Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

why I hate the Frames

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,848 ✭✭✭✭Zombrex

I went to see them in UL last year ... having never seen them live before I thought the little cute song about a dog or what ever, was just a once off, until he did it again for the next song ("this is a song about a girl I met" ... well done, you met a girl :rolleyes: ) ... and then again .... and then again

eventually some lads in the balcony started chanting "just play the fu*king song"

The songs are good(ish), but the lead singer is a wanker ... there are real ways to connect with the audience a concert (the pixies did it last month saying under 10 words). Telling a stupid fake cutie stories (the same stupid stories again and again) about a girl he met, or a dog he slept with, is not one of them.

The problem is we Irish (especially young Irish women) love that crap, just like they love Dawsons Creek and Jewel albums ... sigh ....

• Registered Users Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

Originally posted by coldenmean
    ok.. as someone who actually does like their music... i read the start of this thread and nearly fell off my chair... marvin2k your a great writer,,,, but you expected some sort of backlash against you? here? in a metal forum?

I do believe the thread was started int he Music/Radio forum and moved.
    I just don't like listening to songs that sound the same, people can make the same chords etc sound interesting, by variating style and techniques, unfortunately the Frames just play the same things the same way and it all sounds the saaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaame. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,918 ✭✭✭Deadwing

ah bollocks. I have to go see the whiney feckers in marlay park. Well at least idlewild are playing, maybe theyll rock things up a tad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 849 ✭✭✭mentalimplosion

Originally posted by Deadwing
    Well at least idlewild are playing, maybe theyll rock things up a tad.

yes, they're guaranteed to do that :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 11,980 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

Whoi gives a crap about what other people are listening to. Wow they're not as "cool" as you, deal with it.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

Originally posted by Giblet
    Whoi gives a crap about what other people are listening to. Wow they're not as "cool" as you, deal with it.

As I was saying. Why put effort into talking about a band you don't like.

Turn off the radio if they come on. Turn off the TV if they come on. Throw that CD you own in the bin, and turn on something you do like.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Kersh

I dont like them cos a guy in my year in secondary school is hansards cousin. And he never stopped ****eing on about them, ever. That was way back in early 90s, so I have hated them since then.
    Amazing how 1 guys yapping can make you feel that way. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 124 ✭✭marvin2k

**** man your right , the underlying reason i even started this thread was to boost my fragile little exscuse for an ego , by belittling others in some respect i created a mental schema for myself in which im a greater person than them - fuk im cool

Originally posted by coldenmean
    ok.. as someone who actually does like their music... i read the start of this thread and nearly fell off my chair... marvin2k your a great writer,,,, but you expected some sort of backlash against you? here? in a metal forum? pah!(that obviously didnt happen) and there are plenty of people like myself out there who like lots of stuff and wont take a flamer about a band as though theyve been personally stabbed in the gut by the 'perpetrator' .... f**k that ... go the freedom of speech malarcky and all that!
    an hating the fluffy bunny blowing bubbles music... i do understand.. thats what slayer are there for!! but there is this sad little bit of my ear that is drawn to folk..... oh crap.. there.. ive said it... my secrets out...:ninja:

****- i think il post this up on the frames website , thatd be great for a laugh ,
    i bet that arse biscuit glen is constantly logged onto it putting up posts about how class he is under loadsa different names - i know i would

but i actually dont lose sleep over not likin the frames i dont take music seriously its just one of those cool things in life to enjoy , threads like these i start for my own amusement and to explore other peoples perspectives with an open mind towards enhancing my exsistence and erxperience of this world - **** i could be in the frames !

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

How nice of you to throw in the old cliche there. Yeah all of us metal people listen to metal because we think we're cool if we listen to it. :rolleyes:

Why can't people get it into their heads that it is fun to flame stuff that they don't like. Like hating England, Liverpool, Man Utd, Meath, Monaghan, George W. Bush etc. Its fun. I believe this thread was about how much people hated the Frames, not about "what other people listen to", no one here gives a shit what other people listen to. All they're doing is criticising the Frames and their singer.

You can be a good critic too when you want to Giblet, and no one has stopped you, please don't stop other people from having their say.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,945 ✭✭✭D-Generate

Do you know how hard it is to be cool? Some time I am isolated from others because someone of my coolness could never hang around with such plebs.

Anyway we never mentioned other bands that we listen to in the thread. We were all brought together through our hatred of the Frames. I am sure you will find people posting here who listen mostly to dance and other genres besides rock/metal.

Originally posted by PORNAPSTER
    How nice of you to throw in the old cliche there. Yeah all of us metal people listen to metal because we think we're cool if we listen to it. :rolleyes:

Why can't people get it into their heads that it is fun to flame stuff that they don't like. Like hating England, Liverpool, Man Utd, Meath, Monaghan, George W. Bush etc. Its fun. I believe this thread was about how much people hated the Frames, not about "what other people listen to", no one here gives a shit what other people listen to. All they're doing is criticising the Frames and their singer.

You can be a good critic too when you want to Giblet, and no one has stopped you, please don't stop other people from having their say.

Pfft but I can hardly be a good critic if I don't critic people who are criticising. See what I mean? Now stop telling me to stop criticising critics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Pfft but I can hardly be a good critic if I don't critic people who are criticising. See what I mean? Now stop telling me to stop criticising critics.

That's just plain downright double-standards, man. At least stick to your arguement, I could respect that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭Carlitos

well i dont know what off topic flaming is goin on but yeah,the frames are quite poor,that singer just annoys me,the voice is very shaky and whiny,and he has red hair,bloody pikey

Originally posted by Karl Hungus
    That's just plain downright double-standards, man. At least stick to your arguement, I could respect that.

Double the standards, double the fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,012 ✭✭✭munkeehaven

people actually cant stand the frames? woohoo im not alone! man ive been wanting to rant on about how much i cant stand them for sooo long! have you noticed that all the really ****e irish bands seem to get success when the actual good ones are left behind? for example -the thrills...i have never heard such an obvious fecking ripoff in my whole life! i mean if i want to listen to the beachboys ill buy one of their bleeding albums! the thrills think they are american surfer dudes or something! all their videos consist of them in some sunny corner of california on the beach listening to their ''grooves'' with these pretty smiling girls..... bunch of idiots!...the lead singer sounds like a whiney child!...same goes for damien rice, jerry fish and the mudbugclub ....they are all like some kind of fecking alliance..its scary....anyone see the dingle church sessions thing on telly..whats it called?....aggh! hated it!...rodrigo y gabrielle were the only fairly entertaining aspect of that whole abomination... mundy..has only one good song--july.....who else shall i spit acid on? hmmm....end of rant:D

Originally posted by Carlitos
    well i dont know what off topic flaming is goin on but yeah,the frames are quite poor,that singer just annoys me,the voice is very shaky and whiny,and he has red hair,bloody pikey

hey ive got red hair , cop on !!

fgrom the response to this thread i think il quit work and devote myself to creating the anti frames website

• Registered Users Posts: 382 ✭✭Trip Hazard

and they stole jonny boyle from picturehouse!the selfish no good sons of bitches innit

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭flogen

personally I like the frames, they have some really good songs, and some mediocre songs too, but they're a good Irish band, not the best, but certainly better than alot of the crap floating around the city at the moment.

They dont make music that re-defines art or any of that shíte, they just write some nice songs and nice music. So what if he tells stories, or blows bubbles or anything like that? If you dont like them then it wont bother you cos you wont be there to see the gig.

My music, my opinion. Your entitled to your own, and fair enough, but thats about it.

saying that, I have heard rumours from afew people that Hansard is an asshole, but thats not why I listen to a band.

flogen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭Carlitos

flogen your exactly right man,i mean i have a broad taste (whatever that means)
    but i lean towards metal/industrial...so its no surprise i dont like the frames...its just another one of those IMO topics...its up to the person....

and how much he hates gingers!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,482 ✭✭✭RE*AC*TOR

I think a lot of people here just don't like a certain percentage of people who go to Frames concerts. You know who I'm talking about, the 17-20 yr old girls with skirt on over trousers and head scarves, discussing how they partied with Glen in some ****hole in Galway etc etc. You always get a few of them at the concerts (especially near the front). But, the band themselves, I think are fairly sound - yeah Glen may be a bit plaumausing at times - but at other times they can really f*cking rock. They took a quieter, folkier turn with the last album - which I didn't hugely like, but I still think they have a lot of potential to pull out some good new stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,848 ✭✭✭✭Doctor J

The Frames are a decent band and the guy writes very good songs. Maybe they're a bit twee for some but I wouldn't begrudge them any success that comes their way. They've been through hard times in the last 10 years that have broken many other bands and things finally seem to be going their way. Fair play to them, I say. It's a terrible trait of us Irish that we're just dying to shoot down any band that meets with even the littlest amount of success. Any Irish band that makes a good fist of it has my support, whether I'm totally into the music or not.

The Frames are a good band, maybe not a great band. They put on a good show. I'd rather them on the radio over another boy band/pop band/dance band/emo band etc etc etc etc

Support Irish music. There are enough c*nts out there internationally who'll make life hard for Irish bands, we don't need begruders here too.

hey doc pj your contradicting youself there now, your saying i should like them for the music but not because of their other annoying traits and then you turn around and say i should support them cos they are irish even if i dont like the music .boyzone are irish they are **** . If a film is **** and its made by irish ppl il say its **** . if i buy a burger in supermacs and its **** il say its **** even if its 100% Irish(and seved to me buy a little girl from cambodia).Its so easy to be the big mister PoliticallyCorrect nice guy like glen Hansard and blow the bubbles out on the crowd stick to your guns man !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,848 ✭✭✭✭Doctor J

No, read it carefully. Your tirade seems to be largely based on a personal tirade against Glen Hansard. That's kind of silly IMO, but not uncommon. I'm not saying you should like them, I'm saying you shouldn't knock them because you don't happen to like them personally. Find me a band which doesn't contain at least one asshole. You don't like the guy, that's fine.

The Frames have worked damn hard for what they've got. You don't have to like them but at least respect them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

Hearing Revelate causes me actual physical pain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 289 ✭✭Fudger

€42 for a ticket to see them in Marley park............god i hate the frames

€42 for a ticket to see them in Marley park

Yeah but Supergrass and Idlewild are there aswell.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Originally posted by Sarky
    Hearing Revelate causes me actual physical pain.
    Touche.

• Registered Users Posts: 334 ✭✭crimsonfire

Supergrass have been around way longer than the frames and im also pretty sure they have a larger fanbase so why the fcuk arent the frames supporting them?! better yet, why are the frames even playing at all?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 849 ✭✭✭mentalimplosion

supergrass formed in 94, the frames in 91, so like, get your facts straight