Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ulster Bank and wireless router

Options
  • 24-03-2004 12:55am
    Registered Users Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭

I finally took the plunge and bought a Netgear MR814 802.11b Wireless 4-Port Cable/DSL Router. Everything is working fine, apart from Ulster Bank Internet banking.

No problems with it when I am in work, but when I am at home, the "application" fires up a java applet and seems to hang, so I'm fairly sure that it's the router. As I am new to all this, what I need to know is how do I figure out what the problem is? Any tips on what I need to look for on the laptop and the router?

The router log files show nothing, just that it's contacting Ulster Bank (successfully).

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

If it's hanging on a java applet it's worthwhile eliminating your java install from the list of possible reasons. What are you running there? (which version of proper sun java or MS JVM are you running)

• Registered Users Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭Tom Dunne

I'm using Sun's own JVM.

(from the console)
    Java(TM) Plug-in: Version 1.4.0_01
    Using JRE version 1.4.0_01 Java HotSpot(TM) Client VM

I also discovered this in the Java Console:

load: class UBSign.class not found.
    java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: UBSign.class at sun.applet.AppletClassLoader.findClass(Unknown Source)
    at sun.plugin.security.PluginClassLoader.findClass(Unknown Source)
    at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
    at sun.applet.AppletClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
    at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)