Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

On Bad Credit

Options
  • 29-04-2004 11:02am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭

I had problems paying off my loan and was in arrears regulary. Although i have agreed a suggestion to pay it back with the bank i have been keeping with this for approx 2 months now.
    However my account is locked from local branches and my online banking has been diabled. There is only one person dealing with my accound now in Dublin and is the only one that can access it. I am on the bad credit list.
    What does this mean exactly. I know other banks can view this, but what about credit unions. I asked how long this will last and she said about 5 years. I even asked her if i had the money to pay the whole loan off does that take me off the list and she said even if i paid it off my name would stay on this list for 5 years. Is this true?, what exactly goes on when on this list. And does it mean you cant get a mortgage or anything.
    Has anyone been on list bad credit list any advice is needed.

Cheers

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,143 ✭✭✭spongebob

It is 5 years , yes. Try to pay slightly more than agreed every month. If it is €100 then give them €110 . This should be noted on your record and helps your case in future. Bare minimum payments ,while compliant, look insipid at best .

Credit Unions are usually separate, rebuild your credit there first if it is impaired, it appears that this is the case. The 5 years dates from your last 'miss' and not from when you got into arrears first.