Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

where to learn?

• 22-06-2004 2:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭

I would love to learn how to play hold 'em and find a good group to play with on a regular basis. Where can I go to learn in Dublin/online? I love card playing (lived in the States for a while and got in three/four trips to Nevada per year while there, played a lot of blackjack) and would like to find similar-minded folks to play with. Winning and even losing some cash would be fun too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

Have a read through all the poker links that have been posted in the sticky and other threads around the forum. I think there's plenty of instructions on the very basics of how to play hold'em. You might pick up a book or two on amazon about hold'em for beginners, but its better to just play. Ladbrokes have a downloadable poker client, you can play for play money against other online people.

Other than that, once you know how the game works sign up for a home game. come along and you can call Clock! on DeV and have a go for a few quid.

The fitz on a thursday/sunday evening is great for beginners too. There's load of threads around on that though.

• Registered Users Posts: 799 ✭✭✭dirkey_wynne

Hey ionapaul,

I learned how to play hold em online at www.pokerroom.com
    You can play for free money there till you get the hang of it all. I played online there for real money too, but not till I had practiced quite a bit with the free stuff!! I've just recently joined boards and went for a game with some of the lads from on here - all friendly - while they take your money :o) - and more than willing to chat etc. A lot of the lads from on here play in Dublin in a club called the Fitzwilliam.
    If I was you, perhaps practice online with the free money games till you get the hang of it, then either go along to one of the home games that's advertised here or go into the Fitz. All the lads I've met from on here would easily help out and be happy to give tips and advice I'm sure!
    Anyway, that would be my opinion! You'll quickly learn to love hold em...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭joe.

and if you do well here in the fake money rooms. would you call it a good indication as to how well you can do in real life

Nope, not at all. It's nothing like playing with real money. However it is useful if you want to pick up the basics of the game without risking anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,788 ✭✭✭MrPudding

Originally posted by bmarley
    and if you do well here in the fake money rooms. would you call it a good indication as to how well you can do in real life

That depends on where you play. On some of the sites play can be unrealistic. For example, I first started playing on Empire Poker. I don’t think I ever saw a game where a player won as the last man standing pre flop or even after it. No matter what you bet someone will call you no-matter what they have. This is not very good. I then started playing in VCPoker. I quite like it. Most of the lads here play in various other sites.

I stuck with VC for a couple of reasons. Firstly, people fold. Even in the free money tables people will fold unless they have a hand. Of course there is the odd muppet but you can win a hand as the last player standing. And secondly, as well as play money tables they have table where you can win real money for nothing. Don’t get excited it is small prizes. They have 10cent give away single table tournies. You sit down for free and first prize is 5cents 2nd is 3 and 3rd is 2. They also have multi table giveaway tables. I think first prize in these is 45cents. Not big money but you can build it up. I started on the 10cent giveaway tables after a while moved to the small stake tables and eventually on to the 10 and 15 dollar tables. All a bit of fun. Managed to build up a couple of hundred dollars a few times before pissing it away. A great bit of fun for no investment.

In short. I would bypass the play money tables altogether and play in the giveaway tables. It still costs you nothing but you win actual money.

Does anuone know any other site that have give away tables?

MrP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭dave_eire

hi,

i would recomend getting lee jones book "winning low limit holdem". this will give you a very good foundation to play on.

when you play any of the free money games, the problem is that a lot of people dont to play like they would if there was real money involved. saying this if you can show patience and disipline while playing in these games, you can do it anywhere!

moving up from free play to micro stakes is probably best for a while, i.e. .05/.10 on pokerstars or the like. as there is quite a jump from free to say .50/1 games.

remember that you are going to meet different types of players at these different levels. in the free games you will mostly meet loose players, that will be both passive and agressive and as you go up the stakes the players will become somewhat tighter. although even at 3/6 and 5/10 you will get players that are as loose as the ladys on the canal!

i would really recommend starting playing LIMIT holdem. and then moving to pot or no limit later on.

as suggested above the freerolls in town are a great way to get free/cheap experience, and the people are very friendly and can give you advice. but i would still recommend starting with limit and then working your way up the stakes.

just my 2 cents.

hope it helps

daveh

I think it is time that we, the poker board, organised and nice big n00b game. The buy in would be really small, we could have some drink and snacks (mmmm drinks and snacks) and some of the more experienced players could be there for hints and advice.

It could be very social, low risk and great for bringing new players into the group.

What do you think?

If there is interest and we can organise it I will host it.

MrP

i'd be game!

Hey Mr P, would I still count as a n00b despite having played once with ye already???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,886 ✭✭✭Marq

think it's a great idea

The great Hyzepher and myself will get it sorted. Places will be limited so keep an eye on the board.

MrP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭ionapaul

obviously you can count me in too :) Just to add, although I would use the online poker rooms to learn, my main interest would be playing with real people, whether for small or large stakes, or even for fun. I really miss the banter and craic you get playing cards, of course it is different in poker but with blackjack everyone feels part of a team against the dealer, much fun! Also played hundreds and hundreds of hours playing 25 and varients in college and it was, without a doubt, the most enjoyable part of university!

Don't forget to have hot cash game action afterwards.

what kinda time / day would we be looking at? ish??

daveh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,838 ✭✭✭✭cormie

Go here for a list of the best books out there for learning poker. Each book is marked with skill level.

Go here for basic tips, rules and more.

Go here to download free software, register and then play "PLAY MONEY TOURNAMENTS" I feel they are very good for learning how to play well, just aim to win them! No all in pre flop crap that half the table will exit on. Once you start to place first at least 90% then It's a good indication to start playing for real money.

Although you do sound you're into the gambling aspect more than anything else. I'd love to go to a home cash game. Cash games are much better for beginners. They can lose more but there is a chance to win, highly unlikely in a freezeout tournament.

Go here to see Cormie's website. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,636 ✭✭✭henbane

Originally posted by cormie
    Go here to download free software, register and then play "PLAY MONEY TOURNAMENTS" I feel they are very good for learning how to play well, just aim to win them! No all in pre flop crap that half the table will exit on. Once you start to place first at least 90% then It's a good indication to start playing for real money.
    From what I've heard empire is piss poor but they don't sponsor my crappy website so what do I know. haha! You could just download it from empire themselves and probably should... given that poker.ie's odds calculator is/was virus-ridden, downloading any software from that site could be a risk. haha!

I have to agree with henbanes opinion of Empire, as I outlined above. Haha. I would also agree haha that you probably should not download software from a site having virus issue. Seriously, haha check out vcpoker and play the real actual money give away tables. Haha. You need to set up an account but DO NOT even have to give a credit card. Haha.

We are hoping the n00b game will be on a Friday evening, so it will not interfere with BSOP. Further details will follow and places will be limited. Haha.

Oh and Marq, haha, how could I possible forget about hot cash game action? Haha.

MrP (haha)

Haha

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,008 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

A game of teams would be an idea. One apparent noob and one apparent boards regular poker player. Teams of 2 with discussions of reasons why decisions were made (once hand is complete).

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

I agree with Musician, teams of 2 with advice from the more experienced player and discussion of why the team bet one way or another after the hand is over. Could do the "experienced" players a lot of good too!

I'm happy to suggest my place but need to talk to flatmates about it at first.
    HCGA to follow, surely!

DeV.

Funny guys!
    I'm in the process of removing that programme! ROIGH!!! hehe. I play the empire tournies myself, they are great for fun and practice. Although you can't really beat the free for cash tournies Mr. P is talking about, and don't worry, we should have that for download soon;) and your helping yourselves by downloading from here the Irish economy and what not. :D

That might be an idea Muso. Although it would limit the number of players we could have. We were thinking along the lines of 8 or 9 n00bs and maybe 3 more experienced players.

If we are going to do this right we will need people to honestly give their experience and skill levels so we can cater to them. There may be some who have never play before and some who are nervous about going into the casino for the first time, still other may just be looking to improve their game.

I would think the first session would probably just be hold ‘em basics and do’s and don’ts of playing in the casinos. You know, all the stuff you wish you had know before you sat down in the Fitz or the merrion.

So. If you are interested put up a post and give a honest indication of your level. Remember, none of us are pros but I think that together we know a few things and should be able to help improve your game.

MrP

Is this tournament or cash game. It's good to discuss hands at the end of a cash game with new players. You don't really need teams. Or if anyone hasn't got the money, they could simply sit beside the new player and get 10% of their winnings or something if they win that is. All they have to do is say what they should bet, if they should fold or what.

none of us are pro's? well I have no job, so basically poker is my only income. But floating about the freerolls wouldn't exactly put food on the table if I had a family. Let's hope tomorrow goes well.

Originally posted by DeVore
    I agree with Musician, teams of 2 with advice from the more experienced player and discussion of why the team bet one way or another after the hand is over.
    How would it work? It's awful tough to discuss what you should be doing with someone else during the hand without giving your hand away. No player is going to want to invest his money and not be allowed make the decisions during the hand. Most of the so-called experienced players are not exactly experienced enough to be giving tutorials.

Coming along to an evening where someone else is going to be playing a good deal of your hands isn't what I would consider an attractive proposition to anyone looking to learn the game.

I don't think it needs to that formal. It might be better to organise as more of an introduction to the poker board crowd rather than a tutorial evening. When people have met the "established" crowd once they will be less shy about signing up for home games or dropping into Larry Murphy's before the fitz. If someone wants feedback after a hand, I'm sure people would be willing to give it (even if it's not wanted).

Maybe something like a tournament where people who play the home games regular can't play but dealer/chips etc. is organised so the newer lads can get used to the setup without the feeling that they will be skinned by the old hands.

I think Mr P has the right idea - 8/9 n00bs, 2/3 experienced. I'd be interested. My standard - well you could perhaps tell me having played against me in Sambas. I'd certainly be interested in these sessions though as a way to improve! I think I have the basics down fairly well - as in the do's and don'ts - however I need to improve on player reading..not showing tells etc. There's a hell of a lot I need to improve on to be honest..hence the need for these tut's!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,806 ✭✭✭Lafortezza

I'd be up for teh learning games. Either as a n00b or as a more experienced person. I'll let you lot decide.
    I think the learning game could be interesting, we had a discussion about it before. It was suggested that we play as normal but instead of folding your hand into the muck you hang on to it and as soon as the hand is over everyone turns their cards up and disscuses why they made particular decisions.
    "Well I knew he had absolutely none of it..."

haha!

I agree with henbane, I think it would be better to have newbies play a game where chips and dealer are provided (as always I'm willing to lend my 'skills' [think chips])and maybe discussion takes place after the hands rather than effectively just holding the cards while someone else plays for them. It's very difficult to teach poker well, the easiest way to improve is to play a lot of it, and that's a lot easier to do in an unintimidating friendly environment than it is in a casino or even a regular boards cash/home game. Would be nice for new people to know that they're not at the table with a load of sharks, but that everyone there is there to learn.

Perhaps 8 or 9 players, playing for something really small like a fiver, and using the BSOP format or something similar? maybe with one free rebuy? get you acquainted with tournament play a lot better than HCGA does, and lasts longer without having to spend more money to keep playing. As we al know, you think about individual hands a lot more when you can't keep spending a fiver to buy back in. Except for Ken of course, who never has to buy back in or think about hands, he just knows that the gods will intervene.

just my 2 cents

Originally posted by cormie
    your helping yourselves by downloading from here the Irish economy and what not. :D
    well I have no job, so basically poker is my only income
    You getting a job instead of trying to scrounge poker money off people through your crappy website might be an even better way to help the economy.:D