Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What do you hope to do when you leave IT Carlow?

• 10-03-2004 12:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭

dunno. but i'm interested in what other people are doing.

[this is not a spam thread. it's not fair locking it just coz i started it ivan]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭Kain

Go to work and make lots of money.:D

Then go and travel around a bit and see the world.
    And then get drunk quite a lot.

I am NOT going to go study architecture like SOOOOO many people in my course. I;m sick of the books so i'm going straight to work. (Thats if i finish the course)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Go back to bed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Yeh, I just wanna get a job, not stay in college and do a masters or any of that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,441 ✭✭✭The_Goose

Originally posted by Stephen
    Yeh, I just wanna get a job, not stay in college and do a masters or any of that.

Same here, college is a nice place to visit but when ya get to the point you just don't want to be here anymore it's time to go!
    But of course you'll be told " sur just stick it out another year, it will be worth it in the end" maybe so, but while we re all studying, other's are out there been young while their still young!
    Don't know about ye, but with work at the weekend , college , there s not much time to go anywhere(if ya had the money)!
    I is outta here the first chance i get!

As what i'll do after college, anything, really gunning for fibre optic splicer!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,602 ✭✭✭ShayK1

Well as soon as I'm finished my exams and I get my degree I'm going back to germany and all going well should have a job lined up to walk into.
    I have to do work experience for 6 months next year..... I am working on getting myself 6 months work experience next year in germany and if I like it there and they like me then maybe, just maybe I can go back there and work full-time when I'm fully qualified!!

Well thats the plan anyway!

• Registered Users Posts: 202 ✭✭jesusjones

Ill take it each day as it comes.Definitely work when l leave anyway and Travel a bit as well.God that was a boring response wasn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭seanos

see if any company will let me near their network ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭i_am_dogboy

I'm seriously thinking about doing a degree somewhere else after this year, unlike most I am thinking about doing a masters........but not straight away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,303 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Finished college. My plans? Repeat my exams :(

Once I've got my cert, finding a job will be easier. I've got a few interviews, based on no cert, and most kinda want someone with a cert.

So once I have the cert, me'll get a tech support job somewhere for 2 years, and then goto HP, or somewhere :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 355 ✭✭Headcase

strangely enough after i get my degree i'm thinkin of joining the Gardaí. good money, great benefits and pension and its damn hard to get fired. bet i could manage it though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,560 ✭✭✭Ivan

Originally posted by Headcase
    strangely enough after i get my degree i'm thinkin of joining the Gardaí. good money, great benefits and pension and its damn hard to get fired. bet i could manage it though!

That is a bit weird :p

Have you seen vickers lately? - He seems to have put on a bit of a belly since he joined the gardaí.

Me personally, I'd like to do some Research PHD into AI or a new programming language or maybe robotics.

I really dont know how I'd fair out in the REAL WORLD[TM]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭tommycahir

me i just plan to do what every other persdon that left carlow with a soft eng degree does
    1 sign on
    2 sleep for a couple of months
    3 never look at comps again
    4 then just maybe look outside the door and see if it sunny if yes go sign on again else repeat from step 2.

Originally posted by Ivan
    Me personally, I'd like to do some Research PHD into AI or a new programming language or maybe robotics.

I really dont know how I'd fair out in the REAL WORLD[TM]
    Feck the Real World. Goto some University, and once you've got a 2.2 Degree (about 80%ish, bascially), you can get a research poject thingy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 355 ✭✭Headcase

Loughlin was tellin me about Vickers. he can't pass out of the Gardaí until he loses weight and improves his fitness. has to run a mile in 11 and a half mins. thats ****in easy, he really must be a fat bastard!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭loismustdie

brillian way to open a thread uq, and i was wondering why ivan would be pissed off by your posts? :)

when i finish college i'm gonna sort out a cirriculum vitae and interview techniques and aspire to work in some chipper probably in carlow

x*

* this symbol = my crossed fingers

brillian way to open a thread uq, and i was wondering why ivan would be pissed off by your posts?

hardly!

Just wondering in the interest of the carlow it students studying computer's (as not everyone here is) has the job situation improved much in this area???
    Would you be willing to move far away from home for a job??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,602 ✭✭✭ShayK1

Originally posted by ShayK1
    Well as soon as I'm finished my exams and I get my degree I'm going back to germany and all going well should have a job lined up to walk into.
    I have to do work experience for 6 months next year..... I am working on getting myself 6 months work experience next year in germany and if I like it there and they like me then maybe, just maybe I can go back there and work full-time when I'm fully qualified!!

Well thats the plan anyway!

No definitely not.... I'd never ever ever move away from home!!!!!

TWAT!!!!

Originally posted by ShayK1
    TWAT!!!!

Whats that about??

Oh i remember now, you ve already stated that you'd be moving to germany And you couldn't pick up the fact that everyone knows this and tried to bring up the situation again when where you can tell us, is this the reason you sarcasticly said you would never move away and then insulted me!!!Surly there is another??
    Been so smart i thought you would have been able to pick up on the fact that, that post was not posted just for and was intended to find would people rather stay in ireland or move away and as we already know what you are doing why did you reply???????:rolleyes: :rolleyes:

As for me i would much rather stay here!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 CV Specialist

when i finish college i'm gonna sort out a cirriculum vitae and interview techniques

You're in luck - this feature on interview preparation techniques could be just what you need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,877 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

AFter, I'm hopin i can get the cash to travel. i wanna go to australia for bout a year. then see how it goes. eventually, ill be gettin a programmin job of some kind, gettin a fancy car and a trophy wife to shag the brains out of. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,216 ✭✭✭Redrocket

dunno what im gonna do after college, i never plan that far ahead

• Registered Users Posts: 446 ✭✭kegan5

Hmmm get a job, a new car, a house (with a dooogggiieee) and erm... well thats gonna cost me a fair bit so we'll leave it there for now :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,877 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

Kate, any plans for 2012?

• Registered Users Posts: 446 ✭✭kegan5

Watching the olympics

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭TomTom

This thread has everything, teenage angst, love interest, anger and violence. The dizzying highs and the lowly lows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 333 ✭✭s4dd

i hope to devote more of my time in the downfall of tomtom.. i can only spare about 9/10 hours a week atm :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 955 ✭✭✭LovelyHurling

tommycahir wrote:
    me i just plan to do what every other persdon that left carlow with a soft eng degree does
    1 sign on
    2 sleep for a couple of months
    3 never look at comps again
    4 then just maybe look outside the door and see if it sunny if yes go sign on again else repeat from step 2.

Thats brilliant! Im in UCD but using that as a sig!

Come back to finish my course :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 290 ✭✭CareBear

Pretty much stay with job I got as a trainee accountant since I'm permenant there now :D

Gots the car and the relative other so ye that's it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 333 ✭✭s4dd

CareBear:

Sheeate, it's like you're trying to run a DOS attack on boards! you've posted like, five thousand times in the space of the last 30 seconds... or summit...