Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New To Pc Building

Options
  • 10-06-2004 3:22am
    Registered Users Posts: 950 ✭✭✭

Hello all

This is my first go at building a full PC from scratch. i have experience of upgrading all of the major components before so im not a complete beginner. All the parts that i bought are compatible.

I am using the 80gb Hd from my old pc, which is partitioned in 2 with winXP home and SuSe Linux on the other side.

CdRw and floppy are also be used from old comp.

New parts are 400w power supply
    64bit AMDXp 3000
    512mb Ram 400Mhz
    MIS M/B (it dose support all hardware im using)
    GC 128mb Radeon 9200
    Clear Plastic Case.

Problem is when i boot the machine it will only stay on from a few seconds. it doesn’t recognise the HD(it tells me this from the POST)
    sometimes it will get as far as Grub and let me start to boot in to winXP but then it shuts down(dose not always get this far).

if anyone has any ideas of what is wrong please help

Jim
    :confused:

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭Gaz

Does it just shutdown as if the power is being cut ? Try booting it up out of the case , ie: motherboard on a static bag , could be the case shorting it out , had a similar problem a few years back, i just put some rubber feet (not sure what there actually called , between the board and case and it was ok.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭VeVeX

Firstly i'd check the seating of componants including the HSF.