Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What comic are you reading at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭Moogle

been meaning to post to this thread for ages...fair play Fysh for breathing a bit of life back into it :D

I've been reading a heap over the past few weeks, but these are ones that spring to mind:

ghost rider #1

fantastic artwork in this issue from cover to cover. Gareth Ennis's story line shapes up well from the get go, some aspects of the story will be familiar ground to Preacher readers.
    I'm looking foward to the next issue and hoping that the standard keeps to this level...

Batman:Journey into Knight

A decent enough book, but at the same time with the superior 'All Star' Batman series just started it's run I'm left wondering why we need this?

All Star Batman 1 - 2

Theres an element of Sin City getting transplanted to Gotham City here with Frank Miller writing, the beginnings of the relationship between Batman and Robin is interesting, as is the playing on Batmans psychotic nature as he evades the police.

Shining Knight #4

A great series, not wholly satisfied with the ending (which isn't really the end), but thats more to do with the fact tht I have to wait about 6 months to see what 'erally' happens, looking foward to the 7 Soldiers Special next year as well as the rest of the 7 Soldiers series.

House of M
    I'm not quite sure what issue of this we're upto at the moment, but it hasn't dissappointed so far...hopefully the follow upseries 'decimation' will be of the same quality
    -does anyone know if the captain america issue of HOM is out yet?

Captain America is out this week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 Spideyman

Here we go again:
    New Avengers #10
    Very nice ending to this arc I think. The whole tower thing at the end you probably won't have a clue about unless you've read the original Sentry series.
    Ultimates2 #8
    Good issue but frankly I can't wait for this whole thing to be wrapped up because as I've said before it's taking way too long.
    Wolverine #32
    Pretty cool story and I like the art (and the black & white varient). Looking forward to his House of M run over the next 3 issues. Also read through the whole Enemy Of The State/ Agent Of SHIELD arcs this week as I got some back issues of the parts I was missing. It's excellent and a absolutly love Romita Jr.'s art. Spider-Man needs him.
    Ultimate Fantastic Four #23 / Annual
    Didn't think there was anything too special about either of these. Still good though.
    Captain America #10 (House of M)
    Nice bit of House of M history in this one also feels like a "What If" story, though I suppose this whole crossover kind of is.
    1602: New World
    Has picked up with this issue and it's take on Iron Man, I was starting to question wether it was still worth reading as I can see a lot of other people were.

Just checked this week's shipping list and (if it's to be trusted) there's an absolute load of cool titles in (I'm going to be broke). My hopes are pinned on:
    AMAZING SPIDER-MAN #524
    CABLE DEADPOOL #20
    DEFENDERS #3 (OF 5)
    NEW AVENGERS #11
    NEW WARRIORS #4 (OF 6)
    SENTRY #1 (OF 8)
    SPIDER-MAN HOUSE OF M #4 (OF 5)
    ULTIMATE IRON MAN #4 (OF 5)
    ULTIMATE SECRET #3 (OF 4)
    ULTIMATE SPIDER-MAN #83
    WOLVERINE #33
    YOUNG AVENGERS #7
    PVP #19

My recomendations, take 'em or leave 'em

• Closed Accounts Posts: 413 ✭✭spooydermot

Captain America is out this week.
    Thanks Moogle :D

house of M: Captain America #10

I'm not a captain america fan by any means but really enjoyed this, I picked it up becasuse I thought it would be interesting to see the 'history' behind the House of M reality, and it does give a pretty good run down.

[Spolier] nice touch with the McCarthy Mutant activites hearings[\Spoiler]

The last panel gives a nice nod to the main house of M storyline

Seven Soldiers: Mister Miracle #1
    It's hard to tell this from the first issue, as it is with most of the seven soldiers series, there are no direct references to the sheeda to be found here yet.
    Hopefully this part of Seven Soldiers will take shape quicker than 'the guardian', which to my mind left it until the last issue to become really interesting.

Supergirl #2

I picked up the first issue out of interest and it was intersting enough, but from this issue I don't think I'll pick it up again, it looks like its shaping up to be "this month supergirl meets (insert crime fighting group here)"

Supreme Power:Hyperion #1

This series takes over from Supreme Power (along with NightHawk) , it meanders a bit and by the end seems to have become something like X-men vs Hyperion. In fact there are elements in the story that move it closer and closer to the realms of 'rising stars' which is ground that has been tredded before.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

Relatively slim pickings this week:

Bone Rest #3 : Continuing the Opificium Dei storyline, the mysterious Black Man brings a plage of rats to the city to aid him in his quest to redeem humanity of their sins. So far this is a damn fine and interestingly different horror comic. Definitely worth a look if you like things like Hellblazer.

Matador #5 : This series is starting to bore me, to be honest. The closing issue promises to reveal the secrets of the Matador, but since he's been second fiddle to the corruption story that Isabel finds herself in the middle of, it doesn't make much of a difference. Not worth picking up, overall.

1602 : A New World #3 : As Spideyman mentions, this picks up a bit with the old version of Iron Man putting in an appearance. However, this is marred for me by the clichéd version of J Jonah Jameson whose only mission in life, it seems, is to bitch at Parquah. The tone of the conversation between Parquah and Banner marrs what should have been an interesting conversation (are their "Witchbreed" powers a gift from God that they might redeem themselves with, or the external signs of their innate evil?), and frankly, as has been pointed out by others, this series isn't a patch on the original Gaiman-penned series.

Desolation Jones #3 : Further into Jones's search for the stolen Hitler Porn, Warren Ellis takes us into the LA porn industry. The writing is very Ellis, the artwork complimenting it magnificently. If you don't like Ellis's work, this probably won't convert you. If you do, however, it's another damn fine fix.

Mister Miracle #1 : The 5th series in Morrison's "Seven Soldiers Of Victory" storyline, I've been looking forward to this since I noticed the plug for it in one of the Zatanna issues. Mister Miracle starts off with the title character plummeting into a black hole and having a vision/spirit encounter. We later discover he is jaded and tired of living life always seeking new thrills; he latches onto this vision as a way of giving his life meaning, but seems to be losing the plot. There's an interesting discussion about the nature of good and evil and mankind's struggle with them, but outside of the greater context of the Seven Soldiers, this is a weak first issue. Should get better next issue, as the closing pages promise, but still...

I think this has been the single biggest overload of comics for me in a single week ever. Alot of good stuff though so I can't complain. Where to start...
    The Sentry #1
    Worth waiting for, Jenkins is an excellent writer and Jomita Jr. an equally excellent artist. It seems to follow the thread of the original series with a narration from inside the Sentry's head as he thinks about exactly what he is and what he does. For all you "it's a Superman knockoff" naysayers, Jenkins said that he created the character based on what he'd like to do with Superman but knew he would not be allowed to alter the character so radically (ie. make him more human). Anyway I already see key differences between the two especially highlighted in the last panel.
    New Avengers #11
    We finally get to see the Ronin character and
    there are hints being dropped that coincide with speculation that he may be Daredevil, thoughts anyone?
    Good issue but I really feel that Bendis is really misusing Spider-Man, he comes across as very Jewish. Nothing against Jews here but thats not Spider-Man. "Oy, again with the..." He's also protrayed in fights as being pretty weak, He's stronger than Cage, Cap and Spider-Woman for crying out loud.
    Amazing Spider-Man #524
    Rounds off this story nicely and sets up for the 12 issue "The Other" crossover. I've read alot of speculation about this one and am hoping for the best. Some great interaction between Peter and Tony Stark here.
    Young Avengers #7
    A very good comic, everone I know has been suprised and impressed (and in one case seduced) by the quality of this title. First part of what looks to be an interesting 2-parter with some superb art from this Andrea DiVito person, who I was disapointed to learn is only doing the two issues.
    The Defenders #3/New Warriors #4
    Two very entertaining titles reviving classic B-list teams, both continue to deliver the laughs. The Defenders more so as
    The Hulk gets some and doesn't have the "staying power" :D
    House of M
    Three titles here, Wolverine looking good with us learning some back story and a decent twist, Spider-Man is alright but doesn't seem to really be going anywhere, New X-Men nothing to recommend it at all really unless you're a fan of it pre-House of M
    Ultimate Universe; Ultimate Spider-Man #83
    I really like this arc and where it's heading, especially after a few disappointing turns in previous stories. Some more Peter & MJ break-up whiney-ness, some more Black Cat being sexy-ness and a bit of
    Moon Knight talking to himselves...-ness (yes I said selves)
    Ultimate Secret #3
    About damn time but possibly the most all out entertaining title this week (and that's saying a lot). Some minor flaws can be found though as the previously eloquent Thor is reduced to stereotypical Viking speak (but worth it for the giggles), Iron Man seems to have trouble charming Sue Storm in the slightest even though he's a "playboy billionaire" and is engaged to the execeedingly hot Black Widow (I'm not suggesting that she should go weak at the knees but he comes across as being utterly hopeless), Oh and we once again see a white version of Ultimate Hawkeye, even though he's black on the cover.
    Ultimate Iron Man #4
    This title is so-so, I just hope they manage to keep up regular shipping dates to keep the story flowing.
    Revelations #2
    I like this one a lot, some great conversations throughout and it also comes courtesy of one of my favourite artists; Humberto Ramos, who along with Jenkins forms one of my favourite pairings, their Spider-Man arcs are unmissable.
    PVP #19
    A very funny web strip available in regular comic form, this issue is a perfect example of it in it's prime.

That's it finally, thanks for listening.. reading, whatever.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

Remains (Steve Niles, Kieron Dwyer)
    Serenity #2 and Serenity #3

I wanted to get Walking Dead but I couldn't get the one I wanted, so I ended up getting Remains instead. There's something haunting about the style, but it's too early to tell if it's actually any good.

These are my top three for this week:

New Avengers #11:
    Intoduces Ronin. Marvel have released a quick description of issue #13 in Marvel Previews and it states the Ronin character is NOT who you think it is Spideyman! I'm really enjoying this series. wasn't sure about the whole big guns team.

Young Avengers #7:
    Its the Young Avengers vs. their parents. This is top too. I thought it was going to be some crappy comic selling itself solely on its connection to Avengers methos but Heinberg writes some good stuff!! Good character based stories.

Daredevil #77:
    Matt's ex-wife, Black Widow and Elektra all turn up to help him now that the Kingpin is back to mess with him. The final arc for this creative team which in my opinion is the best since Frank Miller.

Also liked JLA, Omac and Defenders (funny stuff!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭direbadger

The last new comic I got into was The Goon by Eric Powell, which I can't recommend enough. It's hilarious and irreverent and it even appeals to people who don't normally read comics, to which my non-nerd boyfriend will attest.

At the moment I'm reading a silly little girls comic called W.I.T.C.H. It's by Disney which I know is sooo un-rock'nroll but I couldn't resist the cutesy manga artwork. I quite enjoy a bit of light stuff with pretty artwork from time to time.

Batman: Journey into Knight #2

Interesting enough stuff, the interaction between Gordon and Batman is quite well done, nice take on the misconceptions that Bruce Wayne has about his reationship with his parents. The main story however is moving a bit too slow.

Spider-Man: House of M #4
    The cliff hanger at the end of the last issue was seriously clever,
    but dissappoints, they could have done somevery cool stuff here with spidey/green goblin, but this issue copped out instead ah well

Ultimate IronMan #4

The long wait inbetween issues is wearing the story thin, the whole thing in the Stark school for gifted children (or whatever its called) is a bit dull too, but given that the first 3 issues were fairly good, I'm willing to weather it a bit further :D

New X-Men col 5: Assault on Weapon plus

The whole story line with Beaky and Angel doesn't really hold my interest as much as the mystery behind who shot emma frost, the Wolverine/Cyclops weapon plus story steals the show and ends the book on a nice cliffhanger, and gives us a nice bit of info about the first weapn X subject (probabl most other X-men readers knew it, but i didn't ;) )

Moogle wrote:
    the Ronin character is NOT who you think it is Spideyman!

Hey! I said thats what they're hinting and let's face it that is almost confirmation that it isn't him. I'm avoiding reading the previews with their "after what has happened in a comic you haven't read yet" approach but a friend has a theory that it's (possible
    Shang Chi
    ) Don't really think so myself.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

Well, since there's not been much in stores lately to hold my interest, I've been reading webcomics. And I find, much to my delight, that J. Grant has decided to restart the Jay series on Flem Comics. Woo! (Usual Flem-type warnings apply - if you can't laugh at horrible things being done to people, you may well not like this comic...)

Webcomic-wise my two personal favourites are PVP (Player Vs Player) and VG Cats

• Subscribers Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭Draco

Long time since I posted to this thread.

so, the stuff that sticks out from the last few months:

2000AD: A real slow, and obvious, burner for the Dredd story. Still, very well executed. It's about a cyborged up war vet returning to Mega-City 1 and his decent into vigilantism. Leatherjack (a sci-fi about a sentient book) started of ****e but has grown on me. Invasion is a little preachy (it is written by Pat Mills after all) but enjoyable. Breathing Space (Judge goes to the moon and murders start) is predicable crap with muddy artwork.

Fell #2: Despite it being shorter than most comics, it feels far more dense. Probably because of the 3x3 gird most pages take on.This issues starts off with Fell investigating a murdered woman who had a foetus removed. It actually went off then into a completely different direction than I expected (the stories are based on actually events and I was thinking of a different story I had heard earlier this year). I do like the artwork and it's minimalist backgrounds. It's worth picking up anyway, 'cause it's cheap as chips.

Serenity #1-3: Poor enough I thought. Artwork is passable I suppose, but the story is dull filler. I know it's supposed to explain the reason for Shepard not being in the film, but they could have done better. Is the guy out for revenge some one that was in the TV series?

Authority: the Magnificent Kevin: I always get a snigger out of these. starting off with loyalist and republican terrorists trying to off him as he has a had shandy in bed sets the tone for the whole thing. Silly, puerile and violent. Wonderful stuff.

Various Ultimate Annuals: A poor enough lot overall. Spider man gets a new missus which is then seemly ignored in normal continuity. Fury has an attempted assassination made on him and there's a Rouge/Gambit dull-as-ditch-water story for X-men.

Draco wrote:

Various Ultimate Annuals: A poor enough lot overall. Spider man gets a new missus which is then seemly ignored in normal continuity. Fury has an attempted assassination made on him and there's a Rouge/Gambit dull-as-ditch-water story for X-men.

Ultimates wasn't a must read either. I did like Fantastic Four. It was a good interpretation of the Inhumans.

I really liked the Spider-Man and X-men annuals, they both had some pretty cool moments and a good story (The Kitty thing isn't being ignored, this takes place after the Warriors story, kind of spoils the possibility of a Black Cat relationship in the end). Fantastic Four was decent, even though it was extra long the story felt rushed, I kept checking if I had skipped a page. Ultimates felt a tad pointless, I just want the current arc to end already.

Not much this week after last week:
    Marvel Team-Up #13
    Still very good, I do feel that he is over using Spidey and Wolverine but the way Kirkman constantly dusts off old forgotten characters and gives them a new lease on life, kind of balances things.

Thor Blood Oath #2
    Very good mini this, I recommend you pick it up at the very least for the fact that it promises to have Thor duke it out with our very own Cu Culainn, without using his hammer I might add. It's adapting an old Irish myth as it is.

Spider-Man: The Other Sketchbook
    Got a copy of this, looks promising. Seems that they really do intend to dole out some changes.

Wizard's out also and deserves a mention. Some speculation about the next Spider-Man movie (drawn out a bit much though). A fair few tidbits regarding Infinite Crisis also for those of you who care.

Also I'm pretty confident I've cracked the whole Ronin's identity thing, it's
    Elektra
    Read through the latest New Avengers again, it makes sense. (Still haven't read the previews)

There's been very little grabbing my attention in Other Realms recently, to the point that the only things I've picked up this week are:

Sin City : Hell & Back

The last Sin City book so far, and the biggest single story. This the story of Wallace, a struggling artist in Sin City who meets a beautiful girl by chance, the night she's kidnapped by agents of a shady organisation. Wallace has to go up against them to get her back, and he has no idea how big or powerful the organisation is - but he has a few secrets up his sleeve as well. It's a damn fine read, as well as being the closest thing to a "happy" story in Sin City. There's an excellent chapter in which Wallace is hallucinating, and Miller uses it to basically tip his hat to all sorts of cartoon & comic characters.

Proposition Player

An oldish title this, I picked it up because Bill Willingham's work on Fables intrigues me. This is the story of Joey Martin, a poker player paid by the Thunder Road casino to keep the games going at quiet times. After a night out, he wakes up to find he's bought the souls of 32 people - and gotten himself some unwanted attention from the celestial and infernal realms into the bargain. And that's just the start of his adventure...it's a good enough story, but it's more like an interesting B-side than a must-have album. Still, i got it cheap so I'm not complaining.

Spideyman wrote:
    Thor Blood Oath #2
    Very good mini this, I recommend you pick it up at the very least for the fact that it promises to have Thor duke it out with our very own Cu Culainn, without using his hammer I might add. It's adapting an old Irish myth as it is.

I think this a good story too. Why they haven't handed the regular Thor book to Mike Avon Oeming I'll never know. You just have to look at Thor: Diassembled. The guy knows his stuff.

I think Marvel are waiting till the end of House of M or DeciMation to herald his return. PUT OEMING ON THE BOOK!!

Kindom Come

Great stuff, fabtastic artwork, been on my list to read for a while.
    Can't help but think that it was 'inspired' by Alan Moores 'Twilight of the superheroes' (which was discussed elsewhere on the comics bord) which was abandoned after the spilt between him and DC. After reading the synopsis for 'Twilight' I would have loved to see it in print, but Kindom Come is still a great story.

New X-Men: Planet X
    A pretty good twist on Grant Morrisons story. Even though I like slow burners I can't help feeling that it could have come quicker.

House of M: 7
    nice....very nice..looking foward to the next issue and the beginning of Decimation

Friendly Neighbourhood Spiderman #1 - The Other

If this works to the same standards as the orginal story that featured Morlon as well as working in the interesting twist that Strazinsky gave on spidermans powers then this could be a great series, hopefully marvel is on a role with House of M, Decimation and the Other.

Ghost Rider #2

Like the first issue., absoloutley fantastic artwork, its shaping up to be the kind of story that I might buy as a graphic novel when its released.

Supreme Powers: Night Hawk #2

Nighthawk moves closer to it's JLA inspired roots with the introduction of a killer who paints his face like a clown, theres a pretty harrowing scene with a baby in a crack house aswell...

House of M: 7
    nice....very nice..looking foward to the next issue and the beginning of Decimation

I have to agree with you on this one. This would be my comic of the week. Nice ending. The shock that you were expecting i.e. the whodunnit (which was a good shock) was overshadowed by another that you weren't expecting. Can't wait for issue 8 and then... DeciMation!!

Spooydermot, you should get New X-men: Here Comes Tomorrow!

Moogle wrote:
    I have to agree with you on this one. This would be my comic of the week. Nice ending. The shock that you were expecting i.e. the whodunnit (which was a good shock) was overshadowed by another that you weren't expecting. Can't wait for issue 8 and then... DeciMation!!

Spooydermot, you should get New X-men: Here Comes Tomorrow!

Yeah, I'm planning to pick it up after next payday, can't wait to see the aftermath from Planet X....

p.s my 200th post! wa-hey!

Havent posted for a while (again!) but given that I spent the guts of 100 euro on comics the other day (hadn't picked anything up for 3 weeks) I figured I'd post again....

Singles :

Desolation Jones #4

An interesting continuation of the initial 6-issua arc, this provides an interesting twist to the plot as well as giving further insight into Jones's condition, though the exact nature of the Desolation Test is still unclear. I'm loving the artwork as much as Jones's character so I'll be sticking with this for a while, I reckon.

Little Star #5

Missed the fourth issue of this so there's bits of the story that I'm missing, but I'm still enchanted by Andi Watson's writing and almost tender artwork. The drawing is not unsophisticated so much as deliberately down to earth, and for this particular story it works very well.

1602 : The New World #4

If I'm honest about this, it's a crap follow-up to the original 1602. Not least because of the gaping plot hole I previously mentioned (namely
    that though the hulk and spiderman remain in the 1602 Age Of Heroes, there's no real excuse for more heroes to appear, such as Iron Man
    ). But I'm rather taken by the 1602 version of Iron Man so we'll see where it goes. Neither writing nor artwork excels here, sadly - it's very much going on the strength of the original 1602.

Sea Of Red #5

After the 4th issue concluded the original story arc, this issue is a bit of background to some of the characters previously introduced as well as a damn fine story in its own right. I like the central idea and particularly the closing page. Remender continues to impress with his genre-blending.

Solo #7

A bit of a blah issue after #6 (I was previously familiar with Jordi Bernet as an artist from some spanish comics of his I'd seen, so exposure to more of his work was a welcome surprise). Written by Michael Allred, this issue will be enjoyed by anyone with a love of golden and silver age DC comics - but since that's not me, the only thing I was interested in was the dream-sequence story in which he confronts a golden-age Batman with the issues raised later with his transformation into the Dark Knight. First dud issue of the Solo series, for me.

Trades :

100 Bullets vol 8

I'd been waiting for this trade for ages (thanks to Diamond taking a while to ship it to Ireland) but it did not disappoint. A hefty tome in size, it deals with Wylie Times, Dizzy and Mr Shepherd as they meet and discover how much of their pasts they share or have in common. Risso's artwork is, as always, fantastic and the writing matches it. One thing I'm enjoying about 100 Bullets is that every time I think I've worked out where Azzarello is heading with the overall idea, he throws a curveball out of nowhere and skews everything, but never compromising what we've already read.

Fables vol 5 : The Mean Seasons

Another long-overdue trade, this was enjoyable though the shine is starting to wear off this series for me, chiefly because I'm starting to wonder if there's an overall direction to the story or not. The election storyline was cleverly handled, and the subplot about Snow White's childbirth and its consequences was very well done. And yet...I can't help feeling that if a confrontation to the adversary is where the series is heading, then it's going to drag and lose the spark that's made it so interesting to read this far.

We3

I meant to pick this up when it first came out, but was put off by the notion of paying 20 euro for a 80page trade. Once the price dropped I picked it up, and I'm damn glad I did. I'm already keen on Quitely's artwork and Morrison's writing, and this was a finely-executed piece of work. Considering the central characters are mechanically-adapted animals who can barely communicate, the story draws you into their world to a surprising degree, and the underlying theme (that animals turned into killing machines are still more capable of caring for each other than the military hierarchy that created them) is handled delicately enough that it's never preachy. Add to that some first-rate artwork with extremely detailed and in some cases utterly unexpected shots, and you've got an excellent comic. Well worth reading.

Planetary vol 3

I confess, I'm a late addition to the Planetary fan club. I like Ellis's writing, but had only seen the Planetary/Authority crossover - which, while good, appeared to be a bit too much like regular superheroes only with a bit of swearing and attitude for my liking. I could grow to enjoy being utterly wrong if it meant I kept finding comics I enjoy as much as this - between the crackling dialogue, Cassaday's breathtaking artwork, and the writing bubbling with so many ideas they almost burst off the page, I keep wanting to re-read everything I've gotten so far and then go and kick Ellis up the arse until he finishes the last 2 issues so I can go out and complete my collection of the trades.

Fysh wrote:
    Fables vol 5 : The Mean Seasons

Another long-overdue trade, this was enjoyable though the shine is starting to wear off this series for me, chiefly because I'm starting to wonder if there's an overall direction to the story or not. The election storyline was cleverly handled, and the subplot about Snow White's childbirth and its consequences was very well done. And yet...I can't help feeling that if a confrontation to the adversary is where the series is heading, then it's going to drag and lose the spark that's made it so interesting to read this far.

The Adversary is coming up in the next graphic novel!

Fysh wrote:
    Desolation Jones #4.
    I'm liking this and Fell a rather lot at the moment. There's something rather meaty about it all. The chat with the porn star in #3 was rather touching and frightening in equal measures.
    Fysh wrote:
    1602 : The New World #4
    I'm glad I gave this a miss. as soon as I seen it wasn't written by Gaimen, I just thought 'cash in'.
    Fysh wrote:
    100 Bullets vol 8
    I've stopped getting the singles of this as it seems to be meandering along with no real purpose. After re-reading the lot over a couple of night I decided that while the artwork was great and individual stories worked, as a whole it just wasn't setting my world on fire.

Other stuff:
    DMZ #1
    A near future story set during a second civil war in the US. the set-up is a little too blackhawk down, but it all show lots of potential. I'll stick with it for a while anyway.

The Wintermen
    Three issues in and I'm intrigued, if a little confused. Ex-Spenatz , russian mafia and secret Soviet superhero programs all mixed together giving a sense of a decaying Russia with people doing what they can to get a crust.

• Registered Users Posts: 91 ✭✭saado

Playing catch up with a few comics atm, just finished The Watchmen and LXG, neither of which particularily impressed me. In the middle of reading Sandman, which is superlative. Keeping up with Ex Machina and Cable & Deadpool, both of which I love for different reasons.

Recent purchases have been somewhat thin on the ground for me:

1602 part 5 of 5:

Strangely a better conclusion than I expected from this series. It resists the urge to just set 1602Hulk against 1602Iron Man and instead focuses more on the conflict between the colonists and the natives on the island. Still, the whole series is nothing like as good as the original 1602.

Sea Of Red #6

Picking up the pace of the initial storyline after #5's brief background issue, this issue throws the story so far into a completely different perspective. Remender is doing a good job with this, well worth a look - especially with the trade of #1-#4 out now (well, allegedly out now, depending on whether Diamond have decided to ship it yet).

Fell #3

The first issue of Fell I've been able to pick up, because they disappeared very quickly out of Other Realms, and I can see why it's getting talked about. Templesmith's half-dreamy artwork mixes perfectly with Ellis's writing to create a convincing atmosphere, and the rhythms of dialogue and movement feel just right. I'll be picking this up regularly (as with much of Ellis's writing) and suggest everyone else take a look too.

Jack Cross #4

A somewhat disappointing closer, this. There's a bit of interesting discussion about the nature of terrorism and how to fight it, and where the lines can or can't be drawn, but it then ends up with a seemingly required-by-the-genre "twist" and well-scripted but somehow lifeless action scenes. I doubt I'll come back to follow the further adventures of Jack Cross.

Havoc 21 #4

I've quite enjoyed this issue - the production values have improved a lot since the last issue, which helps. Invisible Nation is a nice idea for a werewolf story, though it does feel a bit like it closes on a loose end. And the second story whose name escapes me is a fun chibi-manga-styled zombie story. Worth a look if you like your Irish-made comics, and it's definitely improving with each issue.

Y The Last Man : Girl On Girl

For some reason this didn't really grab me; probably because despite appearances not a great deal happens in this trade. Yorick meets someone who he finds himself strongly attracted to, both physically and mentally - she turns out to be a pirate of sorts. 355 and Alison discover they share a secret...then Yorick has to choose between pirate and, well, everyone else. A bit meh, although the short story included at the end ("Boy Loses Girl") was quite interesting. Not the best trade for this series; the storyline feels like it's starting to lag after the plot developments in "Ring Of Truth".

7 Soldiers Of Victory stuff :

Zatanna #4

A rather nice close to Zatanna's series; in light of the recent "Girl in the clubhouse" articles on CBR, it's interesting to see Zatanna talk about her costumes and why she likes the putting on a show aspect of magic. The Seven Unknown Men of Slaughter Swamp part was very Morrisonesque, but then that's no bad thing.

Bulleteer #1

This is a bit of a strange one. Aesthetically the central character actually put me off this series, but once I actually picked it up and read it, the characterisation was so good it convinced me to stick with it. Can't help feeling this is going to end up as a "great power, great responsibility" type story, but hopefully Morrison will make something better of it.

Frankenstein! #1

Of the remaining 7 Soldiers series, this is by far my favourite. I like Morrison's characterization of the Monster, and the Uglyhead story is an interesting twist on the typical American high-school bullying story. Looking forward to the next issue.

Fysh wrote:

Havoc 21 #4

I've quite enjoyed this issue - the production values have improved a lot since the last issue, which helps. Invisible Nation is a nice idea for a werewolf story, though it does feel a bit like it closes on a loose end. And the second story whose name escapes me is a fun chibi-manga-styled zombie story. Worth a look if you like your Irish-made comics, and it's definitely improving with each issue.

I was quite impressed with the artwork (and writing) for Invisible Nation. I would like to see this creative team collaborate in future issues. I'd like to see where they would go with this. Particularly liked the Werewolf. (Was also at a loss when it came to story two)

Speaking of Werewolves. I picked up Freakshow #12. The story seems to be hitting its stride and the writer has made a good move by splitting up the characters so you have more than one story to deal with.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭CerebralCortex

The authority.

• Registered Users Posts: 577 ✭✭✭Velcrow

saado wrote:
    The Watchmen and LXG, neither of which particularily impressed me

Man your hard to please :)

Enjoyed "New frontiers" - because I'm a sucker for 1950's style drawn comics!

Fysh wrote:
    Fell #3
    Yeah, they've been great stuff. Lovely and dense. I also like the fact they're all stand alone.
    Fysh wrote:
    Y The Last Man : Girl On Girl
    It came across as the usually 'characters get sidetracked to pad out story' stuff you'd expect from an ongoing TV series. At least it introduces another functional army. Also, it does show a far darker side to the aftermath of all the men dying than previously, which adds a bit of depth.

Other stuff:
    The Walking Dead Vol. 4
    After a rather weak Vol. 3, this returns to form with a fabulous speech at the end. Nothing new in the artwork, but it does look well. I'm very pleased about the schedule of release for the trades - there isn't much delay between the last issue in the collection being published separately and the trade coming out.

Red Son
    Superman as a filthy commie. It's not bad and is definitely one of the better Superman elseworlds, although it is let down by the ending. I seem to vaguely remember some sort of controversy over it when it was first released but I can't see why myself.

BPRD The Black Flame #4
    Ah, while it was a little predictable, the twist was wonderfully done. the series as a whole is a little weak though and doesn't quiet have the 'umph' that Hellboy himself tends to bring.

Ultimate Fantastic Four #25
    And in a week of twists, this issue's was rubbish. I don't know much about Namor in general Marvel continuity, but him being on the wrong side of the good/evil line was far too obvious.

Losers #30
    Aaaand another twist. Back stab after back stab. This is building to a bit of a crescendo, but I fear the pay off isn't going to be all that great.

haven't posted in ages so I'll just pick what ever titles come to mind that I've read recently

7 soldiers Frankenstein:

Pretty good reading in this, I have a feeling that its going to be the stand out title of the remaining 7 Soldiers story. Looking forward to seeing Frankenstein on mars!

Zantanna 4:

Good ending to the Zantanna story (until the 7 soldiers special next year) especially liked the tie back to issue 0 of 7 Soldiers in Slaughter Swamp.

X-Men: Here Comes tomorrow (tpb)

I was really happy with the ending to grant morrisons x-men arc. this book is a real pay off, i enjoyed the other books but occasionally felt that they got sidetracked into the weird (even for comics) a bit much, particularly Imperial (which i believe was book 2)

However I would have liked to see a few more things explained or addressed such as
    why did the Shi-ar bring Casandra Nova back, what happened to phantomex and perhaps a bit more background to the future war, not to mention the aftermath of Magnetos attack on the city
    - but perhaps all these gaps add to the mystery gives us a better appreciation for the lenght of time that has passed since the story in 'Planet X'

Superman: Red Son
    From Draco:
    although it is let down by the ending
    I read the third part of this recently and I have to say I quite liked the ending, but I think perhaps I'm just a sucker for alternate endings and the like...really loved the cover art of the three issues aswell.

transformers 0

Difficut to judge on this issue, but I do like the way that IDG are keeping the whole aspect of 'robots in disguise' i.e that it is supposed to be a secret war, the robots aren't hanging out on every street corner or anything like that.
    Decent artwork, but time will tell, it looks like IDG are pulling the old Dreamwave trick of mutiple covers very issue, hopefully popular opinion will disuade them from this in time.

spiderman: the other (various issues)

theres elements to this that I like and elements I don't like.
    The idea of adding a more mystic and organic property to spidermans powees is pretty cool, but theres an element of the soap oprea here, as well as a bit of: this week spiderman meets Black Panther! this week spiderman meets daredevil !

Corporate ninja

I picked this up on holidays its absoloutely hilarious! If you see this pick it up!