Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

eurovision

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,726 ✭✭✭✭DMC

Looks like Zena, the 50th Eurovision for Kiev?

Seriously, the voting looks retarded. Gimmicks occupy the top 4 slots, not the best song. Dissapointing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭bizmark

Originally posted by bus77
    I was hoping he was being watched by some sort of babysitter :dunno:

We all hoped that.
    Seriously, the voting looks retarded

Aye the voteing is as fixed as can be within the rules....All countrys so far have been giveing the big points to there neighbours stupid really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭pork99

Originally posted by DMC
    Seriously, the voting looks retarded.

It's not just the voting that's retarded

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,726 ✭✭✭✭DMC

And the Ukraine have won.

Interesting that the top 3 also took part in the semi-final, giving them extra exposure than the 14 "new" songs tonight.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,011 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Zena won? yi-yi-yi-yi-yi-yi! *flings his chakram around*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,669 ✭✭✭DMT

Originally posted by DMC
    Interesting that the top 3 also took part in the semi-final, giving them extra exposure than the 14 "new" songs tonight.
    Won't help us next year...

Thank christ for england or we would of come last with no points........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Ireland are f*cked from here on it seems this country is an island off an island so few near neighbours to boost the vote...someone said ireland would so well cos "we" dont offend anyone...well the song clearly offended plenty!

7 points and all from the Brits, first 800 years and now this!

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,257 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Does anyone else find this funny :)

Originally posted by mike65
    well the song clearly offended plenty!

Yep around 480 million people clearly told us to **** off the song was crap lol even england could not bring themselfs to give us the "normal" 10 points

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭Dr. Dre

Originally posted by bizmark
    Yep around 480 million people clearly told us to **** off the song was crap lol even england could not bring themselfs to give us the "normal" 10 points

:D Heh, yeah.
    Still, that Ukraine one is fit as.
    Fap fap fap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,585 ✭✭✭honru

Wow. We must've sucked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,077 ✭✭✭parasite

ROOFLEZZ !!!1!1

maybe Bryan mcFatHead will go hang himself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭alleepally

Very well put together show. Very disappointed to see Chris do so bad but on a positive note there's a great opportunity for the Irish and Brits to get together and put forward a joint effort next year and just make it one over the top song and dance routine with leprechauns, morris dancers, cabe tossers etc.

if sh1te like xena warrior can win...

nah, that's it for me. aint about a halfway decent song anymore - it's geography and dance routines.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭bus77

At least zena won anyway :D

Turkey want to join the EU eh? well they can go and ****e, copying riverdance, unoriginal ****ers :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,008 ✭✭✭Tivoli

Originally posted by parasite
    ROOFLEZZ !!!1!1

maybe Bryan mcFatHead will go hang himself

and the worst career move this year is........

mcfadden quitting westlife to write songs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 920 ✭✭✭elvis2002

I think everybody must agree that even though its not Chris's fault. Westfile songs are just ****e. I quite liked the swedish song, maybe because that one was a "MILF" like someone said, ya what id' love to do with her........... anways .......... The irish song just had no presentation........ I don't think we will ever be in the main event again............ people are complaining about the voting and such, i know its retarted but even if it was jury voting, chris still wouldn;t have got any votes, and also, where da fcuk did he get that Blazer from, that was the worst looking jacket I have ever seen. What a sack of potatoes!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,669 ✭✭✭DMT

/me plays "Ode to Joy"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭niallith

i dont think it was that bad just the voting is a joke now just voting for neighbouring countries and host nation it aint ben a contest for good few years now , jus tryin to get on good terms competition

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,618 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Poooooor Chris... Poooooor McFadden. Lets hope Your A Star gets buried deep deep underground, but I have a feeling it won't (not when it makes so much money for RTE)

Some side points - the presenters look like they were picked for their multilingual abilities, and nothing else.

The whole "voting for neighbours" thing made a joke of the voting.

Chris could have made a BIT more effort with the wardrobe. Jeans and a white jacket? He looked like a knacker. He should have dressed as Hercules or something...

Looking forward to reading the papers tomorrow, and hearing Ryan Tubridy and Ray Darcy's comments on Monday morning :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

I think everybody must agree that even though its not Chris's fault.

Ermm no. Both of them are guilty of crimes against music. Ireland came where it deserved. The less generous may say it camr 7 points over the position it deserved.
    I'm glad the Ukraine won. Best song of the night!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 735 ✭✭✭beardedchicken

i'm so disappointed! i was looking forward to a nul points, but then stinky royaume unis had to go give us seven points! then, towards the end there i was hoping that someone would give norway a bunch of points, leaving us in last place, but it just wasn't to be... nuts to you all...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,257 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Originally posted by TmB
    Chris could have made a BIT more effort with the wardrobe. Jeans and a white jacket? He looked like a knacker.
    Your point :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

Ireland was crap, Zena was not great but she looked good and won..

I must be mad, I actually thought Norway's was a good song? :dunno:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 550 ✭✭✭Barbie_666

the best part was when the torture ended.............:(

God old Johnny Logan though wha? 3 times Johnny, go on son.

He looks like a stuffed duck these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

Originally posted by mike65
    It seems she was the favourite from early on...
    http://www.keithm.utvinternet.ie/2004Top5a.htm

Prediction:
    23: Ireland: Some points from UK and nothing more

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,747 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Real B-man

what a load of crap nill poit!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

I just say it's good enough for Linda Martin after the way she slated James Kilbane and destroyed his confidence. He was far better, but would never have won. There's no way Ireland will ever win again with this "Vote for you neighbour" routine amongst the Baltic and Yugoslav countries. Only for good old Britain Ireland would've been a "nul points". Personally, I LOVED Bosnia & Herzigovina.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Lainey

looked at the suffering through the pretty woman breaks.. sheesh, poor chris doran.. still, better than nil points

Originally posted by alleepally
    God old Johnny Logan though wha? 3 times Johnny, go on son.

He looks like a stuffed duck these days.

Why did they dig him up? Of all people!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

Poor Johnny Logan has lost his sweet little boy looks. "What's Another Year" was played on MTV the other day and it was great to hear it! I habve an album of his at home. I love his voice, and can't understand why Ronan Keating became so famous and poor Johnny didn't! Ronan Keating always sounds like he downed several pints before performing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Complete farce with all the bloc voting and back scratching taking place.

But it is winnable, you needs, as Marty pointed out, a pop song with scantily clad, goo-looking women, a few sexy dancers, no instruments and some recorded backing vocals. The days of winning the eurovision through good music are over.

That Ukraine song was a big piece of turd. And the Serbian one? ****e. Turkey? ****e. Greece? ****e.

UK and Ireland are marginalised now. Our taste in music is now the minority one in Europe.

I was listening to WLR-FM yesterday and an ad came on flogging Chris Dorans big homecoming gig at the Forum I think..when I heard that I thought he might regret the pre-match hoopla...

From www.waterford-news.ie/news/story.asp?j=14411
    Speaking from Istanbul, Chris Doran said he had no fear of getting up there on Saturday night to perform for Ireland. He described the stage created in the Abdi Ipekci Stadium for the Eurovision as amazing and spectacular.

“The only thing I am worried about is the voting,” he said.

Dympna Clerkin, of RTE, said Chris was receiving a lot of press and media interest in Istanbul and he was currently ranked about fourth or fifth favourite to win the contest, which was a good position to be in.

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭kano476

lets face it with so many eastern countries in it the westies dont have a hope. imo they were all useless and all the eurovision is now is a political exercise.

at least sweden and malta had decent women singing. bosnia ruined it wth the poof.

Shirley Temple Bar should go for Ireland next year if we're in the semi-final thingy

Go shirley!

Still it could have been worse

_39080454_jemini_203.jpg

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 shellseaker

am testing out this messageing service but am not going to well...is there anybody out there on nthe planet who wants to have a chat about anything...even if its not english...the typing motion will steady my nerves

Its being discussed on Five Live right now.

Mike,

Our taste in music is now the minority one in Europe

The same taste that selected Chris Doran and James Fox? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,259 ✭✭✭RicardoSmith

Regardless of all the voting, which makes the show a farce. The UK and Irish entries were as dull as ditch water. Looked boring, sounded boring. Not a shred of creativity in sight. Even their clothes were boring. But then again look how popular that popstars, eurostars show is. How people can watch all that mediocre bland tripe is beyond me.

Originally posted by BuffyBot
    The same taste that selected Chris Doran and James Fox? ;)
    Well, that's another problem right there. It's the song that makes it, the singer is largely irrelevent.
    Having the country put all their energy into choosing a singer instead of a song, is like having Ferrari spend all their money building a brilliant F1 car, and then putting Anto from Blanchardstown behind the wheel. That is, so long as the singer (the car) is up to the grade, then the main point to focus on is the song (the driver). Good singers are ten a penny. Contest winning songs aren't.

We chose 7 winners the old way, why did they change it? If it ain't broke.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,259 ✭✭✭RicardoSmith

Well I think you need a singer who has some sort of charisma and has a stage presence. I've a bread stick here with more personality and presence than Chris Doran or James Fox. Basically you need the full package. Also the world has moved on since Ireland won it. Beside most of the songs they won it with were dire aswell. Basically the whole thing is deeply sad.

But seriously, how tall was that singer from Sweden? Wow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,543 ✭✭✭sionnach

Ireland's entry this year was utter bland, boyband, forgettable rubbish and our entries will no doubt continue to reach the same lofty heights as chris doran with the current method of selecting our entrants, i.e: the guy that the young teenybopper girls think is the most good looking and sings the soppiest song. We had some great entries with the old system and it should be brought back in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭Dewey

OK, where are they?? Come on Where are they??

There People who tipped of Norway, i want........NO......I Demaned an Apology.
    I when into the Bookies to puts money on Ireland(dont ask why)......and Norway. €5 each way on Ireland and €5 eachway on Norway. Now i'm not surprised Ireland finshed second last but since i got the "tipped off" about Norway i was expecting money back at 80/1.

Well no f*cking wondering they were 80/1. LAST......they finshed last. But i could take losing money, it the eurovision and its a bit of fun. But people were asking me in the bookies who do i think will win??.....And i said Norway at 80/1.

Well i can never show my face in the bookies again.

But Ireland were a joke. We do a slow song with a guy standing in a white jacket singing I'm a winner while a half naked Zena was shacking her ass and daning, singing(well trying)........I forgot ithe song already.

But make no mistake about it. Your A Star will be on next year with Linda(I'm not tackie) Martin and Phil( i can write songs.....but i really cant) Coulter picking Slow songs like My heart will fall to pieces if you dont marry me and i will kill myself. But a good looking young fella will enter the comp and loads of teenage girls will vote for him and sent him off to his death at Eurovision.

While the rest of Europe will have women with Bigs TITS shacking there stuff.

And thats what we need, A good looking young women who can poll dance, do a little bit of singing and bring it back home.

Originally posted by Dewey
    And thats what we need, A good looking young women who can poll dance, do a little bit of singing and bring it back home.
    Sharon Ni Bheolain, revealing skirt, dancy tune.

No-one else would stand a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

Originally posted by sionnach
    We had some great entries with the old system and it should be brought back in.

The fickle public! It wasn't long ago that the people demanded that they ought to choose the Eurovision song. My impressions of the whole event?

Our song was crap.

All the other songs were crap.

We should just abandon the whole Eurovision mess. I also hope that the people who spent millions of Euros sending texts to premium numbers are happy :) Between that and the spending license payers money on the Pop-EuroStar-Academy show, it's useless staff and sending our boy Chrissy Doran and his entourage to Turkey we could have had more hospital beds, Garda on the streets, etc.