Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bank of Ireland Chief executive resigns after "inappropriate" internet use

• 29-05-2004 5:26pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 801 ✭✭✭

http://www.breakingnews.ie/2004/05/29/story149953.html
    The Chief Executive of the Bank of Ireland Group, Michael Soden has resigned.

Mr Soden has issued a statement admitting that he had accessed Internet sites forbidden under bank policy.

Mr Soden said the content of the websites accessed was not illegal but did contain links to material of an adult nature.

Eamon Quinn, Business Editor of the Sunday Business Post, said the resignation came as a result of enquiries made by the paper in relation to an article due to appear in tomorrow's paper.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭dangerman

Mr Soden said the content of the websites accessed was not illegal but did contain links to material of an adult nature.

u mean like google? ;)

Sigh. The CEO of a company can't look at porn in his own office. What's the point of being at the top?

Well done to the Sunday Business Post for such incredibly helpful public service.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Originally posted by dangerman
    Sigh. The CEO of a company can't look at porn in his own office. What's the point of being at the top?
    What's the point in implementing a policy that the top brass can just ignore?
    You'll find that most large businesses implement security and acceptable usage policies that no-one is exempt from.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 801 ✭✭✭dod

There are suddenly a number of senior vacancies in the Dublin banking market between recent AIB revelations... and now this from BoI.

• Registered Users Posts: 78,423 ✭✭✭✭Victor

For a moment I thought Soden might have been accessing his AIB account on-line. :)
    Originally posted by dod
    There are suddenly a number of senior vacancies in the Dublin banking market between recent AIB revelations... and now this from BoI.
    I wonder where they will get the staff ;):(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

One the one hand I tip my hat to Michael Soden on the other hand what a dumb charge to resign over. Surely a slap off the wrist would have done? ;)

Mike.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

One the one hand I tip my hat to Michael Soden on the other hand what a dumb charge to resign over. Surely a slap off the wrist would have done?

Sounds like a resign or be fired situation to me ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭sixtysix

surely bank of ireland were forced to withdraw funding for a porn business recently!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 jhonan

"You mean to tell me the job description said BANKing??......"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Originally posted by jhonan
    "You mean to tell me the job description said BANKing??......"

ROFL! (smart-ass newbie!)

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 479 ✭✭phoenix2181

My supsions are that he was looking at more then just "normal porn", I worked for the bank a couple of years ago & a manager of a cetain central city branch was caught with over 300meg of porn (he had a thing for Pamala anderson) & loads of porn dialers on his laptop, nothing was said & it was all covered up, the same rule would apply to soden, the bank IMO is covering up/ saving face for something more then good wholesome porn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭alleepally

Originally posted by phoenix2181
    My supsions are that he was looking at more then just "normal porn", I worked for the bank a couple of years ago & a manager of a cetain central city branch was caught with over 300meg of porn (he had a thing for Pamala anderson) & loads of porn dialers on his laptop, nothing was said & it was all covered up, the same rule would apply to soden, the bank IMO is covering up/ saving face for something more then good wholesome porn

So are you talking child abuse pictures?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭minority

Originally posted by phoenix2181

You might be onto somthing there. There was a guy working in Dell in Bray who got fired for downloading animal porn(the famous dalmation scene). It was in fact child porn. My friend was one of his superiors who had to go through the sick stuff to gether it up for the cops. He was crying when he was telling me this.

Originally posted by minority
    You might be onto somthing there. There was a guy working in Dell in Bray who got fired for downloading animal porn(the famous dalmation scene). It was in fact child porn. My friend was one of his superiors who had to go through the sick stuff to gether it up for the cops. He was crying when he was telling me this.

Somone slipped up there. If there was child porn on a pc, surely the Gardai would have been brought in and not left evidence to be gathered by someone else?

that's bizarre.

ps - use the term child abuse, not child porn.

Originally posted by alleepally
    Somone slipped up there. If there was child porn on a pc, surely the Gardai would have been brought in and not left evidence to be gathered by someone else?

that's bizarre.

ps - use the term child abuse, not child porn.

Theu guards were brought in, but they are couldnt 'browse' the company network without someone there to 'browse' it for/with them.
    I'm not sure of the reasons, i think either company security, or the fact that they wouldnt know where to look being new to it.

You would think though that they have the power to have free reign on the network for the investigation. I think they did but needed help

Remember though that this is just second hand info given to me, so dont go accusing anyone who ever left Dell of being pervs :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭pork99

Anyone in AIB going to resign for theft & fraud?

Originally posted by pork99
    Anyone in AIB going to resign for theft & fraud?

[sarcasm on]
    White collar crime? Not likely. Sure there's no victim
    [/sarcasm off]

Sure look at the waste in the public service. money spent on keeping the government look good. money spent on the electronic voting machines which I believe will NEVER be used no matter what anyone says. I'd love to bring a "class action" against the government for wastage of public money.

Anyway, back to the subject.

I have an AIB account, invested some money, bought travellers cheques etc .
    I cant remember how much or when i did.

How do i get compensated for the foregin exchange crap..... I wont i bet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 867 ✭✭✭l3rian

minority: ring the bank and ask how to get your refunds

what an idiot :confused:, he works so hard to get the ceo position and then starts downloading porn, he must have known everything is trackable

Hmmm,
    According to Today FM, it was only an escort agency site that he was looking at which had links to porn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,018 ✭✭✭Hairy Homer

Now how do you think the SBP got hold of that titbit (sorry) of information?

Why, somebody told them of course.

And who do you think would

a) have the werewithal to spot what sites a CEO was visiting and

b) have it in for him so much as to want to tell somebody about it?

Maybe a former BoI employee in the IT department who became on April 1st this year a HP employee?

I surmise, of course. But if you're going to shaft a goodly proportion of your staff then remember the first rule of watching your back:

don't leave knives lying around where your enemies can find them.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,033 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Maybe a former BoI employee in the IT department who became on April 1st this year a HP employee?

bingo, probably had his name on an official audit report and the man had to go
    bottom line is this guy is loaded, if he wanted to do whatever surfing he should had did it from his own gaff, he didnt need to keep his internet fees down, everyone knows you don't do this on company pc's, el stupido

My stuff for sale on Adverts inc. EDDI, hot water cylinder, roof rails...

Public Profile active ads for slave1 (adverts.ie)

Originally posted by l3rian
    minority: ring the bank and ask how to get your refunds

what an idiot :confused:, he works so hard to get the ceo position and then starts downloading porn, he must have known everything is trackable

I called them, but was told i need receipts.
    Who keep receipts from 8 years ago for foreign ex

Nobody know what the guy downloaded to be fair

The Herild claims he was looking at escort sites.

http://home.eircom.net/content/unison/national/3300612?view=Eircomnet
    Disgraced chief shopped by outsourced workers
    Monday, 31st May, 2004

THE division of Bank of Ireland which caught its boss Mike Soden viewing internet porn had been outsourced by the chief executive to Hewlett Packard, against the wishes of staff.

The information technology workers at one point took industrial action to voice their displeasure at becoming employees of Hewlett Packard.

It has emerged that it was the same staff who informed the bank last Wednesday that Mr Soden had been viewing soft porn on his office desktop computer.

He resigned on Saturday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 867 ✭✭✭l3rian

:D revenge is sweet

• Registered Users Posts: 4,616 ✭✭✭milltown

I did laugh at the outsourcing to HP biting him in the 4ss but I thought the icing on the cake was that one of the first things he did after he became chief executive was update and sign off the acceptable usage policy for the bank.

How much more rope was he going to give his enemies?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 479 ✭✭phoenix2181

Now how do you think the SBP got hold of that titbit (sorry) of information?

Why, somebody told them of course.

And who do you think would

a) have the werewithal to spot what sites a CEO was visiting and

b) have it in for him so much as to want to tell somebody about it?

*cough* don't know anything about that at all.......*sound of car wheel spin, & a high speed getaway*

all I can say is what goes around comes around!
    hopefully soden will be getting a letter from a lawyer on behalf of his wife for half of everything he owns

I hear the eircom share price is up ;)