Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gardai get Curtin again!! Drink Driving

• 10-05-2004 9:09am
    Registered Users Posts: 15,944 ✭✭✭✭

Well is it a case of coincidence or did the Gardai decide to get the Judge again after the scenario with his Child Porn case being thrown out due to the out of date warrant.

If the Urine sample comes back and shows him to be over limit, he may be suspended until the case is heard. If he is found Guilty surely he must go.

The Indo has the full story here:
    http://www.unison.ie/irish_independent/stories.php3?ca=9&si=1178646&issue_id=10848 (requires registration)

Interesting paragraph at the end which states:
    Meanwhile, the American detective who discovered Judge Brian Curtin's credit card number on a child porn website has revealed he is prepared to testify at any inquiry or impeachment hearing into his conduct.

Texas police officer Steve Nelson also told a newspaper that apart from the credit card number, he also found substantial supporting evidence linking the judge to the website including his home address, email address and details of his computer's internet service provider.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,514 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

Yes I can only imagine they knew that his drunk-driving was a regular occurance and decided to get him after the paedophilia case fell through.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭vorbis

maybe I haven't heard it but why isn't there more convincing evidence against him re the child porn case. All that seems to be there is that he bought a months subscription for the site at a time that it was also selling child porn. Are there records of what if anything he downloaded? Presumably theres more evidence there than this.

The drink driving case is interesting. Will be interesting to see what the results are though. Judges have stayed on after having been convicted before though.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,514 ✭✭✭Sleipnir

maybe I haven't heard it but why isn't there more convincing evidence against him re the child porn case. All that seems to be there is that he bought a months subscription for the site at a time that it was also selling child porn. Are there records of what if anything he downloaded? Presumably theres more evidence there than this.

Er, there was also kiddie porn found saved to his hard drive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Meh

Originally posted by Sleipnir
    Yeah, but that was obtained by an out-of-date warrant, so it can't be used in any legal proceedings against him (including impeachment).

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 17,993 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Was there though? I thought the contents of the PC weren't examined or, if they were, they weren't disclosed.
    Given the way Judge Curtains has gone through the media wrangler, it's not too surprising he's been drinking heavily...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭pork99

Yes I can only imagine they knew that his drunk-driving was a regular occurance and decided to get him after the paedophilia case fell through.

Or maybe the arrogant c*nt thought he could get away with anything?

• Registered Users Posts: 599 ✭✭✭ambasite

according to rte radio this morning a total of six gardai were involved in the 'operation' - two detectives and four uniformed. seems like a sting operation / setup. can we assume that the minister for justice knew that mr. curtin would not resign his position as judge, so organised what happend in tralee last night? what a lovely little democracy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,143 ✭✭✭spongebob

6 Plod And a cyclist, they had to get the 'erratic driving bring him to the notice of the Gardai ' event staged properly brfore they could pull him.

The cyclist was a casus belli <cough> . I am sure that with 6 Gardai present they got the cyclists name and other details and that the cyclist made a full statement last night. Naturally it was on video.

M

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

can we assume that the minister for justice knew that mr. curtin would not resign his position as judge, so organised what happend in tralee last night?

Nah. The Gardai wouldn't do that kind of stuff for the Minister if he got down on his knees and begged. In any event McDowell doesn't seem like the kind to go after him this way.

On the other hand it's a given that the Gardai have the knowledge and resources to apprehend known drink drivers if they put enough resources into doing it. It's just the case that they wouldn't normally mount specific directed operations. I would guess that that the local plod saw an easy and legal way to have a little bite back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 345 ✭✭leonotron

So they knew all along he was drink driving and now they decide to stop him, nice setup

• Closed Accounts Posts: 801 ✭✭✭dod

If gross stupidity were a crime, they'd throw the book at him. I mean, after all that has happened, and he drives a car after drinking too much? FFS, he's supposed to be an intelligent man. He knew he was on the radar. I mean the offspring of generations of inbreeding would know to keep their head's down under the prevailing circumstances.

I have absolutely no sympathy, however staged/ contrived/ etc. anybody might suggest it was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,064 ✭✭✭Gurgle

He's been a judge for 2 years.
    He's probably been drinking & driving whenever he felt like it for 2 years.
    He pissed some guards off by making them look stupid over a child porn case.

Duh!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,715 Mod ✭✭✭✭star gazer

It really does beggar belief if it turns out to be drunk driving that the guy was so naive to think he could get away with it. It certainly narrows down his options with regard to his job. It will be hard for him to get any pay off now, even though the Taoiseach does appear to have ruled that out anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭Tommy Vercetti

Originally posted by dod
    If gross stupidity were a crime, they'd throw the book at him. I mean, after all that has happened, and he drives a car after drinking too much? FFS, he's supposed to be an intelligent man. He knew he was on the radar. I mean the offspring of generations of inbreeding would know to keep their head's down under the prevailing circumstances.

I have absolutely no sympathy, however staged/ contrived/ etc. anybody might suggest it was.

Actually I'd be more inclined to throw the book at the Gardai for
    1. Managing to screw up what should have been a straightforward kiddie-porn prosecution
    2. If they are turning a blind eye to drink-driving by members of the judiciary in the first place

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,064 ✭✭✭Gurgle

1. Managing to screw up what should have been a straightforward kiddie-porn prosecution
    Unless you have a big collection saved in a folder marked 'kiddy porn', then a smart lawyer with a well paid IT 'consultant' is going to cast 'reasonable' doubt on whether it was deliberately downloaded. SFA the cops can do about it.
    2. If they are turning a blind eye to drink-driving by members of the judiciary in the first place

I couldn't agree more. I have heard many tales of our local judge and he is just way above the law. Gardai have some answering to do.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,944 ✭✭✭✭Villain

Originally posted by Gurgle
    I couldn't agree more. I have heard many tales of our local judge and he is just way above the law. Gardai have some answering to do.

Just a little side note.

The bar I used to work in was done for late drinking for the first time in history a a month ago, there was 20 people drinking on the premisies after 2am on a friday night.

The Following friday night the Gardai held a party in the same pub for a Seargant that was leaving, the Gardai were drinking on the premisies until after 4 am.

One law for us and ..... :rolleyes: