Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leaving Cert 04 Performance

• 24-06-2004 9:28am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭

Just thought it'd be interesting to see how people thing they've performed in the leaving cert versus how they thought they'd perform. I realise you can't really judge properly untill the results come out... but you must have a fairly good idea? It'd probably be good to post why you think you've done better/worse than expected (papers/study/sick, ect, etc)

How do you view your LC04 Performance? 32 votes

Less than expected
    0% 0 votes
    What I was expecting
    40% 13 votes
    Better than expected
    59% 19 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭subway_ie

I'll get it started - I think I did a lot worse than I was expecting. Mainly down to losing motivation towards the middle of the second week, some bad papers (French aural being the main one) and lots of little mess ups on different papers, which all add up. I think it was also a case of unrealistic expectations - having all your teachers and guidance counsellors forcing this expectation of 500+ points on you kind of gives you a "false sense of security", it ends up doing a lot more harm than good. That added to the mocks just proved disasterous.

Anyway, not a total loss, but definetly not what I was expecting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 355 ✭✭Sarunas

For me, i didnt know how i did in the mocks, i dont really know how i did in the actual thing. The only thing i know is i did better.

Same here, had huge expectation (450+) others expected me to get around that aswell. You cant actualy *know* what you gonna get, just expectation.

For me, as long as i get DC121, im fine...

Gotta go to catch a train, for my last exam....

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 4,436 Mod ✭✭✭✭Suaimhneach

I just can't tell. In some subjects the teachers just have me so conditioned that I have no idea what anyone else would mark them.

English: Went much better than I expected
    Irish: Alright I think
    French: I definitly passed, thankfully the stuff I memorised kinda came up. Bar the aural, all was good.
    Art: Practical: Poster was great, drew the WORST protrait ever due to my model fainting and having to be replaced halfway through. History: Grand. Stuff I knew and loved came up, bar art appreciation
    Buisness: I can never tell. Wrote 19 pages, that should be enough for an honour.
    Math: Grinds were a life saver, even for pass.

I have no idea what that means in terms of how I thought I'd do, but I wanted to do good, and I hope I do.

Bleh. This better not plauge me all summer.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,196 ✭✭✭✭Crash

hrmmm...better than i expected but not as well as i needed. i cant see myself getting lower than a c1/b3 in anything, problem being i needed 525 points for what i wanted so theres only a 5% chance or so that i might've scraped that. ah well.

• Registered Users Posts: 593 ✭✭✭Cathy

I don't really know. I know I could have done a lot better if I'd studied, but... it's done now. I'll do okay, and get enough to do the course I want, so it's okay. But I wouldn't have minded getting a few points more.

If everything works out, the maximum I will get is this:

Maximum Minimum
    French A1 - 100 A2 - 90
    English A2 - 90 B2 - 85
    Maths B1 - 85 B2 - 80
    Chemistry B1 - 85 B3 - 75
    Physics B2 - 80 B3 - 75
    Biology B2 - 80 B3 - 75
    LCVP Distinction - 70 Merit - 50
    Irish A1 - 60 A2 - 50

520 480

So hopefully I'll get an average of 500... though I suppose we'll see in 54 days!
    :(

Okay, that didn't really work but I'm not bothered to fix it. Oh well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 761 ✭✭✭PrecariousNuts

Maths went really well, it was a combination of pure skill and study. There's no reason why it shouldn't be an A1.
    Biology went well too, I worked hard A1
    Physics - really well, words can't describe it A1
    Chemistry didn't go too well, I can't say why so I'll give it a B3
    English went okay, I had a killer paper one with an excellent essay learned so hopefully B2
    Applied Maths, we'll see, hopefully I don't screw up as usual.

Total so far; 455

500 = 455 + x
    x = 45

Applied maths > 45

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,943 ✭✭✭Mutant_Fruit

i'll let ye know my esimates tomorrow. Too lazy to write em up now.

• Registered Users Posts: 654 ✭✭✭DS

English: B1/B2
    Irish: C/D
    Maths: A1
    Physics: A1, chance of an A2
    Economics: A1/A2
    Business: A2/B2
    French: not sure how bad the aural was, I might scrape an A2 but I'll say B1/B2
    Applied: I'll be pissed if this isn't an A1, just got the drunken phone call there from all the lads at a house party. The whole year is there except stupid ****ing me. Eugh.

Without applied maths, max 560 (exactly what I need for €1300), min 520. If I get what I want tomorrow make that max 575. Did a lot better than I expected, was extremely lucky in every paper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭Smellyirishman

Sarunas,
    For me, as long as i get DC121, im fine...

Your doing 121 aswel! Me too! Should be a kick ass course!

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,503 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

could have been worse, could have been better....

just glad it's over

fuuuuck yeah!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

I did sh!t. Did no work and if I did it again I don't think I'd put much more in anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 816 ✭✭✭Cryos

i did the minimum of work and i think its gone ok for me :)

Im canvasing for around 250 points :) to go to one of the following:

IT. Carlow : Computers, Mechanical Engineering, Electronic Engineering or Civil
    IT. Tallaght: Computers
    NUI Maynooth: Computer Science & Software Engineering
    DCU: Some form of computing corse (cant remember)
    Griffith College : Computers

Carlow or Tallaght would be nice or even maynooth :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,943 ✭✭✭Mutant_Fruit

Tech Graphics: Better than expected, A1
    Maths: Just as i expected, A1
    Applied Maths: A bit iffy, i did some stupid things, A2
    German: Good paper, B2
    Music: Good overall, B2+
    Physics: I'm never certaio how i do, probably good, B3+
    English: Good paper, pitty i suck at english, B3+
    Geography: I was sick, C3+ is what i hope for
    Irish (pass): WHO CARES!

Total points: 525. Odds of me actually getting that are SLIM.

Overall i'm fairly happy with how everything went. Roll on the results, its time to get pissed!

Originally posted by Blitz
    Im canvasing for around 250 points :) to go to one of the following:

DCU: Some form of computing corse (cant remember)
    Griffith College : Computers

Its called Computer Applications (DC121).

• Registered Users Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭Seifer

Maths A1
    Physics A1
    Chemistry A2
    Biology B1
    Applied Maths B1
    English C3

I've guessed conservatively so hopefully that's a minimum.
    I'm happy with the way it went and it was pretty much what I expected it to be. It's amazing how much of a difference the months in between them and the mocks make.

Dont really know how i did, but im just gonna guess (+/- 20%, :)):

English (H): C3
    Maths (O): A1-B1
    History (H): C1
    Physics (H): C2
    Geography (H): C1
    Engineering (H): C1

Im not gonna worry and think what will i get, im just gonna forget about it, till the day i get the results. See ya leaving...

• Registered Users Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

History: b2 (80)
    english: a2 (90)
    french: b1 [85]
    economics: c2 [60]
    classics: d3 [40]
    music: b1 [85]

= 440

classics was really diffucult... might fail... eeep...

my course is only 375, so thats ok.

• Registered Users Posts: 14 SlushPuppie

(H) Art: A1
    (H) English: B2/B3
    (H) Geography: A2
    (H) Classics: A2
    (H) Music: B1
    (H) Japanese: A1

(O) Irish: C2 (who cares?)
    (O) Maths: E (at most a D3)

I dunno what that adds up to but I definately got more than I'll ever need

• Registered Users Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭DEmeant0r

Less than I expected. I thought I'd get 340-350 points or so. But now I'm thinking 320 or so depending on how well I did in Biology.

Maths (o): simple as hell A1 60
    Irish (o): also very simple C3 30
    English (o): simple C2 35
    Business: An OK exam C3 60
    Biology: Hardest exam I've done... ever D3 if I'm lucky 45
    French: An OK exam except for the Aural C3 60
    Tech Drawing: An OK exam C3 60
    Total 320

• Registered Users Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

(H)English: C3
    (O)Irish: C3
    (O)Maths: D3
    (H)French: c3
    (H)Geog: A2
    (H)Business: A1
    (H)Economics: D3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 259 ✭✭Lantis

(H) English: B1
    (H) Irish: B2
    (H) Maths: C1
    (O) Home Ec: Regions of D/E (God I hate that subject)
    (H) Geography: C2, probably
    (H) German: B3
    (H) Physics: B2
    (H) Chemistry: B3
    (H) Japanese: A1/A2

And that's really optimistic.

• Registered Users Posts: 816 ✭✭✭Cryos

hmm i seem to have misplaced my slip with my pin number on it to check results online :( :mad: :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭Young Siward

HL English - B2-C2
    HL Maths - A2-B1
    OL Irish - D1 aka ****e
    HL Tech Drawing (Eng App) - A2-B2 (Some of the stuff on the engineering was v tough)
    HL Chemistry - A2-B1
    HL Economics - A1-A2
    App Maths - A2-B2
    OL Spanish - B3