Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Incompetent E-Minister announces an eWeek.

• 25-03-2004 2:15pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,143 ✭✭✭

Well it would have to start with an "E" Mary you silly little prattler.

Fresh on the heels of the Dáil Committee report that tacitly called for her to be fired, Hanafin indulges in an unfortunate stunt to prove she is regrettably still in charge of things that go "E" in the government. She wittered thus about her "E" thingy!

"“It will be important also because it will show the accession countries how effective IT can be in enabling citizens and Government to interact with each other,” Hanafin said."

WE live in a country that defined "Functional" and "Internet" at 0k so how can you Interact with anything faster than Hanafins own Brain at that speed. The rest of the article is on Silicon Republic . eWeek my arse, the Estonians will burst themselves laughing at her and her pathetic stunt.

M

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭vinnyfitz

Not really fair to Mary, Muck.

This stunt is clearly the creation of the techno geniuses and heroes of the IT community - Dublin Chamber of Commerce - who, I agree may not impress the Estonians or many others with what they come up with.

However, I reckon Mary's only sin here is that she could not resist turning up at a launch and photo call.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,143 ✭✭✭spongebob

If it didnt have an "E" at the beginning she would not have launched it VF .....and becuase it did she couldn't resist it.

She is a total waste of space with no vision who stands for nothing useful or of any consequence . May she be remembered (and soon) for the graceful manner of her going. She can carry on whipping the FF lads if she wants to :D , I'm no expert on what makes a 'good whip' as distinct from a bad one and have no opinion on the issue.

Ask her about Cattle instead. For a Dun Laoghaire TD she can handle Cattle very well.

M

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭vinnyfitz

Jaysus Muck
    The extent of your curiosity about rural matters has no bounds. Why on earth are you reading up on Dail questions from last May?

I know its OT, Mods, but he started it!

Bescause she has never said anything about the Information Society, targets, vision stuff, aspirations plans etc etc in the Dáil . Even though she is minister for it she hasn't any idea about any aspects of it. Nor does she care unless some "E" thing is to be announced at which point she shows up trying to take ownership.

Thats why she should go. The Joint Committee report politely told her to feck off on Tuesday .... by asking for a full time junior minister to deal with the Information Society and BB issues. They did not ask for her whipping duties to be removed :D from her portfolio , did they ? They want someone else.

Meanwhile, as I showed , she has time to tell the Dáil how Many Cows there are in the country.

Hanafin represents a constituency bereft of cows of the bovine kind !

M

• Registered Users Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

That's a lot of cows with no access to broadband.

While I agree with vinny that it's more likely that Mary couldn't resist a photocall to somethnig beginning with an "E", I'd much prefer her to stop the "Where's Mare"-style photoshoots and actually get off her behind and take this role as e-minister seriously. I've no idea what her contact with Dermot Ahern is like (or even if there's any at all) but she appears to be suffering greatly from having a title and not knowing anything about what to do with it. She does appear to be "a total waste of space with no vision who stands for nothing useful or of any consequence" as Muck put it. And that's worth less than nothing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta

You've answered your own question Muck: Just start calling the countryside eRural Ireland and they'll all show an instant interest.

adam

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,018 ✭✭✭Hairy Homer

Some of the comments are a little unfair. Ms Hannafin is Government Chief Whip AND minister of state at the department of Defence AND then minister in charge of everything beginning with E.

You can't blame her if it's low down her list of priorities. It's the fault of whoever decided that Information Society was something that somebody who already had two main areas of responsibility could do as an afterthought.

Originally posted by dahamsta
    You've answered your own question Muck: Just start calling the countryside eRural Ireland and they'll all show an instant interest.

I'll ask her to come down to the Wesht to personally unveil my latest invention, the eMetic , I'll bet she gets past Athlone before the lightbulb toggles (dimly) to on.

M

• Registered Users Posts: 14,397 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

how is hanifan going to impress these countries estonia has already adopted a paperless parliament
    "Ministers peruse draft bills and regulations, make comments and suggestions, and vote entirely online at computer terminals. The system, coupled with the use of digital signatures, eliminates the need to send mountains of papers between ministries for consultation. It gives ministers a possibility to participate in the session from any location. The system, created by Estonian IT companies, saves approximately three million Estonian kroons (192 000 EUR) per year in paper and copying costs. "

you can read more here http://www.vm.ee/estonia/kat_175/pea_175/2972.html

maybe they are coming to take the rest of the tech jobs back with them

• Registered Users Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭BigEejit

Originally posted by Hairy Homer
    Ms Hannafin is Government Chief Whip AND minister of state at the department of Defence AND then minister in charge of everything beginning with E.
    Why wasnt it given to the obvious choice .... ahern

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭eircomtribunal

chickfinal.jpg

While it seems a long time ago (Nov 3. 2002), the tribunal article on Mary Hanafin is still useful: Find her contact address and link to her web site on it.

The many results of a google search for "hanafin" "internet" and "porn" ( n o t under images!) show where Hanafin's main interest in the Internet is.

My suggestion: let's ask her about her attitude to the co-operation of eircom with porn racketeers under the front of Band 13 and the non-action of ComReg. A link to Is_Guinea_Bissau_a_Pacific_Island? could be used to point her to the issue.

P.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭eircomtribunal

Originally posted by ednwireland
    how is hanifan going to impress these countries estonia has already ...

Anybody knows anybody from Estonia, who can give me some idea about the meaning of the stats website here?

P.