Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is anyone really abandoning Royston?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭jd

Originally posted by Victor
    A lot of areas are running two separate campaigns - one for FF and one for the candidates (with a really tiny FF logo in the corner).

Maybe so- but the decrease is certainly noticable wrt Brady's posters, not Ryan's.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

Originally posted by therecklessone
    This thought just struck me. Are you Cork in disguise?

Jaysus, no answer from Arcade, but Cork was in pretty quick, wasn't he? Is this another lad12/d4 conundrum? Or are they both just talking out their ar*es?
    Originally posted by Cork
    Royston Brady has done a great job as Dublin's Lord Mayor.

He has worked hard in this position.

Royston, Bertie & Carmencita Hederman were the most effective Dublin Lord Mayors in recent years.

There is a certain amount of left wing inspired old fashioned begrudgery.

But the Irish electorate are far too intelligent for negative campaigning.

The people of Dublin will effectively decide. The contest will not be decided by cheap smearing,begrudgery or negative campaigning.

Royston Brady has worked hard at being Royston Brady. Nothing else. He's there to get along, make a name for himself and get as much exposure as he can. He has yet to make clear why he is the best qualified candidate in tomorrow's Euro elections, and its a bit late in the day for him to start.

He is boorish, sleazy, incompetent and hopelessly unqualified for any elected position in this country. And if Cork/Arcadegame took his FF blinkers off he's see that for himself.

• Registered Users Posts: 78,414 ✭✭✭✭Victor

This thought just struck me. Are you Cork in disguise?
    Naw, I doubt it. arcadegame is really a committee of PD thought monkies repeating stuff to a speed-typing copy and paste monkey. ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭bonkey

Victor...if I wasn't pissed, I'd swear that was a really well-disguised insult ;)

jc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 805 ✭✭✭vinnyfitz

Has anyone here met anyone at all who originally planned to vote for Royston and who has now finally grasped the point that he does not deserve their vote and hence chosen another candidate?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭jd

Originally posted by vinnyfitz
    Has anyone here met anyone at all who originally planned to vote for Royston and who has now finally grasped the point that he does not deserve their vote and hence chosen another candidate?

I haven't ..
    Actually I was discussing it with my dad over the weekend. Michael Lowrey gets elected, partly because the meedja aren't going dictate to the culchies..
    Likewise for the Skangers and Royston, perhaps (if ye get my angle?).

• Registered Users Posts: 4,518 ✭✭✭The Rooster

Royston has got a very hard time in the media, particularly from Matt Cooper and George Hook who have been way over the top (and frankly been unfair) in their criticism. Its up to him and only him, how he runs his campaign. He's trying to meet as many people in person as he can, and hoping word spreads by word of mouth / recommendation - rather than spening time preparing for and giving media interviews.

Its very easy to ask "what will he bring to Dublin as an MEP". But the answer is as Cork has put it - he's FF, and you know what FF stands for - if you don't read their website.

You could equally ask what has Prionsias de Rossa done in the last 5 years while he was an MEP. Personally, I havent heard tell of him in that time whatsoever. The one thing you can say about Patricia McKenna is that at least she's doing stuff and not hiding - even if all she seems to do is to disagree with something/everything :D

Back to Royston for a second. While Labour in particular have jumped on the Roy bashing bandwagon, Sinn Fein were the ones who started. I'd very strongly suspect that they're the ones who organised the removal of his posters (and that assumption is not just me, its widespread - and its been happening in other parts of the country too allegedly). They actually wanted him for themselves. His father was very republican, but not IRA and not Sinn Fein as they werent as well organised in the city back then, but SF recognised a few years ago that Royston was a potential catch. Roy boy though decided to stick with FF. So that might explain why they're out to get him.

Personally I'm a floating voter, and I think Mitchell is the best candidate of all and I'd prefer to see Ryan get the FF seat ahead of Brady.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭chewy

lots of snipes there rooster what exactly is wrong with anti-war and anti-gm huh?

did anyone hear the pr guy for roysten on 106 the other night...

he told more then i heard from anyone else

i do think hook gets on the bandwagon a bit but sure he was dead right bout e-voting so... there plenty of others who do the same in the opposite direction

i thought politicians where supposed to somwhat distinct from there parties just a bit like... otherwise the donkey analgoy stands

anyway yerman said mep are not supposed to have policies, they take the policies from the unelected commission and are supposed to bring em back to the public and filter them back.....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭Mighty_Mouse

Back to Royston for a second. While Labour in particular have jumped on the Roy bashing bandwagon, Sinn Fein were the ones who started. I'd very strongly suspect that they're the ones who organised the removal of his posters (and that assumption is not just me, its widespread - and its been happening in other parts of the country too allegedly). They actually wanted him for themselves. His father was very republican, but not IRA and not Sinn Fein as they werent as well organised in the city back then, but SF recognised a few years ago that Royston was a potential catch. Roy boy though decided to stick with FF. So that might explain why they're out to get him.
    :eek: :eek: :eek: :p:p :rolleyes: tis nearly as good as Roystons kidnap story!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭Corben Dallas

I really hope Royston takes a battering at teh polls, he seems only to pick the friendly TV Radio spots, not the ones wheres hes likely to be asked difficult questions like on 'The Last Word' with Matt Cooper etc.

The main problem i have with the Royston Campaign is not the 'no policy on offer here/ Bereft of any fresh ideas' its teh fact that hes a Lord Mayor of Dublin and if elected we would be sending him as Irelands Representative to the EU. Where they will ask him lots of difficult questions. Hes a political Lightweight and shouldnt have even been considered for nomination for the post by FF.

The Rest of Europe must be laughing at us for thinking a Lord Mayor has any sort of political skills needed to get any benefits from Europe for Ireland. Plus the Lord Mayor of Dublin isnt goin to be bringing any influence to the EU on issues that will be a little bit bigger than whats goin on either side of the Liffey.

Its like a rookie driver whos done nothing else other than a year in karts, then steps into Forumla1 and expect him to beat Michael Schumacher.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,718 ✭✭✭SkepticOne

Originally posted by Corben Dallas
    The main problem i have with the Royston Campaign is not the 'no policy on offer here/ Bereft of any fresh ideas' its teh fact that hes a Lord Mayor of Dublin and if elected we would be sending him as Irelands Representative to the EU. Where they will ask him lots of difficult questions. Hes a political Lightweight and shouldnt have even been considered for nomination for the post by FF.
    Maybe I'm being cynical, but I would imagine that FF put him forward on the basis that he is likely to win. Once he gets to Europe, if elected, do you think many will be following his progress? Most of the people voting for him will have little interest in EU issues. There concern will be to get someone from FF elected.

As regards being a political lightweight, he can just keep his head down for the duration of the term. I would say the journos would have more interest in the Czech former porn actress "Dolly Buster". How many questions get asked of Euro MPs anyway?

I think people will be voting according to the party they support rather than the qualities of the individual candidates since European issues don't really engage people and so it doesn't really matter who goes there. In Britain, it looks as though the Eu elections are being used as a means of punishing Labour over Iraq.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭ArphaRima

In Britain, it looks as though the Eu elections are being used as a means of punishing Labour over Iraq.

I hope it the trend continues until the national elections whenever they are.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,924 ✭✭✭Cork

Originally posted by bonkey
    Its funny...

every single poster who has defended Brady has done so without being able to give specifics about why he is a good candidate for the job in question. Not one single quality that is relevant to the job - that I can see - has been mentioned.

Yes, I'm sure he's attended lots of community events Cork, but - to be quite honest - so ****ing what? What has that to do with his ability to get anything done in politics, to make change, and to be responsible and (in an ideal world) inspirational or a force for change?

I'll tell you what - absolutely nothing.

But no...rather than extoll his qualities, all we hear is that the knocking of him is because of those damned lefties and their smear campaigns and begrudgery.

jc

What has Mary Lou done? She has made much of photo opportunitys been photographed alongside her Leader.

Besides been photographed alongside a MP - What She achieved?

But what questions have been raised about her "quality that is relevant to the job"?

SF are among the most Euro Skepric of Irish political partys. Their atitude to the EU is like that of the UK conservative party. What questions have been raised of this Euro skeptic party?

Royston Brady is a FF canidate. He is not an independent and he does not have an independant policy platform.

Royston Brady has been an effective Lord Mayor. Lord Mayors don't change the world but he has been pretty effective with regards to the constraints of the office.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭Deacon Blues

The Roy took a gamble, and went for Europe. If (when) he doesn't get elected, I'm assuming that his councillers job is gone. Looks like he'll have to head back to the Gresham untill the next general election. Thank God the dual mandate's been abolished.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭ssh

Royston Brady is a FF canidate. He is not an independent and he does not have an independant policy platform.

It's one thing to say "Check their website for policies". It's another to hear someone *argue* in favour of those policies and explain the thinking behind them. Even that arsewit ML McDonnell can do that.

If he gets elected, he can hardly say "Please check the FF website for my answer to that". He has not presented a single view nor demontrated any understanding of any european issue that I can think of.

I cannot understand why you are backing him so strongly. He's a woeful candidate and it reflects poorly on FF and Ireland as a whole that people of his intellectual agility can even get to the point of running for MEP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭sixtysix

i think the scare over roystons opinions on the dublin bombings was really a fianna fail tactic to scuttle him -panic was setting in on the fianna fail team.

Originally posted by ssh

I cannot understand why you are backing him so strongly. He's a woeful candidate and it reflects poorly on FF and Ireland as a whole that people of his intellectual agility can even get to the point of running for MEP.

Looks like he'll have to head back to the Gresham untill the next general election.

He did a CERT course. So what?

Why does working in the tourisim sector deprieve you from running for office?

FF is open to everybody. It does not depend on background, class, educational achievement etc.

FF believes that with hard work you can achieve. It is not based on smoked saloman socialism or petty snobbery.

I hope that Royston is elected. He stood for FF. A party that is Pro EU. A party that secured billions in EU aid for this country. (Thanks Albert).

I hope that many others in the tourism sector will also run for office. People who work in this sector, work hard. FF is open to all and it is a party that party membership and political advancement is not based on elitest criteria.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭joolsveer

FF is open to everybody. It does not depend on background, class, educational achievement etc.

FF believes that with hard work you can achieve. It is not based on smoked saloman socialism or petty snobbery.

FF. A party that is Pro EU. A party that secured billions in EU aid for this country. (Thanks Albert).

FF is open to all and it is a party that party membership and political advancement is not based on elitest criteria.

FF a party for those who like to feather their nests at the public's expense?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭ssh

I hope that many others in the tourism sector will also run for office. People who work in this sector, work hard. FF is open to all and it is a party that party membership and political advancement is not based on elitest criteria.

That quite simply is not true. Royston is a member of one of the two big FF north side clans. He wouldn't be where he is today if that were not the case.

Though I note with some amusement that you yet again have failed to answer the criticisms levelled at you and Royston. Please answer this question:

Do you feel it is acceptable that a politician is running for a position where he will be expected to debate and backup his opinions refuses to do so during his election campaign?

Many EU canidates were debating issues with regards to issues that had nothing to do with the EU.

Political Partys have party policies with regards to the EU.

I would prefer a canidate meeting with the public than swanning aroung into radio stations.

But a certain amount of press coverage is indeed necessary.

But I did not hear any indeph interviews with any other EU canidates.

He did a CERT course. So what?

I'm not saying that just because he worked in the tourism sector he shouldn't run. I'm saying that he now holds NO elected office, and will need another source of income. Probably stands to reason that he will go back to a job that he knows, unless 'de boys' look after him. Had he stood for the DCC again, he probably would have been re-elected, because he could have hidden his inadequacies better.

Why don't you read the posts before going off on one ??

Originally posted by Deacon Blues
    Looks like he'll have to head back to the Gresham untill the next general election.

Is there something wrong at working in the Gresham?

Many County Councillers are not full time. Holding down other employments is pretty common.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭flogen

I havent read all the posts, so if there is a debate going on, this isnt part of it, its just my opinion.

I originally liked Brady, thought he was what Irish politics needed, a bit of a character who isnt a droning ass like the rest.
    Then I soon saw what he really was, a total fraud. everything he does is pure mindless PR (I know alot of politicians do this, but this is just annoying). He pops up on the front page every time he needs to and bad mouths someone or something. The problem is, I dont have a clue what his policies are. I dont want a politician to spend his or her time giving out about everything but doing nothing. His Dublin Monaghan bombings comments were unfortunate, and he's suffering for them.

He has had one of the worst campaigns I have ever seen. Posters with 'drive' written on them tell me nothing. I didnt even get a leaflet through the door with info on him. He's just an uppety mouth with no policies and all glitz. Hes desperate to get his image across as a lad, a man of the people. He's just a moron.

Flogen

Jebus Cork !!!

Here's an idea. Before responding to a post, why don't we read and understand it first.

Is not Royston a Training Advisor with CERT?

What has the Gresham to do with Royston Brady?

Royston Brady has been an effective Lord Mayor. Lord Mayors don't change the world but he has been pretty effective with regards to the constraints of the office.

Despite not attending many of the meetings he is required to do as Lord Mayor?

List Royston's achievements for us Cork...

He would have been a Pro EU MEP. He would have stood up for Irelands right to fix its own tax rates in order for us to attract FDI.

Royston was not an independant canidate. He was a FF canidate. FF has a superb record on the EU. They negotiated both increased structural and cohesion funds that has meant jobs to every part of this country.

Royston has been one of Dublin's highest profile Mayors. Compare this to the achievements of either Mary Lou or Ivnana?

Apart from being photographed with Adams - What has Mary Lou achieved?

Yet, while questions are raised about Royston - Where are questions regarding other canidates achievements raised?

Royston has been one of Dublin's highest profile Mayors.

High profile does not equla achievment, unless that is Royston's aim as a politician.

As a resident of Dublin I cannot think of anything Brady has achieved. He has insulted his fellow councillors, insulted (then retracted on the same day) the Minister for Justice (I'm no fan myself...) and got a couple of snaps taken shaking Roy Keane's hand.

Obviously the perfect candidate...:rolleyes:
    Yet, while questions are raised about Royston - Where are questions regarding other canidates achievements raised?

Why would they? This thread is about Royston after all.

• Registered Users Posts: 78,414 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Compare this to the achievements of either ... Ivnana?
    Not that I like her or her achievements, she has had a public profile for 15 years and is a law professor (handy when working on laws).
    I think there is a difference, Roy, yes Roy is his name, I forgot it for a moment, is held out as being especially special. That doesn't stand up to scrutiny.

Mary Lou isn't held out as especially special and is a generic Shinner. Are you suggesting that rRy isn't anything more than a generic FFer when you say "Royston was not an independant canidate" and more importantly are you saying he is incapable of independent thought.

So, Ivanna "has had a public profile for 15 years and is a law professor (handy when working on laws).".

Royston has also had a public profile and he was elected to Dublin City Council.

What experience has Had Mary Lou or Ivanna of public office?

I don't know Royston Brady. I have never met the guy. But people seem to be judging him with standards that they don't apply to other canidates.

Why?

Is it an anti-FF thing?