Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Ireland -v- Chech's *Spoilers*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Originally posted by PORNAPSTER
    Lads this is an Ireland vs. Czech Republic thread...

Aww would ya stop!!!

What is wrong with some people on this board?!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

Im shocked that PORNNAPSTER only gave Zinedine Kilbane 4, I dont know if you have ever played football but I have and Kilbane played very assuredly in the centre of the park. He won more tackles than any other central midfielder on the pitch, he won a lot of headers for us in the middle, he made a number of excellent passes to Duff and had a few of his little runs with the ball. I cant see how anyone would give him less than 7. Maybe a 6 if you wanted to be harsh, but 4 is a joke probably borne from some personal bias. Ill give you the benefit of the doubt and maybe you werent at the game.

Anyone else think Rory Delap did very well when he came on? Got stuck in well and looks a decent midfielder too. Holland has seen his day if you ask me.

Shocking atmosphere in the ground alright, you could hear a penny drop.

Whats this about Morrison telling a cameraman to feck off?

Also, how sorry did you feel for Chris Doran, at least he wont be nervous at Eurovision, the poor chap was booed to bits. But ya gotta love the little kid running on the pitch and the twenty stewards running after him!

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Originally posted by Draupnir
    Also, how sorry did you feel for Chris Doran, at least he wont be nervous at Eurovision, the poor chap was booed to bits. But ya gotta love the little kid running on the pitch and the twenty stewards running after him!
    I didn't feel sorry for him one bit! Then again, that's me! :D

I wonder did the kid get to see the goal?
    Im shocked that PORNNAPSTER only gave Zinedine Kilbane 4, I dont know if you have ever played football but I have and Kilbane played very assuredly in the centre of the park. He won more tackles than any other central midfielder on the pitch, he won a lot of headers for us in the middle, he made a number of excellent passes to Duff and had a few of his little runs with the ball. I cant see how anyone would give him less than 7. Maybe a 6 if you wanted to be harsh, but 4 is a joke probably borne from some personal bias. Ill give you the benefit of the doubt and maybe you werent at the game.
    I have played football yes, and he was still terrible. Most of his passing were to Czech's including headers. He tried to do a number of "Damien Duff runs" and failed miserably. He was the reason why the Czech's nearly equalised in the second half when he lost the ball in the corner, causing them to break.

I'm giving him four simply because I'm sick of seeing these sort of performances from him. If you want me to rate him for the game I'd give him a 6 at the most. But 4 is for a bad string of performances. He is simply not good enough for international football. He makes more passes to the opposition and the referee than he does to Irish players.

And yes I was at the game. I was in the North Terrace.

We shall have to agree to disagree then I thought he did well. Id say the kid was getting seven shades of ****e kicked out of him by the Garda when we scored the second.

LOL. I had to laugh at all the paper aeroplanes at half time btw.

LOL, yeah, I seriously doubt the FAI will give out the green cards again in a hurry, some of the planes were well made aswell, I saw one fly from the the top of the East Stand to about 20 yards onto the pitch.

Whats the deal with the DJ at Lansdowne and this new Eircom League theme tune!!!! Showdown me arse.

LOL, yeah, I seriously doubt the FAI will give out the green cards again in a hurry, some of the planes were well made aswell, I saw one fly from the the top of the East Stand to about 20 yards onto the pitch.

Whats the deal with the DJ at Lansdowne and this new Eircom League theme tune!!!! Showdown me arse.
    LOL. Yeah. I thought after your man from the Eurovision "sang" and the DJ said "now its time for the new Eircom League theme song, The Showdown!" we'd hear some sort of rock song along the lines of Thin Lizzy, instead we got a bloody pop song!! Whoever chose that as the theme song must be really out of touch with the world!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

Pornapster - You obviously have something agianst Kilbane to give him a 4. Nedved was the best player on the pitch last night (not from his performance last night obviously) and Kilbane didn't give him an inch. He had to control the centre of midfield on his own as Holland was off eating his tuna sandwiches.

I think Showdown suits the Eircom League well though because its amateurish, ****e and boring

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭thejollyrodger

I'll say 0-0. The lads will have to be at their best and Ian Harte mustn't be allowed take a freekick until his confidence rises.

duh!

I thought it was a good performance, looks like there a bit of hope for the irish side, we created a few chances but whats really missing is a decent striker.

It was very funny watching Morrison... i laughed so much especially with the camera on him, hahahaha

The atmosphere wasnt the best .. but it was only a friendly...

whats this about morrison with the camera on him?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 387 ✭✭fischerspooner

I think our fans are a joke. The worst fans I've ever sat with at a football match in fact. I know it was a friendly but it's awful at competitive games too. We have the best fans in the world when we're away but at home it's disgraceful. Probably because the FAI give the tickets to the wrong people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭GuanYin

whats this about morrison with the camera on him?

First couple of minutes of the 2nd half morrison got the ball full force where the sun don't shine.

He hobbled off the pitch holding his groin and sorta crouched in agony holding himself. The camera man came over to film this and Morriosn gave him an earful.

I think Pornapster is being a bit biased with Kilbane. He tracked and tackled well, broke up any number of attacks and covered Hollands ass a fair bit. Some of his runs were good, but his final ball wasn't. That said, Duff was heavily marked and Czechs play with 5 at the back so its not unexpected.

Kilbane threw himself around and showed a bit of bite. Wasn't agreat performance, but he basically was our midfield.

Holland was just pants however.

Pornapster - I'd like you to look at the results from the following poll and tell me what you think:
    http://foot.ie/forums/showthread.php?p=112106#post112106

I was on the South Terrace so I didnt know bout Morrison and the camera man, he took a bad smack to the nuts though. I have to say I agree with that poll Eirebhoy.

I actually think Delap did well when he came on last night and reckon maybe Kerr might try a midfield like this:

Miller
    Delap
    Kilbane
    Duff

Im not saying its definitely our best, but I think it would work well because delap and kilbane are both good in the air, good tacklers and like to run with the ball too.

I dont know if reid is livin up to the hype to be honest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭AngelofFire

I think Showdown suits the Eircom League well though because its amateurish, ****e and boring

any irish football fan who bad mouts their national league is not a true irish football fan. every football fan in england follows their national league. likewise in scotland italy, france and spain. i dunno what the deal is with many irish football fans

I spend most second friday night getting my arse bored off down in Dalymount so dont worry, I support the league, its just a pain in the arse the way it is run thats all. And the standard is piss poor.

Plus, the only supporters clubs are full of so called "casuals" Slash hard men in gangs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭AngelofFire

well if you`re a bohs fan then i quite frankly dont blame ya:D

cheers, thanks for understanding, Im just glad we have hunt

I am a newbie to the Eircom league so I haven't started ooing to the matches yet so I'll be listening to the match on the radio. For those who don't know, the Pat's -v- Bohs match is live on Newstalk106. Pity its not on R.T.*fecking*.E

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭smemon

couldnt believe all the hype and stuff around the czecks.

everyone saying a draw'll be a good result etc.. at landsdowne road, nothing less than a win is good enough. it's about time us irish coped that on. were a top 10 side, stop under-rating us.

Im sick of us going into EVERY game as underdogs knowing dam right we're going to win. the czecks are average, their way over-rated and are not worthy of 6th in the world or whatever. at home, their good.

We WILL win this next game against romania, you heard it here first. we are NOT underdogs in this game, we are favourites. a win and only a win is a good result for us.

Originally posted by smemon
    couldnt believe all the hype and stuff around the czecks.

everyone saying a draw'll be a good result etc.. at landsdowne road, nothing less than a win is good enough. it's about time us irish coped that on. were a top 10 side, stop under-rating us.

Im sick of us going into EVERY game as underdogs knowing dam right we're going to win. the czecks are average, their way over-rated and are not worthy of 6th in the world or whatever. at home, their good.

We WILL win this next game against romania, you heard it here first. we are NOT underdogs in this game, we are favourites. a win and only a win is a good result for us.
    Smemon. The Czech's are not under-rated, they are the 3rd best teams in Europe and one of the favourited for Euro 2004. They are not just good at home as they got results in France, Holland and Italy. Just because Ireland won doesn't mean you are right.

"We WILL win this next game against romania, you heard it here first."
    Cheers for the tip, I'm off to the bookies. Its a pity our next game is against Poland.:D Smemon, we will be favourites and expected to win both matches.

We just beat a team that hasn't been beaten since 2001. You haven't got a clue who anyone on the Czech team is other than nedved so you can't comment. We were underdogs and rightly so. We were without Carr, Finnan, O'Brein, Breen, Dunne, O'Shea, Connolly, Kavanagh and more I can't think of ATM.

It is obvious by your post that you don't know anything about the Czech's so please don't put them down and spoil our marvellous achievement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭bizmark

Its a pity our next game is against Poland.

No our next game is against romania april 27......We should beat them easy tbh if this form keeps up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,951 ✭✭✭✭Villain

Originally posted by bizmark
    No our next game is against romania april 27......We should beat them easy tbh if this form keeps up

Sorry but your wrong.

WE ARE PLAYING POLAND NEXT!!!!!!!! oo and its on the 28th of April

See here if you don't believe me

http://www.fai.ie/FAI/Fans/diary.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭bizmark

Fair enough stupid cork evening echo says its romanina :rolleyes:

Poland is 24th in the world right....should be able to beat them easy as well

Poland arent ****e by any stretch, they have some decent attacking players and it wont be an easy game. In fact it is a typical game for us to get beaten in having just had two great results against top teams.

That said, they are poor in defence and hopefully Brian Kerr might stop the rot of us losing to the lesser teams while beating the top teams