Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Man Utd vs Arsenal(scores)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Originally posted by Dustaz
    See you in a week.

No see you in two weeks. Banned for personal abuse.

Gandalf.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Originally posted by The Muppet
    Agreed, it was third choice the same as it was for united at the start of the season but to get the treble you have to win it which I assume was arsenals goal up to yesterday.

Depth of squad is the problem and Ye have a very tough week ahead which will tell a lot about the Character of your players.

Btw Dustaz Arsenal are only 4 points ahead but have the game in hand or is that a forgone conclusion.;)
    Well, the game is against Liverpool after all... ;)

Agreed, this is a very testing period for Arsenal. Shakey start to it so far, but they've done well in difficult periods this season so I don't think they'll lack the belief that they can do it.
    Originally posted by TheC0CK
    While I do not agree with Smemons comments, I do not think it is right for Dustaz to get on a power trip and start abusing posters because he has a few red things written below his name. Get off your high horse and save your stupid comments for yourself. You are no better than anyone else. You do not know Smemons mates and you have no right to call him or his mates a moron or an idiot.
    lol, another gem from ronaldo7

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,349 ✭✭✭Samurai

MAN UTD ARE SHIT JUST LIKE ALL OF YOU AHAHHAA SHIT ****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭TheC0CK

Originally posted by kaids

??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,003 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Well, the game is against Liverpool after all... ;)

So the pool games is a gimme, they won't like to hear that.:)

Agreed, this is a very testing period for Arsenal. Shakey start to it so far, but they've done well in difficult periods this season so I don't think they'll lack the belief that they can do it.

I too was totally outraged by Dustaz's outrageous comments, so much so that I couldn't bring myself to mention them until now as i sit here totally shocked by his savage attack on another poster.

The words Pot Kettle and Black spring to mind about LE Cocks indignation.

Samurai banned for a week for his insightful comments :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,617 ✭✭✭talla

I actually agree with Dustaz comments.

Does that count as personal abuse though talla? ;)

I imagine most people agree with what he said, only they value being able to post here...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,617 ✭✭✭talla

Probably.lol

Does that count as personal abuse though talla? ;)

I imagine most people agree with what he said, only they value being able to post here...

and don't want the bother of setting up another account:D

Calling someone an idiot is pretty mild in the normal run of things here but under the new order it is not acceptable. Anyway I reckon it a conspiracy and Dustaz just wanted to be missing for the next week when The gunners results go to pot. Gandalf was merely facilitating his mate and fellow Arsenal supporter.

Any way that's 3 mods banned from the soccer forum tonigh and I could suggest another one or two candidates to go as well..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

suggest away muppet, be aware though that you may not like the results of you suggesting somebody is banned.

Originally posted by Thanx 4 The Fish
    suggest away muppet, be aware though that you may not like the results of you suggesting somebody is banned.

Dont worry Fishy you wouldn't be one of them as Liverpool supporters are a protected species what with them being near extinction around here lately.;)

Originally posted by The Muppet
    The words Pot Kettle and Black spring to mind about LE Cocks indignation.

Look I am not nightstrike. What is with the accusations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

Originally posted by yop
    YYYYEEEEESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

End of the treble, still the only the real treble holders:D

Why, are you an Ajax fan? PSV? Red Star Belgrade? Or maybe Celtic, who went one better than Man U and added a league cup to their treble in 1967?

Treble, eh? Ten a penny...;)

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Holland, Yugoslavia and Scotland... Yeah, all top leagues, tbh.

Which makes their achievement of winning the EC/CL and two domestic trophies even more impressive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

Originally posted by PORNAPSTER
    Holland, Yugoslavia and Scotland... Yeah, all top leagues, tbh.

Yeah, and don't forget you actually had to win your league in those days to qualify for the European Cup...;)

Top leagues eh? Funny that not one club from Italy, Spain or Germany has ever achieved the feat, and only one from England (the mighty Liverpool, for all their European Cups, never did it)

Red Star did theirs in 1991, quite an achievement considering their country was turning to sh*t at the time.

As for Holland, Ajax did the treble some time in the 70s, around the time they won three European Cups in a row. Now thats a record worth talking about...

Celtic's achievement was all the more remarkable considering they won the European Cup with a team of players all from Glasgow.

But of course, regardless of where the clubs plied their trade, a treble is a treble, and well done to all.

• Registered Users Posts: 505 ✭✭✭NightStrike

Look I am not nightstrike. What is with the accusations.

Huh how the hell did I get dragged into this?
    Incase you can't read right he said Ronaldo7!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

ive been called an idiot many a time on this board yet those who said it were never banned!

i agree with dustaz.
    one loss does not mean that the world is going to crash down around arsenal
    the league is not won but it will take some fall by arsenal to lose it now
    remeber the fa cup is THIRD choice by arsenal

i knew they would lose a game here and there and i knew the would be people here spouting ****e about arsenal falling apart and the cracks starting to appear!!

ill make sure to quote yer comments come end of may!

we have bigger fish to fry!
    remember that! :)

edit:
    nightstrike = michealangelo
    thecock = ronaldo7

Originally posted by jank

edit:
    nightstrike = michealangelo
    thecock = ronaldo7

Em what are you on about? I am not michealangelo at all and I'm sure if one of the mods checked ips etc they'd confirm this.

if you say so :)

mods cant check ip addresses only admins can

Well whatever admins/mods. I don't really see what you're problem is to be honest. I come on this site to discuss football and listen to other people's comments and you make stupid accusations like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,064 ✭✭✭BKtje

i gotta agree with nightstrike, unless u have proof jank (or any one else) i suggest you concentrate on the topic of debate and stop trying to undermine other posters arguments by claiming they are other people in disguise.
    a) it has no relevance who they are
    b) not many people care.
    c) nothing wrong with creating another account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

Originally posted by B-K-DzR

c) nothing wrong with creating another account.

On that point and as a mod of this board I would like to inform those who do not know that, yes there is something wrong with creating another account, especially if it is used to back yourself up in discussions etc which has been seen here and on other boards before.

Now back to the match.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 GreatKingRat

Sorry to interrupt, but re the game, which I'm dissapointed about and more interested in engaging than personal vendettas......

We should have had two penalties off Silvestre, but it would just have covered up
    a poor display though. We can perform much better than that. Bergkamp, Campbell, Edu, and Reyes are the only ones who can hold their heads up after that display. Henry was more Forlan than Forlan, even if he was tired. If Reyes wasnt injured, I'd leave Henry on the bench for the Chelsea game, he just chokes in too many big games. If Pires could stop falling on his ar*e every time he loses the ball, he'd be a little more effective. To be honest, on another day he could have gone, one yellow for 1st half diving, and another for the swing at that whining Gary Neville (good punch landed though :-) ).
    We need something more up front if we are going to challenge for 3 trophies. I cant believe Wenger said Bergkamp will have to settle for a bit part if he gets another year, he's our most reliable attacking option, and never lets us down. Its pretty desperate when Kanu is brought on to save the day. Wiltord's past it too, and Aliadiere doesnt look like cutting it anytime soon. Henry's just too unreliable in big games, one more summer signing could be a huge difference, and I think we could have a better shot at it next year.
    For the moment though, the PL's a pretty good stash for a season!!

jank if you have a problem with another poster then report it to the mods do not fire accusations all over the place in a public thread. Jesus its like supervising a pack of toddlers here sometimes!!!!

On duplicate accounts if I find people using them I will ban all the accounts and ask the admins to ban them fully from boards. There is no reason to have multiple accounts unless you are up to mischief.

Gandalf.

I'll agree Henry was tired but it wasn't helped by the fact that Arsenal had 5 strikers on the pitch at the end, leaving him with little space and a fair bit of hoofing was done in kinda desperation. Ferguson even said after the match that that made it easy for Utd.

I know you say that you were impressed with Bergkamp, and he did play well to a certain degree, but I was disappointed that he went down every time a challenge came his way. He was never really one to dive but was guilty of it a few times on Saturday. Thats disappointing imo. You expect it off Pires not him. Even Vieira was at it to a certain degree.

Some people are looking at this defeat as the start of a mini-crisis for Arsenal but you can't say that after one defeat, a narrow one at that. Yeah they're tired, not really an excuse, but I'd still expect them to bag the Premiership - which before this game was all I ever expected them to win. Even if they beat Chelsea I really can't see them winning the CL, but if they do fair play to them cause they'll have to beat Real and AC Milan to do it by the looks of things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 doozerjack

quote:
    Originally posted by Jank
    CLASS
    utd are turning into liverpool hoofing long balls up to ronaldo or whoever!
    12 points and utd are still the better side
    well he is the best manager in
    england currently aint he?

I dont like to kick a guy when he's down, but really Jank, you might want to consider a deep breath before you embarrass yourself with anymore tripe like that.
    Wenger's good but he's got a long way to go before that statement can be taken as gospel. Ferguson has consistently out-witted him in United-Arsenal games, even apart from the stash of silverware. To correct smemon, its been 2 years (6 games) since Arsenal last beat United's first team, and they havent even looked like doing it once in that time. Credit where its due. I agree with J Turkey, Ferguson got the tactics right, Wenger screwed up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 SanFranMan

For me, the most entertaining final would have been ManU - Sunderland. The
    whole McCarthy-Keane-McAteer love triangle would have been juicy. I think
    Millwall will give a good account though, and ManU have crashed to lesser teams a number of times this season.

As for the Arsenal - United game (at the risk of getting caught in a nauseating crossfire of high tensions), I thought there were a lot of pretty poor performances for two teams of their calibre. Silvestre, Fletcher, Bellion, Henry, Ljungberg, Vieira, Aliadiere being the main culprits. The wide pitch gave the United wings the chance to put on a show, which they did, and if it wasnt for Campbell's good performance, and Van N's absence, I think United would have won by more. I think the Arsenal team's still a little short in cover to compete on all fronts. Apologies to those who like to blow sunshine up Henry's ar*e, but he was particularly crap. I dont understand how anyone can deny his inconsistency, but I'll let sleeping dogs lie.

So here's hoping for a Millwall cup winning season!

Originally posted by doozerjack
    quote:

I dont like to kick a guy when he's down, but really Jank, you might want to consider a deep breath before you embarrass yourself with anymore tripe like that.
    Wenger's good but he's got a long way to go before that statement can be taken as gospel. Ferguson has consistently out-witted him in United-Arsenal games, even apart from the stash of silverware. To correct smemon, its been 2 years (6 games) since Arsenal last beat United's first team, and they havent even looked like doing it once in that time. Credit where its due. I agree with J Turkey, Ferguson got the tactics right, Wenger screwed up.

yea fergie got his tactics right this time around however did you watch the game last week
    arsenal were imo unlucky not to win and its not as if utd destroyed arsenal now did they, they got the goal and then sat back and defended, if arsenal had scored first then i dont think utd woulf have had the firepower upfront to pull if back and not leave gaps at the back

6 games!? who won last year at old trafford in the fa cup or did you conviently forget.
    wenger imo is a better manager. it only took him 2 years to win a domestic double while it took fergie the best part of 8 and dont forget the financial gap between the 2 teams.
    think about it! if arsenal had that muscle off the field then they would be walking away with domestic honours every year and just to prove my point utd are 12 points behind aresnal and the fa cup was thier only chance of silverware, arsenal are close to another league title(everyone on here wants them to fail for obvious reasons and that is in itself is an indication on what wenger has done for the team!)

arsenal will win the league not the CL but will get to the semi or final which aint bad for a small bankrupt club from london!
    utd supporters were always on about the mickey mouse cup, roy keane even siad something akin to that in his book, oh how times change!!

Originally posted by doozerjack
    Arsenal beat United in the cup last season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 252 ✭✭elbow316

Ferguson has consistently out-witted him in United-Arsenal games, even apart from the stash of silverware.

Check out the Ferguson-Wenger record in matches against each other, Wenger is definitely ahead.

Just in from a journalist at ANR:
    IT'S NOT all doom and gloom, folks.

Jose Reyes and Freddie Ljungberg trained this morning.

Freddie was also at the Wellington Hospital in St Johns Wood, near Lords, this morning.

This is where they treat the hand injuries of top cricketers.

Don't know if he trained before going to the clinic, or after.

i wonder did scholes tackle on reyes was intentional to put him out.
    he was causing problems for utd when he came on but was injured after a very bad tackle from scholes (red imo)

here is want wenger thinkshere

and henry winter wrote
    "Scholes is an honest pro...., but occasionally some of his challenges contain undisguised spitefulness."

strong words from such a respectfull journalist

hope reyes is back soon
    he is turning out to be a fine player and could unlock defenses by himself

Reyes can't be too badly injured if he trained today. Its a physical game players get injured, scholes is not the most clinical tackler in the game but is by no mean an intentionally dirty player. One of the reasons Arsenal lost on saturday is because they did not play their best available 11 from the start as was pointed out here by some arsenal supporters after the game , reyes played on after the tackle but fergie put on more midfielders to nullify his threat and It worked, Wenger is just whinging and making excuses as usual.

Wenger is just whinging and making excuses as usual

Maybe himself and Ferguson have more in common than we think ;)

Originally posted by elbow316
    Maybe himself and Ferguson have more in common than we think ;)
    lol :)

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

ah heya yop, not seen you around here much lately. i suppose given uniteds bad run of form couldnt last forever it was inevitable that you'd be back

:D Nah, prefer to observe these days, am afraid there are too many school kids posting on the soccer boards to even post on a thread that never stays on topic.

BTW - 2nd was a peno, unlucky if it was given but it hit his hand.
    Ref was poor.
    Scholes tackle was not good, unlucky he got injured from it, Lee Hughes got away with a worse tackle yesterday.
    Whinger messed up, Henry should have played or at least Reyes, Aldiare has been out too long.
    Lehmann is a mupper, either Arsenal or FA should teach him a lesson before he costs arse in a major match. He could have got sent off on Sat, he cost ye the goal against Chelsea.
    United got stuck in, the first time all season, arsenal did not like it.

And yes it was good to win the semi, even better when it was a team who thought they had us beat before it started by leaving one of the best players and one of the most promising players on the bench.

Put a few quid on Millwall, remember Everton V United, Wimbledon V scouse?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭kida

It was a hard tackle from Scholes - looked far worse in slow motion but I think he was late. Arsenals fans should be thankful it wasn't on Henry.

Anybody else reckons he probably cost himself a few weeks on by playing on - Kanu had not come on at that stage and they could easily have taken Reyes off.

Hopefully Ranieri has seen that if you rattle Arsenal they are not half the team they are when you let them play.

reyes and Freddy in squad for tomorrow's game - United's thugs can't stop us from going on to bigger and better things.
    I really hope Scholes and Keane enjoy their little cup final against Milwall - we'll be going for the big trophies :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 635 ✭✭✭johnor

Odd, I thought Arsene "Stevie Wonder" Wenger said they would be out for a month??

john

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭kida

Maybe Wenger could use his new found healing power to fix his own eyesight:D

Maybe Alex ferguson could use his bottle of Mr Sheen and a cloth to polish up OUR premiership trophy ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭woosaysdan

Maybe Alex ferguson could use his bottle of Mr Sheen and a cloth to polish up OUR premiership trophy
    yeah were running out of space for every thing we won!!! so we are giving ye a loan of it till our bigger trophy cabinet arrives!!!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭smemon

amazing how dustaz starts a post knowing he'll get banned yet does it anyway! i dont know what that achieves for anyone.

anyway, to be honest i dont get offended with stuff like that, it's part and parcel of being a manu fan. i try to get my point across, but am almost beaten down before i can make it or defend it. plus i hate going of topic as these boards should be for football.

as for things not changing in the league for arsenal after that defeat, mathematically they havn't changed but that will undoubtably take the wind out of arsenal's sails. like fergie said, i wont be surprised if chelsea beat arsenal in the 2nd leg.

i'll accept it could be a one-off fluke but having gone so many games unbeaten with virtually shedding no sweat, it's bound to effect the side.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 91 ✭✭Unexpected

Jank really talks so much ****. Someone glue his hands to his head and make him run around town screaming " I talk **** ". Anyway moving on.
    On duplicate accounts if I find people using them I will ban all the accounts and ask the admins to ban them fully from boards. There is no reason to have multiple accounts unless you are up to mischief.

Rightly so Gandalf. The absolute worst is as thanks for the fish said, in fact i can not believe people would be idiotic enough to do that.

now that takes the biscuit!

This is from TheC0ck by the way. Not unexpected.

Unexpected is my housemate.

(Sorry Dave, your stupid cookies...AGAIN)

hahahha class

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

This is from TheC0ck by the way. Not unexpected.

Unexpected is my housemate.

(Sorry Dave, your stupid cookies...AGAIN)