Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Newbie Security question

• 23-04-2004 8:52am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭

Hi – I am new to the world of broadband. I just got a IBB connection and running Norton Internet Security. Is Norton good enough or should I get a firewall router as well? My PC is connected directly to the IBB box on the wall. Any advice greatly appreciated.

Cheers.

Comments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,381 ✭✭✭✭Paulw

In most cases, a software firewall is more than enough.

If you've got very sensitive information and are very cautious then sure, invest in a hardware firewall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭Zion

Can I ask the question opposite statto, I have a router with firewall and my trial firewall is nearly end on the PC, should I get a software firewall? I'm using Windows XP so is the firewall that's in it sufficient along with the router?

• Registered Users Posts: 171 ✭✭Wookie

My two cent worth…

Zion, I am using Kerio Personal Firewall and it seems fairly good... and its free too, Might be worth considering.

Statto, For me the decision is down to your setup. If you only have one PC, Xbox etc using your BB connection then I would go for a software firewall. If you want to use multiple PC’s then it would be a good idea to go for a router with a firewall on it and not bother with the software firewall.

Either way keep an up to date anti-virus product running.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭BigEejit