Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Keane pulls out of squad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,143 ✭✭✭spongebob

Its a friendly, Keane always throws a sicknote when there is a friendly.

Whats new ?

M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭robbie1876

You should really put Robbie's name in the thread title, this is misleading, you expect it to be another Roy story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

It is a Roy Story....he has pulled out...I think some people are having a bit of trouble with the link...I emailed it to my mate, and he couldn't see the story.

try here

www.rte.ie

its the main sports story...

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Originally posted by Muck
    Its a friendly, Keane always throws a sicknote when there is a friendly.

Whats new ?

M

You should be glad that one of the best Irish players ever is back... Unless you are not a real Ireland supporter...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭robbie1876

Here's the right link: link

Lol, sorry bout that, but on the other story there was news about Robbie Keane possibly pulling out because of injury.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭toffeeman

tis a pity. Squad is looking threadbare as it is.

At least he got one training session with the squad to re-integrate himself back into the fold.

Surprised Finnan isn't being called up.

The timing of this internationl in the middle of end of season run-in was bound to cause alot players to pull out with niggling injuries.

Just take another look at that link...is that a smile I see on Roy Keane's face...and Packie Bonner in the background...is Brian Kerr a magician :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,544 ✭✭✭redspider

It was interesting earlier to hear of so many pulling out of the Irish squad.
    There are well over 10 withdrawals at this stage, including Robbie Keane, who
    looked perfectly fit yesterday scoring that penalty against Arsenal! [Not that it
    mattered to Arsenal but Spurs needed that point]. Breen and McAteer also out
    under dubious circumstances as well as Kilbane, Holland and Connolly. These
    were the "ghosts" from the WC and I wondered would they be out if Roy
    wasnt playing? Perhaps not.

Kerr cant be happy to see so many pulling "sickies" (ie: "feigning" injury!) when
    its supposed to be a reconciliation exercise with Roy and all that. Granted
    that many of the injuries are genuine (Carr, Duff) and some clubs need their
    players for the run-ins but such a large swathe. The team wont miss the likes
    of Breen or McAteer but having them there would have made things much
    more interesting.

Now its irrelevant as Roy has pulled out injured too. He looked ok when he
    played on the weekend. He was at the training camp today. Ferguson said
    he shouldn't go unless he felt 100% fit. And he went. The plot thickens.

It looks like it will be a time for many of the "prospects" to get a go, but
    Roy will not now get his chance to pass on some of his swearing experience.

The Roy Keane saga continues ......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Originally posted by PORNAPSTER

You should be glad that one of the best Irish players ever is back... Unless you are not a real Ireland supporter...
    Now that sounds scarily like the kind of thing that George Bush might say about the war in Eye-Rack.

One can be glad and also be cynical...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

Originally posted by redspider
    including Robbie Keane, who looked perfectly fit yesterday scoring that penalty against Arsenal!
    I think he had the Australia match in the bac of his mind.:D I feel sorry for the 2,000 Irish fans who travelled over to Poland expecting to see the likes of Duffer, Roy and Robbie.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 635 ✭✭✭johnor

Reports say that robbie could fly directly to poland tomorrow, he picked up a knock yesterday apparently.. how much truth to this i dunno......matt holland out too! shame to hear about keane, hope he was injured!

Originally posted by johnor
    Reports say that robbie could fly directly to poland tomorrow, he picked up a knock yesterday apparently..
    Well after he scored the penalty in the last minute, he did his usual celebration, didn't look all that injured to me.

Maybe he'll fly directly, but I kinda hope he doesn't...more chance of Jayo Byrne getting a game then.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Not really suprised but as mentioned here he is joined by 9 others. Still it is a shame, would have liked to have seen how he would have geled in there.

I personally think he is in trouble, did not see him on the telly on Sat but listened to it, I actually thought he had gone off.

I suppose at least he turned up for training and it was the FAI doctors who said that he was not fit enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

Not all that surprised to be hionest. Does not bode too well for Ireland that he is up to his old tricks in his first game back. There may well be mitigating circumstances but when isn't there !

Not as big news as it would have been if he was the only one to pull out.

Originally posted by Thanx 4 The Fish
    ...he is up to his old tricks...
    What old tricks would they be then?

And by the way...it was the FAI physios who decided there would be no point in him traveling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,312 ✭✭✭mr_angry

He's back??? Hmmm. It looks to me like he's pulling the same old stunts again. He didn't whinge about the training facilities, insult the manager, and then hop off home on Fergie's private jet again, did he?

I wouldn't be surprised. :rolleyes:

As I said, he did the hard part in meeting and greeting so I don't see any reason he wouldn't have travelled other than injury. At least he made it to Portmarnock unlike Holland, Finnan, Kenny, Carr, Kilbane, Connolly, McAteer, Delap and Breen, most of whom will play in their clubs next match. Duff is probably the only player that wouldn't be able to play on Wedensday as he's stuck in bed with a fever. To be fair to Paddy Kenny though, he admitted he has no injury problems but has a big game on friday.

Japanese fans take a bow for Keano . . . in Mayfield

TEN fanatical Japanese soccer supporters travelled to Cork yesterday - just to pay their respects to Roy Keane, the footballer they failed to see in action at the 2002 World Cup.

The group -- who are local politicians from Ichihara, a provincial city on the outskirts of Tokyo - even got to meet Roy's father, Mossie Keane, as part of a tour of his home town.

Mossie and his wife, Marie, welcomed the Japanese group to Cork - and told them Roy would be delighted to meet them if he was in Ireland.

The Japanese soccer fans toured Mayfield - where Roy grew up - and Rockmount AFC, the club that first help nurture his talents.

Rockmount officials were so thrilled by the interest shown by the Japanese group in their club that they arranged for club officers to greet the Asian delegation at the airport.

"It is great for Ireland that he (Roy) is now back playing for you," Tsuneo Ita, the tour group leader explained. "Roy Keane is considered a great player in Japan. It was a pity we did not get to enjoy his skills two years ago."

Fittingly, Mr Ito met Roy Keane in person prior the 2002 World Cup while he was on a sports visit to Britain and decided to include Manchester on his itinerary.

Ralph Riegel

You should be glad that one of the best Irish players ever is back...

I'm delighted that he's back ..........in Manchester that is :D

M

Originally posted by mr_angry
    He's back??? Hmmm. It looks to me like he's pulling the same old stunts again. He didn't whinge about the training facilities, insult the manager, and then hop off home on Fergie's private jet again, did he?

I wouldn't be surprised. :rolleyes:
    From what I hear, he was in Ireland with the Irish physio and they decided that there would be no point in him travelling to Poland. That is what the media are reporting.

this is simply a new variant of the Keano sicknote story.

Ferguson used ta get the sicknotes for him for years (that was guaranteed) but now he is a big boy he has to sort his own out.

M

You seen this "sick note" have you. Were you there when he handed in this "sick note"? Doubtful.

The Irish physios said he was injured so leave it there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,617 ✭✭✭talla

Muck/Pornapster , keep it civil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,951 ✭✭✭✭Villain

I believe the strain is very slight and Keane was more than willing to play but Kerr was afraid of pissing Fergie off:rolleyes:

I expect that Liam Miller and John O Shea will also have medical problems, especially for 'Friendly' Midweek matches during the season.

I also fully expect a complete and miraculous recovery by the following Saturday ...sturdy lads that they are .

M

There are some people, who no matter what Keane does, will for ever detract from the man.

If he scores a goal in the last qualifying game in a year and a half, these same people will come out and say something like:

" The cheek of him scoring in that game, getting us to the world cup, it's just a cynical ploy for him to get in with the celtic fans ".

The man has made mistakes, but he has realised the error of his ways, and has made a commitment to play for his country again. So he's not as fit as he used to be, who could be, he has been playing at the top (Champions League/Premiership) level of football for the past 10 years (possibly more, I'm not a statistician), but he thinks he is capable of playing for the national team once again. This time it was not to be, the irish medical people advised him not to play.

Sure, Alex Ferguson might be happy about it, but that is not Keane's fault.

Originally posted by seansouth
    Sure, Alex Ferguson might be happy about it, but that is not Keane's fault.

Certainly, in this case I don't blaim Keane at all, I blaim Kerr and Fergie.

Originally posted by Muck
    I expect that Liam Miller and John O Shea will also have medical problems, especially for 'Friendly' Midweek matches during the season.

I also fully expect a complete and miraculous recovery by the following Saturday ...sturdy lads that they are .

M

If you are going to have a go at players who pull out of the game because of injury, then what about Paddy Kenny, who pulled out because he wants to play for his club on Friday. What is more important, club or country?

(I am not having a go at Paddy Kenny, but the selective criticism heaped on players from Manchester United for missing internationals by certain posters.)

Well said seansouth.

(I am not having a go at Paddy Kenny, but the selective criticism heaped on players from Manchester United for missing internationals by certain posters.)

I accept all that Sean. Its just that Kenny has

1. His first real sniff of the Premiership
    2. And regular Premiership football
    3. And therefore a chance to make himself a regular in the Irish team .

He honestly said that Club was more important than country for the next few weeks. Good luck Paddy, at least you were honest about it.

He does not have a 10 year history of having sicknotes handed in for him willy nilly by Ferguson.

Nor do I think that Keane need have been called up for a lot of those matches during those 10 years, a lot of them were little earners for the FAI and of no value to the team or the individuals thereon. Instead of simply saying this, in came another sicknote .

After all these years he finally did a Kenny on it by being honest, unfortunately it was another sicknote. Call me a dRRReadful cynic :D coz I do.

M

Well said seansouth.

Well you couldn't really expect Kenny to play away in Poland on wednesday and then play for his club on friday, that wouldn't happen with a premiership club.

I think 1st division clubs have to be missing 4 first team players before they can have a game re-arranged, (I said I think so if I'm wrong I apologise).

Originally posted by irish1
    Well you couldn't really expect Kenny to play away in Poland on wednesday and then play for his club on friday

But it seems that some people expect other players to play for Ireland no matter what the circumstances.

Selective Criticism is no way to argue a point.

I mean why not rile Kenny for putting his club career before his country, players from certain other clubs seem to be fair game for this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 60 ✭✭toffeeman

This is a friendly. I'm sure if it was France in Paris in the upcoming qualifyers Keane would be risked.

No point in him doing himself a stupid injury in a friendly espeicially now he is getting on in years and is more susceptible to injuries.

Well you couldn't really expect Kenny to play away in Poland on wednesday and then play for his club on friday, that wouldn't happen with a premiership club.
    He's a goalkeeper, he's hardly going to get tired from playing a few minutes. I don't know if Byrne has a match on Friday but if he does I'm sure he'll play.

Originally posted by eirebhoy
    I don't know if Byrne has a match on Friday but if he does I'm sure he'll play.

Jason Byrne yeah?

Actually he's not expected to make the St. Pats -v- Shels game on friday ( it is an Away game after all :D ).

Now there is a shining example of a player prepared to put country before club.

There are some people, who no matter what Keane does, will for ever detract from the man...

The man has made mistakes, but he has realised the error of his ways...

Would you care to clarify exactly which 'error in his ways' he has realised? Because it certainly doesn't seem to be a realisation that he abandoned his country and his fellow team-mates on the eve of the 2002 World Cup. I have heard no such apology from Roy Keane. From what I can see, he believes he deserves to be in the Irish team, and has found a way to be there again. I don't see how any 'error' has been 'realised', or any apology made.

Believe it or not, there are some people who believe what Roy Keane did was wrong. :eek: Yes, wrong. These people are in full posession of the facts, and are aware of Roy Keane's side of the story. Frankly, I see no evidence of him being sorry for what he did that day, and hence no evidence that he would not do it again. I believe he is a disruptive influence, and will not provide any net benefit to the Irish team. I appreciate that other people have other points of view, but I do not accept the fact that I
    should be glad that one of the best Irish players ever is back... Unless [I am] not a real Ireland supporter...

Feel free to have your own views Pornapster, but don't try to force them on the rest of us like that.

He's a goalkeeper, he's hardly going to get tired from playing a few minutes. I don't know if Byrne has a match on Friday but if he does I'm sure he'll play.

Well he'd still need to be inolved in the game preparations and travelling that distance wouldn't be good for him.

Kenny's situation very different.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭Kone

Come on lads, we all knew Keane wasn't going to play in this game.
    The meeting up with the squad for training was purely a 'clear the air' exercise.
    Roy was always going to make his return at Lansdowne V Romania.....

/Kone

Just how different though?

He is in effect deserting his country to concentrate on his club career.

Keane has a slight hamstring twinge, and the Irish medical people thought it better if he doesn't play. He is fightting for 2nd place in the Premier League, and the FA Cup final. Slightly more than Paddy Kenny is fighting for I think you'll agree? ( A one in four chance of playing in the Premiership next season )

Originally posted by mr_angry
    Would you care to clarify exactly which 'error in his ways' he has realised? Because it certainly doesn't seem to be a realisation that he abandoned his country and his fellow team-mates on the eve of the 2002 World Cup. I have heard no such apology from Roy Keane. From what I can see, he believes he deserves to be in the Irish team, and has found a way to be there again. I don't see how any 'error' has been 'realised', or any apology made.

Believe it or not, there are some people who believe what Roy Keane did was wrong. :eek: Yes, wrong. These people are in full posession of the facts, and are aware of Roy Keane's side of the story. Frankly, I see no evidence of him being sorry for what he did that day, and hence no evidence that he would not do it again. I believe he is a disruptive influence, and will not provide any net benefit to the Irish team. I appreciate that other people have other points of view, but I do not accept the fact that I

Feel free to have your own views Pornapster, but don't try to force them on the rest of us like that.
    Did Mick McCarthy not say that he had kicked Roy out of the squad? How is that abandoning your country? He never said that he deserves to be in the Irish team. That is just your assumption. He said that he thinks he has something to prove to all of us. That is almost the opposite to what you have said.

You can believe that he is a disruptive influence all you want. You are not in the Ireland squad. It is up to them to say whether he is disruptive, not you.

And please do not edit my post if you are quoting me. Thank you.

Well he'd still need to be inolved in the game preparations and travelling that distance wouldn't be good for him.

Friendly matches are usually played at 7.45 and the players wouldn't travel home until the Thursday (most likely missing there clubs training session that day). They would have a training session on the Friday and a match at 3.00 on Saturday. Tomorrows match is at 5.00 and the players will get home that (Wedensday) evening. Therefore he will make the clubs training session on Thursday and there will also be a training session on Friday since the match is on in the evening. I hope that made sense but he will get more preparation than a friendly played on Wedensday night with the match on Saturday.:dunno:
    Apologise for what exactly? What did he do any different than McCarthy?

Just how different though?

He is in effect deserting his country to concentrate on his club career.

Keane has a slight hamstring twinge, and the Irish medical people thought it better if he doesn't play. He is fightting for 2nd place in the Premier League, and the FA Cup final. Slightly more than Paddy Kenny is fighting for I think you'll agree? ( A one in four chance of playing in the Premiership next season )

I disagree Kenny is playing for Sheffield Utd against Ipswich on Friday night, the game will go a long way about deciding who gets a play off position.

As I said this wouldn't happen with a premiership club, so thats is why it's different.

I mean Breen, O'Shea and McAteer were left out of the friendly prior to the Fa Cup Semi's and they weren't on a friday

He is fightting for 2nd place in the Premier League, and the FA Cup final. Slightly more than Paddy Kenny is fighting for I think you'll agree?

Fighting is hardlyu the word I'd use, he was a poodle last saturday against Liverpool , an ambitionless and limited team . He might intimidate the Millwall lads in the final except that Wise is an even bigger knack than he is so I'd discount that possibility.

Kenny may never get another shot at the Premiership. Thats the way it is and he knows it. Sheffield Utd are one of those teams like Oldham or Barnsley that makes it up once during a players career.....maybe. Thats a bigger deal for Kenny than second place in the premiership whn you are guaranteed a play off place and only really want another weeks holidays in July for finishing second.

M

Finishing 3rd, 4th, 5th or 6th in Div1 is more important than finishing 2nd in the Premier League?

How do you figure this?

Finishing 3rd, 4th, 5th or 6th in Div1 is more important than finishing 2nd in the Premier League?

How do you figure this?

For the PLAYER seansouth, finishing 2nd or 3rd to Keane is not the same as Kenny getting a chance to play in the premier league, come on seansouth you have to see the difference.

Fair enough ( but there was no need to shout! ), once in a lifetime opportunity for the player, I'll accept that.

What I will not accept accept is that certain players are open to criticism for so-called club-before-country ( Keane is injured and he is still getting it ) while others who have openly come along and said they are doing this are not criticised at all.
    It just amazes me.

Fair enough ( but there was no need to shout! ), once in a lifetime opportunity for the player, I'll accept that.

Didn't mean to shout, just trying to emphaise what I meant, sorry:)

FINALLY , he sees the light. 2nd vs 3rd in the Premiership is a week less on holiday in July, thats all. 2 matches extra in August, probably against Stavanger or Tampere and the groups stages are there for ya. Mind you MU could run into a nasty surprise at that point, Real Madrid or Lazio maybe :D

Think of Steve Bull, never got closer than a playoff and yet he was selected for England but only once or twice because he played below the top level. We want to see Paddy every Saturday at 7pm, banging them out from all angles.

M

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

Tomorrows match is at 5.00 and the players will get home that (Wedensday) evening. Therefore he will make the clubs training session on Thursday and there will also be a training session on Friday since the match is on in the evening. I hope that made sense but he will get more preparation than a friendly played on Wedensday night with the match on Saturday.:dunno:

Do you think the plane will stop off at each player's home club on the way home?

Match 17:00 - 19:00
    After-match shower/change/rub-down 19:00 - 20:00

Then assume they flew to the city the match is in, rather than Warsaw and then drove up (its at least a 3 hour drive)

Get to airport for say 21:00 for a 21:45 departure then a 2 hour flight.

Back in Dublin at midnight.

Nights sleep and flight back to UK Thursday at noon (guess).

Result? Feck all time to prepare for a Friday match, and that takes no account of the fatigue caused by all that travel.

Did Mick McCarthy not say that he had kicked Roy out of the squad? How is that abandoning your country? He never said that he deserves to be in the Irish team. That is just your assumption. He said that he thinks he has something to prove to all of us. That is almost the opposite to what you have said.

I don't see much difference between walking aout and forcing McCarthy to throw him out. Same instigator, same result. However, thats really a different argument thats already been spun across these Boards many times.

He says he has something to prove? Ok, thats marginally different - I'll concede that to you. However, if I were another player from that squad, I would feel agreived that Roy had not apologised for the way he handled things in Saipan. I think he owes them, at least.
    You can believe that he is a disruptive influence all you want. You are not in the Ireland squad. It is up to them to say whether he is disruptive, not you.

This is a discussion board. I'm entitled to discuss my views on the situation. My view is that he is a disruptive influence. My views may not make any difference because I don't run the Ireland squad, but that does not mean I'm not entitled to express them. And so I will continue to do so.
    And please do not edit my post if you are quoting me. Thank you.

I merely edited it to replace the pronouns. I didn't alter the meaning in any way. Please feel free to point out if I did something of this nature, but I feel quite sure that is not the case.