Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Petition TO have tommy lyons removed

• 08-06-2004 7:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭

I set this up in a rage of anger after the game.... but I think it still might have its uses ... if you want to see tommy lyons removed as dublins manager please pop by and sign it.

http://www.petitiononline.com/RTL0604/petition.html#

Alan :ninja:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,984 ✭✭✭Big Ears

Id rather he stayed so Dublin are assured not to win anything .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 348 ✭✭watman

According to Hogan Stand he offered to resign and the Dublin Board told him to stay until the end of the Championship ..

Great Victory for Westmeath Though .. First time we beat the Dubs in the Championship since 1967 ..

Hogan Stand - Dublin Notes

Na Hiarmhi Abu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

What is so wrong with Lyons? Why does he not have the players on side?

He worked wonders with a relatively ordinary Offaly side there is no reason in theory why he couldn't work wonders with a relatively ordinary Dublin side. :D He also should know the Dublin set-up and what's in the county so what is actually the problem?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭Mighty_Mouse

Alany, I have to say I find this "petition" disgusting in the extreme. Its non-sensical, yobbish extremist behaviour IMO.

I hope that (what I would consider) true Dublin GAA people don't see this poll or your in for a bashing. Get rid of it before you heap more pressure on the Dublin team when some crappy newspaper sees it.

Its a vile example of the Dubs not considering Westmeath good enough to be on the same pitch as them and for this poll alone I wish ye bad luck for years to come. (again as least Kerry know how to lose)

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Originally posted by Imposter
    What is so wrong with Lyons? Why does he not have the players on side?

He worked wonders with a relatively ordinary Offaly side there is no reason in theory why he couldn't work wonders with a relatively ordinary Dublin side. :D He also should know the Dublin set-up and what's in the county so what is actually the problem?
    Fans expectations. :dunno:

To be honest no matter what manager they have, they won't win anything with the players they have at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭The Rooster

Well Barry Cahill, Darren Magee, Collie Moran, Bryan Cullen and Senan Connell were all playing out of position (thats one third of the team playing in positions alien to them), and Dave Henry and Mossy Quinn were dropped despite playing well all year.

Now, arguably, you could give Tommy Lyons the benefit of the doubt regarding all the above. He knows the players better than me or anyone, and maybe there was a good reason for all those seemingly strange decisions.

What is much harder to excuse is his lack of reaction to what is actually happening on the field of play. Cahill was getting a torrid time from Dolan. In fact a lot of the backs were in trouble with their marker, especially in the second half - yet there was not one change. All six defenders remained on the pitch, and on the same man. First of all there should have been internal switches, and if that didnt reap immediate reards then Henry should have been brought on. The only reason I can see for the non-introduction of Henry is that Lyons would have been admitting he made a mistake by not selecting him in the first place.

When Lyons finally makes a change its his old pal and clubmate Ray Cosgrove who gets on. He gets on ahead of Mossy Quinn, despite the fact that Quinn has always outplayed him this year, and Quinn is a better freetaker, if that was required. And its Conal Keaney who was taken off. Now I didnt think it was forwards where our problem was, though Keaney wasnt having a great day, IMO Moran was just as bad and Cullen was worse. Plus Keaney is our freetaker from the right hand side, so if I was going to make a change in the forwards he would have been only my third choice to go off. Ray gets two clear cut chances and, predictably, misses them both. And not long after the substitution, ironically (inevitably) we get our first free from the right hand side, and we've no left-footed freetaker to take it - and its missed.

Pillar Caffrey and Dave Billings also have to take a lot of the blame for the lack of changes during the match.

But Tommy made a lot of mistakes, and he paid for them. He's now at last chance saloon. Though I wont be signing any petition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭laoisfan

The petition is useless for the following reasons:

1. Westmeath deserved to win in the end because you could see they had belief. Dublin did not.

2. I hear people talk of the state of Dublin football!! What state? 2 U-21 finals and the minors winning leinster last year. Come on!!!

3. The Dublin squad is pretty good bar one or two changes maybe.

4. Tommy Lyons and the selectors are the problem. He (They) have had 3 years, how long do they need?
    However, I am disgusted by some of the personal insults directed at them. They are trying to do a job (not a good one) but they are trying.

5. Why a petition? Dublin GAA will simply not renew their contracts and will bring in someone else after the summer.

--laoisfan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭The Rooster

Its a vile example of the Dubs not considering Westmeath good enough to be on the same pitch as them and for this poll alone I wish ye bad luck for years to come. (again as least Kerry know how to lose)

I dont agree with the petition, but Mighty Mouse you are talking through your hole here.

There are other sites around where Westmeath fans are full of praise for their dublin counterparts. Here's an example:
    Hard luck Dublin and fair play for being so gracious in defeat, all the Dub supporters I spoke to after the metch were great and wished us well.

Laois fans had similar things to say about us last year as had Armagh in 2002. Armagh fans in fact talked extensively about how well Dublin took defeat (agonising as it was) compared to Kerry in the final. And Tyrone had similar things to say about how badly Kerry took losing to them last year. Dublin certainly know how to lose graciously, we're very use to it.

But I'm a Dub. I congratulated about 6 Westmeath people on the victory, and in a discussion board I might give WM a sentence or two, but in analysing the game I'll be concentrating on what Dublin did or didnt do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭laoisfan

i think people forget that football, in leinster anyway, is undergoing a bit of a change the last season or two.

no longer are meath, dublin and to some extent kildare the powerhorses they used to be.

laois, westmeath, wexford are improving.

i think most dubs will be gracious in defeat, they were last year when laois beat them. fair play to westmeath, great win.

dublin will have their day in the sun again, just won't be this year. keep yer heads up.

as for poor tommy, why bother! dublin gaa will move him on at the end of the season. i believe they are doing it in a dignified manner as opposed to getting rid of him straight away. anyway, why bother with a new manager at this point? it would serve no purpose. better off getting 2004 out of the way and start afresh!

--laosfan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭Waylander

I agree with Laoisfan. I do not really see any point getting rid of Tommy till the qualifiers are over. As for Westmeath, congrats to them they did deserve to win. Although Laoisfan I would say that if Westmeath had belief and the Dubs did nopt that has got to be the managers fault. To be honest I do not think many Dubs fans begrudge Westmeatht heir win, what they are upset about is the manner of the second half performance of the Dubs. Just like last year against Armaght they came out and did shagall after the break. They had no fihgt when it was put up to them, and all the great Dublin teams were known for their fight. This is what is unacceptable to so many Dubs fans. Mighty mouse you have an awful habit of shooting your mouth off without seeking clarification of the original posting. You should really learn from your mistakes.

Porn you just crack me up. You rank Cavan as the best team ever to play fairly consistently and the n you say Dublin have not got the players to win anything! I just can'y get my head around that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭Yavvy

ok . firstly here is my reasoning, I think Tommy lyons is doing a terrible job for Dublin.
    In terms of Team sleection, tactics, media, training and team moral/mental strenght.

I dont think he should go before this all ireland campaign is over as my origional post said it made the pitition while i was still fuming at yet another dublin collapse.
    however I would still like to have the pitition signed cause I fear that he will have a semi decent run in the qualifiers only to be beaten by the likes of Tyrone, Roscommon or Laois... and we will have made absoutly no progress.

Alany, I have to say I find this "petition" disgusting in the extreme. Its non-sensical, yobbish extremist behaviour IMO.
    how is this extream ? This is the first time i have spoken out against Tommy and called for his head. I am doing so in a way that is neither yobbish or non-sensical ..if I wanted to be yobbish I could have joined in with the people hurling abuse at the man in croke park.
    I hope that (what I would consider) true Dublin GAA people don't see this poll or your in for a bashing. Get rid of it before you heap more pressure on the Dublin team when some crappy newspaper sees it.
    Cop on would ya ? Bashing...If people want to sign it they will , if they dont ...they wont. The dublin team couldnt be under anymore pressure than they are now and my petition wont make the slightest bit of differance.

To be honest Mouse your just a muppet, This is not about loosing to westmeath, this is about Dublins lack of progress for the last 3 years and is about how dublin seep to have lost any fighting spirit we used to have.

Westmeath Were better than us, Im fine with that and Im not ashamed to loose to a team thats better than us, my problem is that Dublin should not be in a position where Westmeaht are better than us.

To be honest no matter what manager they have, they won't win anything with the players they have at the moment.
    Rubbish, with the right manager I am sure Dublin would be at least All Ireland semi finalists
    But Tommy made a lot of mistakes, and he paid for them. He's now at last chance saloon. Though I wont be signing any petition.
    See That mighty mouse .. Rooster is a real Dublin fan, and while he doesnt agree with my petition hes not going to bash me either...

1. Westmeath deserved to win in the end because you could see they had belief. Dublin did not.
    Thats my point and case Laois, I feel Tommy Lyons has failed to install the Belief in Dublin that MickO has in Laois for example.

2. I hear people talk of the state of Dublin football!! What state? 2 U-21 finals and the minors winning leinster last year. Come on!!!

Im talking about Dublin Senior Football, I know Tommy got a lot of congrats for the U21 sucess ..but I here that he wasnt the real driving force behind that U21 team..
    3. The Dublin squad is pretty good bar one or two changes maybe.
    The Squad is not bad, I agree. Its the Tactics, Player selection/positioning and Belief thats not working
    4. Tommy Lyons and the selectors are the problem. He (They) have had 3 years, how long do they need?
    exactly
    5. Why a petition? Dublin GAA will simply not renew their contracts and will bring in someone else after the summer.
    Good Question, I think a petition will not be required..but just incase I am trying to find like minded Dublin fans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

Might-Mouse
    Alany
    Westmeath Were better than us, Im fine with that and Im not ashamed to loose to a team thats better than us, my problem is that Dublin should not be in a position where Westmeaht are better than us.
    The bit in bold is almost the same in my view as what MM said (unless I'm reading you wrong in which case, could you please clarify what you mean).

Teams will improve, other teams will seemingly go backwards. In terms of population Dublin should be in the all-ireland final every year. In terms of the GAA-playing population (that are dubs) in Dublin, then Dublin is not that much bigger than most Leinster counties and probably smaller than Meath and maybe Kildare. Westmeath has quite a large GAA network that might surprise you.
    PORNAPSTER
    Alany
    Rubbish, with the right manager I am sure Dublin would be at least All Ireland semi finalists
    I agree with PORN here.

imposter my point is that I feel dublin have the players and the ability to beat anyoe in leinster, they have the best leauge football in the province too. I dont have a problem with Westmeath being better than us ...and I congratualte them on their win, but dublin are no where near their real potential and thats my problem.

they have the best leauge football in the province too
    Well maybe if Dublin clubs focused on home grown talent instead of the mass influx of county players from around Ireland to Dublin clubs.
    however I would still like to have the pitition signed cause I fear that he will have a semi decent run in the qualifiers only to be beaten by the likes of Tyrone, Roscommon or Laois
    Dublin had a half decent inspirational run a couple of years ago, came back to earth and now they would be upset to lose to the All Ireland champions, the Leinster champions and one of the most hard battling sides in the country!!! Every year some team or another plays consistently beyond themselves only to crash down to earth the next: Westmeath (3years ago), Sligo, Donegal (3 years ago), Fermanagh (last year). I might be out on the exact years but ye get the point. Dublin played beyond themselves if you ask me. They have some great players but not an all-Ireland winning side at the moment IMO. Not a hope
    if I wanted to be yobbish I could have joined in with the people hurling abuse at the man in croke park.
    Cause this is so much better!
    The Dublin team couldn’t be under anymore pressure than they are now and my petition wont make the slightest bit of difference
    Right. So critism doesn't increase pressure even when Dublin fans are signing petitions to say their crap and want the manager sacked mid-season!!!! Listen Westmeath should of beaten Dublin by more the last day. Westmeath are a team full of all-Ireland underage winners with a couple of all-stars to boot. The only reason they had bad seasons in recent years was due to some kind of mental block against Westmeath. They first chance they got to prove this they took with style. Ye were beaten by a better team.
    To be honest Mouse your just a muppet,
    Well seeing as your a moderator of this perversely non-GAA-supporting forum I'll not be worrying about your opinion. Seeing as I recognise you for being a very emotional and irrational moderator who doesn’t appreciation a variety of opinions in this "GAA" forum Ill not lose sleep!!
    This is not about loosing to westmeath, this is about Dublins lack of progress for the last 3 years and is about how dublin seep to have lost any fighting spirit we used to have.
    Two years ago they were the width of the post from tying up the eventual all-Ireland winners to a rematch in the all-Ireland quarters. The last day the only lost by 2 points (I think). That’s hardly no fighting spirit. What happen is some of the more over-rated players proved that they're not big game players.
    Im not ashamed to loose to a team thats better than us, my problem is that Dublin should not be in a position where Westmeaht are better than us.
    it seems to me that you are in fact ashamed to lose to Westmeath!!!!! Your saying that might Dublin should never be losing to these so-called weaker teams. My point is that Westmeath is not a weaker county and that this type of arrogance is what Dublin is known for.
    See That mighty mouse .. Rooster is a real Dublin fan, and while he doesnt agree with my petition hes not going to bash me either...
    Is the point not that Rooster doesnt agree with your petition? (sorry to discuss another poster)
    I feel Tommy Lyons has failed to install the Belief in Dublin that MickO has in Laois for example.
    I'm not arguing with your critics of TLyons management I just disagree with this online poll. These men have family’s and don’t need this type of moronic reactions IMO. I mean if you want to discuss Tlyons tenure then fine but setting up a petition is a little much. What If Dublin go on a run to the Semis will TLyons job be safe with you.? There is an element of overreaction to the Dubs losing to a very capable Westmeath teams full of all-Ireland underage winners and managed by a 10 time all Ireland winner (8 player 2 manager me thinks!)

He took over from Tommy Carr who was getting similar stick at the same time so he knew what he was letting himself in for when he took the job and he most definitley has not delivered. I do not have a prtoblem losing to any team, but the manner of the defeats to Laois and Armagh last year, and Westmeath this year is where I do have a problem. We have just laid down and got played off the pitch int he second half of each match. In at least two of those matches we were leading at half time and if we had reproduced out firtst half performances would have went onto win. To be honest I think Tommy Lyons should go regardless of how far they get in the qualifiers, and while I wont be signing the petition, I will not be signing it because his contract is up and it is unlikely he will be reappointed anyway. I do not think this petition is ikntended as a personal attack and I think you are overreacting in a big way Mighty Mouse. You are right when you say we were the width of a psot away from the final a couple of years ago, but since then we have gone rapidly down hill, and as I said earl;ier seem to have lost all spirit, and that is why he has to go.

He took over from Tommy Carr who was getting similar stick at the same time so he knew what he was letting himself in for
    Doesnt make it condoneable IMO but I understand your point. I agree with all the points you've made to be honest. If he has lost the dressing room he has to go. What I disagree with is the petition. I've no problem with Dubs discussing why they feel a need for change.
    I do not think this petition is ikntended as a personal attack
    how can it not be?
    I think you are overreacting in a big way Mighty Mouse.
    I don't think so. Reading back maybe I've been a little sharpish in a few comments but hardly an overreaction.

I know what you are saying Mighty Mouse but to be honest I think that a discreet petition sent ot the Dublin board not to renbew his contract would be preferrable all round to the press hounding him out. Also a petition is simply astating that he is not the right man for the job and does not really elaborate on this. Do you think the Press will show this level of respect? I think they will get alot more personal. I do not think the petition is the mailicous attack you think it is. Also I think Tommy knows himself what was expected of him when he took over. He will also know that he has not delivered so I do not think such petitions will cause him particular upset.

We'll agree to disagree Waylander.

I've just had a flash of Sunday World back page though
    "Dubs want Lyons head in Online petition" :p

Mouse, waylander got it right ...your over reacting ...not the first time. Infact it will be a strange day when you dont over react. and to call me emotional and irritional.... kettle, pot..etc.

anywho, We know your opinion now... and we'er all the better for it.

Mouse, waylander got it right ...your over reacting ...not the first time
    :rolleyes: :rolleyes: yup yup!! Says the guy with the online petition!
    Infact it will be a strange day when you dont over react. and to call me emotional and irritional.... kettle, pot..etc
    ok, ill settle for "muppet"