Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New rig. Need games.

• 21-06-2004 7:03pm
    Registered Users Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭

I just bought a new PC moving up from my poor old 700mhz antique to a badass all knobs and whistles yokey.

Not having a machine capable of running new releases for the past couple of years I haven't really kept abreast of what the best games are for the last ages.

Could people post up what they consider to have been the "must have" games of the past while? I just don't feel that running CM 03-04 with full detail on 26 leagues is doing my machine the justice it so richly deserves.

Online stuff is cool also cos I'll be getting broadband in in a week or so.

Cheers lads.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭Samson

There's a few must have games listed here:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?s=&threadid=168574

• Registered Users Posts: 4,008 ✭✭✭rabbitinlights

Far cry and Thief III are great.

what kinda GFX card did you get?

Sean

• Registered Users Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

ATI Radeon 128 if I remember correctly.

C'mon lads. Dapper needs a new pair of shoez.

I'm purchasing some form of audio-visual entertainment this very day so any kind of advice would be sweet.

At the moment Far Cry is in the lead.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭silverside

Far Cry is an absolute must. and it's quite cheap on the web now.

Other than that you have GTA Vice City (or new one out soon?),
    Xiii (I like it's style although its not a graphics-showoff),
    Splinter Cell (havent played it myself),
    Unreal Tournament 2004 (nice graphics but a bit too fast and furious for me).

• Registered Users Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭amp

GTA: Vice City is also a must and on your machine it'll play sweet. Make sure you patch it.

I'd also go for Prince of Persia: Sands of Time which is an exquisite platformer and the lovely Knight of the old Republic (KOTOR) for some hardcore Star Wars RPGness.

That'll keep you going for a while :)

• Registered Users Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

Battlefield 1942 / Vietnam!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭L5

Far Cry is a must if your wanting to stretch the limits of your new pc.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

I highly recommend Far Cry, GTA Vice City and Unreal Tournament 2004. Far Cry's graphics are utterly gorgeous if your hardware can keep up.

What model of ATI Radeon have you got? Radeon is a whole family of cards with a broad range of specifications. If you got one of those lidl pc's last thursday it'll be a 9600XT.

Thanks lads.

Stephen - 128MB ATI Radeon 9800 Pro is it's full name.

I went the traditional Dell route, the PC is cool only drawback is it's slightly noisier than my old one which I wasn't expecting.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭amp

Well the jump from 700mhz to whatever P4 you have is a noisy one alright. Plus you've probably got a fan on your graphics card and possibly even one on your northbridge.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,560 ✭✭✭Woden

that graphics card will handle pretty much anything you will throw at it, i too recommend the battlefield games

• Registered Users Posts: 7,482 ✭✭✭RE*AC*TOR

All the below games look really good. I personally like them all, some would disagree with a few.

First Person Shooter:
    Far Cry
    Deus Ex 2
    Unreal 2
    Call Of Duty (not quite as good looking as the rest)
    *edit* Halo

Third Person Shooter/Action:
    Grand Theft Auto 3 / Vice City
    Max Payne 2
    Hitman Contracts
    *edit* Splinter Cell / Pandora Tomorrow

Real Time Strategy:
    Command And Conquer Generals + Zero Hour Expansion
    Perimeter
    Ground Control 2 (not Officially released yet ;) )

Role Playing:
    Star Wars Kinghts Of The Old Republic

Sport:
    Pro Evoution Soccer 3
    Need For Speed Underground (racing is a sport);)

*edit* haven't played Painkiller, but its suppoded to be gorgeous - gameplay -wise much in the style of serious sam.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,065 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Battlefield vietnam !

Knights of the old republic
    ( star wars RPG and one of best games ive ever pld )

Vice City

Unreal Tournament 2004 ( for sheer wow value )

• Registered Users Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

Nethack

I need some nethack. Feel the power of raw Ascii!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

Vice City and Far Cry are what i'd go for - now's a great time to buy far cry, with the 1.2 patch imminent

• Registered Users Posts: 597 ✭✭✭bambam

+1 for far cry & +1 for online Call of Duty

Far Cry it is!

I wanted Vice City as well but it's out of stock everywhere. Including play.com. :(

I was playing GTA 3 with everything turned all the way up. Looked sweet.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭i_am_dogboy

here are a few that may not challenge your machine much, but still worth while

homeworld 2 - fantastic space strategy with an excellent story, very nice graphics and some of the best sound your likely to hear in a game

no one lives forever 2 - under rated first person shooter with very simplistic rpg element and great humour

broken sword 3 - it's just brilliant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 833 ✭✭✭Stormfox1020

If you have broadband, plunge into all the battlefield games. If you dont stay well away from them, until you do get it. The single player is bollocks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭ozt9vdujny3srf

Thief 3 is brilliant, graphics are sublime, have to turn them down a bit on my ti4600 though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 amarc

I can't believe no-one's metioned Counter-Strike... it's like the crack pipe of FPS games :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

Originally posted by amarc
    I can't believe no-one's metioned Counter-Strike... it's like the crack pipe of FPS games :)
    give me far cry any day tbh, the nice tidy line of chaz of fps games.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

• Registered Users Posts: 6,007 ✭✭✭Moriarty

I refuse to respond in any meaningful way because you called it your "rig".

Words fail me.

• Registered Users Posts: 822 ✭✭✭Mutz

Direct X 9! Feck sake, this means new gfx card time. Already have a nifty gf4 ti4600 128mb :dunno:

No it doesn't. Directx9 runs perfectly on gf4s, aswell as a whole load of other cards.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Rig? Isn't that what truck drivers call their cabs?

Indeed.