Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How to Cheat in the Leaving Cert

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,943 ✭✭✭Mutant_Fruit

Cheating in the PRE leaving was a doddle. I remember laughing audibly when the lads were WALKING AROUND the tables during the Technical Drawing exam. Great times.

Yup... you always have to go and "err.... pear my pencil...". And as you stroll around, you take a quick look to see what views people have been drawing, and hopefully you'll remember what you've forgotten. I know a few people were looking into my drawings on their way past. (I got 83% in that :D).

To be honest, i wouldn't cheat majorly, But if i knew something, and i just couldn't remember it, i would have no qualms about asking to go to the toilet, and asking everyone i see outside. Sometimes you just can't remember something, like the name of the second most important character in MacBeth (it happened to me... :p) or you just can't remember the formula for something.

It is the leaving cert, it does decide the rest of your life (to a certain degree anyway) and i'd hate for someone to get a C1 when they need a B3 just because one thing slipped their mind.

But people who bring stuff like cheat notes etc are just wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 428 ✭✭skipn_easy

Originally posted by nesthead
    lying and cheating are far more worthwhile skills in modern society than memorisation and regurgitation of knowledge

I can't believe you can say that - it says a lot about your character. How can you live with yourself knowing that you fucked people over to get where you are? How can you justify earning things that you don't deserve? Just because you might get ahead by lying and cheating doesn't mean that its the right thing to do...

(being a little dramatic) but are theft and murder worthwhile skills as well? Getting what you want in any way possible is not ok, where do you draw the line between right and wrong?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

Originally posted by nm
    people who study that useless load of muck are scum.

why wouldnt you cheat if you had the bottle, if you get away with then you've earnt your marks, thats the way i see it.

I mean its not like youre ever going to need 99% of the bollox you learn for that exam ever after that day in whole life, so whats the point in actually knowing it?-... next to nothing, whats the point in getting a good mark in the exam-.. everything, a college place etc..
    so hats off to the cheaters, for not wasting their lives studying ****e, but then managing to come out with a higher grade than those that did... who are the really smart ones?

Yes the people who waste their lives studying are quite sad, i would feel sorry for them but i dont cause i have warned them more then once they are making thw wrong choice. I hope for failure and misary to hit them all
    Originally posted by krattapopov
    im talking about cheaters in general not the merits of the leaving certificate

I have a massive problem with cheaters in online games. it makes no sence why dont they just join cheater only servers
    Originally posted by dangerman
    well obviously not you. If you can't see what's wrong with cheating then you kinda show what kind of person you are straight away; dishonest, cruel, selfish and lazy.

Note i'm not calling you these things, i'm just saying if you can't see whats wrong then you are the above things.

Cheating in anything is bad. I'd have difficulty being friends with someone i knew cheated, it really shows a lot about their character, i mean how completely weak it is. You're completely screwing the people who don't cheat, a college place you get denies those who were honest about it. Sick and wrong. A big fuck you to anyone who cheats or has cheated.

I remember once- going back many many years now. I was back in 1st year or 6th class or something i reley cant remember.
    My friend had a half day so when i got home for school he called for me and i went out.
    A few days later i had a half day and called for him when he got home he said "no i have to study" to me that is just sad and patchetic
    Ill always remember that, once of those things that just stick in ur mind. I told him not to study, dont bother with it.
    He studied over 3 hours a day every day starting in 2nd year.
    He failled his leaving and i couldent stop laughing, He wasted so much of his life and it was all for nothing.

I consider life to be a gamble those who study take the safe bet and those that dont do any work take high risk bets.
    I love to gamble.
    the really smart ones are the people who will do well for themselves, people who show that they can achieve something substantial in life, cheaters will always be that one step behind

wake up

You are wrong. There are many many people who have done VERY well for themselves in life without doing any of that studying crap
    there are also probbley many many many people who have cheated and endended up better than those who studyed
    Originally posted by subway_ie
    I suppose if somebody managed to steal your car/wallet/credit card/life savings, then they'd deserve it too, right?
    \

There is a difference between a skillfull smart person who steals ur money through some very funny scheme or something and some loser who comes up and tries to rob ur phone
    Still if u where stupid enough to give someone ur bank details or something to allow them to steal ur life savings then they deserve it
    Originally posted by stuey
    im here to avoid study at all costs. i cant study. have absoultly no attention span for something that doesn't interest me at all. Im deadly at the subjects im intrested in but **** at the other ones

I have no interest in studying its not worth it
    The only subject im interested in is 1/2 of the history course (european history)
    The rest of the subjects are boring, ive never studied any subject and i dont know if i will in the next week or 2
    Originally posted by GoneShootin
    subway_ie do you mind me asking how old are you ? I'm just wondering if you were always so sensible. Anyone that did the Leaving Cert in the last 10 years know the crazy pressure thats put on it, and I would have nothing against anyone that *considered* cheating.

Considering to cheat due to fierce pressure and not doing so because they know its wrong shows me far stronger character than someone who is always going to go by the rules.

Sorry but there is no pressure in the leaving, only for some people.
    Originally posted by Darko
    The Leaving Cert is quiet possibly the stupidest exam in exuistance. It is not a test of intelligance rather a test of what you can recall. It destroys any want to learn.

I know people who are spending 7 and 8 hours a day studying. These people may get 600 points but in ten years time theyll be in unfulfilling jobs, living at home at still be socially retarded. ply

it is the moast stupid ****ed up exam evr and u said exeatly what i was planning to say at the end of this message,
    Well said
    OK i cant belive i am spedning my time on this topic, ive always avoided this leaving cert forum because i thought it was full of those studying type ppl but i see there are several people who havent been conditioned into "the leaving cert is everything"

I noticed some post refering to the joiner cert, those of u that studyied for it - i laugh at you - think how much of ur life u completly wasted.

About cheating, it all depends if someone cheats in a online game i belive they should be given the death penalty.
    They cheat purley to annoy other pople. There are several gaming servers that are for cheaters only but the cheaters dont use them.

Cheating in the leaving cert is ok because there is no special leaving for those who cheat. the gaming cheaters have no excuse.

If someone wants to study 7+ hours a day wasting all there time you should warn them once - dont do it ur wasting all ur time - if they keep it up let them butr be ready to throw it back in there face if they do badly in the leaving or if they have a breakdown
    or if they study in collage for a certan course but cant get a job and have to work in some ****e job. If there life faills you just say to them Ha! you should have enjoyed your life instead of studying.

The leaving cert is the worst exam ever.
    u cant even do ****ing computers in it!
    I just dont understand you studying people.

Studying for leaving cert/school exams should be illigal (yes i know your all laughing but think about it for 1 second) If studying was illigal then the people who did well would be
    1.The smart people, the people who actually know stuff instead of the ppl who have no life and study 7+ hours a day
    2.Also people who cheat and study would win

I hate the leaving it is the worst exam ever. Why do u need french if u want to work in IT, did they pass some new law where all operating systems have to be only in french or something????

Also another thing i find very funny is the more people study the more the points go up, its very funny cause over 80% of ppl in my skool get grinds how sad is that. That also just brings up the overall points requirment.
    The more work u do the more work others will do and the more the points go up.
    If noone studyied everyone could just enjoy life.
    I would study if the leaving was different if you actually did subjects that where only relevent to the job u want.

EDIT: i posted a poll about this in afer hours a few months back.

There are 2 people.

Person1 = Studyiers all the time 7 hours a day every day. never did anything in life, didnt go out much just study study, never drank never experemented,. Bascelly just lived to study and do well.

Person2= had fun fun fun all the time never studied always did what he wanted. enjoyed his life.

Both of them do the leaving and the day they walkf out of there last test they both get hit by a car, both dead.

Who lived the better life? Person2. Like i said life is a gamble if we got hit by an astroid tomorrow its the ppl who have enjoyed life the fullest will have won over u studying wasters

The last thing i will say is
    "i wish misary failure and a horrible life for all you people that study"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭subway_ie

I wonder if anybody else finds it amusing that the people who proclaim to not need to study and that it's all beneath them are the ones who are making illogical and futile arguments. User45701 - many people would consider your likening of a real life situation to computer games and servers as being sad and geeky - just like you consider people who actually work hard in life as being sad. Just because you're not able to study and aren't cut out for the leaving cert, doesn't mean that it's a sad/stupid thing to do.

Originally posted by User45701
    Who lived the better life? Person2. Like i said life is a gamble if we got hit by an astroid tomorrow its the ppl who have enjoyed life the fullest will have won over u studying wasters

The last thing i will say is
    "i wish misary failure and a horrible life for all you people that study"

God you're sad/fukced up.

• Registered Users Posts: 654 ✭✭✭DS

Well what's your idea of a happy life? Do you intend to go out and get locked every weekend for the next 60 years? How are you going to fund this "fun fun fun all the time"? I'd love to know your secret, because then all the people who want a job that requires a degree that requires going to college that requires doing well in the LC that requires studying for the LC can simply give up and join you and your wild posse and live in eternal ecstasy with no responsibilities whatsoever.

That said, I find it hard to believe you're not taking the piss. If you're not, well you're one of the stupidest people I've ever come across and there's no point trying to reason with you.

• Registered Users Posts: 767 ✭✭✭nesthead

ye i didnt really make this clear....

i dont cheat (dont think i have the balls to anyway)
    i dont care if anyone else cheats (everyone does it everyday and theres nothing anyone can do to stop them, its a part of being human, and no, we dont live in perfect world)

the people who need to sacrifice thier lives in order to get points are stupid people with poor recall who can only remember stuff by low-intensity repetitive study. they have this politically correct, upstanding moral outlook on life that cannot exist in this society. the fact that cigarette companies and the porn industry exists are just miniscule proofs of this) i used to be like that, all these people need is a reality check.

people like this are far too concerned of what other people think of them, and not what they want for themselves. theyre told bull**** by teachers, parents and guidance councillers about what to do to "be sucessful", and they just accept it without questioning why they want to do whatever theyre going to do.

your points, your course and your job are not your life.

i know there are generalisations above, but generalisations contain truths.

Originally posted by nesthead

i know there are generalisations above, but generalisations contain truths.

Do I even need to say anything? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 302 ✭✭Grimlock

hmmmm, there are 2 very extreme views here, and in my humble opinion neither one is correct!
    I've been there, sat my leaving cert, currently in university, so I know, from my own experience what I'm talking about.
    I think the best approach is to find a happy medium, because you do need to work to do well in the LC but you need to be aware that there is life beyond the LC also.
    User45701 you may find you are very much on your own, I know that despite what most people say, especially blokes, they do study at home. I never understood that "I'm not studying" macho lie thing. There is usually one person who means it in every school, the perennial under achiever, dead smart but unwilling the put in the effort to reach even close to their potential. You don’t want to end up being the 35 yr old council worker in a night club on the pull with “the lads” who are 10 years younger than ya!
    Then there is the other side, the memorise, regurgitate, memorise crowd. The people who sit there and scowl if you mess during a free, calling you "immature", just because that bug up their ass associates having fun with something you did when you were 7. From my experience people like this are overly competitive and would stab their best friend in the back for an extra 5 points. And sure there is a chance they'll have more money when they are 30 than most others but tell me how good having a fancy house feels like when you spend your evenings in it alone.
    These people have bought into the "Leaving cert is everything" lie, and it is a lie! You don't need a good LC to earn good money, I can think of a lot of people who were just not academically inclined from my school who are now doing very well for themselves. I'm also seeing a lot of people who have gone through college to find there are very few/no jobs in their field. There’s not much point working hard through school and college to reap no reward at the end.
    If you are due to sit your leaving cert soon, then good luck but just know that it's not going to define you, in 5 years time you will probably have forgotten your results.
    Careers require hard work and a little bit of luck and you don't need to cheat or step on other people to progress and stay away from people who do cheat and step on others.
    </my 2 cent>
    btw Subway where you not the one who started the thread, "how to cheat in the LC" with the line "Any ideas?"
    You seem to have changed your tune.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,478 ✭✭✭GoneShootin

Do I even need to say anything?

I wish you wouldnt....

• Registered Users Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

Originally posted by Grimlock

User45701 you may find you are very much on your own, I know that despite what most people say, especially blokes, they do study at home. I never understood that "I'm not studying" macho lie thing. There is usually one person who means it in every school, the perennial under achiever, dead smart but unwilling the put in the effort to reach even close to their potential. You don’t want to end up being the 35 yr old council worker in a night club on the pull with “the lads” who are 10 years younger than ya!

Interesting point but why would i go out with ppl 10 years younger then me?
    I do like the weekends and drinking but i couldent see myself going out with much younger people.
    Yes i am very much on my own as u said.
    Originally posted by Discharger Snake
    Well what's your idea of a happy life? Do you intend to go out and get locked every weekend for the next 60 years? How are you going to fund this "fun fun fun all the time"? I'd love to know your secret, because then all the people who want a job that requires a degree that requires going to college that requires doing well in the LC that requires studying for the LC can simply give up and join you and your wild posse and live in eternal ecstasy with no responsibilities whatsoever.

That said, I find it hard to believe you're not taking the piss. If you're not, well you're one of the stupidest people I've ever come across and there's no point trying to reason with you.

U called me stupuid but you just said
    Originally posted by Discharger Snake
    doing well in the LC that requires studying for the LC

doing well in the LC requires studyuing for the LC, you are saying that in a topic about cheating in the LC. That is stupid

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭minority

I did the LC about 15 years ago.
    One of the guys in my school made a fortune from cheating, and his brother the next year.
    Everybody doing the leaving cert in our school the year i did cheated because this guy came up with a pure genius easy way to cheat with no fear of getting caught.
    We just told the potential rats that they would die first if we were caught.
    One girl who was like the school genius started harping on about us cheating ourselves. After the exam i saw the evidence on her desk ha ha. Maybe 590 points wasnt good enough for her, she had to cheat the other 10.

Anyway after the leaving uni is easy. Cheated in the leaving, got to uni, didnt cheat there and got a 1.1

The guy who came up with the method is now the co-owner of one of the most succesful it companies in the country

doing well in the LC requires studyuing for the LC, you are saying that in a topic about cheating in the LC. That is stupid

Just so we're clear - if you cheat in the LC, you're not "doing well", you're cheating. And, this topic isn't actually trying to encourage people to cheat, it was more about seeing how many people actually cheat/what people thought of those who cheat. I'm fairly sure the majority of people here won't be cheating (and the few who do: if their debating skills are as good as their cheating skills, then they should really reconsider the cheating thing...).
    btw Subway where you not the one who started the thread, "how to cheat in the LC" with the line "Any ideas?"

If you'd read anything that I've posted, you'd see that I wasn't condoning/encouraging/looking for ways to actually cheat. Just a way to start conversation, which seems to have worked quite well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭minority

Well for anyone blind eough to think that you dont do better in the leaving cert if you cheat.

Dont cheat = 400
    cheat = 410

Dont cheat = 450
    Cheat = 470

Break it down whatever way you want. If you would not have got the answer you would have got 0 marks for it. Cheat and get it and that 10, 15 or whatever.

Thats better than they would have done without cheating :)

I bet you'll all be so honest with your taxes etc in later life.

Originally posted by minority
    I bet you'll all be so honest with your taxes etc in later life.

People around here are so fond of huge generalisations...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 302 ✭✭Grimlock

If you'd read anything that I've posted, you'd see that I wasn't condoning/encouraging/looking for ways to actually cheat. Just a way to start conversation, which seems to have worked quite well.
    Oh I read your posts, and I have noted your current stance on the moral high ground but if I had been trying to start a thread on people opinions about cheating in the LC then that's exactly what I would have asked.
    "how to cheat in the LC" followed by "got any ideas" is fishing I don't care what you say, the initial re-action was;
    cheaters are scum
    and you ran to the moral high ground.
    And if you were somehow innocently asking for people opinions but wrote what you did in the beginning then your grasp of the english language is suspect to say the least!
    So what is it; a change of tune or piss poor english?!

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Poll added as requested by subway_ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭Superman

I think its fair enough to cheat in an exam if its nopt important in the greater scheme of things. like if someone is really artistic but needs to get a pass in maths/irish to do the course they like, say one in NCAD , then it is ok to cheat at those subjects cause your not really harming anybody. But if you cheat at say accountancy and business so you can go do commerce then its bad cause you took a place of someone who tried hard at those subjects and put in work to get the commerce course.

Originally posted by Grimlock
    And if you were somehow innocently asking for people opinions but wrote what you did in the beginning then your grasp of the english language is suspect to say the least!
    So what is it; a change of tune or piss poor english?!

First, the whole reason I phrased it like that (mentioning the legality of it all) was to get people to think about it for a second, give their opinions. Second, the "any ideas?" was in reference to ways people cheat, first hand experience or otherwise. It was a round-about way of asking "have you ever done it/seen any body do it in exams?".
    If I was going to cheat, then I'd say so. This place has (relative) annonymity, there's no reason to pretend that I don't cheat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭Superman

Originally posted by subway_ie
    If I was going to cheat, then I'd say so. This place has (relative) annonymity, there's no reason to pretend that I don't cheat.

look at the mind games :)!
    your trying to get the reader to think themselves into a corner

then you use all those double negatives!
    what does "there's no reason to pretend that I don't cheat." mean!!!

Bah, there's nothing wrong with a bit of negativity. A translation just for you Superman:
    "then you use all those double negatives!
    what does "there's no reason to pretend that I don't cheat." mean!!!" = "There is no reason for me to come on here and pretend to be something that I'm not (ie, a person who doesn't cheat)".

It is quite interesting that just because I said I don't cheat/don't like people who cheat, Grimlock thinks that I'm some kind of fraud...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭dangerman

the people who need to sacrifice thier lives in order to get points are stupid people with poor recall who can only remember stuff by low-intensity repetitive study. they have this politically correct, upstanding moral outlook on life that cannot exist in this society. the fact that cigarette companies and the porn industry exists are just miniscule proofs of this) i used to be like that, all these people need is a reality check.

people like this are far too concerned of what other people think of them, and not what they want for themselves. theyre told bull**** by teachers, parents and guidance councillers about what to do to "be sucessful", and they just accept it without questioning why they want to do whatever theyre going to do.

your points, your course and your job are not your life. .

I cannot believe you felt the need to say all that.
    Is this fight club?

How bloody cliched can you get?

You are not your bank account rabble rabble rabble.
    The persuit of material gain is an empty one. blah blah.

You are so wise. By the way, 'your points, your course and your job are not your life.' Why that couldn't be more the politically correct, moralistic 'cool' way to think in young people today. How bloody obvious and sheep like can you get.

People who want to do well are *not* stupid. They are simply different to you. You proclaim all this wonderous doctrine bullcrap from the highest mountains about how the lc doesn't define you and then off you go absolutely slamming those who 'conform' to it.

If someone wants to be a doctor or a vet, then conforming to the system is pretty much their only option. Playing the game sometimes does not make you stupid. Playing by the rules and winning is far more rewarding. At least they'll get to know themselves, know their own capabilties, know more about their strengths & weaknesses.

Also, everyone in this thread is repeatedly fond of pointing out that 'the people who cheat and get away with it are pretty smart for beating the system, and go on to be damned successful. I know this guy who...'

LOL. What a dumb arguement.

I gurantee you that if you compare those who cheat and do well and those who don't cheat that those who don't cheat end up, if nothing else, a little wiser. They actually experience work & reward properly. Having the cop on not to cheat instantly raises you above those who do.

Obviously, the leaving certificate is not the end of the world. You'd have to be so so stupid to think it. But at the same time, why not try hard at it? Why not? Why not just put in the hours, put in the sweat, put in the tears? Give it a shot.

In the end its about honesty. I don't care how anyone chooses to try and justify cheating. It's dishonest. It's lieing. It's a bad thing. It's bad karma. It's bad bad bad. Honesty is a really really nice trait in people. Dishonesty in any aspect of life is always negative. User pointed out about how it upsets him in online games when cheaters log on; good analagy. They are srewing the system to gain unfair advantage at the cost of everyone else.

Don't do it kids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 583 ✭✭✭stuey

What has to be one of the fastest growing threads ever, is to also be the stupidest. I cannot believe that there are so many people that would even think about cheating in the leaving. There is so much at stake and your willing to risk the rest of your lives if you get caught. And don’t even think of giving the argument that "I won’t get caught". 5 years ago I guy in my school was caught cheating with a programmable calculator. He was banned for seven years from doing the leaving. His life is ruined. He will not be accepted to any college and will have to pay his way through all by himself even if by some miracle he gets into a third level course of some kind.

If you go and cheat your basically saying "feck this, screw you all, I’m cheating"
    What kind of attitude is that to have to life?

I would be lying and so would most people, if I said that I have never cheated in a test. But I would not for a second think of cheating in the leaving. I hope all you cheaters get caught

• Registered Users Posts: 767 ✭✭✭nesthead

ye i was thinking of fight club when i wrote that :D but thats no reason to slam me stereotypical catagory for saying it, you dont know me.

i could say "its bad karma" is cliched too but i have a sense of humour.

like I said before, i dont care if anyone cheats. id cheat in the leaving if i actually thought it would make a difference, but its easier just to learn the stuff.

[edit]Voted: No, there's too much to lose [/edit]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 761 ✭✭✭PrecariousNuts

There are 2 people.

Person1 = Studyiers all the time 7 hours a day every day. never did anything in life, didnt go out much just study study, never drank never experemented,. Bascelly just lived to study and do well.

Person2= had fun fun fun all the time never studied always did what he wanted. enjoyed his life.

Both of them do the leaving and the day they walkf out of there last test they both get hit by a car, both dead.

Did you ever stop and think that while you might see "Person 2" as the ideal rolemodel someone else might not? I know it might sound strange but there are people out there who genuinely love to further themselves by learning. They are a different breed, probably too mature for their age. While you might love to party hard, these want to make a live for themselves, they work hard and reap the benefits.

However I know a good few cases where people "swat" all day long and are exceptionally boring/annoying and even then still fair poorly in exams. I actually don't know what to think about them.

You just have to realise your definition of "living life to the fullest" does not neccesarily mean drinking and partying.

And I'll just add that I get kicks out of solving maths/physics proofs however I still go to the occasional party and get pissed. I like to think that I maintain a good equilibrium (Le Chateliers Principle heh) between "Person 1" and "Person 2".

Originally posted by PrecariousNuts
    And I'll just add that I get kicks out of solving maths/physics proofs however I still go to the occasional party and get pissed. I like to think that I maintain a good equilibrium (Le Chateliers Principle heh) between "Person 1" and "Person 2".

I think people also have to remember that there's a big difference between not bothering to study for the leaving cert, and not bothering to study for and cheating in the leaving cert. If you dont want to study, and want to enjoy life through constant partying/drinking, etc, then fine. But the problem is with people who dont want to study, want to have the great social life, and want to get the points by cheating.

But the problem is with people who dont want to study, want to have the great social life, and want to get the points by cheating

yeah that is a big problem
    the ppl who have enjoyed life the fullest will have won over u studying wasters

Im a person who does no study and enjoys life, but i dont think that everybody that studys are automatically wasters. You cant expect everybody to have the same views as you. If it makes them happy and gives them a sense of satisfaction let them study.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

You cant expect everybody to have the same views as you. If it makes them happy and gives them a sense of satisfaction let them study.

and can the same be said for people choosing to cheat?

but the problem with people who cheat is that they are basically saying to the whole school "feck this, screw you all". if you cheat it will always come back to haunt you. you'll be remembered as "that cheatin wanker". isn't that a nice image

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,402 ✭✭✭nxbyveromdwjpg

but the problem with people who cheat is that they are basically saying to the whole school "feck this, screw you all".

how is that a problem?

if you cheat it will always come back to haunt you. you'll be remembered as "that cheatin wanker". isn't that a nice image

hahah you cant be serious... i hope you're taking the piss