Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Brian Kerr

• 30-05-2004 5:27pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭

I thought I would start a new thread about how great Kerr really is. I've never been particularly found of managers, but I defintely rate him

Isnt the best single thing, that has happened to irish soccer, can be summed up in one word "Kerr".

I have to hand it to the guy, it has done a real great job underage, and has started to sort the irish setup finally !!

I dont think any other manager would have brought Roy back and we defintely look a far better team with him in it (like it or not).

Also the individual DVD's showing the players fúck ups are well welcome, some of those clowns at times defintely need to look at their own performances. (I would like to make one out to Robbie, and Clint and send it to them!! :P)

It looks like already he has the starting 11 more or less sorted, and is now dealing with the B team or some of the younger players that we will have to rely on with all these games for the qualifiers coming so close.

so whats everyones thoughts on the job he has done so far ?

I hope he give Mc Geady a chance in the next 2 games, we need to see what he is like.

Brian Kerr 28 votes

Kerr is a great manager,one of the best we have ever!
    0% 0 votes
    Kerr is crap, one of the worst we ever have
    75% 21 votes
    Dont Know/Dont Care/ other etc
    25% 7 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

Kerr= God

That is all.

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,064 ✭✭✭BKtje

He has done nothign yet to be considered one of the best we've ever had. He looks like he could be tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,003 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

I've been impressed by him to date, he appears to be doing a good job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Those options are too polarised to produce an effective set of results.

Whilst I'll be the first to admit that I don't have complete confidence in Kerr I have no doubt that he isn't our worst manager ever ... as some of our managerial choices pre-EoinHand (Giles in particular) will prove.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ShriekingSheet

The way I see it,

Kerr is coming from a relatively humble backround -managing and playing (for the mighty Bluebell!) and has recognised the merits of a simplistic, back to basics approach to international management. In a way I think he's better positioned than many high profile managers to do this because he isn't concerned presenting himself as a slick tactical guru!

I just think when you're working for brief, spuradic periods with well drilled professionals used to doing things a certain way at their respective clubs - clear, concise tactics and training are the best way to promote unity and cohesion in a melting pot squad. Kerr seems to hit the nail on the head here!

Not really humble unless you consider England as part of irish football in how players and managers should progress in their careers.
    He led a EL team to the league twice with 2 squads so best EL manager at the time. Then led youths to success, natural step up from there is the full team.
    I wouldnt say humble beginings as he has progressed tru Irish football very well.
    Also had that UEFA technical directors job for a while.

kdjac

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭vorbis

I have my doubts about Kerr. Might just be me but in attempting to micro control every detail, he seems in danger of turning ireland away from the team spirit they always had towards the collection of individuals that most European nations (Germany excepted) put out for internationals.

Also regarding his record, its not great. This is a completely unfair comparison but in terms of euro qualifiers, McCarthy had one bad result and kerr had two.

Defeat at home to the swiss under McCarthy was a dreadful result. Losing away to Russia was though par for the course and wouldn't imo be termed a bad result for a manager (Russia have suffered ONE home defeat since 1950).

Kerr imo had a pretty bad result in failing to beat the Russians (this russian team lost away to georgia and are in general a shadow of themselves on the road). The defeat away to Switzerland was a bad result mainly for the appalling lack of performance in the match.

The other matches in the group are irrelevant in assessing the manager. ANY irish manager would be expected to gain victories over the likes of Albania and Georgia.

The wc qualifiers will define whether Kerr is a good or a bad manager.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

I think he has done alright. But the verdict is out on him until the end of the WC 2006 qualifiers. Then and only then, should be the time for us to judge him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I dont agree with him being in the job tbh. In any other country you have to have a relatively decent amount of professional experience before they will let you near the international side. At the end of the day Kerr go the job for one reason: he was cheap.

Hes had two big games so far in the Ireland job, Switzerland and Russia, and we lost both. Friendlies mean nothing and anyone who took the Brazil result as us being great needs their head checked, they did just enough to make sure they didnt lose. The tell tale games are the competitve ones.

As for Keane coming back, KErr did this to make himself look good, he knew that without Roy we were ****ed and knew that Roy would basically do the job for him. Roy is the one who will be motivating the team on the pitch and give the bite back thats needed.

At the end of the day hes a second rate manager, otherwise he would have been given a decent job in England long ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭AngelofFire

He has a better record in his first 15 games in charge then mick mccarthy and jack charlton put together. If he had of been in charge of the team from the start of the euro qualification campaign i believe that we would of made it.Bringing Roy keane back was not a personal stunt, it was roy who back in january stated his desire to return. Brian`s an intelligent coach and he knows that it makes most footballing sense that roy is back in the team as it will greatly increase our chances of qualifying for germany in 2006.However his real test lies with the impending qualification campaign and i believe he can get us there.

As I said, the only test of a manager is in competitive games and for my money his record isnt that good at all, Beat Georgia twice, Drew with and beat Albania, and lost to Russia and Switzerland. Not great by any standards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭thejollyrodger

where is Mc Carthy now if he was so good ? he was crap and couldnt even count to 11.

Jack Charlton sold soccer to irish people but thats about it, tatics were ugly as fúck.

Ireland will never loose its team spirit no matter how hard it tries, but proper planning organisation and coaching is what the side desperately needs. Just look at robbie keane FFS could have been a great striker, now looks like a school boy gone mad out on the pitch.

Kerr must be good or O Shea and Keane (with the UTD set up !!) wouldnt have backed him.

And anyone trying to argue that that unity cup peice of **** is worth anything needs their head examined, just as any pro what they think of it...

Just watch the great results this team is going to achieve in the next 2 years !! and kerrs pay back with intrest to those scummy swiss

Originally posted by Stekelly
    As I said, the only test of a manager is in competitive games and for my money his record isnt that good at all, Beat Georgia twice, Drew with and beat Albania, and lost to Russia and Switzerland. Not great by any standards.
    When did Russia beat Ireland? This just shows how ridiculus your comments are, that you don't even remember what the score was in that game.

Sorry meant draw, had the fixture list the wrong way up, still not a good performance

The switzerland result was the biggest roll over and die farce ubtil monaco in the CL final.

A draw with ALbania, yeah all the greats drop points to Albania.

And Robbie Keane needs a kick in the arse. He has to do the hard thing everytime.If he took the simple option (a la Roy Keane, which is what makes him great) he'd have beaten Niall Quinns record ages ago and score a lot more in the league.

What else would you expect with the midfield we had at the time. What was it? Kinsella and Holland?! Any team would walk over you with a midfield like that.

A draw with ALbania, yeah all the greats drop points to Albania.
    Didn't they draw with England, or run them close when they played them in the 2002 WC Qualifiers? They aren't a bad side.

Originally posted by PORNAPSTER
    What else would you expect with the midfield we had at the time. What was it? Kinsella and Holland?! Any team would walk over you with a midfield like that.

So then by that reckoning, now that we have Roy back the wins arent down to Kerr because we have a great midfield, the manager is there and is responsible for thet eam, win or lose, with the team he has

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,966 ✭✭✭Jivin Turkey

Originally posted by thejollyrodger
    where is Mc Carthy now if he was so good ? he was crap and couldnt even count to 11.

Jack Charlton sold soccer to irish people but thats about it, tatics were ugly as fúck.

Ireland will never loose its team spirit no matter how hard it tries, but proper planning organisation and coaching is what the side desperately needs. Just look at robbie keane FFS could have been a great striker, now looks like a school boy gone mad out on the pitch.

McCarthy cant even count to 11? What does that mean?

And by the way, hes manager of Sunderland. When he took over they had lost a premiership record of games in a row (or maybe he took over just before they "achieved" that record). They went down and he turned the team around and only for a late goal against WBA they probably would have got automatic promotion. In the playoffs as usual the form team coming into them came up even though Palace finished in 6th and Sunderland 3rd.

And yes Robbie does look like a schoolboy, he has done since the world cup, interestingly McCarthys last game in charge.

Kerr has a lot to prove, his record so far is not great.

Didn't they draw with England, or run them close when they played them in the 2002 WC Qualifiers? They aren't a bad side.

They lost 3-1 and 2-0. England dont really score loads of goals against anyone. After all they didnt score more than 2 in any of their EC Quals, in a group that included Liechtenstein.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭Dewey

Brian Kerr has never lost to Russia. We drew with the 1-1 at home and lost 4-2 away under McCarthy.

Brian is doing a good job and i belive he is the right man but no one will care if he has won the most friendlys. its about getting to touraments and that is what he will be judged on. and dont forget we were missing Robbie Keane for the Russia game and Cunningham for the Swiss game.

Kerr did well to get Keano back and i mean that the set-up must be better if O'Shea was telling Keane it was better then before.

I think Kerr has the player to get to Germany in 2006 but we will have to wait and see. fingers-crossed.

So then by that reckoning, now that we have Roy back the wins arent down to Kerr because we have a great midfield, the manager is there and is responsible for thet eam, win or lose, with the team he has
    Thats like saying Wolves should have won the Premiership with Ince and Rae in midfield. And that makes Dave Jones a crap manager. Totally stupid.

Good players like Roy Keane don't exactly grow on trees in Ireland you know. Fair play to Kerr he got him back to strengthen up our weak area.

Thats like saying Wolves should have won the Premiership with Ince and Rae in midfield. And that makes Dave Jones a crap manager. Totally stupid.

Good players like Roy Keane don't exactly grow on trees in Ireland you know. Fair play to Kerr he got him back to strengthen up our weak area.

No, your arguement was that we lost because we had Kinsella and Holland in midfield not because of Kerr, so my point was that its equally not becaus eof him if we win with Keane

Keane has played and been coached by Kerr before and knew him before Keane even left ireland to play for Forest.

Kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,654 ✭✭✭The Rooster

I was delighted when Brian Kerr was appointed manager.

I was disappointed with his squads and teams for the Euro qualifiers. He continued picking the same squads and teams that McCarthy was picking. Changes and gambles were needed to get out of the group.

I have been happy with his recent squads and teams. Things are looking good for the future - just a pity we have France in our qualifying group, but I'd still fancy us for 2nd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,018 ✭✭✭Hairy Homer

Too early to say yet. Mind you, the one stark fact is that he managed a team to third place in a qualifying tournament, and we have NEVER finished lower than second when an 'English' manager was in charge.

Then again, last qualifying tourned was always going to be a rebuilding one and he seems to be giving the young lads a go - just like the much maligned McCarthy did - so he's still deserving of best wishes.

BTW What on earth were city centre pubs doing showing F***ing Crystal Palace v F***ing West Ham when the Ireland Nigeria game was available on satellite? Has the globalisation of our soccer fraternity come to this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,654 ✭✭✭The Rooster

The Ireland v Nigeria was pay per view, so would have required a chunk of money. Not sure what Setanta were charging commercially (a ridiculous 10 euro for residential users), but publicans being what they are, I'm not surprised many didnt stump up.

McCarthy cant even count to 11? What does that mean?

Remember that match in the world cup against spain ?
    we could have beaten them, if we had a better manager.

Mick was good but not great, he is a grafter and well suited to fighting it out for promotion. I doubt he or Charlton or anyone else would have undertook all these friendlies and had the vision thing.

There is a lot of positions all over the park where there is competition for places, that was NEVER the case before.

Just look at the options at the back and midfield at the moment.

Kerr has given lads a chance, that I would have never let near a football and is already reaping the rewards.

Its all still to early as people say, if we qualify as we no doubt will in second position, everyone will say he is a great manager, but its more than that, its what legacy the manger leaves behind, and how he helps irish football to evolve.

but one thing Kerr HAS to sort out is our beloved 'robbie'/I have been reading to many "Roy of the rovers" comics.

The fact he hasnt broken Quinns goal scoring record is a joke! He needs a serious kick up the hole and a manager to sit down and show all his cock ups on widescreen T.V.

Someone has obviously been having a word with clint to the betterment of his game but he belongs in the 1st division. Up front needs to be sorted out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 429 ✭✭ella minnow pea

Keane has scored 19 goals in 50 apperances. He last scored for Ireland in the Czech Rep game in March. He didn't score against Romania, and he didn't score against Nigeria, at the end of a season where he started injured and experienced a loss of form but still was voted Spurs Player of the Year. Jebus I wouldn't call not scoring for two games a goal drought. Michael Owen has 5 more goals in 4 more apperances, but come on, you can't say Robbie is as good as a former European Player of The Year.

Originally posted by ella minnow pea
    Keane has scored 19 goals in 50 apperances. He last scored for Ireland in the Czech Rep game in March. He didn't score against Romania, and he didn't score against Nigeria, at the end of a season where he started injured and experienced a loss of form but still was voted Spurs Player of the Year. Jebus I wouldn't call not scoring for two games a goal drought. Michael Owen has 5 more goals in 4 more apperances, but come on, you can't say Robbie is as good as a former European Player of The Year.

The point isnt really the amount of goals he HAS scored but more the amount he HASNT. He misses a shocking amount of chance or opts for the "i'll just go back a bit here and beat these four playerss before i score into an empty goal that im standing in front of already approach, that he must have learnt from watching El Haj Diouff (sp?) and thats never a good thing, no-one should play like that abomination of a waste of whatever Houllier payed for him (10M or so?)

Annnnnnnnnnnnnnnnyhoo, back on topic, Keane seriously needs to tone down the showboating, the fact is he just doesnt have the skill of a Di Canio or a Bergkamp. Van Nistlrooy scores because hes a finisher and if he sees a chance he hits it, Keane seems to want to do sumting spectacular before shooting.

I'm not stating anything solid here because i havnt checked stats, but how many of Robbies goals have been in Friendlies Vs in competitive matchs ,just wondering.

O, any quinn was huge and just needed the ball to be lobbed in the direction of the box to have a chance, he was by no means a great player, so I dont thinkit should be a massive achievment to beat his goalscoring, I do think Robbie will at least double Quinns total in the end, but unfortunatley unless he changes, it'll be down to the fact that he'll have played about 150 games and cant help but score in some, but if he does cop on, he could set a massive record.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

It is very early to judge Kerr as a senior international manager. One qualifying group, that had a disastrous start under the previous incumbent. It is well known on this forum that I lend no weight to friendlies, and the same goes in this argument, so I won't even mention them.

I will say one thing. Kerr's treatment of Jason Byrne was nothing short of a disgrace. It was a cut and dried case of tokenism, a cynical ploy to keep his lot in with the supporters of the eircom League, and it hasn't worked. Anyone who goes to Shelbourne games will back me up here. Maybe Kerr doesn't rate the eircom League, and in that case he shouldn't even go near it to choose players. If he feels better picking players from the English Third Division ahead of the eircom League's in-form striker, then so be it. But please don't patronise players by taking them halfway accross Europe then throwing them on for four minutes of injury time. What is any striker supposed to do in that amount of time. If, as suggested, friendly games are an opportunity for managers to have a look at new players, what is four minutes of injury time going to show anyone?

The point isnt really the amount of goals he HAS scored but more the amount he HASNT..........Keane seems to want to do sumting spectacular before shooting.

I agree completely !!

If this is Robbie the finished product then im not going to be his number one fan. Robbie should just hit it first time at goal or play it off to the 2nd man in the box for a while.

(Jason Byrne)..... Kerr feels better picking players from the English Third Division ahead of the eircom League's in-form striker...... friendly games are an opportunity for managers to have a look at new players, what is four minutes of injury time going to show anyone?

yeah, Kerr has to play everyone in the squad,
    Each of the 30 + odd players should be given a crack, if they reckon they are up to it. Dead wood can then be removed without 'what if's'.

So what if we dont get a positive result in the friendlies, they mean completly nothing and we shouldnt be too bothered about loosing a few if knowledge is gained.

That nigeria game was worth something, even if we did loose, namely that Cunnigham is a serious libablity when the games are close together, or there is someone with pace attacking him and Mc Phail (spell) might be yet another potential for midfield.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,981 ✭✭✭Big Ears

Originally posted by vorbis
    I

Also regarding his record, its not great. This is a completely unfair comparison but in terms of euro qualifiers, McCarthy had one bad result and kerr had two.

Kerr made the best start any Ireland manager has ever had .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Originally posted by Big Ears
    Kerr made the best start any Ireland manager has ever had .

OK, so he lost less games than any other manager in his first number of games, but how many of the games played under Kerr have been of a competitive nature. Managers should be judged on these games, not friendlies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

but one thing Kerr HAS to sort out is our beloved 'robbie'/I have been reading to many "Roy of the rovers" comics.

The fact he hasnt broken Quinns goal scoring record is a joke! He needs a serious kick up the hole and a manager to sit down and show all his cock ups on widescreen T.V.
    I don't think he's loved by most people on this board after reading some of the things said about him. He has scored a quarter of Ireland's goals since Kerr took over. He had an off game against Romania but it was only a friendly, he always produces the goods when he's needed (Germany, Spain, Iran). He seems to be frustrated at not having a decent partner.
    and Mc Phail (spell) might be yet another potential for midfield.
    I hope you're joking, he was the worst player on the pitch by a long way.

I don't think Kerr can be judged yet. He took over after we had been beaten in our first two group matches and it was believed he would have to win every match to qualify ( a few slip ups by Russia and Switzerland gave us a bit of hope though). His first competitive match in charge against Georgia he played with a midfield of Carsley-Holland-Kinsella-Kilbane. That is a woeful midfield but he had no choice, Healy and McPhail were the only two midfielders on the bench, Duff played up front as Keane wasn't available.

We had no options in midfield but since than he has capped 17 midfielders (11 of which have a realistic chance of playing a part in the qualifiers). He has more or less gotten rid of the bad players of McCarthy's generation and reduced the average age of the squad by an awful lot. I don't think its a coincidence that so many defenders and midfielders have suddenly came along since Kerr took over, he works faster than McCarthy by taking risks and capping players at a younger age.

If Mick was still around I have no doubt that Breen would be partnering Cunningham at the back, Harte would probably still be getting his game, Kilbane would be playing terrible and completely low in confidence (also probably still playing at Sunderland). Carsley and Kinsella would be playing every other game, Doc would still be playing up front, Roy would be playing 10 less games a year and Duff wouldn't be allowed play on the left.

What Kerr has done in 15 months, McCarthy took forever to do and that is build your own squad.

Remember that match in the world cup against spain ?
    we could have beaten them, if we had a better manager.

What happened Chelsea when Ranieri took off a defender for a striker when Monaco were down to 10 men? They got hammered. So whats the right decision? Leave the team as it is (McCarthy), or take men off to exploit the gaps in their defence (Ranieri)?

Originally posted by Jivin Turkey
    What happened Chelsea when Ranieri took off a defender for a striker when Monaco were down to 10 men? They got hammered. So whats the right decision? Leave the team as it is (McCarthy), or take men off to exploit the gaps in their defence (Ranieri)?
    McCarthy did take off a couple of defender for strikers, Connolly for Harte and Quinn for Kelly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭Dewey

This is Brian Kerr's Euro 2004 Quilifiing Record.

Geogia 1 - 2 Republic of Ireland WIN

Albania 0 - 0 Republic of Ireland DRAW

Republic of Ireland 2 - 1 Albania WIN

Republic of Ireland 2 - 0 Geogia WIN

Republic of Ireland 1 - 1 Russia DRAW

Swiszerland 2 - 0 Republic of Ireland LOSS

thats 3 wins, 2 draws and 1 defeat. that isnt bad when you consider he was appointed after we lost the first 2 matches.
    Brain Kerr needs time to get to know which players he can depend on and which he cant, but i expect Ireland to do well for the world cup quilifers with the players we have now.

Originally posted by eirebhoy
    McCarthy did take off a couple of defender for strikers, Connolly for Harte and Quinn for Kelly.

Did he? Haha, I cant really remember as drunkeness was the order of the day, although I cant really remember him taking off defenders.

My point is though, that you can make tactical decisions against 10 men all you like. Sometimes they will come off and sometimes they wont, if they do you are a genius, if they dont apparently you cant count to 11 for some reason.

and Mc Phail (spell) might be yet another potential for midfield.

I've no idea why I posted that............ :o

anyway, Mc Carthy was a decent enough manager, but he still hung on to the "lets get pissed 2 weeks before the tournament starts!!" and "What the fúck you mean, have a profesional set up??" type attitude :p

I have a serious problem with Robbie Keane, some players like Kilbane are sh1t to start with and everyone knows it, so when he does his usual run like fúck down the wing into touch no one complains. Im not cutting any slack for Robbie.

Robbie can play football, if he would just take a leaf out of Ronaldo or Van Nistisroy's (spell?) book, he would be sorted. Ever see Ronaldo in action? He just runs straight at the goal and shoots, one thing on his mind is to score, VN is the same, (although two different types of playing there). None of this stop then decide what to do play.

Robbie gets into the right postion, but starts pissing around and letting the defenders get back into position. He should defintely hit the ball 1st or 2nd touch at the goal. If he doesnt think he can score he should play it first time to the other fella in the box. Just scan through the last few matches and see how many oppurtunites he missed!!:mad: :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭vorbis

This is Brian Kerr's Euro 2004 Quilifiing Record.

Geogia 1 - 2 Republic of Ireland WIN

Albania 0 - 0 Republic of Ireland DRAW

Republic of Ireland 2 - 1 Albania WIN

Republic of Ireland 2 - 0 Geogia WIN

Republic of Ireland 1 - 1 Russia DRAW

Swiszerland 2 - 0 Republic of Ireland LOSS

thats 3 wins, 2 draws and 1 defeat. that isnt bad when you consider he was appointed after we lost the first 2 matches.

is this what people have been reduced do. ANY and i repeat ANY manager would be expected to beat Georgia and Albania. most of our players play in the premiership. How many albanians or georgians play at a similiar level. Kerr for me has played only two truly competitive matches so far. he's drawn one and lost one, not exactly great.

[offtopic]
    I'd also wish people would stop with the McCarthy was just an amateur rubbish. ireland were one of the best prepared teams at wc 2002. We finished every match strongly and showed excellent acclimisation. This for me proved our setup was as good as anyone else there
    [/offtopic]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Kerr is a great manager, one of the best we have ever!

God christ its like the English media. He has been in the job a few months, how can anyone make such a decision???

Originally posted by jesus_thats_gre
    God christ its like the English media. He has been in the job a few months, how can anyone make such a decision???
    I agree and I think all the people that voted for him are just showing they are behind him. I personally voted for Other. Although, I can't believe 6 people think he's the worst we ever had.

If he doesnt think he can score he should play it first time to the other fella in the box.

What other fella in the box?? I was at the Romania match and Morrison seemed to be playing right or left wing for most of the game.

Robbie isn't an out-and-out striker like Van Nistlerooy, he plays deep and links with the midfield, he's even played behind two strikers for Spurs.

We need a stiker like Owen or Van Nistlerooy who just stays with the last defender and, short of Stephen Elliot, who may go to Sunderland now (!) I can't think of any coming through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

I have to admit I personally rate Robbie very high but unfortunately he doesn't score too many bread butter goals a la Shearer, RVN tap ins. It was one of Hoddle's biggest critiscisms when he was manager at Spurs.

B.

Originally posted by ella minnow pea
    short of Stephen Elliot, who may go to Sunderland now (!) I can't think of any coming through.
    good news :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭Big Nelly

Class move for Eliott! also talk of him moving to Celtic as a replacement for Larsson because O'Neill sees him as the same sort of player as Larsson! hopefully will get his game

Back on topic!! Kerr has done a fine job so far and has got Ireland playing some gud football except in a few games.....also has started to lower the age of the squad with Reid and Miller coming in.......cant see though how we can comment yet on if he is a good manager or not......hasnt been in the job long enough......

Have to admit he has done better so far than McCarthy done....remember his wisdom in playing Keane in defence!!!

[offtopic]
    are there any none-irish players left at Sunderland?

Hope this means he gets a first team place for the season, even if it is Div 1. Gwan Stephen. Soon he'll join the other 46 Stephens on the senior side.

[/offtopic]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭Big Nelly

McAteer and Babb are gone!

Healy, Eliott, Thorton, Breen not sure who else are left now

Richie Ryan, Thomas Butler.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭eyerer

someone tell mick hes not managing ireland any more :p

its good that hes got a few fair irish players there getting a game for a decent div. 1 team, would like to see them promoted