Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fiery focail fly during brawl in the Dáil

• 23-06-2004 9:38pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭

Surprised no-one posted this yet, from the front page of De Paper. Can't really comment on Ó Snodaigh, but I have to concur with his comments on Cullen. The man is an ignoramus.

adam
    23/06/04
    Fiery focail fly during brawl in the Dáil

By Harry McGee, Political Editor
    A BILINGUAL Ireland was achieved last night during one of the most bizarre — and nasty — exchanges the Dáil has seen in recent years.

On one side, Minister for Environment Martin Cullen agus ar an taobh eile, bhí Aengus Ó Snodaigh, ó Shinn Féin.

It took place during the final debate on the National Monuments (Amendment) Bill, the proposed legislation to facilitate completion of the M50 at Carrickmines and other major road projects.

Opposition deputies, including Ó Snodaigh, alleged the bill will allow the minister to destroy, sell off, and even export National Monuments that get in the way of road projects.

Ó Snodaigh, speaking in Irish, began his 20- minute speech quietly enough but quickly ran into flak from the minister, who used almost his full repertoire of Irish to declaim, "Níl sé sin ceart."

[...]

• Registered Users Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Nice to see some Irish in the Dail. It's been some time since the Cruiser used it as a method of avoiding giving answers to questions when he was minister for letters and people wondering why they couldn't get a phone.

I look forward to seeing the transcipt, assuming they don't clean it up as they like to do in the House of Commons. I'm not an O'Snodaigh fan but I at least hope he took some time out to say that Cullen was doing a good impression of a tosser. The Bill has some flaws from my quick reading of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 167 ✭✭uncivilservant

Aengus Ó Snodaigh: Is trua liom gur tháinig an lá go bhfuil an t-Aire ag tógáint a leithéid de reachtaíocht isteach. Tá sé gránna a leithéid de reachtaíocht a thógaint isteach i dtír a bhfuil an oiread stuif stairiúil faoin talamh inti. Go háirithe nuair atá cuid mhór de eacnamaíocht na tíre ag brath ar thurasóireacht, tá sé náireach go dtugann an reachtaíocht seo cumhacht don Aire seandálaíocht agus stair na hÉireann a scrios. Ní cóir go mbeadh an cumhacht sin ag duine amháin. Is le muintir na hÉireann amach anseo an stair agus an seandálaíocht. Ní cóir go mbeimís ag scrios ár n-oidhreacht, fiú leis an rachmas atá againn. Sin atá ag tarlú i Carrickmines agus i Trim agus sin a tharla sa chathair seo thar na blianta.

Mr. Cullen: Níl sin ceart.

Aengus Ó Snodaigh: Tá sé ceart. Cá bhfuil Wood Quay agus Frascati House anois? Scriosadh iad. Scriosadh dhá theach Georgian i mBaile Átha Cliath an tseachtain seo caite. Scriosfar aon chuid de sheandálaíocht na tíre amach anseo mar atáá dhéanamh i Carrickmines. Is é an scéal céanna i Tara áit a bhfuil an Rialtas ag iarraidh bóthar a chur tríd gach cuid de stair agus oidhreacht na tíre. Tá sin scanallach.

I mBaile Átha Thrim tá an Rialtas ag iarraidh caisleán álainn a chlúdú tríóstán a thógáil in aice leis. Tharla an rud céanna do Phríosún Chill Mhaighneáin i mo cheantair féin. In áit a bheith ag cur le hoidhreacht na tíre, a bheith ag cuidiú leis agus ag iarraidh turasóirí a mhealladh go dtí an tír, tá an Rialtas ag iarraidh na suíomhanna seo a scrios. Scrios iomlán atá i gceist, mar a thárla sa Dún Mór. Is é an t-aon difríocht go mbeidh cead an Rialtais ag pé tógálaí atá ag iarraidh an scrios a dhéanamh. Deir sé leis an Aire gur cheart dó cead a thabhairt dó mar ba mhaith leis an rud sin a scriosadh. Tá sé sa bhealach, agus sin an dearcadh a bhíonn ag an Rialtas seo i gcónaí maidir le seandálaíocht na hÉireann. Tá sé sa bhealach roimh an dul chun cinn eacnamaíochta atá i gceist. Seo cuid eile den mheon céanna. If it is in the way, they want to get rid of it, hide it or concrete it over. Tharla sé sin sa chathair seo thar na blianta. Scríobhadh leabhar iontach --

Mr. Cullen: That sounds very like Sinn Féin with the IRA.

Aengus Ó Snodaigh: The Minister is looking for them to do that.

Mr. Cullen: They will tell no one where it is.

Aengus Ó Snodaigh: Yes, bury it, just like the Minister is burying our history. Má tá an tAire ag iarraidh, tógfaidh mé timpeall na suíomhanna sa chathair seo é, áit ar chuir an Rialtas coincréit ar stair agus oidhreacht na tíre. Is é sin an meon scannalach gránna a thagann ón Aire i ngach eile ábhar atá ag baint le seandálaíocht. Scriosann séé, mar ní fiúé. Cuireann sé bóthar ann. Tá sé scannalach go mbíonn sé i gcónaí ag dul thart á dhéanamh sin. Cuireann sé coincréit air.

Mr. Cullen: They are like the Marxists over in Europe.

An Leas-Cheann Comhairle: Deputy Ó Snodaigh.

Mr. Cullen: That makes it fairly clear.

Aengus Ó Snodaigh: Gabh mo leithscéal, a Aire, ach táimid ag caint faoi cheist stair agus oidhreacht na tíre seo. Níl an tAire sásta éisteacht, agus níor éist séó thosaigh an díospóireacht seo. Tá sé scannalach nach bhfuil sé sásta éisteacht sa Teach seo ar cheist na seandálaíochta agus na hoidhreachta. Téir suas go Teamhair, agus scrios í. Téir síos go Port Láirge, agus scrios an suíomh nua sin. Is é sin an meon scannalach atá ag an Aire - corruption. Tá sé ceangailte go huile is go hiomlán leis an dream atá ag scriosadh na tíre seo agus ag baint airgid. Is é caimiléireacht go huile is go hiomlán atá ag baint leis, mar níl aon fháth eile leis an reachtaíocht seo ach go bhfuil caimiléireacht taobh thiar de. Bhí caimiléireacht taobh thiar de na rudaí a tharla i dTroim.

Mr. Cullen: Níl sé sin ceart.

Aengus Ó Snodaigh: Tá sé ceart. Ba chaimiléireacht go huile is go hiomlán é, agus tharla sé sin sa chathair seo maidir le Cé an Adhmaid. Caimiléireacht a bhí ann sin, agus bhí caimiléireacht i gceist i gCarraig Mhaighin. Níl aon fháth go mbeadh Jackson Way bainteach leis seo, ach tá sé, mar tá caimiléireacht ann, agus tá muintir an Aire gafa leis go huile is go hiomlán. Ba chóir dó seasamh suas agus náire a bheith air. Ba chóir dóéirí as a phost. Is éard atáá dhéanamh aige ná comhshaol, stair agus oidhreacht na tíre seo a scriosadh. Níl muidinne sásta glacadh leis sin, agus ní ligfidh muid dóé sin a dhéanamh. Ní ligfidh muid dó i dTeamhair. Ní ligfear dó i gCarraig Mhaighin. Tógfar cásanna eile cúirte, agus cuirfear moill air. Bhí an deis ag an Aire——

Mr. Cullen: The Deputy does not have any policies.

An Leas-Cheann Comhairle: Order.

Aengus Ó Snodaigh: Bhí an deis ag an Aire déileáil leis an cheist i gCarraig Mhaighin ar bhealach éifeachtach agus dul timpeall air, ach ní raibh sé sásta glacadh leis sin toisc go raibh airgead i gceist. Tá airgead taobh thiar de seo, agus sin an cheist nach bhfuil sé sásta a fhreagairt. Tá sé sásta bheith ina sheasamh ansin ag screadaíl orm, mar tá mé ag insint na fírinne; níl seisean. Mar a dúirt mé faoin Teamhair, tá sé ag iarraidh bóthar mór a chur tríd. Dúradh ag an am nach raibh ach dhá shuíomh ann. Cheana féin, tá sé tar éis 28 suíomh nua a fháil timpeall an cheantair sin. Ba cheart don Aire an plean a athrú seachas dul in aice le oidhreacht na tíre seo. Ba cheart dóí agus a leithéid de Charraig Mhaighin a chaomhnú. Tiocfaidh na turasóirí, mar sin an fáth go dtagann siad go dtí an tír seo sa chéad dul síos. Seachas é sin a dhéanamh, áfach, cuireann an tAire coincréit air. Seans go dtiocfaidh postanna as tar éis cúig bliana. Má dhéanaimid caomhnú agus cur chun cinn ar ár n-oidhreacht agus ár seandálaíocht, beidh níos mó turasoirí ag teacht go dtí an tír seo. Beidh níos mó daoine ag teacht. Ba cheart don Aire smaoiniú.

Mr. Cullen: I have never heard such rubbish.

Aengus Ó Snodaigh: Níl an bruscar á ra agamsa ach aige féin.

Mr. Cullen: He comes in here and pontificates.

An Leas-Cheann Comhairle: Deputy Ó Snodaigh should be allowed to make his contributions without interruptions.

Mr. Cullen: This is Dáil Éireann. This is called a democracy.

Aengus Ó Snodaigh: Tá an tAire ag déanamh iarrachta mé a mhaslú. Is eisean an duine is gránna sa Dáil seo. Más féidir leis, fiú, éisteacht leis na ceisteanna agus na pointí atáá ndéanamh——

Mr. Cullen: This is lost in history.

Aengus Ó Snodaigh: Thig leis leanúint ar aghaidh ag maslú. Sin cé chomh híseal is atá sé. Tá sé maslach go bhfuil náire ar dhuine. Sin an rud atá sé ag iarraidh a dhéanamh. Níl sé sásta, fiú, cead a thabhairt do Ard-Mhusaem na hÉireann dul ar shuíomh. Cad é a tharlóidh má fhaightear rud nua amuigh i gCarraig Mhaighin i gceann míosa nó dhó? Ní bheidh cead ag an musaem dul ann, mar tá an tAire gafa go hiomlán le caimiléireacht. Cé mhéad breabanna atá an tAire agus daoine cosúil leis tar éis glacadh? Tá daoine ar an taobh sin den Teach ag glacadh breabanna le 30, 40 agus 80 bliain. Tá an tAire agus a leithéidí tar éis glacadh leo le déanamh cinnte go mbeadh rachmasaithe na tíre seo ag scriosadh stair na tíre seo go huile is go hiomlán. Dhein séé ar City Quay, áit a thóg an bardas anseo. Scrios sé an t-aon suíomh mór-le-rá san Eoraip ag an am. Cá bhfuil sé anois? Níl faic ann. Is cuimhin liom bheith ar an mhairseáil ag iarraidh é sin a chaomhnú. Is cuimhin liom dul amach sa tír seo.

Mr. Cullen: The Deputy’s party is very good at that. That is what they are for - kneecapping people and bombing people.

Aengus Ó Snodaigh: An bhfuil an tAire críochnaithe? Níl.

Mr. Cullen: They were going around murdering people.

An Leas-Cheann Comhairle: The Minister will cease interrupting.

Aengus Ó Snodaigh: Táimid ag déileáil le ceist amhain anseo. Má tá an tAire ag iarraidh déileáil leis an cheist sin, ba cheart dóí a chur síos ar an pháipéar, agus déanfaidh muid díospóireacht leis ar an cheist sin. Táimid ag díriú ar cheist amháin. Tá an tAire maslach. Níl sé sásta mé a fhreagairt i nGaeilge, fiú, ach níl sí aige, mar níl spéis nó suim aige i stair nó oidhreacht na tíre seo. Tá sé maslach agus náireach. Imíodh leis. Ba chóir dóéirí as a phost, mar ní féidir leis díospóireacht a dhéanamh ar an ábhar os a chomhair. Ní féidir leis, mar tá náire air. Mar a dúirt mé, tá sé gafa le caimiléireacht go huile is go hiomlán. Ba cheart dó an cheist seo a fhreagairt. Cé mhéad daoine ar an taobh sin den Teach a ghabh breabanna? Ba cheart dóí a fhreagairt. Níl sé sásta an freagra a thabhairt, mar táispeánann sé cé mhéad agus cé chomh gafa agus atá siad leo. Scrios siad an oidhreacht sa chathair seo, agus tá sé fós ag déanamh iarrachta an chuid atá fágtha againn a scriosadh ionas nach mbeidh sé againn nó ag na glúinte amach anseo.

Mr. Cullen: The Deputy is like a broken record.

Aengus Ó Snodaigh: Nílim, ach tá seisean cosúil le broken record, mar leanann sé ar aghaidh ag scriosadh na hoidhreachta.

Mr. Cullen: The Deputy should get on with it.

Aengus Ó Snodaigh: Tá 20 nóiméad agam, agus muna bhfuil an tAire sásta iad a ligint dom——

Mr. Cullen: The Deputy does not want to hear the truth.

Aengus Ó Snodaigh: Ní thuigeann sé, fiú, cad atáá rá agam. Sin cé chomh tiubh is atá sé. Ní féidir leis éisteacht agus glacadh lena bhfuil le rá agamsa. Tiubh agus breabaireacht - caimiléireacht go huile is go hiomlán - atá i gceist ag an Aire, agus bhí i gcónaí. Fiú nuair nach raibh sé sa pháirtí sin, bhí sé gafa leis an rud ceanann céanna. Slíbhín den scoth é, agus ba chóir go mbeadh spéis aige sa Teach seo agus ligint dom a bhfuil le rá agam a rá. Cén fáth, nuair a fuair siad Woodstown thíos i bPort Láirge, nár dúradh faic ar feadh bliain iomlán?

It goes on like that for a while.

Can anyone translate?

Aengus Ó Snodaigh: I am talking about the Minister.

Mr. Cullen: The Deputy should look in the mirror.

An Leas-Cheann Comhairle: The Minister is being disorderly.

Mr. Cullen: His party knee-caps people who do not agree with it. They terrorise people. +

An Leas-Cheann Comhairle: The Minister is being disorderly.

Aengus Ó Snodaigh: If the Minister wants a debate on that subject or any subject he should order +

An Leas-Cheann Comhairle: Members should address the Chair.

Aengus Ó Snodaigh: If the Minister wishes to have a debate on any other subject, he is in Government. He can order time for it and I will willingly debate any subject in this House. I am debating this matter and the Minister is insulting me and the Irish people.

Mr. Cullen: Facts do not get in the way of the Deputy spinning his old yarns.

Aengus Ó Snodaigh: I have not spun any yarn yet.

Mr. Cullen: Sinn Féin never does.

Aengus Ó Snodaigh: The Minister does not even have the intelligence to listen to what I have to say, in Irish or English.

Mr. Cullen: The Deputy knows I do not have the same facility in Irish that he has.

Aengus Ó Snodaigh: There he is, shouting again. The Minister has just shown himself to be both simple minded and a bigot who has destroyed our heritage.

Mr. Cullen: The Deputy should look in the mirror.

Aengus Ó Snodaigh: I look in the mirror every day and I am proud of what I see. What I see across the Chamber is a tiny little bigot who should be thrown out of the House for continually disrupting me.

Mr. Cullen: I have plenty of reasons to get at a person, without getting down in the muck.

Dear me.

http://debates.oireachtas.ie/Main.aspx

Originally posted by uncivilservant
    Can anyone translate?
    Heck, not I. My Welsh is better than my Irish these days. And I've forgotten a good chunk of that as well. Muck, any chance?

Even with my pidgen deciphering though, it's obvious that Cullen didn't understand a word O'Snodaigh was saying (and didn't have the copon to admit it (at least not durnig the speech, despite everything else he had to say)) and was frankly being an ignorant prick by barracking. On the other hand, halfway down O'Snodaigh is making an issue of Cullen not answering him in Irish (and does the same in the English part) which is a bit petty IMHO[1]. Apart from that, on the (official) substantive issue, one's opinion is dependent on one's opinion of the road position relative to Tara. That's a whole new thread on its own though - this is more fun to read.

[1]No really, it is. There are plenty of other sticks to beat Cullen with, most of them self-made

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,143 ✭✭✭spongebob

Suffice to say that

a) there was no mention of the peace process anywhere and that it is apparently dead in Waterford .
    b) O Snodaigh is quite attached to our built heritage , of which he knew more than Cullen did. He neglected to acknowlege the part played by Sinn Féin in the destruction of same in Belfast during the 1970s .
    c) Cullens rantings , for such they were from our ferret like minister for the Environment , were nothing to do with the very fair points that O Snodaigh made on the ongoing failure of various governments to protect aspects of our built heritage in the past.

(Hint, the myriad failures are the English bits in his speech)

HTH

M

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭Rock Climber

Originally posted by Muck

b) O Snodaigh is quite attached to our built heritage , of which he knew more than Cullen did. He neglected to acknowlege the part played by Sinn Féin in the destruction of same in Belfast during the 1970s .
    Rolling on the floor laughing my áss off at that one :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

M

Ah, but thats thier built heritage and as such fair game for the IRA.

Mike.

Originally posted by mike65
    Ah, but thats thier built heritage and as such fair game for the IRA.

Mike.

There is nothing inconsistent about a 32 County Built Heritage Vibe Michael. Just don't put Cullen in charge of the Maintenance department.

If I were to be bitchy about it I would have accused Cullen of destroying our National Monuments as syshtematically as he deshthroyed Fianna Fáil in the lasht local illliction in Waterford (where they got no seats on the Corpo) .....but thats not me innit.

M

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

Normally, I like translating stuff but this is far too long. Cullen comes accross as a right eejit though - why not just admit he can't understand Irish?:rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta

Originally posted by simu
    Normally, I like translating stuff but this is far too long. Cullen comes accross as a right eejit though - why not just admit he can't understand Irish?:rolleyes:
    I believe I answered that question in the first post. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,733 ✭✭✭Zaphod

Originally posted by simu
    why not just admit he can't understand Irish?:rolleyes:

There is a translation service available in the Dáil for TDs who don't understand Irish. I've seen Ferris wearing headphones during a debate involving O'Cuív and others in the past on Oireachtas Report. Most TDs don't wear them because they are afraid of showing up their own ignorance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

If I were to be bitchy about it I would have accused Cullen of destroying our National Monuments as syshtematically as he deshthroyed Fianna Fáil in the lasht local illliction in Waterford (where they got no seats on the Corpo) .....but thats not me innit.

M

Hick!:ninja:

Mike.

• Registered Users Posts: 78,415 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Waterford (where they got no seats on the Corpo) .....
    No, no, they got 1 (just).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

Quote: "Is é caimiléireacht go huile is go hiomlán atá ag baint leis, mar níl aon fháth eile leis an reachtaíocht seo ach go bhfuil caimiléireacht taobh thiar de. Bhí caimiléireacht taobh thiar de na rudaí a tharla i dTroim.... Ba chaimiléireacht go h-uile is go h-iomlán é, agus tharla sé sin sa chathair seo maidir le Cé an Adhmaid. Caimiléireacht a bhí ann sin, agus bhí caimiléireacht i gceist i gCarraig Mhaighin. Níl aon fháth go mbeadh Jackson Way bainteach leis seo, ach tá sé, mar tá caimiléireacht ann, agus tá muintir an Aire gafa leis go huile is go hiomlán. Ba chóir dó seasamh suas agus náire a bheith air. Ba chóir dó éirí as a phost."

Whoo-ee. Wouldn't say that outside the Dáil without expecting a lawsuit! Thank heaven for parliamentary privilege!

Originally posted by luckat
    Whoo-ee. Wouldn't say that outside the Dáil without expecting a lawsuit! Thank heaven for parliamentary privilege!
    What does "caimiléireacht" mean? Corruption?
    (I've got everything else in that paragraph and I'm obviously missing the magic word)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,733 ✭✭✭Zaphod

OS. I’m very sorry that the day has arrived that the Minister is bringing
    this sort of legislation in. It is terrible to see this sort of legislation
    being brought into a country where there is so much historical stuff
    present. Especially when a large part of the country’s economy depends on
    tourism, it is shameful that this legislation gives the power to the
    Minister to destroy the archaeology and history of Ireland. It is not right
    that anyone should have this power. It’s not right that we should destroy
    our heritage, even with our current wealth. That’s what’s happening in
    Carrickmines and Trim and what happened in this city down the years.

MC. That’s not right.

OS. It is right. Where are Wood Quay and Frascati House now? They were
    destroyed. Two Georgian houses in Dublin were destroyed last week. Every
    historical item will be destroyed from now on as is happening in
    Carrickmines. It’s the same story in Tara, a place where the Government is
    trying to put a road though every piece of history and heritage. That is
    scandalous. In Trim the Government is trying to obscure a scenic castle by
    building a hotel beside it. The same thing happened to Kilmainham jail in
    my own constituency. Instead of supporting the country’s heritage, or
    helping it and trying to attract tourists to the country, the Government
    are trying to destroy sites. It’s involves total destruction as happened in
    Dunmore. The one difference is that the builder will have Government
    permission to carry out this destruction. He said to the Minister to give
    him the permission because he wanted to destroy it. It’s in the way of
    ‘economic progress’. This is more of the same mentality. If it is in the
    way, they want to get rid of it, hide it or concrete it over. This happened
    in the this city over the year. A wonderful book was …

MC. That sounds very like Sinn Féin with the IRA.

OS. The Minister is looking for them to do that.

MC. They will tell no one where it is.

OS. Yes, bury it, just like the Minister is burying our history. If the
    Minister wants, I’ll take him around the site in this city where the
    Government concreted over the country’s history and heritage. It is the
    same despicable, scandalous mentality that comes from the Minister in every
    other thing to do with heritage. He destroys it, because it’s worthless. He
    puts roads down. It is scandalous that he is continually doing it.
    Concreting everything.

MC. They are like the Marxists over in Europe.

An Leas-Cheann Comhairle: Deputy Ó Snodaigh.

MC. That makes it fairly clear.

OS. Excuse me Minister, but I am talking about the history and heritage of
    the country. The Minister is not satisfied to listen, and he hasn’t
    listened since this debate began. It is scandalous that he isn’t satisfied
    to listen in this House on the question of heritage and archaeology. Go up
    to Tara and destroy it! Go down to Waterford and destroy the new site
    there! He is closely linked with the shower that are destroying the country
    and making money. It is completely connected with corruption, because there
    is no other reason for this legislation except for the corruption behind
    it. There was corruption behind the things that happened in Trim.

MC. That’s not right.

OS. It is right. It was out and out corruption and it happened in this city
    with Woodquay. It was corruption and is was corruption too in Carrickmines.
    There is no way that Jackson Way would be involved with is, as it is,
    because there is corruption there, and the Ministers gang are all in on it.
    He should stand up and be ashamed. He should resign from his job. He has
    simply destroyed the country’s environment, history and heritage. We are
    not satisfied to accept this and we won’t let him do it. We didn’t let him
    in Tara. He won’t be left do it in Carrickmines. Other court cases will be
    taken and he will be delayed. The Minister has a chance…

MC. The Deputy does not have any policies.

An Leas-Cheann Comhairle: Order.

OS. The Minister had a chance to deal with the case in Carrickmine in an
    effective way by going around it, but he was not happy to do so because of
    the money involved. It’s money that’s the root of it, and that’s the
    question he’s not happy to answer. He’s happy to stand there screeching at
    me, because I’m telling the truth – he isn’t. As I said about Tara, he is
    trying to build a road through it. It was said at the time that only 2
    sites were involved. Already, there are 28 new sites in that area. The
    Minister should change his plans to avoid heritage areas. The tourists will
    come because that is the reason they come to the country in the first
    instance. He should preserve it and the likes of Carrickmines. Instead of
    doing that, however, he is concreting over it. Perhaps some jobs might come
    out of it in 5 years. If we protect out heritage and historical sites, more
    tourists will come to this country. More people will come. The Minister
    should reflect.

MC. I have never heard such rubbish.

OS. It is not I speaking rubbish but he.

MC. He comes in here and pontificates.

An Leas-Cheann Comhairle: Deputy Ó Snodaigh should be allowed to make his
    contributions without interruptions.

MC. This is Dáil Éireann. This is called a democracy.

OS. The Minister is trying to insult me. He is the most despicable person
    in this House. If he would even listen to the questions and points being made …

MC. This is lost in history.

OS. He can continue with the insults. That’s how low he is. He is not
    satisfied, even, to give permission to the National Museum to go on-site.
    What will happen if something new is found out in Carrickmines in a month
    or two? The museum won’t be able to go, because the Minister is up to his
    neck in corruption. How many bribes did the Minister and other like him
    accept? There are people on that side of the House accepting bribes with
    30, 40 and 80 years. The Minister and his ilk have accepted them to make
    sure that the well-off of the country can completely destroy the country’s
    history. He destroyed the most notable site of its kind in Europe at that
    time. What’s there now? Nothing. I remember marching and trying to preserve
    it. I remember going around this country …

MC. The Deputy’s party is very good at that. That is what they are for -
    kneecapping people and bombing people.

OS. Is the Minister finished? No.

MC. They were going around murdering people.

An Leas-Cheann Comhairle: The Minister will cease interrupting.

OS. We are dealing with a single issue here. If the Minister wants to deal
    with that issue, he should table it, and we will debate that question. We
    are dealing with one issue. The Minister is insulting. He is not satisfied
    to answer in Irish even, because he doesn’t have any, because he has no
    interest in the country’s history and heritage. He is insulting and
    shameful. Away with him. He should resign his post, because he cannot
    debate the subject of his brief. He should answer this question – how many
    people on that side of the House have accepted bribes? He should answer
    that. He is not happy to answer that, that would show how many and how
    deeply it goes. They destroyed the heritage in this city and they are still
    trying to destroy the rest of it that’s still left such that we or future
    generations will have nothing.

MC. The Deputy is like a broken record.

OS. I’m not, but he is like a broken record, because he continues to
    destroy the country’s heritage.

MC. The Deputy should get on with it.

OS. I have 20 minutes, and is the Minister isn’t happy to let me …

MC. The Deputy does not want to hear the truth.

OS. He doesn’t even understand what I’m saying. That’s how thick he is. He
    can’t listen and accept what I’m saying. The Minister is thick and bent –
    total corruption - and he always has been. Even when he wasn’t in that
    party, he was stuck in the same thing. A sleeveen of the highest order,
    and he should have respect for the House and let me say my piece. Why, when
    they found Woodstown in Waterford, was nothing said for a whole year?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,406 ✭✭✭arcadegame2004

While this row doesn't make me any more favourable to SF, I strongly agree that this Govt. couldn't give a damn about protecting national-monuments.

Originally it was intended to build the M50 around Carrickmines Castle in Dublin. Then in 1993, there was a sudden change of heart, with mainly FF councillors in Dublin voting to build it through the Castle instead.

FF are desecrating our heritage and that is a major reason I voted against them at local-council level.

They are more interested in what pleases their property-developer cronies than protecting our heritage.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭flogen

Cullen comes out looking like a complete idiot in that. He was acting like a child, he should have admitted he didn't know what he was being told, and then maybe he might have contributed to a real argument. Instead he just threw random insults at Ó Snodaigh.

I'm no Shinner, but the guy had a point about the legislation and Cullens dis-regard for irish heritage. Cullen could only make off topic petty digs as his retort.

flogen

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,659 ✭✭✭✭dahamsta

Thanks Zaphod.

While Ó Snodaigh probably went a bit far - although if there's proof Cullen is corrupt, I'd love to see it - Cullen's responses show him up for the utter incompetent that he is. The man hasn't a brain in his head.

Thank the gods we didn't let the prick get away with implementing electronic voting.

adam

Wot wuz wrong with my translation anyway ?

M

• Registered Users Posts: 3,924 ✭✭✭Cork

People demand better roads and then winge about the movement of national momuments.

This is not a black or white issue. If they can be moved to make way for progress...............why not?

It should be determined on a case by case basis.
    He neglected to acknowlege the part played by Sinn Féin in the destruction of same in Belfast during the 1970s .

Was the Europa Hotel not the most bombed hotel in Western Europe?
    Was the Dublin / Belfast rail line also bombed?

My god Cork, do you ever stop towing the party line and think for yourself for once??

National Monuments should be left untouched. Sure, I want better roads and so on, but I dont mind that same road going off to the right for a few metres if its to save a piece of Irish heritage.

And what the IRA did and didn't bomb has nothing got to do with this argument. No person should have the ability to give planning for works which destroy national monuments. If the IRA bombed national monuments, and the Government knock them down, whats the difference? Who's the better party?

There is no denying, that FF's refusal do avoid these places is about money. It costs afew thousand more to make a swerve, so why bother?

flogen

Originally posted by Cork
    Was the Europa Hotel not the most bombed hotel in Western Europe?
    Hardly a listed building, never mind a national monument :)

National Monuments should be left untouched.

But, If a national momument can be moved to a safer position - location may not always be important.

I don't believe in absolutisims with regards to our heritage.

People have to live - so this government relaxed the laws on one off housing. This was necessary.

We would all love to preserve everything - but choices have to be made. The tenaments of Dublin had to go.

The historical significance of somethings is pretty low. So, examining on a case by case basis is both sensible and prudent.

Now, Ó Snodaigh is a member of SF. Did SF ever condemn the bombing of the Europa hotel in either the Irish or english language?

The tenaments of Dublin had to go.
    Tenaments yes. Vast swathes of the city centre didn't have to go.

Originally posted by Victor
    Hardly a listed building, never mind a national monument :)

County Hall is Cork in my openion is an ugly building. I think that it is listed.

When there is a choice between compromise and progress and an absolutist mentality with regards to national momuments - compromise may be reached.

The Fairy Bush in Clare would be an example of this.

Eddie Lenihan campaigned for it & a compromise was reached.

Some people make purest arguements but in the real world compromises very often have to be made.

Originally posted by Victor
    Tenaments yes. Vast swathes of the city centre didn't have to go.

But I have never seen O Connell Street looking as well.

Patrick St in Cork has also been re-developed.

Some old buildings were in an unsafe way. But the government has introduced many measures giving tax relief so such buildings can be preserved.

Credit where credit is due.

Thats because it has been devasted for the last 30 years with inappropriate buildings and crass shopfronts.

PS They are starting to dig it up again.

neither have I, but I didn't realise it was a listed monument...

nor were the tenements in Dublin...

I understand that people need to live, and people need roads, but we should not forsake our history like that. You say the monuments should be moved if possible... well if there is a place for the monuments to go, why not leave them where they belong, and put the houses or roadways through the new spot?

flogen