Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

SF rise threatens US investment:Sunday Independent

• 05-07-2004 2:29am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,406 ✭✭✭

Sinn Fein rise threatens US investment

ADVERTISEMENT

APPROACHED: Willie O'Dea

JODY CORCORAN

AMERICAN investment in Ireland is in jeopardy and key financial input is in danger of being withdrawn, as the spectre of a Sinn Fein political advance over the next 10 years becomes a reality.

The worrying economic development emerged yesterday when Minister of State in the Department of Justice Willie O'Dea revealed that he had been approached by business professionals in the Mid-West area concerned at the rise of Sinn Fein.

Mr O'Dea said that the rise of Sinn Fein was putting at risk the 120,000 jobs directly dependant on US investment and the many more jobs downstream. The Minister said that he had recently spoken to representatives of important American investors including solicitors, accountants and financial experts.

In the last 10 days alone he had received three approaches on the matter.

"These people relayed to me growing concern at the fragmentation of the Irish political system, giving rise to the emergence of the hard Left in the form of Marxist-terrorist Sinn Fein.

"This is a very worrying development and deadly dangerous for this country.

"It is no exaggeration to say it threatens to destabilise the whole economic boom."

Following on their electoral success in the European and local government elections, Sinn Fein hopes to hold a balance of power in the foreseeable future.

Although Sinn Fein's social and economic policies are unspecific, the party has admitted that if it had a role in Government, it would undertake what it describes as a "major review" of the country's taxation system.

Such a review, it says, would be completed within a year and its declared aim would be "restructuring and reforming" to achieve "equity". This is understood to mean increasing Corporation and Capital Gains Tax (from 20 per cent to 40 per cent) as well as returning employers' PRSI to 12 per cent.

Although unemployment would be the likely result of such changes, Sinn Fein insists revenues would be harnessed for "social benefit".

"If US and Canadian investors, for example, were scared off by the rise of Sinn Fein and these policies," Mr O'Dea said, "the Mid-West region which I represent could turn into an industrial cemetery."

While a spokesman for Tanaiste Mary Harney, the Enterprise and Employment Minister, said the concerns expressed to Mr O'Dea had not been made directly to her Department, the Tanaiste felt it was essential that "we keep an eye on the ball."

Ireland needs its competitive edge now that it is faced with greater competition from the new EU countries of eastern Europe, and from countries like Puerto Rico, Singapore, Switzerland and also China.

"All of these countries have preferential tax rates. So it is essential that we stay competitive. Any Left policies, based on increasing taxes, are going to undermine that competitiveness," Ms Harney's spokesman said.

Mr O'Dea, however, is certain that, specifically, the emergence of Sinn Fein in the recent elections as a political force is raising anxieties in the US. He said: "These people are coming to me - Irish advisers to international companies - and they are being asked: 'What is the situation in Ireland? We have Poles and Lithuanians competing for investment and we hear about Sinn Fein and socialism and equality and a private army.'"

He said: "It is perfectly obvious to foreign investors that Sinn Fein policies, such as they are, amount to one thing, if they ever got a chance to implement them - more taxes.

"That and statism and equality. They talk a lot about equality, but the only countries that ever achieved total equality, achieved equality of poverty. No one ever achieved equality of wealth," he said.

Does SF threaten US investment? I think so if they do what they say they would e.g. raise corporation tax to 20-40% (!:eek: !).

• Registered Users Posts: 7,411 ✭✭✭jmcc

A guy goes into a newagents and buys a copy of Playboy. On the way out he accidentally meets someone he knows. He says that he only bought the magazine for its insightful articles.

A guy goes into to newsagents and buys a copy of the Sunday Independent and accidentally meets someone he knows. He says that he only buys it for the pictures.

Buying one may indicate someone is a bit of a wanker but believing the guff in the Sindo confirms it. :)

The Sindo is a neo-Unionist rag. The story is a classic slow newsday one with the inevitable neo-Unionist slant. FF got demolished in the polls (and it may be in trouble in O'Dea's heartland if those voting patterns carry through to a general election) and it sees that SF is gaining. It now tries to claw back support by the proven fear and uncertainty tactics.

Lets see the FF spin when the only way that they can hold on to power after the next general election is by doing a deal with SF after the PDs are obliterated in the polls. I think people throughout the country are sick of seeing the PD's Dublin junta with excessive influence over this country's government. When people vote for the PDs all they ever see are the same old Dublin snouts in the trough. People have stopped voting for the PDs and they are thinking twice about voting for FF. What is important about this "story" in the SIndo is its complete lack of reference to the PDs. It is almost as if the particular FF TD is beginning the cavassing for a general election, or at least a reshuffle, early.

Regards...jmcc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭AmenToThat

Even if you work from the view that the general thesis of the article may prove to be correct down the line, I hardly think this will bother people who vote for Sf anyway!

The people,who vote for SF in general are people who feel marginalised and/or who have had very little of the benefits of the "celtic tiger" and so corporation tax and overeas invetsment will have very little impact on their choice of party to vote for come the next election. Its time for a change, time for the fat cats to pay their share I say!
    So bring on the "redistribution of the wealth" I say.................can you imagen the articles in the Indo then?
    It will be almost worth buying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭thejollyrodger

I think its time we had major crack down on SinnFein/IRA/Mafia who are trying to kill this country.

Their policical views stem from 1920. Who wants to leave the E.U or cut ties to US investment:confused:

They supply drugs to childern and threaten the security of the state. Invovled in everything from money laundering to disel,cigarette, smuggling, costing the state millions in lost revenue!!:mad: :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭Mighty_Mouse

Their policical views stem from 1920.
    Shock horror!!!and different to FF et al?
    Who wants to leave the E.U or cut ties to US investment
    Not Sinn Fein anyways!Unless you have some new statements you can link?
    They supply drugs to childern
    ooops no proof!! You'd think that with all the drugs the "IRA/Sinn Fein" are supplying that the guards would be able to catch even one of them with something?.........I'm guessing your source in the Indo or Sunday World?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 239 ✭✭nellieswellies

It would also be worth noting that this is coming from a man, who was on national TV under the impression that men and women get the same motor insurance rates in Ireland, a week before he was due to make representations to Europe on our behalf on the matter.

He has been more than a bit misinformed on more than one occasion.

• Registered Users Posts: 187 ✭✭gaelic cowboy

Originally posted by jmcc
    A guy goes into a newagents and buys a copy of Playboy. On the way out he accidentally meets someone he knows. He says that he only bought the magazine for its insightful articles.

A guy goes into to newsagents and buys a copy of the Sunday Independent and accidentally meets someone he knows. He says that he only buys it for the pictures.

Buying one may indicate someone is a bit of a wanker but believing the guff in the Sindo confirms it. :)

The Sindo is a neo-Unionist rag. The story is a classic slow newsday one with the inevitable neo-Unionist slant. FF got demolished in the polls (and it may be in trouble in O'Dea's heartland if those voting patterns carry through to a general election) and it sees that SF is gaining. It now tries to claw back support by the proven fear and uncertainty tactics.

Lets see the FF spin when the only way that they can hold on to power after the next general election is by doing a deal with SF after the PDs are obliterated in the polls. I think people throughout the country are sick of seeing the PD's Dublin junta with excessive influence over this country's government. When people vote for the PDs all they ever see are the same old Dublin snouts in the trough. People have stopped voting for the PDs and they are thinking twice about voting for FF. What is important about this "story" in the SIndo is its complete lack of reference to the PDs. It is almost as if the particular FF TD is beginning the cavassing for a general election, or at least a reshuffle, early.

Regards...jmcc

Since it is actually Willie O Dea who is talking the cobblers in the article would it not be fair to say it is FF not sindo who is at fault.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭ReefBreak

I'm glad that at least one Irish newspaper is taking on the terrorists in SF/IRA.

I also find it amusing that the only way to discredit Willie O'Dea is by shooting the messenger (the Sindo). Yet O'Dea is probably the most respected politician in the Munster region - receiving the largest proportion of 1st pref. votes in the country in the last general election. I can safely say that his record in Limerick is almost unequalled. Limerick people (even among those that would never vote FF) genuinely admire and respect him.

But at least it's becoming more clear to the slow-learners, that vote SF/IRA, what it would do to the Irish ecomony. Hello Sinn Fein, goodbye strong economic growth, low unemployment, hello poverty, misery and economic wasteland.
    So bring on the "redistribution of the wealth"
    You mean high taxes, don't you? We tried that for years, and it never worked.
    Is any paper that justifiably criticises SF/IRA a "neo-Unionist rag"? That's an old Shinner trick - call anyone that disagrees with you a "Unionist" or a "West-Brit".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Meh

The story is a classic slow newsday one with the inevitable neo-Unionist slant.
    How exactly did the article advocate that Ireland rejoin the United Kingdom? Or is "neo-unionist" just an intellectually lazy slur for anyone who dares to criticize SF (the equivalent of McCreevy calling all his critics "left-wing pinkos")?

Originally posted by Meh
    How exactly did the article advocate that Ireland rejoin the United Kingdom? Or is "neo-unionist" just an intellectually lazy slur for anyone who dares to criticize SF (the equivalent of McCreevy calling all his critics "left-wing pinkos")?
    The Sindo doesn't advocate Ireland reioning the UK, but that does stop the Shinners' claiming otherwise. It's pure laziness, simply because the SF/IRA people know they can't win an economics argument where Sinn Féin are concerned, so they divert the answer.

• Registered Users Posts: 954 ✭✭✭ChipZilla

Originally posted by arcadegame2004
    "This is a very worrying development and deadly dangerous for this country.

"It is no exaggeration to say it blah blah blah"

'Deadly dangerous' sez Willie. Jaysus, he's not prone to a bit of exageration at all at all, is he?.

But at least it's becoming more clear to the slow-learners that vote SF/IRA what it would do to the Irish ecomony. Hello Sinn Fein, goodbye strong economic growth, low unemployment, hello poverty, misery and economic wasteland.
    And round around the merry go-round we go again!:dunno:

Originally posted by Mighty_Mouse
    And round around the merry go-round we go again!:dunno:
    I've no problem reminding people of the destruction that the Shinner's so-called economic "policies" would do to our ecomony. And I will continue to do so, because it's bears repeating, again and again.

I've no problem reminding people of the destruction that the Shinner's so-called economic "policies" would do to our ecomony.
    Yes, I nearly forgot, we live in an economy, not a society

• Registered Users Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

Originally posted by ReefBreak
    I've no problem reminding people of the destruction that the Shinner's so-called economic "policies" would do to our ecomony. And I will continue to do so, because it's bears repeating, again and again.

What are you basing that on exactly?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 65 ✭✭ruck-it

What's so absurd about pointing out that US investment would be threatened by the emergence of a far left party?

The Shinners on this thread seem only able to attack the motives of the Sindo. Not the fact that the point remains. Sinn Fein would be damaging to the Irish economy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭David-[RLD]-

lol :D

"But at least it's becoming more clear to the slow-learners that vote SF/IRA what it would do to the Irish ecomony. Hello Sinn Fein, goodbye strong economic growth, low unemployment, hello poverty, misery and economic wasteland."

How is becoming more clear? By Sinn Féin gaining a huge triupmh in recent elections?
    <sarc>Oh yeah, everyone are really seeing how Sinn Féin will doom our economy.</sarc>

The whole point of Socialism is to stamp out poverty and provide equality, and they're both in Sinn Féin's agenda.

Sounds to me that you think that the economy controls the lives of the Irish people.

Originally posted by Hobbes
    What are you basing that on exactly?
    I'm basing it on Sinn Féin published ecomonic policies. What else would I be basing it on? Only a fool would believe that those policies would do anything other than obliterate thousands of irish jobs, and send this country back 20 years. Ireland would be an "Ireland of Equals" alright - everyone would be equally poor and jobless.

And of course there is more to Ireland than the economy, but it wouldn't matter a damn if you can't get a job under SF's manifesto.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭bug

what utter twaddle.
    business investment has increased in the north where four MP's are members of sinn fein, all the investers are concerned with is that the situation up there isnt volatile and that they have a skilled work force, same as down here.

Originally posted by David-[RLD]-
    lol :D

The whole point of Socialism is to stamp out poverty and provide equality, and they're both in Sinn Féin's agenda.

Sounds to me that you think that the economy controls the lives of the Irish people.
    If you want to get into an argument about left-wing socialist economics versus right wing liberal economics, then bring it on. Obviously you haven't been reading the history books. The Shinner brand of ecomomics has been tried before, and it failed. Miserably. The PD brand of economics worked so well that other parties adopted their policies. The record speaks for itself - almost full employment, and the highest growth rates in europe. If you think the SF policies would eradicate poverty, you are very much mistaken and ill-informed.

Of course, your response will now to drag up the old "gap between rich and poor" chestnut. But that's also bunkum, and the figures show this - the poor are now far more well off than at any time in our country's history. There are areas in Ireland that are still under-developed, but if you think SF could fix that with their nonsensical policies, then you're mistaken.

The best example I can think of is their published policy on private sector rent-fixing, which is communism in everything but name.

Originally posted by bug
    what utter twaddle.
    business investment has increased in the north where four MP's are members of sinn fein, all the investers are concerned with is that the situation up there isnt volatile and that they have a skilled work force, same as down here.
    And this is despite, rather than because of Sinn Féin's policies. If they actually enacted SF's policies, you can bet your life-savings that investment would have nose-dived. What do you think would happen if Sinn Féin doubled corporation tax in this country? For one thing, our tax take would slump as business and investment legged it en masse.

And for those Sinn Féin supporters: Please explain to me how their nonsense economics would result in anything other than economic devastation? Please, I'm dying to know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭bug

And this is depite, rather than becuase of Sinn Féin's policies
    yes..and they still relocated there.
    IMO this is O'Dea launching childish, get out of my playground, b*ll*x to the media
    great, when all the american investors move to south east asia, possibly like intel in the next 8-10 years, and India, we can blame sinn fein! there's a great forward thinking bit of propaganda for Bertie and the spin brigade.

for the moment I think I'll worry about the policies of the government in power at the moment.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,580 ✭✭✭✭Sand

What Sinn Fein, and all other left wing parties for that matter, know about economics could be written on the back of a stamp. Them in power is a recipe for the 1980s all over again, if not worse.

As for SFs record in NI - Im not suprised bussiness investment has increased in NI - It has been a warzone for 30 odd years. Once that war is ended to a large degree then it stands to reason investment is going to rise all other things being equal. The Republic, no doubt due in part to a lack of heavy SF influence, has not been a warzone for the past 30 years. So youre comparing apples and organges there.

Also whilst there may be 4 SF mps, thats out of how many UK mps? SF will not dictate UK economic policy and I dont think the assembly ( which is shut anyway ) has much power over the NI economy compared to Westminster. On the other hand, they could conceivably enter government in the Republic if FF go completely insane. Here they could have a real say in economic policy, here they could really sow economic disaster.

And yes, we live in an economy. Perhaps that doesnt fit with your particular idealogy but refusing to accept it wont make it any less true. To paraphrase a communist, what use is socialism if it cant put food on your table? The economy pays for *everything*. No economy, no socialist pet schemes.

Originally posted by bug
    for the moment I think I'll worry about the policies of the government in power at the moment.
    That would be the policies that have created growth rates that are higher than any other country in Europe, with up to 6% expected this year, and another boom on the horizon? Last week must have been particularly galling for those far-lefties hearing about the current success of the Irish ecomony.

Yet O'Dea is probably the most respected politician in the Munster region - receiving the largest proportion of 1st pref. votes in the country in the last general election. I can safely say that his record in Limerick is almost unequalled. Limerick people (even among those that would never vote FF) genuinely admire and respect him.
    And just how well did FF do in Limerick in the local elections? FF has to be seen to be on the ball and hitting at the greatest threat to their core vote is the response of any political party. There is a battle for the hearts of the floating voters to be fought out between FF and SF.
    Is any paper that justifiably criticises SF/IRA a "neo-Unionist rag"? That's an old Shinner trick - call anyone that disagrees with you a "Unionist" or a "West-Brit".
    No. That is one of the things that that particular paper is known as amongst journalists. Its slant has been anti-nationalist and has some visibly neo-Unionist (Cruise O'Brien and Dudley-Edwards to name two) opinion writers each week. The story is a classic "the republicans/SF/PIRA/etc are coming vote FF and we will save you" scare story designed to appeal to the chattering classes (ie the Sindo's demographic). With the entry of the Murdoch tabloids and other UK tabloids to the Irish Sundays market, the Sindo is trying hard to compete and rabble rousing is seemingly the only way that it can do so.

Regards...jmcc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭BUMP!

That would be the policies that have created growth rates that are higher than any other country in Europe
    Thats great, but I'd rather be able to afford a house...

The Sindo doesn't advocate Ireland reioning the UK, but that does stop the Shinners' claiming otherwise. It's pure laziness, simply because the SF/IRA people know they can't win an economics argument where Sinn Féin are concerned, so they divert the answer.
    ReefBreak, do you believe everything you read? This story is a classic example of a TD jockeying for press coverage - unnamed sources, unknown results of actions as yet untaken. It is not journalism - it is typical of the rubbish that the Sindo is famous for. It is a non-story.

The neo-unionist slant is clear if you look at the article - "the Shinners are coming". This time the motives of the politician in question and the Sindo are running in parallel. It is not an economic argument and only the extremely gullible consider it as such. It is all about politics and this is O'Dea's attempt to keep himself in the limelight after FF's drubbing in the polls and the fact that there is a cabinet reshuffle in the offing.

As for the SF economic argument, most parties out of power have the benefit of not having to having to have a coherent economic policy. But this is not an economic argument.

Regards...jmcc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Meh

This story is a classic example of a TD jockeying for press coverage - unnamed sources, unknown results of actions as yet untaken. It is not journalism - it is typical of the rubbish that the Sindo is famous for.
    Agreed. It's a opinion piece masquerading as news.
    The neo-unionist slant is clear if you look at the article - "the Shinners are coming".
    So you're accusing Willie O'Dea of wanting Ireland to become part of the UK again? I think you're going to have to define exactly what "neo-unionist" means, as it appears to have nothing in common with the traditional definition of the term "unionist". As far as I can see from your usage of the term, it means "someone who doesn't like Sinn Féin".

• Registered Users Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

I'm basing it on Sinn Féin published ecomonic policies. What else would I be basing it on? Only a fool would believe that those policies would do anything other than obliterate thousands of irish jobs, and send this country back 20 years. Ireland would be an "Ireland of Equals" alright - everyone would be equally poor and jobless.

Can you post me a link to what you have read exactly. I guess a Shinner site probably?
    Bug...

Yes that is why I am curious.

Last week must have been particularly galling for those far-lefties hearing about the current success of the Irish ecomony.

What success is that then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭ishmael whale

With the entry of the Murdoch tabloids and other UK tabloids to the Irish Sundays market, the Sindo is trying hard to compete and rabble rousing is seemingly the only way that it can do so.

I thought I saw the same story in the Sunday Tribune - certainly I remember seeing O'Dea's remarks and I don't get the Sindo.