than they did at home in most matches

Celtic usually play with 3 at the back but since there is no experienced player to partner Larsson I would prefer him up front on his own and put 4 at the back.

Douglas

Valgaeren
    Varga
    Balde
    McNamara

Agathe---Lennon---Lambert---Petrov---Thompson

Larrson

The only players to have scored for Barca in the last 10 games are Luis Enrique, Kluivert, Luis Garcia, Ronaldinho, Saviola, Davids and Xavi. Take away the players that are unavailable and you have Luis Garcia, Ronaldinho, Saviola and Xavi. I thought Overmars would've got one or two though. Playing 4 at the back should keep Overmars at bay down that left flank and his crosses won't be getting past big Bobo. :)

No defender has scored for Barca in 15 matches, that suggests to me a lack of height as bucks73 has said. Its a real pity we haven't got Hartson for this one as he is suite to this knd of match.

Since Barca lack height they will have to try and break Celtic down, that is were our 5 in midfield comes in handy. Our goals will probably come from set pieces and Balde, Valgaeren, Varga, Lambert and Larsson aren't the worst players to have in the box for a Thompson free kick. :)

3-1 Celtic. Larsson and Varga to score

• Registered Users Posts: 598 ✭✭✭[DF]Lenny

What I should have said Chief was their CL appearances.Last years Uefa cup they played teams that woul'dnt be regarded as Top Euro sides.

Barca are in the UEFA for a reason. They were crap before Davids arrived. They barely qualified for it this season and until January were mid table in Spain.

They are not a top European side and havent been for a few seasons.

Having said that the Nou Camp will be a completely different experience for the Celtic players. They received only 5000 tickets which will probably be up on the very top tier out of sight and earshot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 316 ✭✭Michelangelo

I always like Celtic mainly because of their style of football but am not a fan by any means really. I couldn't even name their first 11. But I can not see them winning this. I think Barca are going to win the whole thing and Ronaldinho will score tonight I reckon. Such a quality player.

Originally posted by Michelangelo
    Ronaldinho will score tonight I reckon.
    Tomorrow.;)

Ye that's what I meant to say. No really, I am Celtics biggest fan.

:ninja:

;):p

Originally posted by [DF]Lenny
    What I should have said Chief was their CL appearances.Last years Uefa cup they played teams that woul'dnt be regarded as Top Euro sides.

Porto who knocked out Man Utd last night arent reguarded as top draw? Celta Vigo arent top draw? Stuggart arent top draw either?
    I must be very wrong.

I can see Celtic playing the same way they did against Rangers, with Larsson as an alone striker, with Petrov giving support from midfield.

Though if Chris Sutton is fit expect a 4 - 4 - 2

Douglas

Agathe - Varga - Balde - McNamara

Petrov - Lennon - Pearson/Lambert - Thompson

Sutton - Larsson.

Originally posted by markomac316
    Porto who knocked out Man Utd last night arent reguarded as top draw? Celta Vigo arent top draw? Stuggart arent top draw either?
    I must be very wrong.

I can see Celtic playing the same way they did against Rangers, with Larsson as an alone striker, with Petrov giving support from midfield.

Though if Chris Sutton is fit expect a 4 - 4 - 2

Douglas

Agathe - Varga - Balde - McNamara

Petrov - Lennon - Pearson/Lambert - Thompson

Sutton - Larsson.
    Sutton isn't in the squad, he didn't make it.

Balde and Valgaeran are doubts! :(:(:(

I heard he was doing a late fitness test tomorrow?

Where you hear he was out?

Originally posted by markomac316
    I heard he was doing a late fitness test tomorrow?

Where you hear he was out?
    Its all over the net.
    http://www.breakingnews.ie/story.asp?j=33617832&p=336y8x76&n=33618130&x=

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭AmenToThat

Originally posted by eirebhoy
    Sutton isn't in the squad, he didn't make it.

Balde and Valgaeran are doubts! :(:(:(

Balde will be a big loss if he doesnt make it!
    While last seasons European campaign was a fantastic experience I just dont know if we'll be able to recapture that momentum, hope Im wrong.
    Ill go for a draw tommorow night

Well in that case it will be the same team that played against the Gers.

Im backing Celtic all the way here..They can do it in Europe, they have the taste for it. Plus Larsson has sooooo much to prove so he can get his move to sunny Spain. It will be the Larsson and Lennon show.

Celtic are missing so many key players tomorrow. I can not see them getting anything out of the game. If they did, that would be phenemonal.

But Barca are on fire at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭LizardKing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

Will the commentary be in Irish then?

It will be as gaeilge on TG4.

Anyone who has Sky Digital can receive it on BBC Scotland if they prefer it as bearla.

Celtic:

GK: Douglas

DL: McNamara
    DC: Balde
    DC: Varga
    DR: Agathe

ML:Thompson
    MC: Lennon
    MC: Pearson
    MR: Petrov

FC: Larsson
    FC: Beattie

Valgaeran didn't make it do its 4-4-2.:(

BTW - those expecting to watch it on BBC Scotland, it won't be available. We have to watch it on TG4.

According to tg4 its not on!!!!!!!!!!

It just has normal listings.

Anyone know what the hell is going on?

According to tg4 its not on!!!!!!!!!!

It just has normal listings.

Anyone know what the hell is going on?
    They only got the match yesterday, don't worry it is on.:)

God damn they scared me. PHEW! :o

Cheers EireBhoy :)

I'm here watching ther watching the match on TG4and listening to the commentary on BBC radio 5.

I think both teams will be happy with their perfomance but Barca should be winning with 3 glorious chances missed. My mate Balde is not taking any crap and is even getting forward every now and again.:) Thompson is having a terrible game but he's playing more inside than usual to allow for Pearson (who is playing very well) down the left. Larsson is more or less up front on his own as Beattie is playing more on the right.

There should be at least 1 goal to bring over to Spain for the second leg but the most important thing is the clean sheet.

C'mon the Celts.;)

BTW - that Turkish team, Genclerbirligi, beat Valencia 1-0. The way they are playing I wouldn't bet against them winning the bloody UEFA. Another Alaves.

What the hell is happening? both teams came out of the tunnel for the second half with 10 men. Celtic have no Beattie an Marshall has replaced Douglas in goal.:confused:
    Actually, I found out the Rab Douglas and Thiago MOtta were sent off at half time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭JippoKelly

Saviola sent off! What a stupid thing to do, hacking out at Thompson like that.

Come on the bhoys. Gawd, I hate Barcelona.

I wonder what happened between Motta and Douglas. I'd say UEFA will be doing some investigations afterwards and maybe handing out some more bans/fines after the game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 147 ✭✭JippoKelly

1-0 Celtic. Alan Thompson. Good cross by Petrov, a smart knock down by Larsson and a cool finish from Thompson from about 6 yards out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,147 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Well done Celtic.

Celtic have a really hard task to win this game now. They'll be going to the Nou camp without Balde and Douglas. The players seemed to want it to end 1-0, if they tried they could have got another. They didn't seem to realise that a 1-0 lead is not good enough when your best centre half is suspended and there is a bloddy 19 year old in goal.

On the bright side we'll have Sutton and Valgaeran back and Saviola will be suspended. I'm also glad the neutral's on boards got to see how good Balde is against the best in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,147 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

You should marry Balde :P:p

Balde is ****ing class.

Come to Utd balde...Come to Utd.

fair play Celtic! They played well.

Originally posted by Ronan|Raven
    You should marry Balde :P:p
    I think I already have.:D Seriously though, i just don't feel he gets the credit he deserves for the only reason, he plays in the SPL.

BTW - does anyone know how long Mjallby and Hartson are out? I know Sutton and Valgaeran should be back in a few days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭smemon

Balde is ****ing class.

Come to Utd balde...Come to Utd.

fair play Celtic! They played well.

people say utd have average players, look at celtic..... probably larsson is the only world class player there and yet celtic are rock solid against anyone.

teamwork and spirit is the key to success..... celtic took on rejects from average english sides like varga, thompson, hartson, sutton and created an unbeatbale team.

imo, celtic are as tough if not tougher to beat than arsenal, ac milan and madrid.
    again tonight they proved they simply cannot be beaten at home. celtic are now becoming a real european force and a uefa cup would do wonders for the club, especially with larsson leaving, it would be an attractive place to be, guaranteed first-team football and champions league football.

• Registered Users Posts: 389 ✭✭Aliminator

della Eirebhoy
    BTW - does anyone know how long Mjallby and Hartson are out?

i heard Hartson is out for the season.

Originally posted by Aliminator
    i heard Hartson is out for the season.
    so I just found out. Mjallby is back in training, he won't start though he is a safe man to have on the bench considering we only had enough players to put 6 on the bench tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭AmenToThat

Celtic have a really hard task to win this game now. They'll be going to the Nou camp without Balde and Douglas. The players seemed to want it to end 1-0, if they tried they could have got another. They didn't seem to realise that a 1-0 lead is not good enough when your best centre half is suspended and there is a bloddy 19 year old in goal.

Tell me your taking the piss?
    Balde yes I agree totally but Douglas?
    Worst goalie Iv ever seen, shouldnt be at Celtic fc period let alone let between the sticks for a major game!
    Anywas was a great result tonight

Originally posted by AmenToThat
    Tell me your taking the piss?
    Balde yes I agree totally but Douglas?
    Worst goalie Iv ever seen, shouldnt be at Celtic fc period let alone let between the sticks for a major game!
    Anywas was a great result tonight
    Of course I think Douglas is sh*t but he has played in all the major matches at club and international level. Marshall is only 19 and is hardly what I would want to have in front of 90,000 at the Nou camp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

[BMarshall is only 19 and is hardly what I would want to have in front of 90,000 at the Nou camp. [/B]

110,000??, altho it will be empty more or less, only 5000 tickets allocated to Celtic tho

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Go on Thompson! Won me €130.

25/1. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,640 ✭✭✭Gillie

Thought it was class match!
    Hopefully we'll have big Chris back for the Nou Camp.
    One away goal and we should be laughing!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,003 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Originally posted by PORNAPSTER
    Go on Thompson! Won me €130.

25/1. ;)

Nice One.

Well done Celtic . Yet again proving they have the quality to do well in Europe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,687 ✭✭✭tHE vAGGABOND

Hartsons career could be over, but he is out for 6 to 9 months at the very least (as is maloney). I think himself and Sutton could have gotten some joy from them in the air last night :(

(gasp - Im even wondering if we should recall that donkey David 'flo' Fernandez from Livi at this stage)

I'm a celtic fan, but also a realist - Bobo was amazing last night (as he has been for the last 2 years, and we will have to do something amazing without him to get any kind of result in Barca.

Marshall is bloody good, while he is only 17 or 18 he has all kinds of underage caps for scotland, and trophies with celtics under 17, 18 and 21 teams. I would not be worried about that at all. Missing the 3 lads up front and Bobo is like Man U missing keano and the drugie at the back - totally different team :)