Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

hit from behind

• 07-04-2004 11:43am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 738 ✭✭✭

well it had to happen sooner or later!

was waiting at a roundabout and was hit at low speed from behind. very nice guy, addmitted responabitliy straight off-was reading map- damage doesnt look too bad the right hand side of my back bumper is pushed forward about 4 inches and and crumpled under wheel arch.panel just under tail light knocked in about 4 inches too, so it doesnt look the worst. downside is boot lid not opening closing like it used too, its kinda to the left if ya get me, off square.

so i got his details and quote for repair is €680. which is leaving me wondering. my nct is due in a month i could get cheque and put car through nct and if passes keep the money or just repair it,

what ye think?

• Registered Users Posts: 65,377 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

What make, model, year car is it?

The money in your hand is a nice idea, but you'll probably suffer when you come to resell the car. Also if the metal is bare, it might start to rust

Basically, if your car is an old banger, keep the money, else have it fixed. Look at it this way: it won't cost you anything to have it fixed :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 738 ✭✭✭gaui3d0pnbz86o

tis nothing as fancy as yours unkel!

tis an 89 corolla, so ill probably keep the moneyas i wont be reselling, but it would be nice to be rid of the dent and have the bumper replaced.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 39,715 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

bumper may be sourced at a breakers (in same colour even)
    who gave the quote? i had drivers side scratched last summer by a guy who broke a red (& denied it). Quotes varied from €250 to €700. Got €700 off him (feck him for breaking a red and not having the balls to admit it). Got a BMW specialist to give the car an inspection I and fix a number of paintwork blemishes as well as the eejits handiwork for €450.