Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Mod Needed On Pro Wrestling Forum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭GuanYin

Originally posted by Davey Devil
    It's simple. ecksor agrees that their is a need for another mod - so he makes himself mod. Except ecksor has forgotten a simple rule of life - give the job to the person most suited. I'm sure even ecksor would agree that Nero is more qualified for the job than himself. So why not give the job to Nero??? Elitism.

Use the report thread link if you see something wrong and he'll probably repsond quickly.

On boards, going guns blazing against ecksor is like Leaping Lanny Puffo challenging Triple H to a cage match.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,025 ✭✭✭yellum

Originally posted by Skud
    That's why I feel maybe ecksor shouldn't be mod of the forum..

I think it was unfair and very undemocratic and even elitist to vote who should be mod in the forum. It should be open to everyone on boards not just the wrestling forum.

I think Ecksor would make a great mod, and he can always learn about moderating as he goes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭NeroTheExtreme

Originally posted by crash_000
    The second thing I'd not be happy about is that there seems to be little or no input from your mod. you seem to have decided he's taken too long and just gone right behind his back, which is really ****ty IMO.

Also you've all managed to reduce yourself to the stereotype of idiotic wrestling fans in the last few posts of this thread. well done.

And you know this how? Have you been on the board for the last couple of months? If truth be known, we have mentioned on seperate threads to bombidol to suggest a second moderator because of instances like this.

The first time, he shot it down, which was fair enough as the forum wasn't busy enough. The second time he said he'd consider it, and we heard nothing since (even after I sent a PM asking what his thoughts on the subject were)

And how you've come to the conclusions of us acting like idiotic wrestling fans, I don't speak for everyone on the forum, but in general if you put a label on someone, anywhere, you can be guaranteed thats how they'll act in the long run.

Nero

• Registered Users Posts: 2,220 ✭✭✭Davey Devil

Oh here's a suprise - all the mods are sticking up for each other. I appoligise for being blunt but I'm not the type of person to beat about the bush. Why have a mod that doesn't know anything about wrestling or who has never posted in the wrestling forum become the mod. Nero wants the job and has the backing of the regular posters of the forum. I don't see what all the fuss is about.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,196 ✭✭✭✭Crash

Nero: no i understood that you've talked to him and he said he'd consider it. however you posted this without waiting for anything back from him. which is my point.

And at the start of this i thought the majority of you seemed clever enough, well spoken, and willing for discussion. then Davey Devil started on his "OMFG everyones against me/us" and whosyourpaddy started streaming off stats. I didnt say all, i said SOME had acted just like everyone thought they would. you havent. well done. :D

Originally posted by NeroTheExtreme
    And you know this how? Have you been on the board for the last couple of months? If truth be known, we have mentioned on seperate threads to bombidol to suggest a second moderator because of instances like this.

The first time, he shot it down, which was fair enough as the forum wasn't busy enough. The second time he said he'd consider it, and we heard nothing since (even after I sent a PM asking what his thoughts on the subject were)

And how you've come to the conclusions of us acting like idiotic wrestling fans, I don't speak for everyone on the forum, but in general if you put a label on someone, anywhere, you can be guaranteed thats how they'll act in the long run.

Nero

You guys seem to have a serious misconception that boards.ie is a democracy of some sort where power lobby groups have some sort of rights.
    This isn't the case.
    There are admins, They decide what happens. Mods hold some sway regarding their particular forums and the admins generally take mod guidance on such matters.

If bombodial has already rejected your idea and an admin has rejected your ide a(although in this case he hasn't, he's given you the second mod), then that would probably be that.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,821 ✭✭✭Skud

I'd like to say yellum you took a quote out of context and if you look at my post i didn't attack ecksor in any way. If he has a problem what what i said he can talk to me about it. I feel that is bewtween me and him.
    I just conveyed the general feeling of the wrestling forum.

also i didn't start the original thread or be the first to say that a new mod was needed and demand one. I even pmed davey to ask him tone down his actions. I think the others feel hostility directed towards them and that's why they are angry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭whosurpaddy

crash_000 - look back at the start of the thread, what was ecksors first response? it was to make light of the situation. daveys stance comes from frustration, maybe a little over the top, but his question is still a valid one.

why is there so much resistance to us getting a new mod. ok this is the first time we have approached the mods, but its by no means the first time weve tryed to get a second mod. As nero has just said we have been trying for some time but bombidol dosent seem to want to know.

yellum - as for our method of selecting a new mod being unfair, why was it unfair. the thread was present on the relevant board for several days, and anyone who wanted to take part was allowed, there was even enohter poll started to allow someone who was not included in the original poll to participate.

as for it bein undemocratic. we conducted a vote. how more democratic can we be? ?I have absolutely no idea why you think iut is elitist. maybe you could elaborate on that.

as for ecksor being an excellent mod, im sure he is, but it is quite a specialist board, and the general jist of our arguement is that someone who is well versed in this specialist topic should by virtue of having devoted the most time to it, being the most knowledgable on it, being the single biggest contributor to the board, and also being online the most, should be given the job. the man for this job is nero.

syke if anything nero has always recognised that the admins are in charge.
    Besides, it's a laugh and we're well aware that bombers can pick whoever he wants.
    (in reference to the poll between himself and haza for instance)
    http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?s=&threadid=149705

Originally posted by Skud
    syke if anything nero has always recognised that the admins are in charge.

(in reference to the poll between himself and haza for instance)
    http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?s=&threadid=149705

Well then, you guys got your response, so what is the issue?

the issue is that ecksor is the new mod, if you are willing to appoint a new mod we want proof that he is suitable to deal with the spoilers (the main issue in the first place)

it seems ppl are so wrapped up in arguing that ye seem to forget what we actually ask to be considered. We don't demand anything, (besides Davey) we just want the best person to do the job so that a 3rd admin will never be needed and the muppets are dealt with

• Registered Users Posts: 11,196 ✭✭✭✭Crash

Whosyourpaddy: oh come on, the first post was amusing and you have to admit it. Davey devil took it without an ounce of humour though :)

I'm not in anyway adverse toyou getting a new mod, tbh i dont give a flying **** what goes on on that board, but i do have problems with the way you are going about this. Bombidol could be AFK for this week and not have mentioned. But instead you jump to the conclusion that he's ignoring you.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭Exit

Actually, just pointing out, bombidol was browsing this thread earlier today.

We do need a second mod, but I also agree that the poll was the wrong thing to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,030 ✭✭✭smiaras

• Registered Users Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭Exit

Concerning "why don't we just avoid the threads with spoilers in them"

As smiaras pointed out, some people like to read these spoilers and some people prefer to view the show without knowing any spoilers. I'm one of the latter, but at times coming on to boards people forget about using spoilers. A spoiler thread will be set up regarding the results of Raw, and that's easy to avoid. At the same time, there could be a thread discussing Triple H, and someone will inevitably come along and say "so did you hear what happened to Triple H on Raw?" and will proceed to discuss it, therefore ruining the show for people who would rather avoid these spoilers.

There are only two options then. One is to stay completely away from the board until the weekend and that's not very viable. Should someone have to stay away from the film board until they see every film being discussed?
    The other option is for a second mod. As I said earlier, the polling was in my opinion the wrong way of going about it, but we do need a second mod and preferably somebody who has a knowledge of wrestling. There are a number of people on the board who are willing to act as a moderator.

Originally posted by Exit
    therefore ruining the show for people who would rather avoid these spoilers.

Do you report these links using the tag on the bottom right of the post?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭bombidol

relax children! Ecksor has been set up as a temporary mod to help with the managment of the board until a second permanant mod can be instating. this thread has been enlightening as to who has the maturity and sense to do that.
    so chill and we'll have a second mod onboard soon. however there may be conditions to the moderatorship
    gar

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 10,501 Mod ✭✭✭✭ecksor

Wrestling: What the **** do I know? Nothing.

Spoilers: I actually know a fair bit about them and how they work.

Moderation: I know a little bit.

Polls mean squat. We'll appoint whoever we think is the best person for the job that's available and right now I don't know any of ye. Just because you didn't get the result you wanted within 10 minutes doesn't mean you should cry about it. I haven't actually seen any trouble since I became mod, so I haven't ****ed up that badly yet have I?

You're annoyed? Well, I'm annoyed too! Don't be so damn impatient with the moderator or presume to usurp him. If any of ye became mod would ye want the same disrespect shown to you? I've been in touch with bombidol and I'm quite happy that he's doing the right thing in terms of figuring out who a co-mod should be. If DeVore hadn't broken his leg and landed himself in hospital then you probably would have a second mod already.

I made myself temporary moderator in the meantime and if you think I can't stamp out muppetry then by cripes you haven't seen my stamping gadget.

Jaysus.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,220 ✭✭✭Davey Devil

Best wishes to DeV - still he'll be able to play poker so it ain't all that bad.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Totally OT but I know more about pro-wrestling from reading this thread than I ever knew before (which was nothing to be honest, though I do vaguely remember that Big Daddy chap and I knew Hulk Bollywood Hogan can't act).

On topic, last time we had a mod change on the IOFFL forum (when Dusty retired), we put out feelers, we asked people on the forum if they were interested, we had a chin wag about it at the AGM (which happened to be around the same time), we took Christian's view on it (as the new chairgod), the committee (which obviously wouldn't apply here) and from the admins (broadly speaking they'd have had the capacity to veto anyone we'd put forward - in any case if any of them had had a particular problem with a nomination we'd have had to take it pretty seriously). In other words, anyone who wanted an input in a relatively controlled environment had it. And if anything, we took the short route.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,718 ✭✭✭whosurpaddy

I think a lot of the discontent expressed on this thread, and also on the topic of a new co-mod on the pro wrestling forum is due to mis-communication or no communication.

yes a few of us jumped to conclusions when we saw ecksor's name as new co mod. we didnt realise that it was temporary and yes, we went off on one. now that weve all calmed down and seen sense we can see that this is a sensible approach.

but, and i say this without intention of aggravating anyone, all you had to do was tell us what was going on. Id also say this to bombidol, much of what has been expressed is exasperation as you seemed (in our view) to be dismissing the issue without consideration. im glad that has turned out not to be the case.

2 comments.

Ecksor - welcome and please keep your stamping gadget away from me.

sceptre - big daddy retired years ago after killing a guy(king kong kurt) in the ring. oh & lol @ bollywood hogan.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,628 ✭✭✭Asok

Maybe ye all could organise some sort of king of the ring tournament to decide who is mod. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭Washout

Originally posted by Asok
    Maybe ye all could organise some sort of king of the ring tournament to decide who is mod. :)

LOL thats the funniest thing ever

• Registered Users Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Yavvy

a preenmtive banning of some of these wrestling fanatics wouldnt go amiss either, They will be out to " punish " Ecksor for making himself Mod.. ..smiaras and Davey devil look like they are interested in causing mupperty

Ban Them I say...ban them good...

Can I be mod ?

no wait... make flogen the mod ... have the elders be consulted on this issue ...

Titter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,461 ✭✭✭NeroTheExtreme

Originally posted by crash_000
    Nero: no i understood that you've talked to him and he said he'd consider it. however you posted this without waiting for anything back from him. which is my point.

And at the start of this i thought the majority of you seemed clever enough, well spoken, and willing for discussion. then Davey Devil started on his "OMFG everyones against me/us" and whosyourpaddy started streaming off stats. I didnt say all, i said SOME had acted just like everyone thought they would. you havent. well done. :D

How about getting your facts straight for a change, and before you respond to this post crash_000, make sure you come out of cryogenic suspension.

I didn't start any post on this thread, nor did i post the poll. I posted up a suggestion for a poll (while bombidol was actually on the forum), I didn't think Davey_Devil would post it up five minutes later. So the next time you have a point to prove, how about researching it first?

And the majority of us ARE clever enough, in fact we took this thing pretty seriously, if anyone is making a joke out of this situation, it's the likes of sceptre, alany and even ecksor who turned it into a joke from the beginning. As for you crash_000, it seems that all you were looking for in the beginning was an excuse to start an argument.

At the end of the day, i suggested for a second mod, i didn't actually think i'd get the majority of the votes, and the way things have been over the last day with f**k all people taking it seriously, i've gone beyond the point of caring and wondering why i even bothered putting up the suggestion in the first place.

Sad really, but i didn't really expect anything else.
    Nero

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 10,501 Mod ✭✭✭✭ecksor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 345 ✭✭leonotron

I'll be the new admin.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Yavvy

deep breaths nero.

Ps.
    I wasnt making light of the mod situation...because its been sorted, maybe you have trouble understanding or accepting what has happened...but thats your problem. I was making light of regular poster to these parts Flogen. he seems to be the target for this week .

I was totally serious about (temp)banning the other two .

narf.