Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GAA quotes

• 01-07-2004 3:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭

Though I'd give ye lads a laugh. Most of them been heard before but theyre classic all together

GAA Quotes
    1. I love Cork so much that if I caught one of their hurlers in bed with my missus, I'd tiptoe downstairs and make him a cup of tea"-
    Joe Lynch, actor.
    2. "We've won one All-Ireland in a row" -- Wexford Fan in
    3. "The toughest match I ever heard off was the 1935
    All-Ireland Semi-Final. After 6 minutes, the ball ricocheted off a post and
    went into the stand. The pulling continued relentlessly and it was 22
    minutes before any of the players noticed the ball was missing" - Michael
    Smith.
    4. "Sylvie Linnane would start a riot in a graveyard" --
    Tipp fan on the Galway legend.
    5. "I'm not giving away any secrets like that to Tipperary. If I had my way, I wouldn't even tell them the time of the throw-in" Ger Loughnane.
    6. "He's like Lazarus; but Lazarus didn't have such a sweet
    right boot" -- Micheal O'Muircheartaigh on Colin Corkery.
    7. "Whenever a team loses, there's always a row at half time
    but when they win, it's an inspirational speech" -- John O'Mahony.
    8. "There are 2 things in Ireland that would drive you to
    drink. GAA referees would drive you to drink, and the price of drink would
    drive you to drink" -- Sligo Fan after 2002 Connacht final.
    9. "The wheel fell off my mobile home" -- Offaly's Eugene
    McGee explains why he was late for training.
    10. "When my friends were besotted with Jason Donovan, my
    heroes were Colm O'Rourke and Barney Rock" -- Sue Ramsbottom (Laois Ladies
    Captain).
    11. 'We're taking this match awful seriously. We're training
    three times a week now, and some of the boys are off the beer since
    Tuesday'
    - Offaly hurler quote in the week before a Leinster hurling final vs.Kilkenny
    12. 'Ger Loughnane was fair, he treated us all the same during training-like dogs' -anonymous Clare hurler
    13. 'Any chance of an autograph? Its for the wife...she really hates you' - Tipp fan to Ger Loughnane
    14. 'You can't win derbies with donkeys' - Babs Keating before Tipp played Cork in 1990
    15. 'Sheep in a heap' -Babs Keating description of Offaly in 1998
    16. 'Babs Keating 'resigned' as coach because of illness and fatigue. The players were sick and tired of him' - Offaly fan in 1998
    17. 'And as for you. You're not even good enough to play for
    this shower of useless no-hopers' - Former Clare mentor to one of his subs
    after a heavy defeat
    18. 'Babs Keating was arrested in Nenagh for shaking a
    cigarette machine, but the Gardai let him off when he said he only wanted
    to borrow twenty players' - Waterford fan after 2002 Munster final
    19. 'They have a forward line that couldn't punch holes in a paperbag' - Pat Spillane on the Cavan football team
    20. 'Meath players like to get their retaliation in first' - Cork fan 1988
    21. 'Meath make football a colourful game-you get all black and blue' -another Cork fan 1988
    22. 'Colin Corkery is deceptive. He is slower than he looks' - Kerry fan
    23. 'Life isn't all beer and football...some of us haven't touched a football in months' - Kerry player during league campaign 1980s
    > Subject: FW: Micheal O Muircheartaigh masterpieces
    > "In the first half they played with the wind. In the second half
    they played with the ball."
    > "... and Brian Dooher is down injured. And while he is, I'll tell
    ye a little story. I was in Times' Square in New York last week, and I was
    missing the Championship back home. So I approached a news-stand and I said
    'I suppose ye wouldn't have the Kerryman (Paper) would ye?' To which, the
    Egyptian behind the counter turned to me and he said 'do you want the North
    Kerry edition or the South Kerry edition?'... he had both...so I bought
    both. And Dooher is back on his feet..."
    >
    > "Anthony Lynch the Cork corner back will be the last person to let
    you down - his people are undertakers."
    > "I saw a few Sligo people at Mass in Gardiner street this morning
    and the omens seem to be good for them, the priest was wearing the same
    colours as the Sligo jersey! 40 yards out on the Hogan stand side of the
    field Ciaran Whelan goes on a rampage, it's a goal. So much for religion."
    > Colin Corkery on the 45 lets go with the right boot. Its over
    the
    bar. This man shouldn't be playing football. He's made an almost
    Lazarus-like recovery from a heart condition. Lazarus was a great man but
    he
    couldn't kick points like Colin Corkery."
    > "1-5 to 0-8.. well from Lapland to the Antarctic, that's level
    scores in any man's language."
    > "Pat Fox has it on his hurl and is motoring well now... but here
    comes Joe Rabbitte hot on his tail ...... I've seen it all now, a Rabbitte
    chasing a Fox around Croke Park!"
    > "I see John O Donnell dispensing water on the sideline.
    Tipperary,
    sponsored by a water company. Cork sponsored by a tae company. I wonder
    will they meet later for afternoon tae."
    > "Teddy looks at the ball, the ball looks at Teddy"
    > "Danny "The Yank" Culloty. He came down from the mountains and
    hasn't he done well."
    > "He grabs the sliotar, he's on the 50...... he's on the 40....
    he's on the 30.......... he's on the ground"
    > "He kicks the ball lan san aer, could've been a goal, could've
    been a point...... it went wide."
    > "Stephen Byrne with the puck out for Offaly....Stephen, one of
    12....all but one are here to-day, the one that's missing is Mary, she's at
    home minding the house..... and the ball is dropping i lar na bpairce...."
    > "Pat Fox out to the forty and grabs the sliothar, I bought a dog
    from his father last week. Fox turns and sprints for goal, the dog ran a
    great race last Tuesday in Limerick. Fox to the 21 fires a shot, it goes to
    the left and wide..... and the dog lost as well."
    > "Sean Og o Hailpin.... his father's from Fermanagh, his mother's
    from Fiji, neither a hurling stronghold."