Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Spin Fein To Knee Cap Europe?

• 15-06-2004 5:05pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭

Well I see that a spinner has been elected to Europe, from Dublin of all places.

I acknowledge that a lot of the people who campaign for/run for/ support Spin Fein have the best of intentions for our country and want to see more social justice, support for the poor + disadvantaged and lower bin taxes etc.

However what scares me is that the head of this party is a guy called Gerry who in his spare time runs the biggest private army in Europe. What does he need this army for?

Its true a private army is indeed a handy thing - what about organising the punishment beatings in Northern Ireland.....or supplying troops to raid banks with AK47s before the gun down a few guards before tea time (Garda Gerry McCabe anyone?)?? How could you do that with only a ballot box?

Also where did the money that elected sweet lil' old Mary Lou come from? All the posters cost a tenner a pop. You'd swear someone had been using special "fundraising" techniques the other partys don't have.

Heck didn't our silly old Minister for Justice make some allegations about drug dealing, illegal dumping of toxic waste and saving the guerillas in the rain forrest?

So - will Spin Fein bring their special brand of politics to Europe?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

You have to laugh...either that or cry I suppose.

Mary Lou McDonald will be on a hefty salery + expenses I'll be interested to know how uch of that she keeps for herself and how much (as a good socialist) she hands over the the party machine. I wonder also how many voted for her while saying YES in the referendum.

One thought I wonder how mnay other MEPs will know and mention the link with the IRA....she might have to
    do some explaining to ppl with raised eyebrows!

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭bus77

Originally posted by bertiebowl
    I acknowledge that a lot of the people who campaign for/run for/ support Spin Fein have the best of intentions for our country and want to see more social justice, support for the poor + disadvantaged and lower bin taxes etc.
    Nope, none of those, I voted Sinn Fien for their stance on europe. Reserved.
    However what scares me is that the head of this party is a guy called Gerry who in his spare time runs the biggest private army in Europe. What does he need this army for?
    You think one man runs the IRA?
    Are you retarded or were you being over the top for effect?:confused:
    Its true a private army is indeed a handy thing - what about organising the punishment beatings in Northern Ireland.....or supplying troops to raid banks with AK47s before the gun down a few guards before tea time (Garda Gerry McCabe anyone?)?? How could you do that with only a ballot box?
    Tis true. ballot box and guns are more potent.
    Also where did the money that elected sweet lil' old Mary Lou come from? All the posters cost a tenner a pop. You'd swear someone had been using special "fundraising" techniques the other partys don't have.
    I dunno:confused: half of it is probably left over from the fundraising done in the states and the robberies and such. The rest is probably because Shiners put money back into the party instead of buying silk shirts in paris. What I always ask myself is where did all these ministers currently in office get the money/time for all these "Private Business Interests"?
    Heck didn't our silly old Minister for Justice make some allegations about drug dealing, illegal dumping of toxic waste
    About Sinn Fein or oul fellas with guns?
    What party is he in?
    and saving the guerillas in the rain forrest?
    Hey! Thats a good cause. I betya that's a Sinn Fein initiative.;)
    So - will Spin Fein bring their special brand of politics to Europe?
    I hope so, but not the special kind your talking about :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭dathi1

I think Mary and Co's rise to power is a good thing. We have the same old ****e day in day out FG FF Lab establishment crap in Irish politics for the last 30 yrs. Too see ODonaghue and rabbite licking each other on Q+A last night in their vilification of Mac Donald was proof of the Euro apple cart being upset. I'm not too keen on their Marxist leanings but they are a breath of fresh air into good old boring stale Irish politics. I wonder which way they'll go on the constitution...?

Originally posted by dathi1
    I think Mary and Co's rise to power is a good thing. We have the same old ****e day in day out FG FF Lab establishment crap in Irish politics for the last 30 yrs. Too see ODonaghue and rabbite licking each other on Q+A last night in their vilification of Mac Donald was proof of the Euro apple cart being upset. I'm not too keen on their Marxist leanings but they are a breath of fresh air into good old boring stale Irish politics. I wonder which way they'll go on the constitution...?

Yeah Im not sure what policies are real or just tactics taken by a smaller party. Im interested to see how they go about dealing with this state called the EU the other partys are blindly walking us into. It's make or break time for them now in my mind. I hope they shake things up and ask some serious questions over there (and over here).

• Registered Users Posts: 78,415 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Originally posted by bus77
    The rest is probably because Shiners put money back into the party instead of buying silk shirts in paris.
    Yeah, Shinner prefer Milan to Paris, what with their new cry of "Tíocfiadh Armani". :)
    What I always ask myself is where did all these ministers currently in office get the money/time for all these "Private Business Interests"?
    Guess what? People with money have the ability to set aside time to get elected, something that poor people don't. Politics exhibits Darwinism just liek any other facet of society.
    Originally posted by dathi1
    I think Mary and Co's rise to power is a good thing.
    Who's Mary?

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,080 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

Gerry Adams runs the IRA – that’s a nice theory.

Why did the current group of IRA paramilitaries start? - It takes two to tango, really thought – look up your history book.

Why are they still here? It still takes two to tango, anyway…

- at a point like this it’s better to have some control then full disbanding and pissing of the hardcore

- they were to decommission further, but the agreement was broken, some say by the IRA and SF, some say by the Unionists.

Like what?

You admit they have support from voters - are you trying to say there is no SF supporters with a bit of spare cash?

Slightly better then the PDs, who accuse SF of wrongdoings, which they can't prove, and then they ask a SF CANDIDATE for his support.

BTW in calling then 'Spin Fein' are you trying to show your ignorance of the widespread spin/PR in politics today?

Originally posted by Victor
    Yeah, Shinner prefer Milan to Paris, what with their new cry of "Tíocfiadh Armani". :)
    Guess what? People with money have the ability to set aside time to get elected, something that poor people don't. Politics exhibits Darwinism just like any other facet of society.
    Yeah ok, but they still seem to be unhealthy involved in rabid money hoarding after they get elected aswell. Everthing from tax to land. I think they should be forced to sell off any interests they have and be barred from taking part in any business for the duration of their term. Lets see how many of them go the distance then.
    Who's Mary?
    She's lovely. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭Tommy Vercetti

Heck didn't our silly old Minister for Justice make some allegations about drug dealing, illegal dumping of toxic waste and saving the guerillas in the rain forrest?

He makes an awful lot of allegations but as usual, provides no evidence. If that's good enough for you then you should probably reconsider the wisdom of trying to make a humourous criticism of an MEP elected by the good people of Dublin. I suspect Mickey Mc Dooooowillll will invent some sort of voting scam allegation one of these days to definitively prove that his party is, in fact, way more popular than the Shinners.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 10,501 Mod ✭✭✭✭ecksor

He'd have had an easier job if they'd manage to railroad the excuse for a voting system through in time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 175 ✭✭bertiebowl

Guys & Gals.....my point is that while I understand (and agree) with lots of reasons why people voted for Mary Lou and Co., I feel that there is an ambiguity about Spin Fein/IRA.

They use the ballot box when it suits and they use violence when that too suits.

While they tar and feather those they don't agree with in Belfast, how long before its me or you who's in line for re-education?

Whatever you might say about the waste of space politicians (FF, PD, FG etc) you can't say your afraid they'd leave you in a wheelchair for life.................

• Registered Users Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭Mighty_Mouse

They use the ballot box when it suits and they use violence when that too suits.
    Would you not agree that republicans have ended their voilent struggle and are fullly comitted to peaceful struggle?
    While they tar and feather those they don't agree with in Belfast, how long before its me or you who's in line for re-education?
    Are you talking about punishment beatings in Belfast (of which I haven't seen reliable figures). Surely this is linked to the problem in policing?
    Whatever you might say about the waste of space politicians (FF, PD, FG etc) you can't say your afraid they'd leave you in a wheelchair for life.................
    FF, PD, FG have done many many things to the taxpayer. As for wheelchair.............dont be talking nonsense.
    Yeah ok, but they still seem to be unhealthy involved in rabid money hoarding after they get elected aswell. Everthing from tax to land. I think they should be forced to sell off any interests they have and be barred from taking part in any business for the duration of their term. Lets see how many of them go the distance then.
    What does this mean? What tax and land? Should the Sinn Feinn party not be allowed own any assets?

Originally posted by Mighty_Mouse
    What does this mean? What tax and land? Should the Sinn Feinn party not be allowed own any assets?
    You mixed up my comments with Bertieball's (spin:p), I wasnt talking about sinn fien, my point was, the only business a politicion should be involved in while in office is policical stuff. If they want a hobby they can try golf.

Would you not agree that republicans have ended their voilent struggle and are fullly comitted to peaceful struggle?

No I would not agree. I don't believe republicans have ended their violent struggle. Punishment attacks continue on a daily basis (except of course around election time, per the PSNI), the Godfathers continue to maintain a private army in direct denial of the legality of our state, links are maintained with ETA/ FARC/ Kurdish groups in Turkey.

That's why I'm afraid the honest and genuine intentions and ideals held by many of the Spin Fein supporters will slowly be perverted and corrupted by the man with the gun at the top, Supreme Commander Gerry Adams Forces of the IRA.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,080 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

AGAIN, in calling then 'Spin Fein' are you trying to show your ignorance of the widespread spin/PR in politics today?

And again, that’s a nice theory about Gerry Adams.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,247 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Are you talking about punishment beatings in Belfast (of which I haven't seen reliable figures). Surely this is linked to the problem in policing?

FF, PD, FG have done many many things to the taxpayer. As for wheelchair.............dont be talking nonsense.

Post of the week, truly hilarious. Oh, wait, you were being serious?

/me wets himself laughing at the ignorant.

When I call them Spin Fein - its because they are the true masters of Spin and Media Manipulation. They are best in the world how at altering perception from reality.

Lets take an example Mary Lou describes herself as "Peace negotiator". Specifically what peace has she negotiated? For who? For how long? That's right folks - zippidy do dah.

And as for the IRA - well who do you think is actually in charge? Its not postman pat anyway..............

Now the scary thought is Gerry Adams has designs on being in government in the Republic...........

And as for the IRA - well who do you think is actually in charge? Its not postman pat anyway..............
    I dont think you could actually pin down exactly who's in charge of any group like the IRA. You seem to think it's a organisation like the postal service, Postman Pat would be a member.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

Heh, my money is on UKIP trying to do a better job at wreaking Europe.

Didn't realise though that the UK got 23 Billion Euros from the EU, and Kilroy wants to throw that all away because people keep eating in resterants.

I dont think you could actually pin down exactly who's in charge of any group like the IRA. You seem to think it's a organisation like the postal service, Postman Pat would be a member.

Have you read the history of the terrorists you support? Adams has been in control, granted with the support of a few key players such as McGuinness, for quite some time...

Originally posted by Sleepy
    Have you read the history of the terrorists you support? Adams has been in control, granted with the support of a few key players such as McGuinness, for quite some time...
    What history is this?
    Maybe it's true, I dunno, maybe that's why the bombings have stopped.

Have you read the history of Ireland?
    The two main partys here grew out of terrorism.

Really? You wouldn't do me a big favour and tell me where I can read this history?
    Postman pat is as good a guess as any
    Post Post of the week, truly hilarious. Oh, wait, you were being serious?
    /me wets himself laughing at the ignorant

Ok, I take it you think my post was incorrect in some manner.Would you like to point out my mistake. I'd be awfully grateful;)
    Punishment attacks continue on a daily basis (except of course around election time, per the PSNI), the Godfathers continue to maintain a private army in direct denial of the legality of our state, links are maintained with ETA/ FARC/ Kurdish groups in Turkey.
    To be honest I really don't know much about punishment beatings apart from the fact that there has been some since the cease-fire. I have yet to see a believable source for punishment beatings. Do you have figures for the IRA number of punishment beatings? (serious question). Regardless, punishment beatings are linked to a lack of police force in NI. As for links with ETA and FARC. They also have visited CUBA and have links with ANC in South Africa. It's common enough for freedom fighters to link up.
    by the man with the gun at the top, Supreme Commander Gerry Adams Forces of the IRA.
    Right, "the man with the golden gun" by any chance?;) Sure how can he be Supreme Commander when he's not even in the IRA;)

The two main partys here grew out of terrorism.

I wouldn't agree. The two main parties grew from an independence movement dedicated to freeing the country. By contrast SF/IRA act to terrorise large sections of their owncommunity - through punishment beatings, human rights abuses, arm raids, drug smuggling etc.

I don't want to see a situation like that in Northern Ireland and I certainly don't want to see it in Ireland.

That's why I believe the genuine and admirable efforts of many Spin Fein supporters/ voters/ workers will ultimately never be realised under the current "leadership" of Spin Fein.

The two main parties grew from an independence movement dedicated to freeing the country.
    and Sinn Fein? ............
    By contrast SF/IRA act to terrorise large sections of their owncommunity - through punishment beatings, human rights abuses, arm raids, drug smuggling etc
    drug smuggling?
    When and where?

Sinn Fein are the ballot box end of the armalite and ballot box strategy. I don't see any sign of the ending of the armalite side of that - we only have a "ceasefire" at the moment.

As such they are fundamentally different from FF & FG who in the 1920s and 1930s formed the Irish state. Spin Fein do not recognise the Irish state. Sinn Fein do not recognise that the Irish state can have only one army.

As for an example of the drug dealing:

Time: Continuous

Type: Angel Dust for cattle..........

I wouldn't agree. The two main parties grew from an independence movement dedicated to freeing the country. By contrast SF/IRA act to terrorise large sections of their owncommunity - through punishment beatings, human rights abuses, arm raids, drug smuggling etc.

I don't want to see a situation like that in Northern Ireland and I certainly don't want to see it in Ireland.
    You dont want to see stuff like that in Ireland? Ive got news for you. All that stuff has allready happened down here, been and gone. Im proud of the old republicans, but Ive long since lost the rose tinted views of what happed, before and after Independance.
    Nobody "decomisioned" their arms when the brits left the south, instead we got a bloody (and damn embarasing) civil war.
    We got our independance, those up in the north were told "Sorry, you're still British". Would you have setteld for that? Now maybe you would'nt have run around planting bombs left right and center but you cant tell me you wouldnt have got involed in some shape or form. Dont be telling me Sinn Fein are aliens from planet mars.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

drug smuggling?
    When and where?

Do you know anything about the ra? Terrorism is funded by drug dealing/smuggling and producing counterfeit goods, to name but two things.

Dont be telling me Sinn Fein are aliens from planet mars.

No of course not.

As I've stated before I've got a lot of respect for the commitment, idealism, energy and determination of the Sinn Fein supporters to make Ireland a better place.

However until the leadership (namely the Gerry & Marty show) unambiguously end their links to terrorism, decommission arms and disassociate themselves from organised crime and organised violation of human rights, I believe all the intentions of SF supports will be corrupted and destroyed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭earwicker

If people are interested in learning about the history of Sinn Fein, they could do worse than pick up Brian Feeney's Sinn Fein: A Hundred Turbulent Years, published by the University of Wisconsin Press. It might actually help inform some of the opinions bandied about in here.

<edted for typo>

A Secret History of the IRA by Ed Moloney would be a good read for some of you Shinners as well. If your going to support a party, at least know the roots of it's leaders. TBH, it actually paints Adams in quite a good light, but there's no way I could vote for him until full decomissioning has taken place and he learns something about economics and the government of a country. Maybe Sinn Fein will be worth voting for in 30 years. I seriously doubt it unless they take an about turn on the ould Marxism though...

Originally posted by Sleepy
    A Secret History of the IRA by Ed Moloney would be a good read for some of you Shinners as well.

Trash.

edit; sry, was thinking of another book