Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Man You are were Liverpool were in the early 90s

• 14-03-2004 2:03pm
    Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Man You are were Liverpool were in the early 90s...some key players getting old a lot of crap buys and a manager who looks like he does not no how to change things...he should have got a defender in the transfer window.

So you lot are at a cross road Sir Moan should have gone after 99 or in 01 he is blind to the fact that he HAS to replace Kean soon.He also still thinks you can rest key players in the PL and still win...well do you no what Sir Moan two things have happend since Utd were able to do that 1)the PL has got much better even mid table teams are now very good 2)Utd are not the team they used to be.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

Utd are not the team they used to be.

no **** sherlock!?
    Man You are were Liverpool were in the early 90s

and i thought my english was bad

seriously though there has been loads of comparisons the last few days between the fall of liverpool and the imminient fall of man utd as a serious football force.
    It may be the case but it may also turn out that utd come back much stronger next year and blow everybody out of the water, however i think it will be somewhere in between

Utd are not the team they were in the 90's and to be honest has failed in everyones expectations, they dominated england but never dominated europe in the way great sides did (ajax, real madrid, liverpool, ac milan) and maybe it it was an opportunity lost on behave of man utd fc, and it will be a long time before they have the same dominence in england never mind europe
    never write off utd but with the emergence of chelsea as a force to respect especially in the transfer market (the stealling of duff and robben and peter k)...it makes it all the more tougher for utd to get out of this spiral of decline when they cant really buy their way out of trouble like before

all good things must come to an end....and thats a fact of footballing life

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

the only thing that could pull them through is cash....they have the cash flow to keep them close to the top.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

Well, I'd say,

2nd/3rd in the league
    1/8's of the champions league
    FA Cup semis, win or essential second place depending on arsenal match, isn't that bad a season.

Last season Arsenal came 2nd in the league, won the FA Cup, and got knocked out of the Champions league. However people don't compare them with Liverpool or anyone else. Why? Cause its only one season! You can't win everything every year and nor should people.
    I remember people comparing them to liverpool in 1998 when they didn't win anything. Anyone remember how that turned out :P

Man United are going to splash out this summer on proper established signings and I'm hoping will bounce back to the level where the premiership is will a very very tight three horse race that will be decided on who beats who out of the top 3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭thesecret7

Suggesting to Man U fans that their club might not be doin so well next season usually brings on a massive flame... but looking at Chelsea and Arsenal its going to be tough for them to win the priemership.

And its all Fergies fault, he is soley responisble and if this was la liga he would be well gone (as everyone knows). Hasnt he got some sort of heart problem? Give it a rest fergie and give man u a chance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭Emboss

what the hell

this forum used to be _really_ bad so i stopped reading it

then some intelligent posts came out of nowhere

now we're back to this

absloute CRAP talk

cop on lads....

please....

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

well Emboss if you dont want to read it dont.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Only for Arsenal gifting United the premiership last season, this would have been United's second season in a row ending the season trophyless!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,003 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Originally posted by jesus_thats_gre
    Only for Arsenal gifting United the premiership last season, this would have been United's second season in a row ending the season trophyless!!!!

United didn't end this season trophyless yet.;)

BTW Good to see you back JTG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,267 ✭✭✭p.pete

Originally posted by PHB
    Well, I'd say,

2nd/3rd in the league
    1/8's of the champions league
    FA Cup semis, win or essential second place depending on arsenal match, isn't that bad a season.
    That's a crap season by Uniteds standards but I don't agree that they are where Liverpool were at the start of the nineties. I think the basic difference is the average age of the squad - uniteds being a lot younger.

If and when Ferguson bites the dust whoever takes over will be inheriting a youthful squad with lots of promise. Maybe in need of a little investment but certainly not the complete overhaul that was carried out unsuccessfully at Liverpool.

Finances weren't a problem for Liverpool at the start of the nineties and they aren't a problem for United now - so that's a bit irrelivant really. It should be interesting in the next couple of seasons...

I agree it's a bad season by their standerds, but it's not an unrespectable season.
    It's not an OMG WHAT THE HELL IS HAPPENING SEASON, it's a "ok we've got a couple of problems, mostly in squad depth, which we can fix"

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Spot on PHB.

Originally posted by PHB
    I agree it's a bad season by their standerds, but it's not an unrespectable season.
    It's not an OMG WHAT THE HELL IS HAPPENING SEASON, it's a "ok we've got a couple of problems, mostly in squad depth, which we can fix"
    In fairness I think ye are doing a lot better in the league then last season in terms of wins draws and losses, also ye are in an FA cup semi final. The only hitch is that all the bad results have been lumped into the one period, thus the raised eyebrows.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭woosaysdan

people think its a bad season cos they expect too much from united!!! so they dont win every match or win the league every year so what!!! and if they did im sure ye would find some way to give out about that as well!!!

Originally posted by woosaysdan
    people think its a bad season cos they expect too much from united!!! so they dont win every match or win the league every year so what!!! and if they did im sure ye would find some way to give out about that as well!!!
    touchy:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭kdevitt

Had this discussion with a Utd supporter the other night. I think its a fair comparision - and I'd disagree about the squad at Utd being younger than Liverpools was at the start of their decline. Utd have some young players alright, but whether they're anywhere near the standard required by Utd is another story.

A season before Dalglish left Liverpool, he'd signed great young talent - Fowler, McManaman, Redknapp , and of course who could forget David Speedie! :p Liverpools biggest problem was never replacing Alan Hansen, the rest of the team carried the defence - Hysen and Ablett were well below par. I think its a very similar situation at Utd at the moment - mediocre players being signed (Djemba Djemba, Forlan, Kleberson etc) when one class defender is all thats required.

The same decline won't happen at Utd though - too much money floating about, and I can't see Ferguson walking out on the team and being replaced by a hothead who wants to dismantle all before him!! As for it not being an unrespectable season, I think thats rubbish - by Utd recent standards its a disaster. Could be worse though, you could be in liverpools predicament:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 252 ✭✭elbow316

And Arsenal's third Premiership title in a row....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭thegills

I think the basic difference is the average age of the squad - uniteds being a lot younger
    Am I missing something here?
    Nevilles, Giggs, Keane, Scholes, Butt and Sloskjar are all older than nearly every first teamer at 'Pool (Hamann maybe). 'Pool have the youngest average age in the league bar none.
    Could be worse though, you could be in liverpools predicament
    When is the last time 'Pool conceded 4 goals???
    Utd. are in decline. Once Giggs, Keane go you'll be left with the likes of Jumbo Jumbo in midfield, and God help ye if Van Kneesalright gets badly injured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,064 ✭✭✭BKtje

In fairness man u have gifted arsenal the premiership this season. Before Ri got injured man u had the best defensive record and had a lead at the top of the table.
    2 months on and its all fallen apart, yes, but way too soon to be saying its all over.

Djemba has shown promise in the last couple of games, as has Ronaldo. Thats Keanes and Gigg's replacements. Scholes will be very hard to repalce imo, the mans a legend and Man u barely used Butt this season till recently.

The defence atm is weakened and because is inexperienced is having trouble dealing with it. I expect this to change next season with a purchase or 2 and the return of the so understimated before now Rio. Its apparent now how much he did for the Man u defence.

Saha looks good but still has to proove himself some.

Man u fans dont seem to be panicking. It seems more to me that fans of other clubs are trying to make a bigger deal out of what is happening than they should be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Hobart

I think PHB has made a very valid point. United have been hit by a lack of depth. However I don't see the problems mainly resting of the sholders of Rio Ferdiand. It looks like Chelsea are on a buy-all gig still. Any player that becomes available they will snatch up, somebody mentioned yesterday that they have 15 midfielders, 15?????

So 'who' can Manu buy?

The vunerable areas are CH and CMID (or will be after the retirement of RK). I honestly do not believe that Djemba Djemba is the replacement for RK.

Anybody see Celtic in action last week? I thought Balde was outstanding. Absoloute class. What about him as a purchase for CH?

I'm actually a liverpool supporter - and I'm afraid we're rightly ****ed at the moment - new manager needed, and players all over the pitch required...
    When is the last time 'Pool conceded 4 goals???

And instead of worring about Utd conceding 4 goals for the first time in ages, think about when Liverpool last scored 4 goals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,802 ✭✭✭thegills

I'm actually a liverpool supporter
    think about when Liverpool last scored 4 goals
    4-2 away against Levkia Sofia in the EUFA Cup about 2 weeks ago. Some supporter you are!!

Oh yeah - quality opposition :rolleyes: stupid me -
    and we still managed to concede 2... and then the second we play half decent opposition, i.e Marseille, we're shown up again...

As much as it pains me, Utd have been consistently excellent in the premiership and Champions League whereas we haven't been
    Some supporter you are!!

I know - I'm obviously a fairweather fan - only get to travel to half a dozen games a season, but funnily enough I've yet to speak to anyone in a Liverpool pub who thinks the team are on the up..

Originally posted by Hobart
    I think PHB has made a very valid point. United have been hit by a lack of depth. However I don't see the problems mainly resting of the sholders of Rio Ferdiand. It looks like Chelsea are on a buy-all gig still. Any player that becomes available they will snatch up, somebody mentioned yesterday that they have 15 midfielders, 15?????

So 'who' can Manu buy?

The vunerable areas are CH and CMID (or will be after the retirement of RK). I honestly do not believe that Djemba Djemba is the replacement for RK.

Anybody see Celtic in action last week? I thought Balde was outstanding. Absoloute class. What about him as a purchase for CH?
    Ayala has already said that he would be very interested in joining for Man Utd, and Valencia are a selling club so I can see him playing for us at some stage (I hope). We have Miller on the way so he would add a little energy to a static midfield at the moment.

I'm not too worried yet. But I think we need to get a replacement for Giggs. He really is off form at the moment. Hopefully we'll get someone like Vicente or some other winger to replace him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭laoisfan

personally i think Utd are just going through one of those patches, i think we will really see if there is a problem or not next season, still one would want to keep an eye on Arsenal and Chelsea.

i am a liverpool fan, and yes they are crap at the moment!! they do not deserve to qualify for the CL let alone the UEFA Cup!!

what would liveerpools chances of getting Martin O'Neill in the summer be? Nil?

--laoisfan

I'd say that would be quite possible...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 815 ✭✭✭Bannor

Originally posted by PORNAPSTER
    I'm not too worried yet. But I think we need to get a replacement for Giggs. He really is off form at the moment. Hopefully we'll get someone like Vicente or some other winger to replace him.
    From what I've heard Vincente is already ear marked by Real.

C Ronaldo is Giggs' replacement.
    Did you see him play on the left againist Fulham I think it was.
    He's a natural left winger and he is bloody fantastic at it.

The Squad is old in some areas like

Midfield :

Keane
    Butt
    Scholes
    Giggs
    Neville brothers

That's midfield and defenders.

The Squad is young in most areas.

Upfront:

Van Nis
    Saha

Midfield :

Ronaldo
    Miller
    Double D :)
    Kleberson
    Flethcher
    Richardson

I think the top three will become quality players at least, and probably just one maybe two of the other three

Defense :

Ferdinand
    Slyvestre
    O Shea

I think the first two are absolute world class, and I think O Shea is just having second season syndrome and is going to get back to his old self next season.

----

So whats needed?

Keane and Butt - Miller Kleberson Double D

At least one of them will become good, at least
    So one central midfielder is required

Scholes - Since he plays all over the shop I don't think hes replacable, maybe an attacking midfielder like Duff, but I think Scholes is the best player on the Man United team. He'll be around for another 2-4 years at leats

Giggs - Ronaldo :)
    Neville brothers - Need another CB and RB bought

And theres the problem of right midfield

That's not that big a task tbh and I dont see why it is??
    Can someone tell me :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 brucealmighty

I,m more dissapointed than worried about United,s recent lack of form. Up until Christmas they were having their best ever season. Last season they had a bad run at the start of the season and still went on to win the title. Thats not going to happen this year because Arsenal are playing out of their skin all year and will win the title. To say the reason united won't win the league because they are in decline is disingenuous to the Gunners who areplaying great football and breaking all records in the prem . United are not necessarily in decline it could be that Arsenal and Chelsea have closed the gap.

United will not decline like Liverpool has as long as they have a good manageris in charge . At the moment the have a Manager who is responsible for the most successfull period in United history and I dont believe he has become a bad manager overnight. The reason Liverpool are a shadow of their former selves is because the Managers they appointed were/are not good enough , simple as that.