Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Local Election Results

• 13-06-2004 2:03pm
    Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,252 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Anybody have a site that has/will have the results....?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭[CrimsonGhost]

Both www.rte.ie and www.ireland.com have dedicated election/referendum sections.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Luke "Ming" Flanagan got elected in Roscommon. First count too so that big big poster in Castlerea can't have hurt.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,628 ✭✭✭Asok

Yeah luke ran a very good campaign and has some good policys fair play to him.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,252 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

I allready ried RTE....I thught it was crap,will give the other one a try

Power turnover in Limerick city - FF drop to 2 seats and took a real hammering on first preferences. 5FG, 4 labour, 6 independents (Limerick does like its independents as a general rule). I assume the old FF-LAB alliance will be dropped in favour of an FG-LAB one unless FG feel like courting some independents. Nothing for the PDs despite Mata's (metaphorical) run around the crescent shopping centre last week.

(and no update on the RTE site or aertel, lazy feckers)

• Registered Users Posts: 10,726 ✭✭✭✭DMC

The last edition of the Sindo is the only place I've seen with detailed count results of the local elections. Nothing online. I expect the print editions of tomorrow's papers to do the trick.

Originally posted by sceptre

(and no update on the RTE site or aertel, lazy feckers) [/B]
    Indeed and nothing there for wicklow on either site despite the fact that most of the seats are now filled.
    No SF councillors in my ward and FG have gained one there.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,924 ✭✭✭Cork

No change in my area. but the RTE website is poor.

When will the Mandrians of Mountrose take a look at the BBC site?

The RTE website is pretty poor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭AngelofFire

all the individual city and county council sites have the results of each candidate. the rte website only shows the state of the parties.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,924 ✭✭✭Cork

http://www.corkcoco.com/

Has no results.

Come on RTE & Cork County Council - we are in 2004.

They are still counting local election ballots - Eletronic Voting hopefully is on the way.

Originally posted by AngelofFire
    all the individual city and county council sites have the results of each candidate.
    Limerick CitCo doesn't seem to but I'll take your word that all the competent ones do:)

The Irish Times seems to be a little more up to date than the RTE site (just checked and was pleasantly surprised to see this). No candidates listed there so as AoF said, if you're interested have a gander at the individual coco site.

Galway City council seems to have retained its liking for wacky control for no-one. Looks like the Molloy factor is still alive and well in the wesht. Balance of power is falling to Labour in some areas and SF in others. I guess we can assume that generally means alliances with FG and FF respectively (except maybe in Cork)

FF really took a hammering in Limerick - 12% drop and at 16% /well/ below the Bertie eats babies waterline (nationally they seem to be at or slightly below that line[1]). Hence while its a nice day out for FG and a bit of a bounce back to form, it's unlikely to be particularly indicative of anything in the next general election (not that any of us thought that anyway)

[1]If they get a record lowest vote since they began keeping records they're probably below that line

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 8,947 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

I've been slogging away at South Dublin's results all day yesterday and am now working on the two recounts here at the RDS as we speak. You can view (could have viewed as they happened) these results on the South Dublin County Council website - http://www.sdublincoco.ie/index.aspx?pageid=1682
    The two recounts are only now proceeding and I am starting to see light at the end of the tunnel. It's been a long weekend and if I get to see even half of England v France I'll be happy.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,146 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Luke "Ming" Flanagan got elected in Roscommon. First count too so that big big poster in Castlerea can't have hurt.

Indeed he did, I am absolutly delighted. He ran a very good campaign and really struck a chord among the electorate and topped the polls. Good to see a new face in among them in Politburo in Roscommon. Was a very wide spectrum of people who bvoted for him. Students, midle aged and pensioners!

Do you pass through castlerea often Sceptre. He had another large poster across from it as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭jd

Wexford CoCo

I am not 100% sure but Labour have either 0 or 1 seats, with Sinn Fein on 3.

Anyone know?

• Registered Users Posts: 27,322 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

I'm surprised and delighted to see Socialist Mick Murphy top the poll here in Tallaght.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭jmcc

Seems RTE doesn't realise that the politics is all local. It doesn't even have the names of the politicians elected on the local level on its website coverage. It is very like the 2000 Newgrange event - probably the same tossers in charge. :>

Regards...jmcc

• Registered Users Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

Originally posted by Cork
    No change in my area. but the RTE website is poor.

When will the Mandrians of Mountrose take a look at the BBC site?

The RTE website is pretty poor.

For once I find myself in agreement with Cork.

Also reckon there should be a national government-run website with all the counts, local, Euro, and constitution, available to view as well.

Originally posted by jd
    Wexford CoCo

I am not 100% sure but Labour have either 0 or 1 seats, with Sinn Fein on 3.

Anyone know?
    1 for labour and yes, 3 for SF.

(6 FF, 7 FG, 4 IND)

Originally posted by [CrimsonGhost]
    Both www.rte.ie and www.ireland.com have dedicated election/referendum sections.

Neither of these are working properly at the moment. Pathethic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭AngelofFire

say what ya like about sinn fein`s sucess story.Labour have done very well, they are now the biggest parties on SDCC and Dublin City council.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭alleepally

Have a look at your local councils website. Don't know about rest of country but here it is for Wicklow.

http://www.wicklow.ie/ElectionCount/results.htm

• Registered Users Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭jd

1 for labour and yes, 3 for SF.

(6 FF, 7 FG, 4 IND)

The Labour seat was probably Ted Howlin, Brendan's brother, and he would have got the last seat in the Wexford District. Not a great return out of 21 seats for a sitting TD . Sinn Fein are probably on course to take Tuomey's(IND) seat at the next GE.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Yep agreed on how poor the RTE site is for the locals. It tells me how many seats each party has got in Dun Laoghaire Rathdown but no names !! As for www.dlrcoco.ie it is pathetic no info at all on the elections.

Anyone know of any other sources that might list the names of those elected?

• Registered Users, Subscribers Posts: 47,305 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Gandalf, I've just been looking at the Dun Laoghaire Rathdown website myself, I can't believe how bad it is. I stumbled across the names of the 4 Green councillors in an article on politics.ie, but that's about it.

Originally posted by gandalf
    Yep agreed on how poor the RTE site is for the locals. It tells me how many seats each party has got in Dun Laoghaire Rathdown but no names !!

And "Others" appear to be a fairly popular party. I'd like to know how Boyd-Barrett did, but he's lumped in with all the "others" (pardon the pun...;) )

Jaysus I hope the morning papers come up with the goods.

• Registered Users Posts: 326 ✭✭ConUladh

Limerick City Council has full breakdown of results available on site now for the 4 wards

http://www.limerickcity.ie/general/temp/tmp_elections_2004.html