Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

cpu operating temperature

• 19-03-2004 2:14pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭

ive got a amd athlon xp 2400+
    ive overclocked it to an xp 2600+ and its running at 58 degrees C is that ok? or too high?

• Registered Users Posts: 410 ✭✭Drazhar

Jaysus, 58c, thats a bit high to be honest? Is that it idle?

bare in mind that the actual temp could by 10c higher than that, something with the thermostat reporting wring temps cos they arent touching the CPU (Can anyone check this?)

But 58c doesnt give you a lot of room to play around with. Google is your best friend here

• Registered Users Posts: 6,312 ✭✭✭OfflerCrocGod

If thats Load temp then your fine - if its Idle temp then it could mean problems, your best bet would be to just run it in and test it out with some PCMark/3DMark tests and see if it stays stable, if it does then dont worry cause all your doing is reducing the lifetime of your CPU - from like 17 years to 5-6 years, big deal:rolleyes:.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭Catsmokinpot

cheers lads:cool: ill try the 3d mark test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

the best stress test for cpu's is prime95
    http://www.mersenne.org/freesoft.htm

• Registered Users Posts: 6,312 ✭✭✭OfflerCrocGod

Ye but you afto run it for 8 hours to be sure of stabilty, bit boring:cool:.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,560 ✭✭✭Woden

ah i only run it over night for a final overclock 20-30 minutes is good enough to know you are not at the limit and you can throttle back. catsmokinpot i think you temps are a little high even for load, it might be best to invest in a new heatsink fan even the €20 one aero one from coolermaster should help out here.

data