Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

arsenal v chelsea CL (scores maybe!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭bizmark

Why does ever thread about a game in which arsenal or man u lose (to a better team) always and i mean ALWAYS turn into a man u arsenal knob waving contest?

Cant you lot not be happy for Ranieri ?? Arsenal lost to the better team on the night there is no shame in that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

Originally posted by Draupnir
    excellent tactical changes by Ranieri...

Anyone else notice how bad Jesper Gronkjaer is?? He got the ball at one stage and ran into touch!

Eh, not quite with you.

Though Jesper was infinitley better than Parker when he came on, and was the best of Ranieri's three substitutions. Totally changed the game, Chelsea looked like a proper team with a decent shape from the time of his introduction onwards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 801 ✭✭✭dod

Emboss. It's on nights like this that we miss your impartial banter on IRC. What happened there ole man?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

I thought Gronkjaer just changed the shape of the team and pinned Cole back more, purely with his pace, but on the ball I thought the chap was rubbish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,286 ✭✭✭SprostonGreen

Yeessssss !!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

I don't think I've ever seen Henry being subbed off, was quite shocking really.

Arsenal didn't look liket hey cared after the second Chelsea goal.

Also:
    Got these odds back ages ago:

Which side, if any, will end Arsenal's unbeaten Premiership record this season?

Birmingham 33 - 1 for 2

Leicester 50 - 1 Pending for 1

I'm hoping one of them will pay off :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭smemon

chelsea are now the new newcastle ie-everyone's 2nd premiership team.

another MASSIVE game for arsenal which they lost. the excuse after the cup game was they were concentrating on this game, now they've no excuses.

no penalty claims, red cards, injuries or diving, they were beaten fair and sqaure which i think will shock wenger's troops. unbeaten in millions of games and then all of a sudden you cant win any!

4 GAMES WITHOUT WINNING! ah ha ha ha ha :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,003 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Originally posted by kaids
    Yeah, but just because there are some retarded Arsenal fans on this board too (and there are, definately) doesn't mean I have to put up with it (until the mods arrive anyway).

They did and we told them how childish they were which is all the more reason for us not to do the same.

It was a good game and the best team on the night won. I,m Happy for Duffers and Raneiri.

Congrats Chelsea Supporters I hopeThe wait was worth it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 811 ✭✭✭donhughberto

Nice one.

Chelsea played Arsenal off the park in the second half and deserved it, i just had a double on Monaco and Chelsea, off to the pub, what a night. I am overjoye for claudio, he deserves credit for his dignity at all the side swipes he receives.

As for Real, they can blame the defence yet again! this has been a good week and i can't blame Utd supporters for going ape as we have been insulted all year by some Arsenal fans in here and they mad me cheer chelsea with their S***e this year.

Saying that i still think they deserve the prem as they are the best team but didn't they look very tired tonite!

• Registered Users Posts: 505 ✭✭✭NightStrike

Originally posted by smemon
    chelsea are now the new newcastle ie-everyone's 2nd premiership team.

Yeah, until they win something!
    Arsenal didn't look liket hey cared after the second Chelsea goal.

Well it was easy to see why, 3 mins left, 1 min added on and they needed two goals...

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Originally posted by The Muppet
    They did and we told them how childish they were which is all the more reason for us not to do the same.

It was a good game and the best team on the night won. I,m Happy for Duffers and Raneiri.

Congrats Chelsea Supporters I hopeThe wait was worth it
    And yet i've had some of this taunting directed at me despite not giving any of it out...

Well done anyway Chelsea, Chelsea - Milan looks like a good bet for the final. A rather dull prospect, but however. The one thing i'm happy about is Ranieri, he deserved the win. I don't see Chelsea staying as everyone's 2nd team if they sack him and it will be a travesty if he goes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

i never liked Newcastle cos Alan Shearer plays for them. My second team used to be West Ham.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭smemon

Originally posted by NightStrike
    Well it was easy to see why, 3 mins left, 1 min added on and they needed two goals...

proof their not a great team. a great team never gives up, fights to the last second, plays for pride when games are already lost.

3-2-1....... its like driving along on a big smooth, new motorway with your foot down and no traffic in sight, then everything narrows into 2way traffic and your stuck behind a big slow tractor going the exact same place as you!

thats arsenals treble decintigrating into a single.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

Originally posted by eirebhoy
    TBH I'd feel a lot safer backing Deportivo and Monaco as they both need to score at least 2/3 goals to go through so will be going all out attack with little expected of them. 10 Euro returns 257. :)
    I put the bet on so if Deportivo win tomorrow I'll get 50 eoro back from 2 euro. I also had 7 teams on in another 2 euro bet:
    Sunderland
    Mansfield
    Hartlepool
    Chester
    Hamilton
    Millwall (Tomorrow)
    Celtic (Thursday)

All my teams won today. Its the luckiest bet I've ever put on but its a pity I didn't put on more. If Deportivo (and Millwall) win tomorrow I might put the whole 50 on Celtic meaning its all down to them.:)

As for the match, I don't think anyone can say Chelsea didn't deserve to win. Makelele kept Vieira queit and Henry wasn't anywhere near his best.

• Registered Users Posts: 553 ✭✭✭phenom

yes !! :D

Congrats to chelsea I am glad that Arsenal did'nt win thy will just have to do with winning the premiership.

Originally posted by kaids
    And yet i've had some of this taunting directed at me despite not giving any of it out...

Not from me you haven't, There are a few Gunner supporters here that deserve it considering the posts after the Porto match so some of the comments are understandable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,386 ✭✭✭smuckers

The face on Claudio said it all. I can't believe this, the head dropped when Reyes scored right on half time and it was all Arse, they were sweeping with attacks every minute. The whole Arse midfield were all over CFC's. That changed in the second half and Terry once again had a super game Lampard and Makelele began to get hold on things and Gronk stretched them.
    Lauren did well against Duff who may have done not many of those mazy runs but he really did work hard especially in the second half.
    You know Lehman would spill it and Wayne Bridge you beauty who I actually thought had a more effective game in the first leg.
    Bring on Monaco in 2 weeks time and the league is by no means over.:)
    Well done Chels!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Yeah I thought Lehmann let Arsenal down again. He should've held Makelele's shot or at least put it out for a corner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭TheC0CK

Oh amazing. This will keep jank quiet for a while hopefully. Admit it, you were getting carried away.

Arsenal were the best in the first half. Chelsea robbed it from them for the second half. The two teams swapped form but Arse played even poorer in the second half than Chelsea did in the first half.

Its sad to see Arsenal losing a potential treble but I do not actually give a toss.

All I know is that Fergies mindgames and the fact Utd beat them last saturday has seriously disrupted Arsenals frame of thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭mobby

Go on the Blues Chelsea, Chelsea .........................

So happy for Ranieri.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭TheC0CK

I love Ranieri. What a legend.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

and wheres kaids, stick that up your bollix

the only good thing in this thread is that Draupnir will get banned for at least a week :)

on the match, arsenal were the better team in the first half scored just before half time, but then chelsea scored out of nowhere (lehman should have done better really!)

from then on they looked like they didnt want it at all like they were one goal away from a CL semi and they didnt want FFS

henry needs a good kick up the ass
    why was he rested for this game if he wasnt going to show up for at least a bit of it

on a plus side it was a very good match, defensive was good and reyes was excellent i thought
    viera and edu had a good first half too

at least arsenal can concentrate on the league now and i hope to **** they dont blow it, it liverpool and newcastle wont play better than chelsea that to be sure!!
    id be happy with 4 points from the next 2 games!

happy for raneiri though it ment everything to him and looks like his job is safe for a year anyway, they had to bet arsenal sometime!! and it just happened now

I never really thought arsenal would win the CL, and my initial AC Milan look like firm favourites now!
    This will keep jank quiet for a while hopefully. Admit it, you were getting carried away

no i can take defeat and not gloat
    how am i getting carried away??

Originally posted by jank

no i can take defeat and not gloat
    how am i getting carried away??

There's usually not much to gloat over in defeat is there?

not gloat over other teams defeat

Have a read of the Porto threads.

henry needs a good kick up the ass
    why was he rested for thsi game if he wasnt going to show up for at least a bit of it

Maybe my story from a few weeks back about him cracking under the pressure (which u laughed at) is actually true!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,312 ✭✭✭mr_angry

I have to admit, Chelsea probably deserved it over the two legs altogether. Arsenal were cruising up until the Chelsea goal, but it really shook them, and there was only one team in it from then on. I'm glad to see Raineri doing well, but I really don't see how he can keep his job into next season. Would you stay at a club where the top men have been actively trying to replace you all season? The best he can do is really show them up to be the bastards they are by doing really well with Chelsea, and then leaving them to fix their own mess.

AC Milan must be absolutely pinching themselves at this stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭markomac316

Henry cant do it on the big stage he chokes..Look at the world cup his only mark on that was a red card, F.A Cup final last year, the big games against Man Utd and Chelsea, Champions League. Put him against the Aston Villa's, Blackburns etc of this world and he'll be grand.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

People blame Henry because he is the most high-profile player, but I think it's more down to Vieira. Henry may be an extremely creative striker, but he is still a striker and is largely dependent on supply and support from the other players. In the second half tonight he got very little of either, he was pretty good in the first half.

Vieira is the captain and driving force of the Arsenal midfield, and when the going gets tough, Arsenal's midfield seems to disappear - and I think he must be held responsible for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 389 ✭✭Aliminator

if any, i htink the lack of a left winger in the second half. i kept wondering where the man was. was it supposed to be Pires??
    no wonder Gronks had good runs.

henry has been bottling it for a few weeks now. it's not the first time i've mentioned it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 635 ✭✭✭johnor

I think that game may have garunteed Cloudy Rainyarea his job next season, which is nice. The players respond to him and they preform well for him. Think he may have been given a do or die message at that meeting he had. Arsenal looked tired, dont think bergkamp got a touch apart from the kick off after the 2-1. Would be a big shock if chelsea won this cup, monaco wont fold as easy at home. Cant see Arsenal loosing the league givn some of the games they have left.

Come on Cloudy

John

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭vorbis

I can still see Ranieri going. He won't win the CL. He'll need to to keep his job. The rumours are Abhramovich is not happy with the style of play so Ranieri will need a trophy to keep his job. I thought it interesting that Abhromavich didn't have much of an expression at the end of the match. Arsenal should still win the league though.

Henry is apparently carrying an injury. Saying he hasn't done it on the big stage is nuts considering his displays against Inter and at Euro 2000.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,163 ✭✭✭ZENER

Just got a text from my brother-in-law who was at the game and has been a Chelsea fan since he was 7 !!! (43 now). I never realised what this could mean to a grown man !! He is extatic - over the moon! The last time I heard him that happy was the birth of his first child. As they say footbal is not life . . it's more important than that !!!

I recal someone making the comment that Henry chokes when it counts a while back, seems it's got a hint of truth about it. Where the f*** was he for an hour ??? I was expecting the gunners to destroy Chelsea after their defeat on the weekend. But credit to the blues - great performance !

I agree about the second team thing and Ranners reaction to the goals was incredible and I feel for the guy, truly I do.

Tinky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,966 ✭✭✭Jivin Turkey

Chelsea deserved their win tonight, fingers crossed they can go all the way. However Arsenal are still a GREAT side, and if they finish the league season unbeaten it will prove that despite the recent letdowns. United fans should cop on, they were eliminated by an extremely mediocre Porto side, no point in gloating over Chelseas win, when Chelsea are also streets ahead of united.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,163 ✭✭✭ZENER

United fans should cop on, they were eliminated by an extremely mediocre Porto side, no point in gloating over Chelseas win, when Chelsea are also streets ahead of united.

Oh FFS grow up will ya, what a pathetic statement. Is that meant to justify ye're defeat by them ? Make sense man will ya, Man U beat you as well and a lot more times Chelsea ever did. Credit to Chelsea and Ranners - they deserved their win tonight.

Tinky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,966 ✭✭✭Jivin Turkey

Originally posted by tinky
    Oh FFS grow up will ya, what a pathetic statement. Is that meant to justify ye're defeat by them ? Make sense man will ya, Man U beat you as well and a lot more times Chelsea ever did. Credit to Chelsea and Ranners - they deserved their win tonight.

Tinky

Ok read the first 5 words of my post again. Thank you. Plus I dont support Arsenal. I think its funny that United fans ridicule Arsenal for being chokers, yet united are third in the league and were eliminated in the last 16 of the CL.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

To all the Arsenal fans that were rubbing it in after the Porto match...

HAHAHAHAHA...

PORNAPZ. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Lighten up Arsenal fans its not the end of the world :D
    But this is a footy thread and you have to take a bit of slaggin its part of the game! and i really think Arsenal will only take one point from there next 2 games and Chelsea will take 6. Which will leave Chelsea 1 point ahead of Arsenal with Arsenal having a game in hand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

The following have been banned for Personal insults

Libertine
    Draupnir

I have only reviewed this thread briefly so there may be others.

Gandalf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 GreatKingRat

I agree with Kaids, Vieira has to carry some responsibility, but thats not to take the heat off Wenger - what is the point in coasting through 90% of your games if you cant rise the team when they're up against it??!!!
    The whole team bar Cole was poor tonight. That team needs balls.
    Im fuming, but I dont want to get carried away. Chelsea deserved that. Anyone denies Chelsea were on top for the first half hour was dreaming. I was sh1tt1ng myself with the amount of midfield possession they won. They wasted a lot of possession 1st half, and I thought the goal would save us, but we were crap 2nd half. Scr*w it, we didnt deserve it on the night, and questions have to be answered.
    Congrats to Chelsea, hope they win it now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 doozerjack

arsenal to go through but they will have to be at their best to do it
    now is the time to stand up and be
    counted

Jank, I've got a funky cool sig idea for you, but I might keep it. What do you think?
    I might jazz it up a bit

Originally posted by doozerjack
    arsenal to go through but they will have to be at their best to do it
    now is the time to stand up and be
    counted

Jank, I've got a funky cool sig idea for you, but I might keep it. What do you think?
    I might jazz it up a bit

hilarious

ill remember that come May.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭Big Nelly

Go on Jens "Mophead" Lehmann....if the Ireland team ever have to play Germany again I want him in goals......will lead a campaign in Germany to get him there number 1.....hahahaha....he is brutal.....

Ranieri is class.....was watchin the coverage again this morning and he was cryin like a mad thing...haha.....if Chelsea sack him then they wont be any1's second team......

But they will even if he wins Champions League.....sure Bosque was sacked last year at Madrid and he won 2-3 Champions League and a few other tropies...like the league and was still givin the bullet

Remember the real manager who won the CL but lost the league to Barcelona and was sacked......Dutch manager.....cant remember the name.....uefa.com would have it

john

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭Big Nelly

Cruff?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭LoneGunM@n

What a great match ... Arsenal played well in the first half, but as Wenger said in his post match interview, Arsenal have a problem killing the game off!!

I loved Ranners post match interview when they showed him video of his celebrations & asked him who it was, to which he replied [not verbatim] it's a crazy man ... I still can't believe that they are trying to replace him ... Peter Kenyon is a b****x :mad: ... glad he's gone from United :p

One final thing, Arsenal looked drained out there last night & their confirdence was shot to hell after Chelsea equalised! This could mark the end of Arsenal's season ... & before any of the Arsenal fans reply to this by talking about Man Utd have been cr@p this season ... you don't need to tell me as I support them and watch everyone of their games, plus I have the ability to be critical of them ;)

http://www.realmadrid.com/web_realmadrid/templates/elclub/entrenadores5.jsp

makes good reading, sick amount of coaches. I think it was Heckyness, German not dutch, sorry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,188 ✭✭✭growler

what a great time to beat the arse after 17 games without a win , it's such a relief after a week of convincing myself that Chelsea hadn't a hope given the supreme smugness of arsenal fans. This could have wider repercussions for Arsenal now, there is a lot of talk (admittedly mostly tabloid speculation ) that Arse will have trouble retaining their stars if they never win anything more than the domestic titles, personally i think thats probably nonsense , but the next few days will really test Arsenals mettle, lose either to the pool or the geordies and chelsea could be in with a shout of nicking a second title from them :-)

Also worth noting that last nights tinkering paid off in dramatic fashion , putting gronks on pushed Cole back and allowed Chelsea much better possession and crossing options. Think i'm still in shock , looking forward to seeing them get a standing ovation at the boro game on saturday. :-)

I think its funny that United fans ridicule Arsenal for being chokers, yet united are third in the league and were eliminated in the last 16 of the CL.

Not slagging off anyone but its more true of Arsenal. Utd have inconsistent spells where they lose to the likes of Bolton, win their next 4 games, lost to the likes of Fulham, win their next four games, lost to someone else etc. Hardly chokers, just not totally consistent.

Arsenal on the other hand go undefeated pretty much all season and lose the matches they need to win most vs Utd and Chelsea. Ok they are just two matches but I also remember games against Bolton and Leeds from last season

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭woosaysdan

gwan chelsea!!!! unlucky for arsenal they hit the dizzy highs of football and threw it all away!!! come on chelsea for the league